COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31775 cases, 791 deaths, 7613 active, 23371 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 5:25 pm

DMan7 wrote:Image

9 deaths, cases not going down as much as we'd want.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31775 cases, 791 deaths, 7613 active, 23371 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » June 26th, 2021, 5:30 pm

The UK is under a SERIOUS Delta outbreak with a 79% increase in cases since last week.

The Delta Variant is infecting fully vaccinated people.

The International Islamic Council has given the directive to QUARANTINE ALL entering ANY controlled zone, according to International Bio Hazard Infectious Regulations.

We should not be accepting ppl from the UK atm

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 5:32 pm

hover11 wrote:The UK is under a SERIOUS Delta outbreak with a 79% increase in cases since last week.

The International Islamic Council has given the directive to QUARANTINE ALL entering ANY controlled zone, according to International Bio Hazard Infectious Regulations.

It's just a matter of time the delta variant gets here, it's all over the US as well. Good thing is that vaccinated people aren't dying in the UK.

This is a legit concern though and kinda discredits the whole reason we kept borders closed in the first place.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » June 26th, 2021, 5:36 pm

hover11 wrote:The UK is under a SERIOUS Delta outbreak with a 79% increase in cases since last week.

Why not? They could test and quarantine as is done all over.
We could allow people from another country or a citizen and they could have the variant .

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 26th, 2021, 5:39 pm

if we all die from delta at least pizer save the leaders.

Postby st7 » June 26th, 2021, 5:54 pm

st7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote::evil: 7
elec2020 wrote:i don't understand the quarantine. is it that vaccinated don't spread the disease?

Very little spread with mRNA vaccines

can you please link a source for this info?

"Data were added from studies published since the last update that further demonstrate people who are fully vaccinated with a currently authorized mRNA vaccine are protected against asymptomatic infection and, if infected, have a lower viral load than unvaccinated people."

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... eople.html

the higher the viral load (kind of the amount of the virus in you) the easier it is for you to spread enough of the virus around and so you are more contagious.
The lower the viral load, the less contagious you are.
With any vaccine your body can fight the virus and lower its effects and so you end up with a lower viral load and so you are less likely to spread the virus - vaccinated people can still get the virus but they themselves are less likely to spread it

oh, nice.. thanks for that!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 26th, 2021, 6:00 pm

TIME TO OPEN UP NOW!

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2021, 6:24 pm

In before the same ppl who were crying for us to open borders, are the same ppl who would be crying why we let covid-19 fly in.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 26th, 2021, 6:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:In before the same ppl who were crying for us to open borders, are the same ppl who would be crying why we let covid-19 fly in.

We not crying. We warning. We trying to figure out how it makes sense. Why wasn't it done when we could of managed the quarantine better. Look at how many cases we having. Also, the PM said that it one takes one unvaccinated person breaking quarantine to created a spike. So any plans to ask illegal immigrants if they are vaccinated?

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » June 26th, 2021, 6:51 pm

Habit7 wrote:In before the same ppl who were crying for us to open borders, are the same ppl who would be crying why we let covid-19 fly in.

In before somebody say the borders were open all the time and that COVID came in on pirogues too.

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2021, 7:24 pm

Borders was always open for red government ppl

Ask Rowlair daughter and the AG chrinden

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 7:36 pm

I won't be one, I'm extremely glad they finally decided to open borders. I'm just saying their reasoning for keeping it closed kinda makes no sense if they suddenly decided to allow unvaccinated persons to enter.

So what changed? We aren't a safer position wrt to having a decent amount of ppl vaccinated....at least not yet, I'd say we could be in a safer position by Oct/Nov though.

People away are vaccinated and we see that it's very effective, especially the mRNA vaccines. That seems like a reasonable factor in their decision.

But to me it just seems this decision was purely because they couldn't keep CAL afloat any longer. At least that's how it appears to me.

Especially at a time when the delta variant is spreading all over the world, it seems their attitude towards the border is clearly no longer the same.

Which would mean that it shouldn't really have been closed at all. But I'm sure habit7 will I'm wrong and the rest of the Caribbean just got lucky, unlike us

Postby bluefete » June 26th, 2021, 7:54 pm

What is the risk of getting blood clot after AstraZeneca's jab?

British health chiefs last month recommended all under-40s are offered an alternative to AstraZeneca's vaccine because of blood clot fears.

More than 330 cases of a rare clotting disorder have been spotted among 24.2million recipients of the jab — or around one in every 75,000 people. Fifty-eight patients have died.

But statisticians analysed the numbers and found rates were slightly higher among younger adults, with females appearing to be at most risk, too.

Cambridge academics estimated around 1.9 in every 100,000 twenty-somethings given AstraZeneca's jab would suffer serious blood clots alongside abnormally low platelet levels (thrombocytopenia) — the specific disorder linked to the jab. For thirty-somethings the figure was 1.5.

They compared that against the average number of Covid intensive care admissions that would be prevented by giving that cohort the jab. And they then analysed the risk/benefit ratio in different scenarios, based entirely on how widespread the disease was at the time.

For example, only 0.2 ICU admissions would be prevented for every 100,000 twenty-somethings given the jab at prevalence levels seen in April (fewer than 30,000 infections per week). For adults in their thirties, the figure was around 0.8.

It showed, however, the benefits of giving AstraZeneca's vaccine to 40-49 year olds outweighed the potential risk (1.7 prevented ICU admissions per 100,000 people compared to 1.2 blood clots).

But the decision to recommend under-40s are offered Pfizer or Moderna's jab instead was basically only taken because the outbreak was squashed to extremely low levels, as well as the fact younger people are known to face tiny odds of falling seriously ill with coronavirus.

