COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

AlphaMan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31775 cases, 791 deaths, 7613 active, 23371 recovered in T&T

Postby AlphaMan » June 27th, 2021, 10:03 pm

MaxPower wrote:What you Trinis worrying about?

A next variant? A next virus?

Ent allyuh suppose to “distance”, “mask”, and “sanitize”?

Open up the place man.

Rowley supposed to open up the place since last week.
He sticking. At this point who dead dead.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31775 cases, 791 deaths, 7613 active, 23371 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » June 27th, 2021, 10:15 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Willing to bet that the delta variant will magically arrive after the 17th july

u mean the news of he delta after the 17th... after it done spread up in the people SEA and construction and borders and what not.

bring in the locals, keep the borders closed to foreign non essentials. let business resume IN trinidad IN a bubble.

Postby De Dragon » June 27th, 2021, 10:16 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Firstly, no country can or has been able to close their borders 100%. North Korea still has illegal crossings with China. Taiwan had a cluster linked to transporting pilots who were overnighting back and forth to hotel. Recently a Grenandian left Trinidad sailed to Petit Martinique and only after police was looking for him, he surrendered himself in Grenada. Illegal immigration can be mitigated, not stopped.

Secondly, STAML, a private lab, can do variant testing. And in the same way the govt cant completely stop illegal migration, the same way that if the Delta variant is here they cant keep it secret.

Going to staml is 100% voluntary and then they need to send the results to the ministry. The ministry does not need to say if it is here or not.

Tuntsy seriously wants to compare thousands of illegal Venes coming and going at will, to a handful of North Korean/Taiwanese and one Grenadian? :rofl: :rofl:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 27th, 2021, 10:34 pm

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Willing to bet that the delta variant will magically arrive after the 17th july

u mean the news of he delta after the 17th... after it done spread up in the people SEA and construction and borders and what not.

bring in the locals, keep the borders closed to foreign non essentials. let business resume IN trinidad IN a bubble.

What bubble? They have already proved that they cannot Build/Operate/Maintain a successful bubble.

Borders closed for over a year and still we have strains from the UK and Brazil.

Open the damn borders. Why oppress you people when there is no benefit from said oppression.

Postby sMASH » June 28th, 2021, 12:08 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Firstly, no country can or has been able to close their borders 100%. North Korea still has illegal crossings with China. Taiwan had a cluster linked to transporting pilots who were overnighting back and forth to hotel. Recently a Grenandian left Trinidad sailed to Petit Martinique and only after police was looking for him, he surrendered himself in Grenada. Illegal immigration can be mitigated, not stopped.

Secondly, STAML, a private lab, can do variant testing. And in the same way the govt cant completely stop illegal migration, the same way that if the Delta variant is here they cant keep it secret.

Going to staml is 100% voluntary and then they need to send the results to the ministry. The ministry does not need to say if it is here or not.

Tuntsy seriously wants to compare thousands of illegal Venes coming and going at will, to a handful of North Korean/Taiwanese and one Grenadian? :rofl: :rofl:

N Korea illegal crossings is unoffically allowed, as it brings in income for the regime. another tid bit that may or may not touch us, many of the labor used in chinese belt and road, is nk slave labor. they dont get to leave teh sites and get paid very little. a good portion is sent to the nk regime.

an errant traveler, the pilot here and there, all those are things that will happen abut will not be signficant stimulants of covid spread, so long as most people follow the guidlines, and u keep the activity out doors.
its the thousands that go around the closed borders thats the problem. and in nk case, its to facilitate their unoffical business for the regime.

lord knows what unofficial business does our open borders policy seek to prop for our regime

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 32198 cases, 817 deaths, 7508 active, 23873 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » June 28th, 2021, 6:51 am

Delta Plus strain has to be tackled with urgent, additional measures: WHO

The Delta plus variant binds more easily to lung cells and is potentially resistant to monoclonal antibody therapy.

By hindustantimes.com | Written by Meenakshi Ray, New Delhi

PUBLISHED ON JUN 27, 2021 07:20 AM IST

Delta Plus variant of coronavirus, which several experts say is more infectious, needs to be addressed with vaccination and safety measures such as wearing face masks, the World Health Organization's (WHO) representative to Russia Melita Vujnovic has said. "Vaccination plus masks, because just a vaccine is not enough with 'Delta.' We need to make an effort over a short period of time, otherwise there would be a lockdown," Vujnovic said on the live YouTube show, according to news agency ANI.

