Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby paid_influencer » July 11th, 2022, 8:30 pm

One time I pay like $20 for a mamey cipo in Massy and when I cut it open, 100% green inside.

:drinking:

massy not good for produce, and I say that as a loyal massy customer

Postby Dizzy28 » July 11th, 2022, 9:30 pm

Baigan real expensive though.
Tunapuna market was $15 a lb weekend gone.
pugboy wrote:that massy price have to be an error, or I suspect the middleman doing a number on them
those middlemen are real snakes

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2022, 9:42 pm

green peppers too, doubles in price
tomato going up
rainy season vibes
farmers who have good non flood land and timing the market could make change now

death365

Postby death365 » July 12th, 2022, 6:01 am

Food prices have increased by 30% from 2015 to 2022. That's according to economist, Dr. Roger Hosein. During a panel discussion on Tv6's morning edition, there was consensus that the lack of economic growth, low income , high food imports and the rise in food prices are contributing factors to the burdens many households grapple with to make ends meet. Here's more in this report.

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/rise-in-food-prices-increases-poverty/article_3e12acb4-0181-11ed-88b0-435cab075d72.html?utm_campaign=blox&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social

Postby hover11 » July 12th, 2022, 6:24 am

death365 wrote:
Food prices have increased by 30% from 2015 to 2022. That's according to economist, Dr. Roger Hosein. During a panel discussion on Tv6's morning edition, there was consensus that the lack of economic growth, low income , high food imports and the rise in food prices are contributing factors to the burdens many households grapple with to make ends meet. Here's more in this report.

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/rise-in-food-prices-increases-poverty/article_3e12acb4-0181-11ed-88b0-435cab075d72.html?utm_campaign=blox&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social
Don't study that the gremlin said the economy is thriving

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 12th, 2022, 6:32 am

IMG-20220711-WA0224~2.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 12th, 2022, 6:48 am

pugboy wrote:green peppers too, doubles in price
tomato going up
rainy season vibes
farmers who have good non flood land and timing the market could make change now

foreign produce cheaper. foreign tin items cheaper than local mabel or matooks, foreign zaboka is $20 and local is $30, bodi is $15 a lb an foreign frozen long beans is $20 for a 2.5lb bag, foreign frozen stir fry is $20 a bag and local ingredients such as mushroom is $30 a lb to name 1 item. Ride out the locals by buying foreign, let the locals keep they high price food.

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2022, 10:39 am

daring dragoon wrote:
tomato going up
rainy season vibes

foreign produce cheaper. foreign tin items cheaper than local mabel or matooks, foreign zaboka is $20 and local is $30, bodi is $15 a lb an foreign frozen long beans is $20 for a 2.5lb bag, foreign frozen stir fry is $20 a bag and local ingredients such as mushroom is $30 a lb to name 1 item. Ride out the locals by buying foreign, let the locals keep they high price food.
Not all locals.

Old outdated methods of farming. Donkey and bison still pulling plough in this day and age.

The "we doing this so for years" attitude is what killing them.

Some have updated and optimized thier methods of farming for maximum yields to cost ratio. Updated means of irrigation, soil mulching, contour ploughing, crop rotation instead of slash and burn, fertilizer, use of machinery for increased efficiency but that's just those who into it on a commercial scale and not Keston, Sunil and Rishi who planting a lil crop in the back lot and expecting to sell in market.

Slash and burn crowd makes the soil hydrophilic.

Ploughing up and down slopes increases runoff, causes flooding and contribute to fertile top soil loss.

Compost around stalks encourages pests, fungus, throws off pH.

Same crop over and over exhausts soil of nutrients.

Any educated person knows plants take up water from root tips, not near the stalk. Anything more than that is wasting water.

Hydraulic conductivity, crumb structure, porosity, aeration etc are alien terms to most.

Skilled personnel busy planting weed while old Mc Donald busy badtalking grocery produce saying it have special chemical they putting to make crop grow and it giving we cancer.

K_J_R

Postby K_J_R » July 12th, 2022, 12:46 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
tomato going up
rainy season vibes

Not all locals.

Old outdated methods of farming. Donkey and bison still pulling plough in this day and age.

