The Religion Discussion

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » September 8th, 2009, 8:39 pm

if everybody was the same and believed in god, life would be boring. the non believers are there for the believers to try and show them the path to righteousness.. all the same if some spirit take over allyuh mc and then you HAVE to believe in faith to get back to normalcy then they will change. i wish there was a easy way that it could be done to make you believe but none i can think of so i guess they just have to burn to learn :? :?

carry on..

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2009, 8:40 pm

thank god :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 8:41 pm

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » September 8th, 2009, 8:46 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:if everybody was the same and believed in god, life would be boring. the non believers are there for the believers to try and show them the path to righteousness.. all the same if some spirit take over allyuh mc and then you HAVE to believe in faith to get back to normalcy then they will change. i wish there was a easy way that it could be done to make you believe but none i can think of so i guess they just have to burn to learn :? :?

carry on..

X 2.

My $0.20.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 8:49 pm

How much burn you could get before you learn? Even the believers have to get burn too. Sometimes, just to remind them.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2009, 9:06 pm

BTW - Archaeology has NEVER disproved the existence of God. On the contrary, it has always supported the relevant details given in the Bible.

Disprove that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Humes

Postby Humes » September 8th, 2009, 9:14 pm

bluefete wrote:BTW - Archaeology has NEVER disproved the existence of God. On the contrary, it has always supported the relevant details given in the Bible.

Disprove that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bluefete, please don't make ridiculously sweeping statements like this. Archaeology has not always supported the details, relevant or otherwise, given in the Bible.

One of the most basic historical assertions of the Bible, the age of the Earth, is not supported by archaeology. The most crucial aspects of the Bible, the supernatural events, have never been proven by archaeology.

If anything, archaeology has disproved the supernatural aspects of some of the events the Bible describes, including the parting of the Red Sea and the Great Flood.

Archaeology has proved that events like these took place, but were likely caused by perfectly natural circumstances.

Just because the Bible, like other texts of its time, got some broad, major historical facts, like geography and social customs, correct, doesn't mean everything within it is correct. Those aren't what faith is based on. Faith is based on the supernatural claims, and archaeology proves none of them.

Postby MG Man » September 8th, 2009, 9:19 pm

in other words, humes, dumb stories were written around natural events
classic is the plagues of egypt............all volcanic related, all happened in Nigeria some years ago....the red water, the critters, ppl dying overnight....whe whole schebang

Postby hydroep » September 8th, 2009, 11:31 pm

Postby Razkal » September 9th, 2009, 12:30 am

^gosh...act normal na homie :lol:

Postby hydroep » September 9th, 2009, 12:37 am

^^Jus' followin' your lead Hoss... :lol:

Postby DFC » September 9th, 2009, 12:38 am

MG Man wrote:u think I bothered?
jed while dem man ventin hot air outta dey panties, I happily installin brakes in meh car for dex on Sunday
u can't offend the beliefs of a man with no beliefs :lol: :lol: :lol:
and as for daddy, he pay for meh license last year, does put ah roof over meh head, hopefully he go pay for meh rent in uwi when ah start, and he buy meh car for me, so I does tolerate he pujassness

ahahhahahahaah JAI !!

zactly...i only go temple to eat ah channa and oogle them betis.

Religion is for the weak...God is for the Helpless...Lanate is for the hopeless.

Be a man...stand up for your self. Face all problems unflinchingly.

dont sit in a corner and cry..and dont do nothing..and beg god..sad is that..90% of the world is like that.

Postby hydroep » September 9th, 2009, 1:03 am

Ah really beginning to question my beliefs...:lol:

Postby DFC » September 9th, 2009, 1:11 am

God Wants you DEAD

read the book here...
http://www.scribd.com/doc/2532766/God-Wants-You-Dead

Postby hydroep » September 9th, 2009, 1:20 am

Oh gorsh...leave dis pic in front nah. It's a classic..:lol:

Postby bluefete » September 9th, 2009, 6:37 am

hydroep wrote:Oh gorsh...leave dis pic in front nah. It's a classic..:lol:

Hydroep: One of the best. Maybe this is where we are headed with evolution. You certainly may have gotten it right for evolutionists.

DFC wrote: "God is for the Helpless Be a man...stand up for your self. Face all problems unflinchingly. dont sit in a corner and cry..and dont do nothing..and beg god..sad is that..90% of the world is like that".

