COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Postby paid_influencer » July 16th, 2021, 9:14 am

De Dragon wrote:Or he could simply indemnify Pfizer and the others through whatever legal or other measures are necessary. :roll:
Also, haven't we already received Pfizer vaccines here already? Does T&T being a second party recipient indemnify Pfizer? Lastly, of all the things in the world to throw money at, you'd think vaccines in a pandemic would be at the top of the list wouldn't you?

This brings up a good question. If something happens in the future with these vaccines, who will bear the liability? Will the victims have to suck salt because the government signed a paper?

Postby zoom rader » July 16th, 2021, 9:54 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Renuka Singh
T&T has signed a confidentiality agreement with the US even as it is still negotiating the gift of COVID-19 vaccines.
Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley was interviewed by his former Parliamentary opponent Dr Bhoe Tewarie during the latter’s morning show ‘Brighter Morning with Bhoe’ and gave some details on the promised donation of vaccines from the US and the prices of vaccines overall.

“With respect to the price, I could give the population the assurance that we are doing well with the pricing situation. That’s the most I can say,” he said.
“We are paying a fairly attractive price,” he said.
“The cheapest vaccine available to us and the one with the prices disclosed is the vaccine that we got through the Covax,” Rowley said.
Rowley said $20 per dose is a good price and anything lower than that is better.
The Covax facility is a not-for-profit system that includes some 184 countries investing as unit to obtain vaccines in bulk.
“The Covax price is not $15, I think we are using $5 and that could be one of the reasons why the Covax is not being adequately supplied or replenished because of that arrangement upfront before the vaccines were approved and the price was set,” Rowley said.
The Prime Minister said that once more vaccines received the World Health Organisation (WHO) approval, the price became the driving force.
“The first offering of the vaccine to the wealthy countries was in the order of upwards of 50 Euros a dose. That is where the companies were at,” Rowley said.
The confidentiality agreement, Rowley said, protects the seller, who will try to “extract” the price they could negotiate from the buyer.
“We had to sign three documents, one of which has already been signed, that is a confidentiality document, so all our dealings with the United States are under confidentiality cover,” he said.
Rowley said that T&T is still negotiating with the US for a share of the promised vaccines.
“All along the US has been very forthcoming with promising vaccines but that situation remains a negotiating position,” he said.
Caricom is represented by the Caribbean Public Health Agency (Carpha).
“Only the Carpha persons in the room have the details of the information but that officer is under confidential contract,” he said.
The second document was signed off but the third document represents the supplier and that has not been signed yet.
“When that third document is signed, we should have had a meeting with the supplier a couple of days ago but that meeting was postponed and that should happen in the next few days, maybe even today (yesterday) and maybe after that we would have completed the three documents and then the logistics and distribution could start,” he said.
“So we are waiting on that,” Rowley said.
Rowley said that if the vaccines coming out of that negotiation is able to be used to vaccinate children then it would be used to help get kids back to school.
“But until we have it in our hands from the United States, we can’t say that but we are looking in that direction,” he said.
Access to these vaccines would be useful as the Covax facility is not receiving vaccines to distribute to its participants.
“That Covax mechanism is suffering,” Rowleys said.
“It is not receiving vaccines to distribute to countries like ours. We were to get, during this month of June, that third tranche which would have taken us to 100,000 which we started expecting earlier in the programme,” he said.
Rowley said that two Saturdays ago, Covax advised that the last tranche of 33,000 would no longer be coming in July but should be available in August. Rowley defended the purchase of the China-made Sinopharm vaccine.
“So if we did not get another supply we would have been here with no vaccine now because we had used up all that we have got,” he said.
The Prime Minister said that he still does not know where or how he contracted the COVID-19 virus but suspects he may have come into contact with a contaminated surface.
Rowley tested positive for the virus back in April and has maintained that he was not sure where or how he got the virus.
Rowley reiterated that the 85 people around them were tested and all were negative. The Prime Minister tested positive for the virus just after the Easter weekend in April. He was due to be vaccinated that same time and had to forego the jab then. The Prime Minister was vaccinated on Tuesday.
“I was in Tobago for a full week and I interacted with a few people, which were family members, my household and few family members and some regular friends,” he said.
Rowley said he had no other symptoms other than a “runny nose”.
“And during my period of isolation I didn’t feel ill, I stayed completely in isolation,” he said.
Rowley said he was able to exercise and eventually tested negative and returned fully to work.