Vujnovic said that vaccination is essential because it lowers the probability of spreading the virus and lowers the risks of severe disease. Vujnovic warned that "additional measures" will probably be required as well. She was speaking to talk show host Vladimir Solovyov on his “Solovyov LIVE”.

The Delta plus variant, which is also known as AY.1, spreads more easily, binds more easily to lung cells and is potentially resistant to monoclonal antibody therapy, which is a potent intravenous infusion of antibodies to neutralise the virus.

WHO, earlier this month, included the Delta variant in its list of variants of concern as the strain became prevalent and has caused a resurgence of Covid-19 cases in several countries. India has also reported multiple cases of the Delta Plus strain, which was first discovered in March.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/world-ne ... 70903.html

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 32198 cases, 817 deaths, 7508 active, 23873 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » June 28th, 2021, 6:57 am

I saw Australia has shut down over one Delta case with just about 4 percent of their population fully vaccinated yet we ready to open our borders....HOW

Postby aaron17 » June 28th, 2021, 7:30 am

hover11 wrote:I saw Australia has shut down over one Delta case with just about 4 percent of their population fully vaccinated yet we ready to open our borders....HOW
And yet we on track with opening our borders..smh

Postby adnj » June 28th, 2021, 7:39 am

aaron17 wrote:
hover11 wrote:I saw Australia has shut down over one Delta case with just about 4 percent of their population fully vaccinated yet we ready to open our borders....HOW
There isn't much infection in Australia and Trinidad is vaccinating more people faster.
Last edited by adnj on June 28th, 2021, 7:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » June 28th, 2021, 7:42 am

Vaccinating with what sinopharm....they using credible vaccines we scraping the bottom of the barrel
adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
There isn't much infection in Australia and Trinidad is vaccinating more people faster.
ImageImage

wing

Postby wing » June 28th, 2021, 8:16 am

hover11 wrote:Vaccinating with what sinopharm....they using credible vaccines we scraping the bottom of the barrel
adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
ImageImage
What's it to you? You're against vaccination anyways so it shouldn't bother you.

Postby hover11 » June 28th, 2021, 8:20 am

It bothers me because I watching the poor decision making causing a further imminent lockdown and prolonged economic hardship
wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:Vaccinating with what sinopharm....they using credible vaccines we scraping the bottom of the barrel
adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
ImageImage
What's it to you? You're against vaccination anyways so it shouldn't bother you.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2021, 8:23 am

u comparing a country with a population of 1.3 million people to that with 25.7 million people.

Postby hover11 » June 28th, 2021, 8:28 am

Leave them na, apparently 4 percent in Australia is the same compared to us , I waiting to see how we deal with delta
elec2020 wrote:u comparing a country with a population of 1.3 million people to that with 25.7 million people.

Postby sMASH » June 28th, 2021, 8:37 am

aaron17 wrote:
Because they want to say people bring it in, is not their fault, and we move round spread it... He want to blame jackassing the scene on us.
Right now cases thus spread is reducing.

If they get the variant while people on severe restrictions and the cases dropping, It would show definitely its their management that is the weak link.

So, open back up in time to blur the blamability.

That sea, is another ge2020.

The vaccine spread, tho minimal, was still detectable, and it had the best conditions to mitigate spread with activity.
Sea will be 3 hours indoors with 22k people locked in.

The declaration of 'airborne' and that 60' spread means, no amount of indoor distancing gonna help.
The 3hrs lock in, means only n95 mask will be of any help.

15th, look fir ur rise in cases.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2021, 8:45 am

^ agreed. They going to use this to extend the lockdowns. Remember they applied to extend the SOE till August/September. Given the reduction in cases there must be a reason why this should continue. That reason will be a new variant in TnT due to the opening up of borders. Idk if that helps them on three fronts. Gaining political mileage (government trying to help citizens but got burned in doing so), increase dependence on the state (through grants and relief) and continue to destroy SMEs (idk what the point of that is but that seems to be a key objective of the "you will own nothing and be happy" WEF narrative.

Postby Habit7 » June 28th, 2021, 8:51 am

elec2020 wrote:u comparing a country with a population of 1.3 million people to that with 25.7 million people.

Didn't you do that by comparing us to the 90,000 person population of Seychelles?