That is why the first thing God did after he created man was to give him a "wuk". God is for everyone, including those who deny him all their lives. It is easy to mock but not so easy to admit the truth. The people who mock are afraid of the truth because it means they will have to acknowledge boundaries they have problems with.

Like doing 81kph or 160kph when the speed limit is 80kph on the highway.

Good book btw.

MGMan & Humes: Thanks for supporting my point that God and science go together. :)

The Bible, in respect of the parting of the Red Sea, states that:

"And Moses stretched out his hand over the sea; And the Lord caused the sea to go back by a strong east wind all that night, and made the sea dry land, and the waters were divided." Exodus 14:21

With respect to the age of the current earth:

"And God blessed them, and God said unto them. Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it; And have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon upon the earth." Genesis 1:28

"Replenish" implies that there was something before and it is being re-stocked. So why can't the earth be as old as scientists say?

The Great Flood has been recorded by other civilizations outside of the Bible. Example -The Epic of Gilgamesh (Sumerian cuneiform tablets) describes the flood.

Remember that people writing in ancient times would not have been exposed to current scientific innovations so they could only describe using words of that time.

The Bible clearly states that the earth orbits the sun which travels through space. But the "Church/Religion" in its quest to keep people in darkness, had them believing that the earth was flat.

"He ... hangeth the earth upon nothing." (Job 26:7)

"Have ye not known? Have ye not heard? Hath it not been told you from the beginning" Have ye not understood from the foundations of the earth? It is he that sitteth upon the circle of the earth .. (Isaiah 40:21-22)

Do you logicals know that the FIRST picture to PROVE the earth was ROUND was only taken in the 1960's???????? Yes, that recently.

With respect to the orbit of the sun:

'The heavens declare the glory of God; And the firmament showeth his handiwork... In them hath He set a tabernacle for the sun, which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, and rejoiceth as a strong man to run a race. His going forth is from the end of the heaven, and his circuit unto the ends of it: And there is nothing hid from the heat thereof." (Psalm 19:1, 4-7)

We are all astronauts in space.

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2009, 7:18 am

ummmmmmmmm.................I never said god and sicence go together
I said the idea of god is a crock of shi............

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 9th, 2009, 7:22 am

bluefete....why is it everytime people who believe in god can't explain something they quote the *insert religious book*?

on the one hand youall want to have an intellectual conversation/discussion about god but when it start to get serious youall start to backpedal and quote from a book....dais jus childish nonsense.....be an adult and have an intellectual/sensible discussion.

TechMods

Postby TechMods » September 9th, 2009, 7:56 am

bluefete When Judgment days comes and each man have to answer for themselves.....will dere name be written in the book of life? For those who do not believe & have faith in GOD just leave them & let it be.....most you can do is pray for them, simple as that. If not they will just perish in the everlasting pit of fire & brimstone being tormented by the devil & his demons.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 9th, 2009, 8:21 am

TechMods wrote:bluefete If not they will just perish in the everlasting pit of fire & brimstone being tormented by the devil & his demons.

Jus so we clear....since you seem to have the answers...will we be there alone or will there also be aliens?....surely if god created us he created other beings as well....or are you pompous enough to believe we alone exist?

I jus wanna know so I could take my camera.

Postby RBphoto » September 9th, 2009, 8:22 am

TechMods wrote: perish in the everlasting pit of fire & brimstone being tormented by the devil & his demons.

Okey, let's say I die at 120 years of age (heh heh heh)

I have been an unbeliever for 100 of those years.

I have to suffer an infinite amount of time.

Let's say MG died today and I meet him in hell. His sentence is the same as mine.

He was in hell for let's say 50 years before me though he has transgressed for 50 years less than me.

God really whack to be that unfair in his judgement.

It also follows that a finite sin bring infinite retribution, because as time tends to infinity, then MG's and my retribution difference tends to zero.

So much for a compassionate god. The exsistance of hell disproves the exsistance of god.

weedja2

Postby weedja2 » September 9th, 2009, 9:05 am

MG Man wrote:in other words, humes, dumb stories were written around natural events
classic is the plagues of egypt............all volcanic related, all happened in Nigeria some years ago....the red water, the critters, ppl dying overnight....whe whole schebang

I 2nd that MG Man, these book just contain exagerrated events. Boy are these people here brainwashed, they have been bought and they dont even know it.