So America selling vaccine now?

One of the issues with getting the Pfizer vaccines has been liability protection. Who pays if things don't work out as the research and data suggests? Pfizer doesn't want that liability so it asks for waivers and large countries like the US gives them waivers and they accept.

For small countries, waivers aren't enough. There has been reports of some countries being asked to put up sovereign assets as collateral, to give substance to the manufacturer's liability protection in those countries.

so its not just the cost per vial.

Keith likely can't discuss any of this because of an .... N D A

Or he could simply indemnify Pfizer and the others through whatever legal or other measures are necessary. :roll:
Also, haven't we already received Pfizer vaccines here already? Does T&T being a second party recipient indemnify Pfizer? Lastly, of all the things in the world to throw money at, you'd think vaccines in a pandemic would be at the top of the list wouldn't you?
Top red government people took the Pfizers. All done behind closed doors.

Postby adnj » July 16th, 2021, 11:47 am

For those who may be interested:

Today, MoH is announcing registration for Covid-19 vaccination appointments for everyone age 18 and over.

** No shots, just registration. **

Registration is scheduled for all community health centres on Saturday and Sunday, from 8 am to 4pm, both days.

No link to share.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 16th, 2021, 12:32 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Renuka Singh
T&T has signed a confidentiality agreement with the US even as it is still negotiating the gift of COVID-19 vaccines.
Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley was interviewed by his former Parliamentary opponent Dr Bhoe Tewarie during the latter’s morning show ‘Brighter Morning with Bhoe’ and gave some details on the promised donation of vaccines from the US and the prices of vaccines overall.

“With respect to the price, I could give the population the assurance that we are doing well with the pricing situation. That’s the most I can say,” he said.
“We are paying a fairly attractive price,” he said.
“The cheapest vaccine available to us and the one with the prices disclosed is the vaccine that we got through the Covax,” Rowley said.
Rowley said $20 per dose is a good price and anything lower than that is better.
The Covax facility is a not-for-profit system that includes some 184 countries investing as unit to obtain vaccines in bulk.
“The Covax price is not $15, I think we are using $5 and that could be one of the reasons why the Covax is not being adequately supplied or replenished because of that arrangement upfront before the vaccines were approved and the price was set,” Rowley said.
The Prime Minister said that once more vaccines received the World Health Organisation (WHO) approval, the price became the driving force.
“The first offering of the vaccine to the wealthy countries was in the order of upwards of 50 Euros a dose. That is where the companies were at,” Rowley said.
The confidentiality agreement, Rowley said, protects the seller, who will try to “extract” the price they could negotiate from the buyer.
“We had to sign three documents, one of which has already been signed, that is a confidentiality document, so all our dealings with the United States are under confidentiality cover,” he said.
Rowley said that T&T is still negotiating with the US for a share of the promised vaccines.
“All along the US has been very forthcoming with promising vaccines but that situation remains a negotiating position,” he said.
Caricom is represented by the Caribbean Public Health Agency (Carpha).
“Only the Carpha persons in the room have the details of the information but that officer is under confidential contract,” he said.
The second document was signed off but the third document represents the supplier and that has not been signed yet.
“When that third document is signed, we should have had a meeting with the supplier a couple of days ago but that meeting was postponed and that should happen in the next few days, maybe even today (yesterday) and maybe after that we would have completed the three documents and then the logistics and distribution could start,” he said.
“So we are waiting on that,” Rowley said.
Rowley said that if the vaccines coming out of that negotiation is able to be used to vaccinate children then it would be used to help get kids back to school.
“But until we have it in our hands from the United States, we can’t say that but we are looking in that direction,” he said.
Access to these vaccines would be useful as the Covax facility is not receiving vaccines to distribute to its participants.
“That Covax mechanism is suffering,” Rowleys said.
“It is not receiving vaccines to distribute to countries like ours. We were to get, during this month of June, that third tranche which would have taken us to 100,000 which we started expecting earlier in the programme,” he said.
Rowley said that two Saturdays ago, Covax advised that the last tranche of 33,000 would no longer be coming in July but should be available in August. Rowley defended the purchase of the China-made Sinopharm vaccine.
“So if we did not get another supply we would have been here with no vaccine now because we had used up all that we have got,” he said.
The Prime Minister said that he still does not know where or how he contracted the COVID-19 virus but suspects he may have come into contact with a contaminated surface.
Rowley tested positive for the virus back in April and has maintained that he was not sure where or how he got the virus.
Rowley reiterated that the 85 people around them were tested and all were negative. The Prime Minister tested positive for the virus just after the Easter weekend in April. He was due to be vaccinated that same time and had to forego the jab then. The Prime Minister was vaccinated on Tuesday.
“I was in Tobago for a full week and I interacted with a few people, which were family members, my household and few family members and some regular friends,” he said.
Rowley said he had no other symptoms other than a “runny nose”.
“And during my period of isolation I didn’t feel ill, I stayed completely in isolation,” he said.
Rowley said he was able to exercise and eventually tested negative and returned fully to work.

