Postby RASC » January 30th, 2009, 5:25 pm

Dragist,Thank You.

Humes

Postby Humes » January 30th, 2009, 5:32 pm

Jah, well sorry for trying to inject a little humor. Thought yall were trying to avoid the gloom-and-doom...

Postby eliteauto » January 30th, 2009, 5:51 pm

^^Buzz carnival thread is for that

twenty_inches_strong

Postby twenty_inches_strong » January 30th, 2009, 5:51 pm

I feel hurt for all CL Financial employees who going to get the short end of the stick when those deals go through.....there are more companies to come cause I know there are more who feeling pinch but biting dey tongue....ah wonder who next :twisted: if I wud love to own a piece of that company I need some accountants and lawyers....call me if you want work

Postby st7 » January 30th, 2009, 5:54 pm

seems that CIB and CMMB gonna be transferred to FCB...

lemme hear allyuh now nah :S

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2009, 5:56 pm

just remember anything the central bank putting in the media is meant to not cause panic

sometime ago somebody pointed out that clico was a private pyramid scheme...
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &&start=40

remember from accounts 101
Assets = Liability + Equity
if you could very well be insolvent and operating illegally, ie you buss

If you ever spoke to any CLICO/CIB sales agent they often pride themselves in saying that their parent company are private and mr. duprey knows what he is doing and has made good gambles with methanol, liquor etc.
the part they always forget to say is that those gambles used people insurance/pension money. I guess they now blame those failed gambles on the world economy......

the govt should do minimal if any bailout of private schemes who don't do any financial reporting.

why doesnt mr duprey selloff all the land and real estate development he is doing in ft lauderdale to help the liquidity situation ?

why doesnt mr monteil sell off the big chunk of home mortgage bank he pickup the other day and use that to help out ?

i hope if central bank finds them too deep in the red they dont start liquidating by freezing republic since they might be the most liquid asset in the bowl, that would be real funny.

them fellas life sweet, panama passport and all

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2009, 6:00 pm

<embed src="http://media.imeem.com/m/S44xI9TiEh/aus=false/" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="300" height="110" wmode="transparent"></embed>

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » January 30th, 2009, 6:04 pm

why doesnt mr duprey selloff all the land and real estate development he is doing in ft lauderdale to help the liquidity situation ?

Because its a long term investment and not liquid!...Duh!

The company is seeing liquidity problems,based on problems faced by CIB that CLICO bailed out.

I doing like RASC yes....I fedup :?

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2009, 6:13 pm

You guys realize how even more POWERFUL the gov't of Trinidad and Tobago is in the region :shock:

Postby eliteauto » January 30th, 2009, 6:15 pm

^^ apparently there are long term economic strategists withing the bowels of the Gov't :skurry: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2009, 6:16 pm

you shouldn't take my post literally,
it was meant to mean something else........

drunkenscorpion wrote:

Because its a long term investment and not liquid!...Duh!

The company is seeing liquidity problems,based on problems faced by CIB that CLICO bailed out.

I doing like RASC yes....I fedup :?

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2009, 6:19 pm

corollalover101 wrote:^^ apparently there are long term economic strategists withing the bowels of the Gov't :skurry: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

JL

Postby JL » January 30th, 2009, 6:25 pm

If HCL now belongs to NHA..... I guess millennium park and all those other HCL gated communities are now NHA housing developments...

xtech

Postby xtech » January 30th, 2009, 6:42 pm

somebody say housing market about to bust..........
An people living in million dollar :oops: ah mean a few hundred thousand dollar homes in Couva.

How are they going to handle paying a high million dollar mortgage for a worthless house if this thing gets out of hand.

But Government move real swift to halt this slide.

An i wonder if Mr Duprey pay out big bonus to himself an d boys just like what happen on Wall Street, even though the market was an still is sliding daily
Last edited by xtech on January 30th, 2009, 6:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Cjruckus » January 30th, 2009, 6:43 pm

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...........

*tightens belt*

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2009, 7:06 pm

this slide going over 2 years now,
CL's corporate staffing is practically on a constant churn for years now

Howai just say "Please refrain from visiting branches"
this almost like when Abu say "there will be no looting"

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2009, 7:09 pm

pugboy wrote:
Howai just say "Please refrain from visiting branches"
this almost like when Abu say "there will be no looting"

That part had me in tears...

Postby X_Factor » January 30th, 2009, 7:13 pm

im sorry for those who have $$ invested in those places now...
and carnival eh even done yet....watchout after

Postby 16 cycles » January 30th, 2009, 7:14 pm

sad part is that it seems the big wigs who got the inside information were able to secure their deposits on time whilst the common investor has to go through hoops to secure life savings

Doesn;t seem that getting inside info is illegal though ....

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2009, 7:16 pm

EDIT:I tired explain...nah I really tired now!

:lol: Lemme go get a drink yes...
Last edited by RASC on January 30th, 2009, 7:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 30th, 2009, 7:17 pm

Cjruckus wrote:hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...........

*tightens belt*

no need to

we not starving yet :|

Postby 16 cycles » January 30th, 2009, 7:19 pm

RASC wrote:EDIT:I tired explain...nah I really tired now!

:lol: Lemme go get a drink yes...

nice that you read over my statement

Postby eliteauto » January 30th, 2009, 7:34 pm

Now I know why this announcement was made on a Friday :? To give the alarmists time to understand what is happening and hopefully there will not be a run on financial institutions, but in Trinidad rumshop/barbershop economists are better knowledgeable that the experts :roll: :roll:

Postby X_Factor » January 30th, 2009, 7:41 pm

What about job security at those companies?(CIB, CNMG)...would staff be out of work soon?

Postby eliteauto » January 30th, 2009, 7:44 pm

X_Factor, it's CMMB, and reports are that CIB is to be wound up and there will be job losses

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » January 30th, 2009, 7:54 pm

This thread is boring

Postby eliteauto » January 30th, 2009, 7:55 pm

^^^ Duprey approved :P

Postby bushwakka » January 30th, 2009, 7:56 pm

what about our jobs!!! gov't to buy MHTL!!!!

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2009, 7:59 pm

there is bound to be some kind of action, run or not
I went to republic to move some money and the boldface girl there ask me why i was taking out my money, if they keep doing that people will want to take out their money

CL has long agreed to be a silent(ish) partner in republic, they dont even have significant representation on the board even though they own majority.

this is what has kept investors confident with republic after the initial uproar when CL bought in.

will the situation remain the same at republic now that fcb/govt taking control ?

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » January 30th, 2009, 8:01 pm

Japanese = reliability