The only way to prove is to go back in time

trdboy

Postby trdboy » September 9th, 2009, 9:43 am

crossdrilled wrote:
TechMods wrote: perish in the everlasting pit of fire & brimstone being tormented by the devil & his demons.

Let's say MG died today and I meet him in hell. His sentence is the same as mine.

He was in hell for let's say 50 years before me though he has transgressed for 50 years less than me.

It also follows that a finite sin bring infinite retribution, because as time tends to infinity, then MG's and my retribution difference tends to zero.

So much for a compassionate god. The exsistance of hell disproves the exsistance of god.

lol!!! there is a time for everything dude!!! all ur question will be answered in time, and from ur last post u ent gona like ur answer!!!

i am a Christian and just waking up every morning and having life is enough for me to believe in God!! I DONT NEED TO SEE IT TO BELIEVE IT.....

now thats my p.o.v and i will get bashed for that but it doh make sense bashing ppl like mgman for their p.o.v cuz and the end of the day its just his p.o.v and it doesn't matter!!!!

Postby RBphoto » September 9th, 2009, 9:55 am

trdboy wrote:
lol!!! there is a time for everything dude!!! all ur question will be answered in time, and from ur last post u ent gona like ur answer!!!

i am a Christian and just waking up every morning and having life is enough for me to believe in God!! I DONT NEED TO SEE IT TO BELIEVE IT.....

now thats my p.o.v and i will get bashed for that but it doh make sense bashing ppl like mgman for their p.o.v cuz and the end of the day its just his p.o.v and it doesn't matter!!!!

So basically you tell me :"I breathe, therefore you could go to hell" :?

Fail.

trdboy

Postby trdboy » September 9th, 2009, 9:57 am

u drive a tiida so obviously u know what hell is!!!
Last edited by trdboy on September 9th, 2009, 1:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby bluefete » September 9th, 2009, 10:10 am

Skanky wrote:bluefete....why is it everytime people who believe in god can't explain something they quote the *insert religious book*?

on the one hand youall want to have an intellectual conversation/discussion about god but when it start to get serious youall start to backpedal and quote from a book....dais jus childish nonsense.....be an adult and have an intellectual/sensible discussion.

Skanks, pallie, that is the basis of our argument and we are entitled to use it to back up ours just as you are entitled to use your logic or whatever. It seems that you are the one backpedalling because you cannot refute the truth of what was written.

Crossdrilled: The existence of hell PROVES the existence of God. Like everything else, God created Lucifer who was the greatest, highest and most powerful of all the angels (if you believe that). Like all else, he had free will and aspired to become greater than the Creator. We know the outcome of that. When he was thrown into the earth, chaos followed.

When men & women came along, we were given the same intimations.

Choose.

If some people can live to 100+ years today, why could they not have lived for over 900+ years, at a time, when the earthly environment was much more conducive for such?

Chronologically, people started living shorter lives AFTER the Flood. This meant that there was a tremendous upheaval in the previously pristine earthly environment that was now no longer favourable for 900+ years of living.

Oh, I'm sorry. I forgot. Cavemen did not live for 900 years. Or is it that this has just not been proven as yet?

Men & women were not created to die BUT were given a caution that if they did certain things that were prohibited, there would be consequences.

The mythological Adam & Eve were promised certain death if they transgressed God's instructions. They transgressed and God promptly carried out his instructions.

"But of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, thou shalt not eat of it: for in the day that thou eatest thereof, thou shalt surely die." (Genesis 2:17) This was a clear and undisputed promise.

Note that this instruction was given to Adam BEFORE Eve came along. So Eve would have been instructed by Adam.

"And the woman said unto the serpent ... But of the fruit of the tree which is in the midst of the garden, God hath said, Ye shall not eat of it, neither shall ye touch it lest ye die.

And the serpent said unto the woman, Ye shall not surely die. For God doth know that in the day ye eat thereof, then your eyes shall be opened and ye shall be as gods, knowing good and evil." ( Genesis 3:2-5)

That last line there sounding like some 2NR's I know :lol:

Adam & Eve doubted God's word and the rest is history. That is why we are having this stimulating discussion.