So America selling vaccine now?

One of the issues with getting the Pfizer vaccines has been liability protection. Who pays if things don't work out as the research and data suggests? Pfizer doesn't want that liability so it asks for waivers and large countries like the US gives them waivers and they accept.

For small countries, waivers aren't enough. There has been reports of some countries being asked to put up sovereign assets as collateral, to give substance to the manufacturer's liability protection in those countries.

so its not just the cost per vial.

Keith likely can't discuss any of this because of an .... N D A

Or he could simply indemnify Pfizer and the others through whatever legal or other measures are necessary. :roll:

Yea paid_influencer, explain how we get the 400 doses and administer them but this time we have to negotiate.

Postby paid_influencer » July 16th, 2021, 12:39 pm

i feel we wasn't supposed to know about them 400 doses.
Last edited by paid_influencer on July 16th, 2021, 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » July 16th, 2021, 12:47 pm

This mandatory vaccine talk making some believe its a cure, they would be immune from covid, they cannot contract or spread it, but that's just not the reality, vaccination just makes the symptoms mild and the (vaccinated) infected would most likely not have to be hospitalized. It doesn't mean they can't spread the virus and there are a few who still end up in the hospital. And lets not forget the virus is constantly mutating always needing the vaccines to be constantly updated.
And there's the fact that the China vaccine used here is not used in some countries due to China's tight lipped approach when it comes to information about the vaccine, but they were the same way when it came to the origin of the virus as well.

Postby Habit7 » July 16th, 2021, 12:57 pm

Well the US told everybody about the vaccines they sent to T&T https://www.facebook.com/ttusa/posts/10159205436887357

And so far only Haiti got vaccines, nobody else in Caricom got any from them.

Postby paid_influencer » July 16th, 2021, 1:03 pm

Habit7 wrote:Well the US told everybody about the vaccines they sent to T&T https://www.facebook.com/ttusa/posts/10159205436887357

And so far only Haiti got vaccines, nobody else in Caricom got any from them.

Keith working hard to cover all the bases. I'm sure this will get sorted out soon.

Postby MaxPower » July 16th, 2021, 1:28 pm

zoom rader wrote:Top red government people took the Pfizers. All done behind closed doors.

Yep, this is a fact.

Friends, families and ofcourse our beloved 1%.

Top secret, no social media, no leaks.

ruskie

Postby ruskie » July 16th, 2021, 1:59 pm

elec2020 wrote:https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9788269/People-given-AstraZenecas-Covid-jab-likely-antibodies-receive-Pfizers.html

British health chiefs quietly released a warning that Pfizer and Moderna's Covid vaccines may cause heart damage, MailOnline revealed last week.

Fears about the mRNA jabs' links to myocarditis had been growing in recent weeks, following a string of cases in young adults and children in Israel and the US.

Now the UK's drug watchdog has updated its safety information to accept that the condition is a possible side effect of both vaccines, without a formal announcement.

The Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency insists the complication – inflammation of the heart muscle which can damage the organ over time – is still 'extremely rare' and 'typically mild'.

But it wasn't listed as a potential side effect until last week, when the MHRA released its most up-to-date safety surveillance data.

Cardiologists say the benefits of both jabs still clearly outweigh the risks for the vast majority of the population.

However, they say it 'completely changes' the debate about vaccinating children in Britain.