Some have updated and optimized thier methods of farming for maximum yields to cost ratio. Updated means of irrigation, soil mulching, contour ploughing, crop rotation instead of slash and burn, fertilizer, use of machinery for increased efficiency but that's just those who into it on a commercial scale and not Keston, Sunil and Rishi who planting a lil crop in the back lot and expecting to sell in market.

Ploughing up and down slopes increases runoff, causes flooding and contribute to fertile top soil loss.

Any educated person knows plants take up water from root tips, not near the stalk. Anything more than that is wasting water.

Hydraulic conductivity, crumb structure, porosity, aeration etc are alien terms to most.

Skilled personnel busy planting weed while old Mc Donald busy badtalking grocery produce saying it have special chemical they putting to make crop grow and it giving we cancer.

trinidad is lost in the 1970s and 1980s. look at d roads and public and ministry buildng.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 12th, 2022, 1:34 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
tomato going up
rainy season vibes

Not all locals.

2 items such as lettuce an chadon beni growing different these days using non traditional methods wholsale at $5 a head an $10 a lb but retail for $13 an $20 why? Who to blame? Who do we ride for? I looking for an excuse to take down my bmx from storage

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2022, 2:29 pm

We blame who we always blame, somebody else.

The only thing constant is change, those resistant to change are already obsolete.

The rest of the world evolving, we still with "back then.....", "Back in de days...." And "in my time....".

Education was free and technology is readily accessible but we still planting by the moon. Immovable boulders will gather cobweb while the generation after them will only know to plant weed.

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2022, 2:53 pm

The rest of the world evolving, we still with "back then.....", "Back in de days...." And "in my time....".

Typical Trini mentality.

“daz how we does always do it”

“iz years now we doing this”

Jeezus crice T&T get with the times

Postby 88sins » July 12th, 2022, 3:51 pm

daring dragoon wrote:2 items such as lettuce an chadon beni growing different these days using non traditional methods wholsale at $5 a head an $10 a lb but retail for $13 an $20 why? Who to blame? Who do we ride for? I looking for an excuse to take down my bmx from storage

The man in the mirror.
Our problem starts with the buyers and consumers., and is capitalized on by vendors.

Postby j.o.e » July 12th, 2022, 4:06 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
tomato going up
rainy season vibes

Not all locals.

2 items such as lettuce an chadon beni growing different these days using non traditional methods wholsale at $5 a head an $10 a lb but retail for $13 an $20 why? Who to blame? Who do we ride for? I looking for an excuse to take down my bmx from storage

What is a fair mark up from wholesale to retail for market goods ? Honest question, I not sure what is reasonable.

Postby De Dragon » July 12th, 2022, 4:26 pm

daring dragoon wrote:2 items such as lettuce an chadon beni growing different these days using non traditional methods wholsale at $5 a head an $10 a lb but retail for $13 an $20 why? Who to blame? Who do we ride for? I looking for an excuse to take down my bmx from storage

The man in the mirror.
Our problem starts with the buyers and consumers., and is capitalized on by vendors.

Bingo! Kiss bread gone to $17-$20, Parlour loaf is #12.50. Coke gone to $7? Drink RC Cola, or better yet, water.
Too much of our food bill is rooted in stushness and the need to buy expensive unhealthy nonsense.

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2022, 4:32 pm

Passed this earlier.

Classic example of "my place doh flood, we doing this so long time"

But when downhill flood....."de hiway cause that".

Genius minds decide to clear the opposite side of the highway during rainy season too. Whole land without vegatative cover. Flood is not thier problem and people who oppose thier actions don't want to see the country progress.
IMG_20220712_141743_edit_809716614972800.jpg
IMG_20220712_141747_edit_809668556504578.jpg

matix

Postby matix » July 12th, 2022, 4:47 pm

Highway to Pt. Fortin? If it’s there, they don’t care.

Postby paid_influencer » July 12th, 2022, 8:34 pm

j.o.e wrote:What is a fair mark up from wholesale to retail for market goods ? Honest question, I not sure what is reasonable.

see dais the thing... everybody will have a different idea of what is a fair markup. one man might gladly work for $1000/week selling vegetables at a stall but another man might balk at that.

and a next man might say he could get better pay and benefits working construction, SRP, public service, etc instead of running a vegetable stall.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 12th, 2022, 8:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
j.o.e wrote:What is a fair mark up from wholesale to retail for market goods ? Honest question, I not sure what is reasonable.

see dais the thing... everybody will have a different idea of what is a fair markup. one man might gladly work for $1000/week selling vegetables at a stall but another man might balk at that. the next man might say he could get better pay and benefits working construction, SRP, public service, etc instead of running a vegetable stall.

if you leave it right there it will spoil in 2 days and they trow it out at a loss. do that a few times and vege stall closed down. karma for robbing people. tomatoes might be $12 a pound this weekend and foreign is $10. so from now on its fuq by local and i go support my pocket and value for money.