Postby adnj » June 28th, 2021, 8:54 am

Trinidad has over 160 new cases per million. Australia has ONE (1) case per million. Delta is in 85 countries and becoming the dominant strain in Europe and NA. There's no point in keeping borders closed.

Variants of concern are likely already here - you just don't know where.

Postby hover11 » June 28th, 2021, 8:57 am

J AND J may require booster shot against delta so I guess is not a single shot anymore

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2021, 8:57 am

^ the context was different. We were talking about rate of spread of infection. And I was trying to say that while the numbers appear low the rate of spread of infection could be high given the size of Seychelles is only 90k. This other argument is with respect to rate of vaccination. Which Trinidad will not be compared to Australia as I believe it is stated that 4 per cent of Australia is fully vaccinated. And 4 per cent of 25.7 million is 1028000. To fully vaccinate 1.0 million people Australia's vaccination rate is much higher than ours. A better indicator would have been number vaccinated per 100,000. That would make things more comparable

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2021, 8:59 am

hover11 wrote:J AND J may require booster shot against delta so I guess is not a single shot anymore

they kinda stop talking about booster shots now. I could be wrong but it not as prevalent in the media again. Idk why

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... finds.html

Postby hover11 » June 28th, 2021, 9:12 am

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 021-06-25/

NEW YORK, June 25 (Reuters) - Infectious disease experts are weighing the need for booster shots of the Pfizer/BioNTech (PFE.N), or Moderna (MRNA.O) mRNA-based vaccines for Americans who received Johnson & Johnson's (JNJ.N) one-dose vaccine due to the increasing prevalence of the more contagious Delta coronavirus variant.
A few say they have already done so themselves, even without published data on whether combining two different vaccines is safe and effective or backing from U.S. health regulators. Canada and some European countries are already allowing people to get two different COVID-19 shots.
The debate centers on concerns over how protective the J&J shot is against the Delta variant first detected in India and now circulating widely in many countries. Delta, which has also been associated with more severe disease, could quickly become the dominant version of the virus in the United States, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Director Rochelle Walensky has warned.
There is no substantial data showing how protective the J&J vaccine is against the new variant. However, UK studies show that two doses of either the Pfizer/BioNTech or AstraZeneca (AZN.L) vaccines are significantly more protective against the variant than one. read more

Andy Slavitt, former senior pandemic advisor to U.S. President Joe Biden, raised the idea this week on his podcast. At least half a dozen prominent infectious disease experts said U.S. regulators need to address the issue in short order.
"There's no doubt that the people who receive the J&J vaccine are less protected against disease," than those who get two doses of the other shots, said Stanford professor Dr. Michael Lin. "From the principle of taking easy steps to prevent really bad outcomes, this is really a no brainer."
The CDC is not recommending boosters, and advisors to the agency said at a public meeting this week there is not yet significant evidence of declining protection from the vaccines.
Jason Gallagher, an infectious diseases expert at Temple University’s School of Pharmacy, recently received a Pfizer dose at the Philadelphia vaccine clinic where he has been administering shots. He got the J&J vaccine in a clinical trial in November.

Gallagher said he was concerned about the UK data showing lower efficacy against the Delta variant for people who received one vaccine dose.
"While the situation has gotten so much better in the U.S., the Delta variant that's spreading ... and really quickly taking over in the U.S. looks a little more concerning in terms of the breakthrough infections with the single-dose vaccines," he said. "So I took the plunge."

Postby hover11 » June 28th, 2021, 9:13 am

The CDC is advising against boosters but JandJ said its OK.....hmmmm alright

Postby paid_influencer » June 28th, 2021, 9:23 am

adnj wrote:Antibodies triggered by Chinese COVID-19 shots less effective on Delta variant - researcher

Reuters

BEIJING, June 25 (Reuters) - Antibodies triggered by two Chinese COVID-19 vaccines are less effective against the Delta variant compared with other strains but the shots still offer protection, a Chinese disease control researcher told state media.

The Delta variant of the new coronavirus, first detected in India, is becoming the globally dominant variant of the disease with its increased transmissibility, the World Health Organization's chief scientist warned last week. read more

In an interview aired by China Central Television late on Thursday, Feng Zijian, researcher and former deputy director at the Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, did not provide further details.