Every other week the narrative for these vaccines changing and government bodies doing shady things like stealthily putting out these warnings, then saying that the pros of the vaccine outweigh the new risk as it only mild but at the same time one segment of the population shouldn't get the vaccine due to this new risk. LOL! Too much man too much
It's the daily mail... Nuff said

Postby zoom rader » July 16th, 2021, 2:00 pm

ruskie wrote:
elec2020 wrote:https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-9788269/People-given-AstraZenecas-Covid-jab-likely-antibodies-receive-Pfizers.html

British health chiefs quietly released a warning that Pfizer and Moderna's Covid vaccines may cause heart damage, MailOnline revealed last week.

Fears about the mRNA jabs' links to myocarditis had been growing in recent weeks, following a string of cases in young adults and children in Israel and the US.

Now the UK's drug watchdog has updated its safety information to accept that the condition is a possible side effect of both vaccines, without a formal announcement.

The Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency insists the complication – inflammation of the heart muscle which can damage the organ over time – is still 'extremely rare' and 'typically mild'.

But it wasn't listed as a potential side effect until last week, when the MHRA released its most up-to-date safety surveillance data.

Cardiologists say the benefits of both jabs still clearly outweigh the risks for the vast majority of the population.

However, they say it 'completely changes' the debate about vaccinating children in Britain.

Every other week the narrative for these vaccines changing and government bodies doing shady things like stealthily putting out these warnings, then saying that the pros of the vaccine outweigh the new risk as it only mild but at the same time one segment of the population shouldn't get the vaccine due to this new risk. LOL! Too much man too much

Forgive elec2020 he not to bright

Postby bluefete » July 16th, 2021, 2:50 pm

zoom rader wrote:Top red government people took the Pfizers. All done behind closed doors.

Yep, this is a fact.

Friends, families and ofcourse our beloved 1%.

Top secret, no social media, no leaks.

So Uncle Keith got a Pfizer the other day? Ah thought dey fool de people by telling them it was Sinopharm. If so, Uncle Keith cyah go by Uncle young boy, in Cah-nah-dah.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 16th, 2021, 3:10 pm

ruskie wrote:

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » July 16th, 2021, 11:14 pm

Delta Is Driving a Wedge Through Missouri
For America as a whole, the pandemic might be fading. For some communities, this year will be worse than last.

By Ed Yong

12:48 PM ET

https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2021/07/delta-missouri-pandemic-surge/619456/

The summer wasn’t meant to be like this. By April, Greene County, in southwestern Missouri, seemed to be past the worst of the pandemic. Intensive-care units that once overflowed had emptied. Vaccinations were rising. Health-care workers who had been fighting the coronavirus for months felt relieved—perhaps even hopeful. Then, in late May, cases started ticking up again. By July, the surge was so pronounced that “it took the wind out of everyone,” Erik Frederick, the chief administrative officer of Mercy Hospital Springfield, told me. “How did we end up back here again?”

The hospital is now busier than at any previous point during the pandemic. In just five weeks, it took in as many COVID-19 patients as it did over five months last year. Ten minutes away, another big hospital, Cox Medical Center South, has been inundated just as quickly. “We only get beds available when someone dies, which happens several times a day,” Terrence Coulter, the critical-care medical director at CoxHealth, told me.

Last week, Katie Towns, the acting director of the Springfield–Greene County Health Department, was concerned that the county’s daily cases were topping 250. On Wednesday, the daily count hit 405. This dramatic surge is the work of the super-contagious Delta variant, which now accounts for 95 percent of Greene County’s new cases, according to Towns. It is spreading easily because people have ditched their masks, crowded into indoor spaces, resumed travel, and resisted vaccinations. Just 40 percent of people in Greene County are fully vaccinated. In some nearby counties, less than 20 percent of people are.

Many experts have argued that, even with Delta, the United States is unlikely to revisit the horrors of last winter. Even now, the country’s hospitalizations are one-seventh as high as they were in mid-January. But national optimism glosses over local reality. For many communities, this year will be worse than last. Springfield’s health-care workers and public-health specialists are experiencing the same ordeals they thought they had left behind. “But it feels worse this time because we’ve seen it before,” Amelia Montgomery, a nurse at CoxHealth, told me. “Walking back into the COVID ICU was demoralizing.”

