The | US Embassy | Thread

SRASC

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby SRASC » June 1st, 2011, 10:34 pm

Like it really is a hit or miss thing with them yes.

Postby M_2NR » June 1st, 2011, 11:00 pm

I planning to try soon. Last time i went in they said they would only give me 1 year because i was in a stage where its risky for them to give me more (between high school and university) but to try back and I should get through.
Let us hope so yes.

Postby S_2NR » June 1st, 2011, 11:05 pm

pioneer wrote:I geh brace too, apparently in my photo i had on a blue tie, dotish me gone to the interview in the same tie and de woman say "sir, you don't have enough ties"

:?

LMFAO!!!!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 3rd, 2011, 12:46 am

US Visa Forum wrote:Visitors traveling to the United States temporarily for business and pleasure, usually come as tourists or to visit family and friends. Others come for specific purposes, such as medical treatment, a conference, business meeting, or certain types of training.

Some tourists from certain countries, traveling for visitor visa purposes for 90 days or less, and who meet all the requirements, can travel to the United States for tourism or business under the Visa Waiver Program.

Additionally, certain citizens of Canada and Bermuda do not need a visa to visit the U.S.

Many of these temporary visitors, traveling for the business and pleasure purposes explained above, need visitor visas to enter the United States. The type of visa you must have is defined by immigration law, and relates to the purpose of your travel. Please note: If you want to travel to the United States to study or to work, you will need a different kind of visa.
The U.S. government made some changes in visa procedures after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. The changes in various procedures to make sure that both U.S. citizens and visitors are safe. Advance planning by travelers is essential, for them to have their visa when they need it to come to the U.S. For most visa applicants, an interview is required as a standard part of visa processing. Visa applications are evaluated very carefully and take more time now than in the past. Some applications require additional security screening. Improved and automated procedures have considerably sped up visa clearance procedures.

Obtaining a visitor visa, or tourist visa, may not be as straighforward as it seems if you’re basing it on the information on the US Embassy websites. In reality, depending on your nationality and purpose of your trip, combined with your person documentation to prove strong community ties to your home country, obtaining a tourist visa to the US may be a confounding process. Simply, you need to show more than that the fact that you want to visit Disney Land, or that you have a friend you haven’t seen in 20 years, you need to show that once you arrive in the US you will not reside their or attempt to find work and overstay your visa, or worse yet, violate the terms of your visa.

Before heading to the embassy with your application in hand, be prepared and review your documents. Ask yourself these questions:

Do I have proof that I have strong ties to my home country, such as a business, dependants, employment, or family to substantiate my desire to return to my home country after my visit to the US?

Do I have enough financial proof that I will be able to support myself during my stay wtihout having to resort to public funds or public assistance?

Do I have a letter from the friend, company, or person sponsoring my trip to the US so to demonstrate that that person or organization would be responsible for me while I’m there?

Do I have the time and patient to sit through an interview and respond honestly to the questions the interviewing officer will pose?

Once you have considered these questions, go to the US Embassy website in your home country and start the process.

Postby zoom rader » June 3rd, 2011, 8:00 am

This tread is hogwash, all it says that if your white its ok to visit the US, if your brown stick around for a visa and if your black stay back we dont want you. I dont know why people continue to beg for a US visa while giving money freely to them. Take my advice and see other places in the world. The US is for morons to visit, if it for education and migration then its a diffrent story.Why put yourself in stress for a dumbass visa , you dont even need a visa to visit the UK.please dont tell me you want to visit family and friends thats bullsh*t, let them visit you and spend their money.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 3rd, 2011, 9:15 am

zoom rader wrote:This tread is hogwash, all it says that if your white its ok to visit the US, if your brown stick around for a visa and if your black stay back we dont want you. I dont know why people continue to beg for a US visa while giving money freely to them. Take my advice and see other places in the world. The US is for morons to visit, if it for education and migration then its a diffrent story.Why put yourself in stress for a dumbass visa , you dont even need a visa to visit the UK.please dont tell me you want to visit family and friends thats bullsh*t, let them visit you and spend their money.

ur one of those people that see racial discrimination in everything huh?