For older adults, who the disease poses a much greater threat to, the benefits of vaccination are clear, regulators insist. Jabs have already saved around 13,000 lives in England, top scientists believe.

However, because there were so few blood clots, it made it impossible for No10's vaccine advisory panel to give an exact age cut-off. Instead, they were only able to analyse figures by decade.

The first clots to alarm people were ones appearing in veins near the brains of younger adults in a condition called CSVT (cerebral sinus venous thrombosis).

Since that, however, people have developed clots in other parts of their bodies and they are usually linked to low numbers of platelets, which is unusual because platelets are usually used by the immune system to build the clots.

In most cases people recover fully and the blockages are generally easy to treat if spotted early, but they can trigger strokes or heart or lung problems if unnoticed.

Symptoms depend entirely on where the clot is, with brain blockages causing excrutiating headaches. Clots in major arteries in the abdomen can cause persistent stomach pain, and ones in the leg can cause swelling of the limbs.

Researchers in Germany believe the problem lies in the adenovirus vector — a common cold virus used so both vaccines can enter the body.

Academics investigating the issue say the complication is 'completely absent' in mRNA vaccines like Pfizer's and Moderna's because they have a different delivery mechanism.

Experts at Goethe-University of Frankfurt and Ulm University, in Helmholtz, say the AstraZeneca vaccine enters the nucleus of the cell – a blob of DNA in the middle. For comparison, the Pfizer jab enters the fluid around it that acts as a protein factory.

Bits of coronavirus proteins that get inside the nucleus can break up and the unusual fragments then get expelled out into the bloodstream, where they can trigger clotting in a tiny number of people, scientists claim.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... ccine.html

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2021, 7:58 pm

elec2020 wrote:i don't understand the quarantine. is it that vaccinated don't spread the disease?

Its an incentive to be a good a little citizen and do as you are told.
Follow instructions and you get your right back.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2021, 8:04 pm

Yeah but we have no mRNA vaccines here. So why no quarantine for Sinopharm people on return?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 8:14 pm

drchaos wrote:

Yeah but we have no mRNA vaccines here. So why no quarantine for Sinopharm people on return?

look just be happy the borders open nah, who are we to critique PNM decision-making.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2021, 8:25 pm

Quick question ...

Ya'll honestly think the DELTA/Indian variant not here yet?

The borders haven't actually been closed and I mean the legit borders. I know a couple who went on their honeymoon out of the country just 3 weeks ago. Mandatory quarantine is on a basis of your social status and is not a rule for all.

The private labs also not allowed to test for the delta variant as per gov approvals. This is not a coincidence.

You will hear that its here when they want you to find out.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

look just be happy the borders open nah, who are we to critique PNM decision-making.

Yeah dred ... So true

Postby adnj » June 26th, 2021, 8:55 pm

drchaos wrote:Quick question ...

Ya'll honestly think the DELTA/Indian variant not here yet?

The borders haven't actually been closed and I mean the legit borders. I know a couple who went on their honeymoon out of the country just 3 weeks ago. Mandatory quarantine is on a basis of your social status and is not a rule for all.

The private labs also not allowed to test for the delta variant as per gov approvals. This is not a coincidence.

You will hear that its here when they want you to find out.
Names and address?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » June 26th, 2021, 9:02 pm

Just wait when the delta variant arrives on our doorstep and the Sinopharm vaccine is useless against it.

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2021, 9:04 pm

with our luck rowlee and terry gonna proudly announce opening up procedures and shortly after is delta in we tail

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 9:06 pm

pugboy wrote:with our luck rowlee and terry gonna proudly announce opening up procedures and shortly after is delta in we tail

It is also possible it's here already but they'll blame the border being open on it.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » June 26th, 2021, 9:08 pm

Another week of the same bs. More sufferation.

Postby MaxPower » June 26th, 2021, 9:13 pm

If/when the Delta variant comes or any other variant or disease, Trinis would have learnt absolutely nothing.

We must be cautious at all times.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30767 cases, 747 deaths, 8148 active, 21872 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » June 26th, 2021, 9:59 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:lets not get ahead of ourselves
ALL other countries have been through this phase of seeing some results after a lockdown....

seeing plenty people slacking off.... real ads popping up on the facebooks for places selling non-essentials.

People have to live bro. They trying a hustle to earn some money.

I had two family members cellphones conk out on me in the last week and the guy who sold me replacements came masked up, stayed in his vehicle, and when the transaction was over left. Receipt, phone, case, warranty info all in a bag which he handed over. I sanitized everything before anyone else touched it. So yes, some of these guys are doing a good job of helping out in a situation.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31207 cases, 768 deaths, 7809 active, 22630 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » June 26th, 2021, 10:11 pm

Habit7 wrote:Where are the Pfizer fanboys?

Careful eh, because JUHN Scarfy is one.

Postby gastly369 » June 26th, 2021, 10:29 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
pugboy wrote:with our luck rowlee and terry gonna proudly announce opening up procedures and shortly after is delta in we tail

It is also possible it's here already but they'll blame the border being open on it.
Alll I'll say is meh eh have no court clothes but I agree with you..... Put together the puzzle

Postby Kenjo » June 26th, 2021, 10:40 pm

gastly369 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Alll I'll say is meh eh have no court clothes but I agree with you..... Put together the puzzle

Through the Venezuelans right ?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2021, 10:58 pm

Kenjo wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Through the Venezuelans right ?

Doesn't have to be ...

PCR testing before departing and quarantine on arrival doesn't mean you are covid free and can't spread it. It just reduces the chance of it happening. Also once your connections are good enough you don't even need to quarantine on arrival.

Postby sMASH » June 27th, 2021, 1:00 am

15th of july. spike and mayyybe delta. delta definitely by august tho.