Those ICUs are also filling with younger patients, in their 20s, 30s, and 40s, including many with no underlying health problems. In part, that’s because elderly people have been more likely to get vaccinated, leaving Delta with a younger pool of vulnerable hosts. While experts are still uncertain if Delta is deadlier than the original coronavirus, every physician and nurse in Missouri whom I spoke with told me that the 30- and 40-something COVID-19 patients they’re now seeing are much sicker than those they saw last year. “That age group did get COVID before, but they didn’t usually end up in the ICU like they are now,” Jonathan Brown, a respiratory therapist at Mercy, told me. Nurses are watching families navigate end-of-life decisions for young people who have no advance directives or other legal documents in place.

Almost every COVID-19 patient in Springfield’s hospitals is unvaccinated, and the dozen or so exceptions are all either elderly or immunocompromised people. The vaccines are working as intended, but the number of people who have refused to get their shots is crushing morale. Vaccines were meant to be the end of the pandemic. If people don’t get them, the actual end will look more like Springfield’s present: a succession of COVID-19 waves that will break unevenly across the country until everyone has either been vaccinated or infected. “You hear post-pandemic a lot,” Frederick said. “We’re clearly not post-pandemic. New York threw a ticker-tape parade for its health-care heroes, and ours are knee-deep in COVID.”

That they are in this position despite the wide availability of vaccines turns difficult days into unbearable ones. As bad as the winter surge was, Springfield’s health-care workers shared a common purpose of serving their community, Steve Edwards, the president and CEO of CoxHealth, told me. But now they’re “putting themselves in harm’s way for people who’ve chosen not to protect themselves,” he said. While there were always ways of preventing COVID-19 infections, Missourians could have almost entirely prevented this surge through vaccination—but didn’t. “My sense of hope is dwindling,” Tracy Hill, a nurse at Mercy, told me. “I’m losing a little bit of faith in mankind. But you can’t just not go to work.”

When Springfield’s hospitals saw the first pandemic wave hitting the coasts, they could steel themselves. This time, with Delta thrashing Missouri fast and first, they haven’t had time to summon sufficient reinforcements. Between them, Mercy and Cox South have recruited about 300 traveling nurses, respiratory therapists, and other specialists, which is still less than they need. The hospitals’ health-care workers have adequate PPE and most are vaccinated. But in the ICUs and in COVID-19 wards, respiratory therapists still must constantly adjust ventilators, entire teams must regularly flip patients onto their belly and back again, and nurses spend long shifts drenched in sweat as they repeatedly don and doff protective gear. In previous phases of the pandemic, both hospitals took in patients from other counties and states. “Now we’re blasting outward,” Coulter said. “We’re already saturating the surrounding hospitals.”

Meanwhile, the hospitals’ own staff members are exhausted beyond telling. After the winter surge, they spent months catching up on record numbers of postponed surgeries and other procedures. Now they’re facing their sharpest COVID-19 surge yet on top of those backlogged patients, many of whom are sicker than usual because their health care had to be deferred. Even with hundreds of new patients with lung cancer, asthma, and other respiratory diseases waiting for care in outpatient settings, Coulter still has to cancel his clinics because “I have to be in the hospital all the time,” he said.

Many health-care workers have had enough. Some who took on extra shifts during past surges can’t bring themselves to do so again. Some have moved to less stressful positions that don’t involve treating COVID-19. Others are holding the line, but only just. “You can’t pour from an empty cup, but with every shift it feels like my co-workers and I are empty,” Montgomery said. “We are still trying to fill each other up and keep going.”

The grueling slog is harder now because it feels so needless, and because many patients don’t realize their mistake until it’s too late. On Tuesday, Hill spoke with an elderly man who had just been admitted and was very sick. “He said, ‘I’m embarrassed that I’m here,’” she told me. “He wanted to talk about the vaccine, and in the back of my mind I’m thinking, You have a very high likelihood of not leaving the hospital.” Other patients remain defiant. “We had someone spit in a nurse’s eye because she told him he had COVID and he didn’t believe her,” Edwards said.

