The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby Greypatch » July 20th, 2010, 11:13 am

mitch wrote:well all phones have a retail shelf life for about 1 year then it's updated to a newer model.
Google has no plans on a Nexus 2, and the Nexus 1 has run its course.
but Motorola and HTC are pushing out Android phones like crazy...EVO, Droid X, Droid 2...
and even Samsung has joined the party with the Galaxy S.

i think the main reason for the Nexus 1 was for Google to show them exactly what an Android phone should be like and i think HTC, Motorola and Samsung got it loud and clear :lol:

hoss the product is only out a few months it done runs the course already.

LAWDDD its a great phone they should continue to market it. use the HTC model

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 20th, 2010, 11:33 am

well by the time they sell out their current stock, it would be a year old.

either way, N1 owners will always be the first to get the latest Android updates 8-)

blud7

Postby blud7 » July 23rd, 2010, 1:34 pm

hi people. Just wanted to share my mms settings that work for me. I have an HTC Desire which = HTC Incredible (more or less, this one is GSM) and a Motorola Milestone (which = Motorola Droid)

Name: mms
APN: mms
MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app
MMS Proxy: 192.168.210.104
Port: 8080
Authentication Type: None
APN Type: mms

Leave everything else the way it is and pay particular attention to the last two entries.

Postby Greypatch » July 23rd, 2010, 1:35 pm

well done

blud7

Postby blud7 » July 23rd, 2010, 1:45 pm

No problem. Had a lot of trial and error and scouring the net to get that. Something else:

Not getting SMS messages or having trouble sending them?
Refresh your settings (GSM)

Go to phone dialler and punch in
*#*#4636#*#* aka *#*#INFO#*#* (This may take a minute to pop up)
Then go to Phone Information and scroll down to SMSC and enter your networks SMSC number e.g. +18686880011 (for TSTT bmobile)
Now Press update now all should work 100%.

Postby honda hoe » July 23rd, 2010, 2:15 pm

blud7 wrote:hi people. Just wanted to share my mms settings that work for me. I have an HTC Desire which = HTC Incredible (more or less, this one is GSM) and a Motorola Milestone (which = Motorola Droid)

Leave everything else the way it is and pay particular attention to the last two entries.

Tried those settings already

Does not work on my nexus

blud7

Postby blud7 » July 23rd, 2010, 2:41 pm

honda hoe wrote:
blud7 wrote:hi people. Just wanted to share my mms settings that work for me. I have an HTC Desire which = HTC Incredible (more or less, this one is GSM) and a Motorola Milestone (which = Motorola Droid)

Hmm, well the HTC Desire is almost identical to your Nexus.
And like I said, check the last two settings.
Authentication can also be 'not set' so make sure you actually set it to 'none'

These settings do work for me.
Last edited by blud7 on July 23rd, 2010, 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby honda hoe » July 23rd, 2010, 3:21 pm

U on bmobile network?

blud7

Postby blud7 » July 23rd, 2010, 5:04 pm

Yep. bmobile.

If you have problems delete the old APN you had and start over.
Remember, you don't need to put info anywhere else.
Leave the other settings as they are.
Including the other settings (the ones directly under APN) for proxy, port and server.

Compose a new mms and try it.
If you want to send an old one, choose forward and send it back to the original recipient. then delete the old mms.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » July 23rd, 2010, 8:45 pm

wait people still use mms?

Anyways have my Galaxy S about a week now. Decent phone.

blud7

Postby blud7 » July 23rd, 2010, 9:20 pm

LOL yeah mms: to send stuff to people without internet on phone

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » July 23rd, 2010, 11:05 pm

blud7 wrote:LOL yeah mms: to send stuff to people without internet on phone

Why would you get a top of the line android and not have internet on it? Most of the good apps require an internet connection.

