San Fernando Grand Prix - Nov 14th 2010

jscottie

Re: San Fernando Grand Prix - Nov 14th 2010

Postby jscottie » November 23rd, 2010, 11:46 pm

djaggs wrote:
jscottie wrote:[perhaps i have to see him race againg to say he is a proper race car drive. i believe i give credit where it is due. but from what i saw....not good at all.

What types of cars have you raced ? And where ? If you dont mind me asking....

not a prob. FWD and AWD. Circuit, drag, sprint, and dexterities. Hopefully will have a small car set up here to compete for the April meet in arima, maybe an ek3 hatch with k20a supercharged or b16a turbocharged (seems to be a common car here).

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 24th, 2010, 1:02 pm

Turn up the volume for this one.....Zak

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 24th, 2010, 2:31 pm

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » November 24th, 2010, 3:42 pm

rjaggs wrote:
X2 wrote:Man... dex drivers woulda clean dem fellas up.

I not so sure bout dat nah, dex men not accustom seeing other cars on the course.....dey might pull aside and stop :lol:

:oops: yeah man. After all, their cars are TRAILERed to those events. right. 8-)

yuh quoting meh out of context - I said on the course, not on the street....and btw, y compare dex driving to street driving?

where did i do that?

i'm saying a car closing on you from behind, shouldnt make anyone nervous. Happens multiple times, every day on the highway. :oops:

I meant in the context that we are not usually supposed to see other cars on the course while doing our run....I would expect to see a marshall waving a red flag in the unlikely event that it does happen.

Imagine doing a run at dex and a car pulls alongside...

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 24th, 2010, 5:30 pm

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 24th, 2010, 6:08 pm

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 24th, 2010, 6:36 pm

That white lancer need some help.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 25th, 2010, 10:24 pm

It was running on only 10 pounds of boost because of a leaking wastegate.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 25th, 2010, 11:05 pm

The cars was sputtering while going up the straight and the brakes were fading and squealing under braking. In other words, It wasnt going and it wasnt stopping.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 25th, 2010, 11:35 pm

the evo park up over a year now with nowhere to run, allyuh seriously think it would run at its best in 1 day?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 26th, 2010, 12:13 am

more like 4 or 5 years

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 26th, 2010, 8:39 am

equipped2ripp wrote:the evo park up over a year now with nowhere to run, allyuh seriously think it would run at its best in 1 day?

I expect that if you plan on running a car in a grand prix, you prepare and test a car to its fullest and that you would spend more than one day on it.
If you spend one preparing a car then you not really serious. Don't blame the fact that the car parked up for over a year.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 26th, 2010, 9:38 am

It was supposed to be a demonstration not a real race. Its not a championship event, the car was just supposed to be tested. Only a few days before when they pulled the axles it was discovered that they were damaged and had to be replaced. Parts had to be sourced, there is no where to test. So you see, u cant always have everything.

He should have taken it easy with the car though.

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » November 26th, 2010, 9:50 am

djaggs.
Nice videos...thanks.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 26th, 2010, 10:20 am

I understand what you are saying.
But look at it from a spectator's or sponsor's point of view. As far as they are concerned this was a race and the car failed to perform.
The people in the team know what's going, but to those on the outside, everything sounds like a bunch of excuses.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 26th, 2010, 10:27 am

Well, the event was promoted as a demonstration, not a race. And it was better to run the car and try it out than to leave it parked up in the garage collecting dust.

professor

Postby professor » November 26th, 2010, 11:18 am

Alright guys, enough time to get cars ready for Arima Grand Prix, hope to see all the 'I woulda race, if" drivers (including myself).

Postby equipped2ripp » November 26th, 2010, 12:50 pm

Red Dawg wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:the evo park up over a year now with nowhere to run, allyuh seriously think it would run at its best in 1 day?

I expect that if you plan on running a car in a grand prix, you prepare and test a car to its fullest and that you would spend more than one day on it.
If you spend one preparing a car then you not really serious. Don't blame the fact that the car parked up for over a year.

test it where though?

link

Postby link » November 26th, 2010, 1:28 pm

professor wrote:Alright guys, enough time to get cars ready for Arima Grand Prix, hope to see all the 'I woulda race, if" drivers (including myself).

me too.....seeing that next year's grand prix events WILL BE RACE EVENTS :!: :shock: :D

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 26th, 2010, 2:10 pm

professor wrote:Alright guys, enough time to get cars ready for Arima Grand Prix, hope to see all the 'I woulda race, if" drivers (including myself).

Clive, I would love to see you race again in a real race car. What can we do to make that happen ????

You cud teach a lot of these young "experts" a lesson or three about driving a race car.

Somebody with a race car, plz give The professor a drive next year !!!

link

Postby link » November 26th, 2010, 3:21 pm

but....but....
Pro done hve an extremely competitive, properly sorted-out piece-ah-machine !!! & registered too...testing...no...honing his rested skills is not a problem.......

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 26th, 2010, 3:30 pm

I think he might need a new suit though, dunno if the old one will still fit...

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » November 26th, 2010, 9:55 pm

promo 2 be out 2morw

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 26th, 2010, 10:15 pm

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 27th, 2010, 8:05 am

Red Dawg wrote:

you know I love to hear people who truly believe to god they know about a certain thing when in reality they do not.
I deliberately did not comment on your posts because i always say "long rope for maga goat" but now the rope ran out, So before you take the stance of "I dont live here so I didn't know that" let me tell you (or enlighten you).
with reference to what is written in red, Who told you, or what gave you the impression that not much time was spent on that car?
this car was built 4-5 yrs ago, it puts out 400+AWHP, alot of time was spent on preparing this car since the inception of the sando gran prix. But there was no proper place to run/ test it, it was tested in the ARC car park, do you think that cap park was sufficient to test the brakes? do you think the brakes were 'excercised' enough in the car park?
The brakes showed signs of binding since the qualifying rounds, during one of the races the 2nd gear gave up, after that the wastegate failed and limited the boost to 9-10psi.
a decision was taken to drive the car and not compete just to see what else is gonna need attention.
the car needs a place to excercise and only then will the issues show up and be solved. so Mr. C.C please please get the facts before you comment.
but anyway it should run better in april.
Oh and BTW the sponsors are the owners of the car, so it didnt make a difference to them that the car wasn't 'racing' because the used the "ship then test " approach to the car.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 27th, 2010, 8:13 am

link wrote:

me too.....seeing that next year's grand prix events WILL BE RACE EVENTS :!: :shock: :D

now allyuh makin me feel to buy back ah racing car,,, Link how much yuh want for de datsun!
(goes off to be extremely nice to the wife, hoping she gonna say "yes" to the racing car)

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 27th, 2010, 10:15 am

And your point being?

nismoid

Postby nismoid » November 27th, 2010, 1:51 pm

my point is "when you don't know,, shut up"
get it? or do you need more clarification?

link

Postby link » November 27th, 2010, 2:13 pm

puttin' an SR20 NA in the 120 to keep weight down......still hve 300 hp (on paper)....
was a bit expensive just to stay down on weight, but shud be more than worth the effort on race day.
I suggest u look at the couple s14 & s15 for sale & there are a lot of 'bolt-on' improvements avbl or this type of 'street racing'
rgds

Postby sMASH » November 27th, 2010, 4:26 pm

hear dis nah, if it was possible to powerslide round those corners, would it have been legal to do so in the races on that day?