Some health-care workers are starting to resent their patients—an emotion that feels taboo. “You’re just angry,” Coulter said, “and you feel guilty for getting angry, because they’re sick and dying.” Others are indignant on behalf of loved ones who don’t already have access to the vaccines. “I’m a mom of a 1-year-old and a 4-year-old, and the daughter of family members in Zimbabwe and South Africa who can’t get vaccinated yet,” says Matifadza Hlatshwayo Davis, who works at a Veterans Affairs hospital in St. Louis. “I’m frustrated, angry, and sad.”

“I don’t think people get that once you become sick enough to be hospitalized with COVID, the medications and treatments that we have are, quite frankly, not very good,” says Howard Jarvis, the medical director of Cox South’s emergency department. Drugs such as dexamethasone offer only incremental benefits. Monoclonal antibodies are effective only during the disease’s earliest stages. Doctors can give every recommended medication, and patients still have a high chance of dying. The goal should be to stop people from getting sick in the first place.

But Missouri Governor Mike Parson never issued a statewide mask mandate, and the state’s biggest cities—Kansas City, St. Louis, Springfield, and Colombia—ended their local orders in May, after the CDC said that vaccinated people no longer needed to wear masks indoors. In June, Parson signed a law that limits local governments’ ability to enact public-health restrictions. And even before the pandemic, Missouri ranked 41st out of all the states in terms of public-health funding. “We started in a hole and we’re trying to catch up,” Towns, the director of the Springfield–Greene County Health Department, told me.

Her team flattened last year’s curve through testing, contact tracing, and quarantining, but “Delta has just decimated our ability to respond,” Kendra Findley, the department’s administrator for community health and epidemiology, told me. The variant is spreading too quickly for the department to keep up with every new case, and more people are refusing to cooperate with contact tracers than at this time last year. The CDC has sent a “surge team” to help, but it’s just two people: an epidemiologist, who is helping analyze data on Delta’s spread, and a communications person. And like Springfield’s hospitals, the health department was already overwhelmed with work that had been put off for a year. “Suddenly, I feel like there aren’t enough hours in the day,” Findley said.

Early last year, Findley stuck a note on her whiteboard with the number of people who died in the 1918 flu pandemic: 50 million worldwide and 675,000 in the U.S. “It was for perspective: We will not get here. You can manage this,” she told me. “I looked at it the other day and I think we’re going to get there. And I feel like a large segment of the population doesn’t care.”

The 1918 flu pandemic took Missouri by surprise too, says Carolyn Orbann, an anthropologist at the University of Missouri who studies that disaster. While much of the world felt the brunt of the pandemic in October 1918, Missouri had irregular waves with a bigger peak in February 1920. So when COVID-19 hit, Orbann predicted that the state might have a similarly drawn-out experience. Missouri has a widely dispersed population, divided starkly between urban and rural places, and few highways—a recipe for distinct and geographically disparate microcultures. That perhaps explains why new pathogens move erratically through the state, creating unpredictable surges and, in some pockets, a false sense of security. Last year, “many communities may have gone through their lockdown period without registering a single case and wondered, What did we do that for?” Orbann told me.

She also suspects that Missourians in 1918 might have had a “better overhead view of the course of the pandemic in their communities than the average citizen has now.” Back then, the state’s local papers published lists of people who were sick, so even those who didn’t know anyone with the flu could see that folks around them were dying. “It made the pandemic seem more local,” Orbann said. “Now, with fewer hometown newspapers and restrictions on sharing patient information, that kind of knowledge is restricted to people working in health care.”

Montgomery, the CoxHealth nurse, feels that disparity whenever she leaves the hospital. “I work in the ICU, where it’s like a war zone, and I go out in public and everything’s normal,” she said. “You see death and suffering, and then you walk into the grocery store and get resistance. It feels like we’re being ostracized by our community.”

If anything, people in the state have become more entrenched in their beliefs and disbeliefs than they were last year, Davis, the St. Louis–based doctor, told me. They might believe that COVID-19 has been overblown, that young people won’t be harmed, or that the vaccines were developed too quickly to be safe. But above all else, “what I predominantly get is, ‘I don’t want to talk to you about that; let’s move on,’” Davis said.

People take the pandemic seriously when they can see it around them. During past surges in other parts of the U.S., curves flattened once people saw their loved ones falling ill, or once their community became the unwanted focus of national media coverage. The same feedback loop might be starting to occur in Missouri. The major Route 66 Festival has been canceled. More people are making vaccine appointments at both Cox South and Mercy.