Without naming the two vaccines, Feng said they fell into the category of inactivated vaccines, which contain "killed" coronavirus that cannot replicate in human cells.

Five out of the seven domestically developed vaccines in China's mass inoculation scheme are inactivated vaccines. These include shots from Sinovac Biotech (SVA.O) and Sinopharm used in countries such as Brazil, Bahrain and Chile.

The Delta variant has caused infections in three cities in southern Guangdong province, officials said, where a total of 170 locally confirmed patients were reported between May 21 and June 21.

It remains unclear how many of them contracted the Delta variant.

About 85% of the Guangdong cases in the latest outbreak were found in the provincial capital, Guangzhou.

"In the Guangdong outbreak ... none of those vaccinated infections became severe cases, and none of the severe cases were vaccinated," Feng said.

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 021-06-25/

For this to be on Chinese State Media... it has to be an serious issue. This is like the initial 3.6 radiation reading from Chernobyl... it's only 3.6 because the meter melted after that
Last edited by paid_influencer on June 28th, 2021, 9:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 28th, 2021, 9:28 am

hover11 wrote:https://www.reuters.com/business/healthcare-pharmaceuticals/booster-may-be-needed-jj-shot-delta-variant-spreads-some-experts-already-taking-2021-06-25/

NEW YORK, June 25 (Reuters) - Infectious disease experts are weighing the need for booster shots of the Pfizer/BioNTech (PFE.N), or Moderna (MRNA.O) mRNA-based vaccines for Americans who received Johnson & Johnson's (JNJ.N) one-dose vaccine due to the increasing prevalence of the more contagious Delta coronavirus variant.
A few say they have already done so themselves, even without published data on whether combining two different vaccines is safe and effective or backing from U.S. health regulators. Canada and some European countries are already allowing people to get two different COVID-19 shots.
The debate centers on concerns over how protective the J&J shot is against the Delta variant first detected in India and now circulating widely in many countries. Delta, which has also been associated with more severe disease, could quickly become the dominant version of the virus in the United States, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Director Rochelle Walensky has warned.
There is no substantial data showing how protective the J&J vaccine is against the new variant. However, UK studies show that two doses of either the Pfizer/BioNTech or AstraZeneca (AZN.L) vaccines are significantly more protective against the variant than one. read more

Andy Slavitt, former senior pandemic advisor to U.S. President Joe Biden, raised the idea this week on his podcast. At least half a dozen prominent infectious disease experts said U.S. regulators need to address the issue in short order.
"There's no doubt that the people who receive the J&J vaccine are less protected against disease," than those who get two doses of the other shots, said Stanford professor Dr. Michael Lin. "From the principle of taking easy steps to prevent really bad outcomes, this is really a no brainer."
The CDC is not recommending boosters, and advisors to the agency said at a public meeting this week there is not yet significant evidence of declining protection from the vaccines.
Jason Gallagher, an infectious diseases expert at Temple University’s School of Pharmacy, recently received a Pfizer dose at the Philadelphia vaccine clinic where he has been administering shots. He got the J&J vaccine in a clinical trial in November.

Gallagher said he was concerned about the UK data showing lower efficacy against the Delta variant for people who received one vaccine dose.
"While the situation has gotten so much better in the U.S., the Delta variant that's spreading ... and really quickly taking over in the U.S. looks a little more concerning in terms of the breakthrough infections with the single-dose vaccines," he said. "So I took the plunge."

ah got you. I just personally found that this discussion on booster shots died down. I was wrong.

Postby redmanjp » June 28th, 2021, 11:43 am

Sinopharm approved for breastfeeding women. not Astrazeneca.

Postby hover11 » June 28th, 2021, 11:57 am

Why the Chinese brand but not AstraZeneca
redmanjp wrote:Sinopharm approved for breastfeeding women. not Astrazeneca.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2021, 12:03 pm

hover11 wrote:Why the Chinese brand but not AstraZeneca

It depends who did the approval, AZ does have rare blood clot issues while Sinopharm does not, that could be the reason as young women are the highest at risk for VITT.

Postby redmanjp » June 28th, 2021, 12:38 pm

hover11 wrote:Why the Chinese brand but not AstraZeneca

they said they have more data on sinopharm and it's an older technology- it's a killed form of the virus which they already use in other vaccines

Postby Gem_in_i » June 28th, 2021, 12:50 pm

They opening because Chinese have to come in to start construction?