God's word is precise. Adam & Eve died "in the day" that they transgressed. One day for the Lord, in our earth calculations = 1,000 years. Adam died at 930 years (in the day). Methuselah died at 969 years (in the day).

TRDBOY: God is so great and forgiving that I expect to see the very 2NR's, who have so denigrated His name in this thread, in eternity (preferably heaven), where we will no doubt exclaim "what you doing here"? And thus continue this discussion before the man Himself. 8-) 8-)

trdboy

Postby trdboy » September 9th, 2009, 10:15 am

^^^^^^well said hoss!!! hammer on nail!!!

Postby RBphoto » September 9th, 2009, 10:48 am

bluefete, I don't believe in hell either, and if that proves god.....just do the math. :lol: Try and say somthing that sounds like an original idea rather than what your mamie/ fader/ priest teach you when you were growing up.

trdboy, If heaven and hell is a function of my current condition (suffering driving a Tiida), thus being only a metaphor then you subscribe to the fact that heaven is also metaphorical, driving your toyota in your case. It follows that since we are rewarded/ punished in our present condition, for our personal choices, (buying a Tiida/ toyota) then the concept of heaven and hell in the afterlife are redundant and unnessescary, as we have justly been rewarded/ punished for our action in this life. Let me hear your backpeddle from that statement now.

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » September 9th, 2009, 12:24 pm

And still .....

bluefete, you continue to miss my point. let me lay it out flat - minus the flowery BS.

There are believers on one side and of those believers there are the mild, moderate, and fanatics. Same goes For the other side of logic, reason and science. Each side has those that hold belief in various forms... Choice. They choose. Religion, and by extension one of its tenets: Faith, compels one to accept the religion's dogma ... to accept a doctrine proclaimed as truth.. truth without proof The 'advent' of man as described by one specific religion - Christianity, happens over the course of a week. A week in which at the whim of a great force, Man, the earth, and all species that inhabit it was created in perfection and completion, and Man was given dominion over all that was there, for Man was fashioned in the likeness of his creator GOD. This dogma goes against all the PROOF that science and logic has shown us about evolution, adaptation and the survival and perseverance of certain species. The proof is there, yet hardline religious fanatics would desperately refuse to accept truth. the truth that Man's time on earth did not start as dogma suggests about 4000 years ago. You always hear them pound on the bible to explain everything and when backed into a corner with no way to explain something, then you hear 'take it on faith'
:lol: .. what laughable BS.

Conversely science has their share of wackos, weirdos and loonies. But. at least science offers you a method to help explain or understand a theory or concept. At least when they meet something they cant explain, THEY SAY SO instead of trying to hit you an extract from the bible... Scientific theories are rationalised and then tested and upon that result, findings made... A theory is then adjudged to be true or false. At one time it was thought that only birds can fly.. later refuted. All through time Christianity has Impeded the progress of man's development. Take for example, during the renaissance Christianity branded as heretics many of the thinkers whose ideas and theories are now proven as hard facts. The earth is round(ish), man is capable of flight(with the aid of technology) etc etc etc... Think about where man would be now without the ideas of Nikola Tesla, Imhotep, DaVinci, Michaelangelo, Abbas Ibn Firnas, Albert Einstein, Isaac Newton etc etc ... great Polymaths whose ideas were ridiculed at one time and now so many are ignorant as to how much they have contributed to man's development today because of Science....

So forgive those who choose to follow science and reason to explain what they dont know..... even if it takes a couple hundred years to do it, at least it will get done..To a scientist, the mere thought of some unknown force or spiritual being being the one in charge is preposterous... Religion for all intents and purposed was created by Man to control and subjugate..Religion appeals to emotion and its what ties believers together ( even though thare a a great many contradictions in the bible) they continue to believe.... and thus it serves its purpose - belief proclaimed as truth without proof...

Its all about what u Choose to believe

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » September 9th, 2009, 12:44 pm

crossdrilled wrote:

i disagree crossdrilled bhaigan.
its like your dp exam... it doesnt matter whether u sinned for one day or one decade... once u accept and believe in him and be christian in behaviour and attitude... you will qualify

OR

u in the line to movitowne.... whether you waiting in line for one minute or one hour to see transformers.. you either accept their 45 fee and watch the movie or you stay out the surround sound big screen !!

what so hard to understand ? either you be good and get rewarded or you be bad and get sent to teh naughty corner