In Springfield, the public-health professionals I talked with felt that they had made successful efforts to address barriers to vaccine access, and that vaccine hesitancy was the driving force of low vaccination rates. Improving those rates is now a matter of engendering trust as quickly as possible. Springfield’s firefighters are highly trusted, so the city set up vaccine clinics in local fire stations. Community-health advocates are going door-to-door to talk with their neighbors about vaccines. The Springfield News-Leader is set to publish a full page of photos of well-known Springfieldians who are advocating for vaccination. Several local pastors have agreed to preach about vaccines from their pulpits and set up vaccination events in their churches. One such event, held at James River Church on Monday, vaccinated 156 people. “Once we got down to the group of hesitant people, we’d be happy if we had 20 people show up to a clinic,” says Cora Scott, Springfield’s director of public information and civic engagement. “To have 156 people show up in one church in one day is phenomenal.”

But building trust is slow, and Delta is moving fast. Even if the still-unvaccinated 55 percent of Missourians all got their first shots tomorrow, it would still take a month to administer the second ones, and two weeks more for full immunity to develop. As current trends show, Delta can do a lot in six weeks. Still, “if we can get our vaccination levels to where some of the East Coast states have got to, I’ll feel a lot better going into the fall,” Frederick, Mercy’s chief administrative officer, said. “If we plateau again, my fear is that we will see the twindemic of flu and COVID.”

In the meantime, southwest Missouri is now a cautionary tale of what Delta can do to a largely unvaccinated community that has lowered its guard. None of Missouri’s 114 counties has vaccinated more than 50 percent of its population, and 75 haven’t yet managed more than 30 percent. Many such communities exist around the U.S. “There’s very few secrets about this disease, because the answer is always somewhere else,” Edwards said. “I think we’re a harbinger of what other states can expect.”

Ed Yong is a staff writer at The Atlantic, where he covers science.

Postby RedVEVO » July 17th, 2021, 12:23 am

ruskie wrote:

Kinda like paying T&TEC for it's free bulbs :D

" The Daily Mail has been noted for its unreliability and widely criticised for its printing of sensationalist and inaccurate scare stories of science and medical research .. "

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daily_Mail

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 17th, 2021, 8:17 am

elec2020 wrote:
ruskie wrote:

Electrocuted2020 don’t take them on . All daily mail articles are 100% factual. It’s on the internet , it must be true.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 17th, 2021, 8:31 am

RedVEVO wrote:
ruskie wrote:

Kinda like paying T&TEC for it's free bulbs :D

" The Daily Mail has been noted for its unreliability and widely criticised for its printing of sensationalist and inaccurate scare stories of science and medical research .. "

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daily_Mail

you talking about credibility and using wikipedia? I know people call you a fool online but I didn't think you were that bad

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 17th, 2021, 8:37 am

sam1978 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
ruskie wrote:

Electrocuted2020 don’t take them on . All daily mail articles are 100% factual. It’s on the internet , it must be true.

clone is this a better source for you https://app.croneri.co.uk/whats-new/mhr ... nformation

The Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) has updated safety warnings for Pfizer and Moderna vaccines after “extremely rare” reports of myocarditis and pericarditis.

Or is this one better:

https://www.pulsetoday.co.uk/news/clini ... lammation/

The UK regulator has updated safety warnings for Pfizer and Moderna vaccines after ‘extremely rare’ reports of myocarditis and pericarditis.

Either way both address what the dailymail article does. Know what battles to fight clone 99.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 17th, 2021, 8:43 am

https://www.forbes.com/sites/roberthart ... dd4c7dff33

A full course of the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine is 64% effective at preventing infection and 64% at preventing symptomatic Covid-19 caused by the Delta variant, according to preliminary findings from a study by Israel’s health ministry.

The findings conflict with a number of other studies assessing the vaccine’s performance against the variant, which indicate a much higher degree of protection against infection and mild illness (between 80% and 90%).
Last edited by elec2020 on July 17th, 2021, 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » July 17th, 2021, 8:43 am

Even though this was discussed on this forum - old news for the uninformed...