Postby Stephon. » June 3rd, 2011, 10:14 am

zoom rader wrote:This tread is hogwash, all it says that if your white its ok to visit the US, if your brown stick around for a visa and if your black stay back we dont want you. I dont know why people continue to beg for a US visa while giving money freely to them. Take my advice and see other places in the world. The US is for morons to visit, if it for education and migration then its a diffrent story.Why put yourself in stress for a dumbass visa , you dont even need a visa to visit the UK.please dont tell me you want to visit family and friends thats bullsh*t, let them visit you and spend their money.

You have got to be kidding me. I hope this is a failed troll attempt, because you can't be serious.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » June 3rd, 2011, 10:16 am

Just so you know, my friend...smoking hot half white half indian who has been to Canada and the UK almost twice a year since she born, got blanked 3 times in the last two years.

She is 23 and had just finished her degree in the UK and had a permanent job walking distance from the Embassy, 70k in the bank, land on her name both here and england.

Yet she blanked on 3 occasions and all three times they gave her a different excuse:
- First time: Not enough ties to the country (land wasn't in her name at the time, and had 26k in her bank account)
- Second time: She now come out of school and not married
- Third time: Her permanent job which she held for over a year, is not in her degree field (wow an architect during graphic design is totally unrelated i guess).

I really dont know the criteria they use, I know this other girl only cxc, no money, parents dont even own a home and yet they all got a visa.

Postby zoom rader » June 3rd, 2011, 10:38 am

Smokey wrote:

Just so you know, my friend...smoking hot half white half indian who has been to Canada and the UK almost twice a year since she born, got blanked 3 times in the last two years.

She is 23 and had just finished her degree in the UK and had a permanent job walking distance from the Embassy, 70k in the bank, land on her name both here and england.

Yet she blanked on 3 occasions and all three times they gave her a different excuse:
- First time: Not enough ties to the country (land wasn't in her name at the time, and had 26k in her bank account)
- Second time: She now come out of school and not married
- Third time: Her permanent job which she held for over a year, is not in her degree field (wow an architect during graphic design is totally unrelated i guess).

I really dont know the criteria they use, I know this other girl only cxc, no money, parents dont even own a home and yet they all got a visa.

Being half white indian does not mean you are white, they still see you as black in the US, As i said if you brown stick around they may think about you.The US jusy became richer by her giving money to them. She got blank once and she should have learnt from it.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 3rd, 2011, 10:56 am

i never got any issues with mine :|

Postby zoom rader » June 3rd, 2011, 11:04 am

ghostbusters wrote:

ur one of those people that see racial discrimination in everything huh?

The best people to answer this is the 12 Million west Africans that were stolen from their Homes for slave labour. Jest remember that the only people that never wanted a visa for the states are west africans.
Last edited by zoom rader on June 3rd, 2011, 11:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » June 3rd, 2011, 11:08 am

Offensive ^^

Postby S_2NR » June 3rd, 2011, 11:36 am

never got trouble to get my US visa..but it was plenty runaround..

canadian visa was wayyyy easier.

Postby meccalli » August 19th, 2011, 1:56 pm

Turned 18, and yeah....house, statements, school years ahead of you..no ties...was going for pdn's photography seminar but..oh well..didn't care to go back to the US after my younger years.

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » August 30th, 2011, 12:34 pm

Need to get a visa for a 6mth old. I've heard that if my wife does not carry my (and my son's) last name (even hyphenated) my child may not get through even though both my wife & I have valid visas. Has anyone had or known of this experience?

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 30th, 2011, 12:46 pm

DRAGULA wrote:Need to get a visa for a 6mth old. I've heard that if my wife does not carry my (and my son's) last name (even hyphenated) my child may not get through even though both my wife & I have valid visas. Has anyone had or known of this experience?

Nah....yuh safe....both my kids got theirs with the same issue....in and out of embassy in 30mins (they don't keep kids waiting too long). Just make sure your wife carries the marriage cert.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 31st, 2011, 3:21 am

Mudboy wrote:
DRAGULA wrote:Need to get a visa for a 6mth old. I've heard that if my wife does not carry my (and my son's) last name (even hyphenated) my child may not get through even though both my wife & I have valid visas. Has anyone had or known of this experience?