Plus when you send stuff via mms everything is saved on their database. You have to wonder how private your information really is.

blud7

Postby blud7 » July 24th, 2010, 7:42 am

NO, no. I mean you got internet on your phone, but have to send stuff to aunty joy and uncle bob
...who have like dem ~$1500 phone they get for Xmas or Mother's/Father's day ... or yuh %^#@$^ cheap friends that have a smartphone but won't spring for a data plan ....or yuh gf that you bought a smartphone for, had to configure it, show her how to use it and she still find 'why I need a phone with internet'

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » July 24th, 2010, 9:02 am

^ Orr ok I get you

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 24th, 2010, 1:26 pm

must read article for all Android users:

How To Be an Android Power User

Postby honda hoe » July 24th, 2010, 4:34 pm

blud7 wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

Hmm, well the HTC Desire is almost identical to your Nexus.
And like I said, check the last two settings.
Authentication can also be 'not set' so make sure you actually set it to 'none'

These settings do work for me.

Salt boy :(

blud7

Postby blud7 » July 25th, 2010, 10:35 am

Well yeh that blows big time.

I Googled it and apparently the Nexus One doesn't re-size images properly with the default messenger. Or at all. Or something. And most providers (read TSTT) have a limit on mms size.

Try installing one of those messaging apps from the market, try handcent. This worked for some people...BTW, you on FroYo?

Postby Greypatch » July 26th, 2010, 11:13 am

my settings

My settings unit Google Nexus One

Name tstt
APN internet

MCC 374

MNC 12

Authentication type PAP

all other afe default.

blud7

Postby blud7 » July 28th, 2010, 12:22 am

Greypatch wrote:my settings

My settings unit Google Nexus One

Name tstt
APN internet

MCC 374

MNC 12

Authentication type PAP

all other afe default.

the settings we lookin for are the mms.
All that is required for edge (what you posted there) is that the APN is Internet.
Authentication could be none as well.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 4th, 2010, 1:36 pm

NPD: Android is now top-selling OS in American smartphones

Step aside, BlackBerrys and iPhones, the American consumer has voted with his wallet and picked Android as his favorite flavor in the quarter just gone. NPD's number crunchers have just announced their findings for Q2 2010, concluding that 33 percent of phones sold during the period had Android on board. This marks the first time in eons (Q4 2007, to be more precise) that RIM has not held the crown of most purchased smartphone OS on US soil, with its BlackBerrys accounting for 28% of the market and Apple's iPhone occupying third spot with 22%. Motorola and HTC are the key suspects fingered for Android's continuing ascent, with the "large screen allure" of their handsets playing well with the buying public.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/04/npd- ... artphones/

Postby Greypatch » August 4th, 2010, 2:03 pm

big things ah gwann..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 4th, 2010, 2:07 pm

cant wait for 3.0

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 5th, 2010, 1:42 am

facebook got a slight update. still no chat though, and it still sux compared to the iOS version :x

Postby RASC » August 5th, 2010, 10:22 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 8th, 2010, 7:49 pm

Sony Style Countdown Site Is Probably Xperia X10 Android Phone

Hey-O! A Sony marketing countdown clock begins counting down...and the speculation ends before it begins: The site's "x10"-laden source code has revealed this to be, most likely, the upcoming Xperia x10, running Android.

If the name sounds familiar, this might be why: We received one back in March, but the interface was buggy and unfinished, so we held off from "reviewing" it as some other sites did, to ensure that the final build UI could be properly reviewed in Q2.

Well, it's a bit later than Q2 now, but the phone looks to be going official tomorrow, so everything should be all peachy keen, ducks-in-a-row fairly soon.

http://gizmodo.com/5607614/sony-style-c ... roid-phone

mindxlabz

Postby mindxlabz » August 9th, 2010, 12:00 am

hey i have a g1 not recognizing no sim cards, what to do?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 9th, 2010, 1:25 am

Motorola Droid 2

Release date: August 12th 2010 (rumoured)
Price: $599.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 10th, 2010, 1:34 pm

Google Contacts Upgrades with Keyboard Shortcuts, Better Gmail Integration, and More

Google updated their Contacts tool today, aiming to make Contacts easier to use and more consistent within Gmail. In features, that means you get new keyboard shortcuts, sorting contacts by last name, custom labels for every field, and more.