FDA NEWS RELEASE

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: June 25, 2021

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) continued to take action in the ongoing response to the COVID-19 pandemic:

Today, the FDA is announcing revisions to the patient and provider fact sheets for the Moderna and Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccines regarding the suggested increased risks of myocarditis (inflammation of the heart muscle) and pericarditis (inflammation of the tissue surrounding the heart) following vaccination. For each vaccine, the Fact Sheet for Healthcare Providers Administering Vaccine (Vaccination Providers) has been revised to include a warning about myocarditis and pericarditis and the Fact Sheet for Recipients and Caregivers has been revised to include information about myocarditis and pericarditis. This update follows an extensive review of information and the discussion by CDC’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices meeting on Wednesday. The data presented at this meeting reinforced the FDA’s decision to revise the fact sheets and further informed the specific revisions. The warning in the Fact Sheets for Healthcare Providers Administering Vaccines notes that reports of adverse events suggest increased risks of myocarditis and pericarditis, particularly following the second dose and with onset of symptoms within a few days after vaccination. Additionally, the Fact Sheets for Recipients and Caregivers for these vaccines note that vaccine recipients should seek medical attention right away if they have chest pain, shortness of breath, or feelings of having a fast-beating, fluttering, or pounding heart after vaccination. The FDA and CDC are monitoring the reports, collecting more information, and will follow-up to assess longer-term outcomes over several months.

https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-a ... ne-25-2021

Postby paid_influencer » July 17th, 2021, 9:00 am

Supermarket Association gearing up for Round 2 of the vaxx drive.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/satt-be ... tion-drive

He said: “As far as we understand, a significant tranche of doses have been allocated to supermarkets and distribution so we’ll be doing suppliers, distributors, and not just supermarkets but also mom and pops, mini marts.

Once you interact in our sector, there’s the opportunity to be vaccinated, especially if you are willing to accept the vaccine.”

Diptee encouraged people to enquire for their eligibility for the COVID-19 vaccine by emailing vaccineinfo@satthq.com

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 19th, 2021, 9:55 am

https://www.jamaicaobserver.com/latestn ... 43TVKEvZRM

Jamaica Observer wrote:Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves says public sector workers who are not willing to take a vaccine to help prevent the spread of the coronavirus (COPVID-19) pandemic will be required to test regularly to prove their status.

In addition, he said, they will have to meet the cost of the test.

“You have to pay for it because what happens is this, some employers, and they must speak the truth about it …are saying you either get vaccinated or come with a COVID test every Monday morning,” Gonsalves said on the state-owned NBC Radio.

Well, why should the state, you don't want to take the vaccine, why should we pay for your test every Monday morning? Why don't you just take the vaccine?” Gonsalves said.

The government has said that unvaccinated public sector workers must take a COVID-19 test at least once every two weeks. The first test is provided free of cost, and after this, the workers must stand pay the EC$26 (One Ec dollar=US$0.37 cents) for each of the other tests.

“You get the first one free. I think they even give you the second one free. But you decide you are not taking the vaccine, for whatever reason and I take the vaccine, I'm a taxpayer; I have to pay for it (your test). It cost nearly US$10 to do the antigen test, for each one.”

Gonsalves told radio listeners that he is aware of a hotel construction site with 170 employees that was closed for a week after two workers tested positive for COVID-19.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 19th, 2021, 10:32 am

some Caribbean leaders showing that they want to be the next Fidel Castro

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 19th, 2021, 10:46 am

Seeing this being shared on social media this morning

Screenshot 2021-07-19 at 10.46.00 AM.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » July 19th, 2021, 10:48 am

^ Very ironic the French position on Vaccines considering the French national motto of Liberté, égalité, fraternité (liberty, equality, fraternity")

Postby j.o.e » July 19th, 2021, 10:50 am

I suggest we use the taxi driver policy once we get to around 500k fully vaccinated
Who hadda dead go dead
Can’t force people.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 19th, 2021, 11:09 am

elec2020 wrote:some Caribbean leaders showing that they want to be the next Fidel Castro

How so?

Postby MaxPower » July 19th, 2021, 11:26 am

IMG_7492.JPG

dogg

Postby dogg » July 19th, 2021, 12:28 pm

Anyone went NAPA today? I have an vacc appointment for later. How's the parking etc? anyone?

Postby sMASH » July 19th, 2021, 12:43 pm

went there last week without knowing that it was a site... ram pack!! the drive track around skinner park was filled with cars as well.