Nah....yuh safe....both my kids got theirs with the same issue....in and out of embassy in 30mins (they don't keep kids waiting too long). Just make sure your wife carries the marriage cert.

same here. straight to window D

interviewer: "please lift the child"

i lift up my daughter to the window

interviewer: "hi sweetie, how are you?"

daughter: "fine"

interviewer: "who is this person?"

daughter: "my daddy"

interviewer: "and who is this?"

daughter : "that's my mommy"

interviewer: "ok, thank you sweetie"

fin

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » September 5th, 2011, 8:09 pm

Anyone had any experiences applying and obtaining a transit visa to pass through the US ?
Is it hard to obtain for trinis ?

Seeker

Postby Seeker » September 6th, 2011, 12:27 pm

Reading all these threads make me conclude that approval/disapproval lie with the discretion of the interviewer and not necessarily on creteria/ qualifications, which explains the perusal or non of pertinent documents.
Almost like they just look you over and deny you because your nose might be too big.

Its hard to spend $800 plus only to be denied. :evil:

When i went for mine in 2000, the guy didn't look at my documents and I got ten years.

Just like going for driving test; you will meet some reasonable examiners and dotish ones.

I have to renew because I went to travel for December. I hope there would be no problems

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 16th, 2011, 10:11 am

What's the pass rate looking like lately. May try again before the end of the year.

Postby Habit7 » November 16th, 2011, 11:11 am

I last hear it was 70%

Postby pete » November 16th, 2011, 12:59 pm

Wife got thru.. hoping I get thru when I go to renew next year..

Postby crazybalhead » November 16th, 2011, 1:03 pm

Guys,

How do you apply for the whole family one time? I'm seeing a famil form, but it's just asking for my info so far.

Yes the wifey carries my name, and it's o her passport.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » November 16th, 2011, 8:49 pm

do all forms separate Dorris....

Postby equipped2ripp » November 16th, 2011, 10:01 pm

do all forms separate, only when to fill out the part when they're asking who you're travelling with, put in the name and relation, in this case it is spouse, and the option of spouse is there.

my manager and his wife got through this week, and from what he told me, on that day while he was observing, everyone @ booth E was getting blanked and most from booth D were getting through. that was on Monday. everyday would be different if the officers rotate the booths.

so it's not to say if you're satisfying the requirement, the whole thing is a miss and chance as it is up solely to the interviewer/visa officer to issue the visa. you can more than satisfy the criteria, but again it's up to the officer to issue it or not.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 17th, 2011, 8:00 am

equipped2ripp wrote:so it's not to say if you're satisfying the requirement, the whole thing is a miss and chance as it is up solely to the interviewer/visa officer to issue the visa. you can more than satisfy the criteria, but again it's up to the officer to issue it or not.

Learnt this the hard way. Still bs though.

Postby rfari » November 17th, 2011, 9:40 am

suppose to travel next year april/may. i have my visa already but i have a conviction (curfew breaking. steups). can i expect any issues wrt flying out? i was advised that i should carry the receipt for the fine paid, the charge slip and also request a court extract.

pj15

Postby pj15 » November 17th, 2011, 10:25 am

rfari wrote:suppose to travel next year april/may. i have my visa already but i have a conviction (curfew breaking. steups). can i expect any issues wrt flying out? i was advised that i should carry the receipt for the fine paid, the charge slip and also request a court extract.

You most likely wouldn't have any problems flying. However, the problem may arise when you apply for a new visa somewhere down the line. When you go to renew just be honest with the declarations ( criminal convictions, etc) and hope they offer you the opportunity to
provide whatever court documents you have.

silver racer

Postby silver racer » November 17th, 2011, 12:57 pm

Went a couple weeks ago, whole fam got through 10 yrs. Didnt ask for any docs only where i was going.

But I did notice many single applicants getting blanked and families / couples get through. Furthermore in booth D, majority was blanked and Booth C mojority ppl got through. Appointment was on a monday.

Postby Gem_in_i » November 17th, 2011, 3:06 pm

I went recently and got visa.
I went to the booth to the right (E?) and the interviewing officer was a woman. 1st thing they do is fingerprint you. If your fingers sweaty they have napkins on counter.
The woman looking me straight in eyes asked her ques. She asked if married, children, wht work I do, how long I working, wht is longest I ever stayed in US, if I like my job, how long I working (asked this twice), when i plan to go and for how long and then if I have a bank statement.
She looked at bank statement and then said your visa has been approved and gave me slip to go pay at ttpost. Although it may seem long all this took place in less than 5mins.
TTpost now charging $50 for delivery