Google Contacts has long been one of the more underdeveloped aspects of Gmail, and now that so many of us sync our smartphones with Google's Contacts, it needs to live up to the task of managing your contacts better. Google's aim with this Contacts upgrade was to take a lot of the pain out of the Contacts experience inside Gmail or on your device (particularly Android devices). When the Contacts update hits your Gmail inbox, here's what you can expect:

# Keyboard shortcuts

# Sort by last name (look under "More actions")
# Custom labels for phone numbers and other fields
# The ability to undo changes you've just made
# Automatic saving
# Structured name fields, so you can adjust titles, suffixes, and other name components
# A bigger, more prominent notes field

Overall it's just making Contacts a more Gmail-like tool. Your contacts now site where email messages would when you're in the Mail tab (notice the new Mail/Contacts/Tasks navigation in the top left), and contact groups go where Gmail labels go. In fact, you can add contacts to a group the same way you'd apply a label to an email message: Select the contacts you want, type 'l', and type the name of the group.

The new view/edit pane for individual contacts is also a nice improvement. To edit any field, just click in it and hit Enter when you're done.

If you're already a big fan of the way Gmail works, you're probably going to like the new Contacts upgrade. It's certainly feels like an improvement to us.

http://lifehacker.com/5609315/google-co ... n-and-more

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 11th, 2010, 8:00 pm

Exclusive: Sony Ericsson to introduce Android 3.0 gaming platform and PSP Go-like smartphone

There's no question that gaming on the Android platform has heretofore been relatively underwhelming, but that looks like it's all about to change. It seems that Sony Ericsson -- a company that has yet to even introduce an Android 2.0 device -- is at work on a project to redefine gaming on Google's mobile platform. We now know (via a trusted source) that the company is actively and heavily developing a brand new gaming platform, ecosystem, and device (possibly alongside Google) which are already in the late stages of planning. And we've got the goods on it.

Here's what we can tell you about the hardware: if you're a gaming fan, this is exactly the kind of phone you've been waiting for. The device is described as cross between the Samsung Captivate and the PSP Go -- in other words, it's a landscape slider with game controls in place of the typical QWERTY keyboard. The D-pad is here, but instead of the small joystick, the device will have what was described as a "long touch pad" for analog controls, along with standard PSP buttons and shoulder buttons. The phone has a large display, described as being between 3.7 and 4.1 inches with WVGA or better resolution, a 5 megapixel camera that we're told might not be final, and it'll likely have a 1GHz Snapdragon CPU on board. The phone is mostly black with some silver highlights, and the gamepad area is white / silver in color. Apparently it's currently branded as a Xperia device, but it looks like it will carry PlayStation branding as well. Those who've seen the phone say it looks "pretty damn sexy." The mockup above probably doesn't do the actual hardware justice, but it should give you an idea of what you'll be dealing with.

On the software side, it looks like the device will be running Gingerbread (Android 3.0) with a phone-specific skin, and there will be a new area of the Android Market specifically for the games. That content will be initially accessible only by the halo device, but from the sounds of things, these titles might be made available to other Android phones if their specs and button layouts meet requirements. Games will be graphically in the range of PSX or PSP games, meaning true 3D gaming is headed to Android. Titles currently being shown off seem to be focused around some older PSX as well as new PSP offerings, with God of War, Modern Warfare, and Little Big Planet possibly on tap, and future plans for titles which incorporate augmented reality features.

In terms of release, it's possible that the phone and ecosystem could be introduced as early of October of this year, but we have yet to confirm.

Right now we're working on getting even more detail about the phone and partnership, but we can tell you now that this is not a random rumor -- we have reason to believe that what we've heard and seen is real and coming to market. It makes perfect sense in a way -- Google gets a much-needed push into the gaming and entertainment space for Android, while Sony (via its partnership with Ericsson) finally delivers the PlayStation phone users have been wanting. We see it as a major win for both companies and the consumer... and we always need another distraction. Stay tuned to this space for updates as we get them, and in the meantime, start socking away the pennies.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/11/excl ... g-platfor/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 11th, 2010, 8:03 pm

Droid 2 R2-D2 edition spied in the wild, ready to repair your X-wing

If you compare this shot of the bespoke R2-D2 Droid 2 to the background of Verizon's teaser site (inset), you can see this is almost certainly the genuine article -- and we knew that Verizon intended to intro this thing at the Star Wars-themed Celebration V conference kicking off today, so this is all making a lot of sense. We admit, we were kind of hoping for a graphic that was a little more... you know, R2-D2-shaped, but when it comes to astromech-themed gear, we'll take what we can get.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/11/droi ... ir-your-x/