Postby paid_influencer » July 12th, 2022, 9:09 pm

i doh understand that "robbing people" part. why couldn't you just look around for another stall that is selling it at a price you want? If you cyar afford that particular stall, that fine, but they are not "robbing you" of anything.

Some people, like myself, doh even look at the price for veges. My wallet looks at other factors like location, parking, cleanliness and hygiene (including mask-wearing), personal rapport, quality and consistency. Veges generally cheap so the price is low down on my list of priorities.

Other people have other priorities and I respect that. But nobody is robbing you by offering an option that isn't meant for you.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 12th, 2022, 9:37 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

see dais the thing... everybody will have a different idea of what is a fair markup. one man might gladly work for $1000/week selling vegetables at a stall but another man might balk at that. the next man might say he could get better pay and benefits working construction, SRP, public service, etc instead of running a vegetable stall.

if you leave it right there it will spoil in 2 days and they trow it out at a loss. do that a few times and vege stall closed down. karma for robbing people. tomatoes might be $12 a pound this weekend and foreign is $10. so from now on its fuq by local and i go support my pocket and value for money.

How are you being robbed if you willingly pay for the item? Is either you buy it or don't. Vendor can charge what ever he feels to!!

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2022, 9:43 pm

that’s the problem these ruthless middlemen take advantage of
the fact that many persons buy blindly
the farmers at fault to for allowing themselves to be taken by the middlemen

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2022, 9:44 pm

Friends,

Spend wisely and comfortably.

Don’t buy and then complain after and act like some drama queens when you see something you cannot afford.

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2022, 9:46 pm

at the end of the day on a persons grocery bill

i am sure the price variations profits fudged by middlemen far outweighs increases in basic items like flour ppl complaining about

Postby paid_influencer » July 12th, 2022, 9:49 pm

pugboy wrote:that’s the problem these ruthless middlemen take advantage of

debe have a wholesale market, so you could go there and buy direct if you need

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2022, 10:03 pm

matix wrote:Highway to Pt. Fortin? If it’s there, they don’t care.
By the time that highway finish it mash up.

Best they did leave point to cedros as part of venezuela. Donno why we even reclaim them as part of Trinidad.

Postby nervewrecker » July 12th, 2022, 10:05 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:that’s the problem these ruthless middlemen take advantage of

debe have a wholesale market, so you could go there and buy direct if you need
Prices hot there.

I understand it has farmers market as well at UTT Corinth and space car park sometimes. Wider variety, not sure of the ambience and parking. I tend to avoid where it have lots of people because anywhere people start to congregate the "trini way" does start to prevail and as of late is best to avoid that headache.

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2022, 10:07 pm

There are so many reasonably priced establishments.

Trinis are just addicted to poor expenditure.

Postby st7 » July 12th, 2022, 10:20 pm

how much passage people hadda pay to look all over for good prices?

allyuh real out of touch with people who living paycheck to paycheck, dont have a vehicle, etc. to do all these 'so simple why didnt i think of this before' things.

it must be so easy to advise from the thrones you s*it on

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 13th, 2022, 6:03 am

st7 wrote:how much passage people hadda pay to look all over for good prices?

allyuh real out of touch with people who living paycheck to paycheck, dont have a vehicle, etc. to do all these 'so simple why didnt i think of this before' things.

it must be so easy to advise from the thrones you s*it on

there are still options. if they are lazy they will continue to complain and do nothing. a 50lb of aloo is $70 but retails at $4 a lb. the no transport people can come together and buy wholesale and divide. a 45kg flout is $400 which is about 80 per 10kg. dont just complain that you have no vehicle, living paycheck to paycheck. dont have a poor me attitude. people tend to associate with others similar to them so i am sure you have others that have no transport and living paycheck to pay check