Petrotrin refinery shut down

kstt

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 6:54 am

^^^ did you see the payslip that was circulating online?

Do you consider that as well paid?

ANYONE GET PAID THIS WEEK?

We usually get paid on Wednesday or Thursday. NOTHING YET!!

car

Postby car » November 30th, 2018, 7:00 am

Joshie23 wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:
Redman wrote:My thoughts remain 10,15,20 year as a temporary worker is a choice.

Were they contributing to a plan?
I see where you are getting at.

They would not be able to contribute to the pension plan.

Lets hope they have some sort of savings put aside.

I saw what he was getting at as well..

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Redman wrote:My thoughts remain 10,15,20 year as a temporary worker is a choice.

Were they contributing to a plan?

Does the question of contributing to a plan influence whether or not temps get some form of severance package?

so this is what I was getting at. Being real, any extended period of time in an organisation without attempting to elevate yourself in any form, is on you. I won't dispute that. But to take that 'hard luck' approach, is inhumane. Especially when the PM and other minions said that no one would leave empty-handed. There is no ambiguity there, but then again, shame on me for believing a politician, right?

As Pointman-IA said, I hope they have some savings. And yes, business is business, but to those who support that callous and possibly even spiteful move and rejoice in the face of yet another unemployed member of our society, I genuinely hope that you never have to suffer in any form.

nervewrecker wrote:Manager like rain

This is what's best for the country. It's a surefire way to prevent the haemorrhaging that the Company was formerly experiencing. I love my Trinidadian brethren, you know.

$45,000 average total compensation package: 'Wey, wickedness yes!! Greedy tf!! Shut it tf down!! Not my taxpayer's dollars at all!!'
$240,000 basic pay; exclusive of medical, housing, travel, entertainment, etc, for one man: 'Well, you know, we have to pay the best, if we want the best and he is the CEO and he have experience all over the world, you know nah. Rowley and them know what they doing'.

Mind you, his basic salary for a year, is more than the profit Heritage intends to make in said year, according to Allyson West. Trinidadians for ya.
What makes people think there are temps that didnt elevate themselves?
They get upgraded if work is of a certain standard and they have a certain qualification.
Have many temps I know started small business on the side.
I can call some name of some companies that are owned by men from there. Those werent temps tho.

A number of temps have their masters.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » November 30th, 2018, 7:14 am

If you’re one of the temps and you voted PNM then it good for you. You’re part of the problem.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 30th, 2018, 8:03 am

Redman wrote:@1) joshie.....i have never rejoiced at any ones misfortune.....but they were paid for their services....very well it seems..and enjoyed the pros of working as a temp at Petrotrin.
I just do not think they are victims.

@alfa...2)is in fair to give someone something for nothing?
Would it be fair to deny those who DID contribute and made the sacrifice?

So who's would you all calculate a temps package?

1) Funny how you defended yourself for that part, as though it fell in your garden. It's also funny how that's the only part you chose to respond to. Typical.

2) LOL @ 'is it fair to give something for nothing'..I'm sure Mr. Chyau Lin thinks differently. But of course, you'll bypass that part too.
So it made it a little bigger, for better viewing.

Anyhow, it's the 30th. I heard there won't be an evening or night shift, so there are only 8 more hours for the taxpayers of this country to be under duress. As of 4:00 this evening, everything will be ok. Petrotrin employees will be out of our hair and we/the Treasury can breathe a sigh of relief, as we delete this thread. Great is the PNM.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 8:28 am

Buying scrap iron old battery buying.

Postby hydroep » November 30th, 2018, 8:35 am

Next thing yuh hear the refinery end up like Patos and Pena's Guanapo church...:|
Last edited by hydroep on November 30th, 2018, 8:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » November 30th, 2018, 8:35 am

kstt wrote:Buying scrap iron old battery buying.
Have a few tonnes of copper in old transformers and motors put down.
That alone is a fortune.

Postby Redman » November 30th, 2018, 8:54 am

Pensions were paid yesterday

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 30th, 2018, 8:59 am

No salaries. No severance. Like they take my money to pay Lin Gun Bak.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 30th, 2018, 9:00 am

That alone is a fortune.
Or you melting Subaru parts

Postby skylinechild » November 30th, 2018, 11:07 am

That alone is a fortune.

best thing you cud do is make a home forge and turn it into solid 1 kg bricks. and store it.
other metals can be sold as scrap.

hold onto the copper bricks and when the time right....sell it.

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2018, 12:17 pm

amalgamated at the gates from midnight.....

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2018, 12:23 pm

end of a era .................................. great is d pee en em

i sure most of us have family , relatives , friends or pp u know working there ......

Postby Ben_spanna » November 30th, 2018, 12:36 pm

first out governments killed the Sugar Industry, then the Agricultural sector, now we are closing our Main Refinery...… talk about selling the country out to the lowest...………..why cant we export our criminals while we are at it?

Postby K74T » November 30th, 2018, 1:07 pm

So whey de Flora lime is later, valley or flyover?

kstt

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 1:09 pm

IMG-20181130-WA0016.jpg

Amalgamated on the scene!

Postby Ben_spanna » November 30th, 2018, 1:17 pm

Bars shall be full this afternoon

Postby hydroep » November 30th, 2018, 1:31 pm

Ah find they should sell Balisier House.

Come to think of it, they might have to pay somebody to buy dat blight palace...:|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2018, 1:39 pm

Last pic for Refinery staff on their final day on the job

kstt

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 1:52 pm

IMG-20181130-WA0017.jpg

kstt

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 2:11 pm

kstt

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 2:12 pm

No severance being paid until income tax payments made.
Last edited by kstt on November 30th, 2018, 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 30th, 2018, 2:22 pm

kstt wrote:IMG-20181130-WA0017.jpg

Context for those of us who unaware what we supposed to be looking at

Postby toyolink » November 30th, 2018, 2:32 pm

Well the pain and uncertainty felt many is real and cannot be over-looked.
This is where the social responsibility come into direct confrontation with what is considered good business sense in the capitalist program.
History has demonstrated that what is to follow is a possibly high risk period of instability.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 2:32 pm

Dem PNM who fight to put dem in powa better fight to get their severance.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 2:34 pm

kstt wrote:IMG-20181130-WA0017.jpg

Context for those of us who unaware what we supposed to be looking at

Amalgamated waiting in the Station to take over duties.

#fakenews
#everythingisfakenews
#realnews

Postby hydroep » November 30th, 2018, 2:50 pm

Doh worry, $ 50 ham easing the burden...:|

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2018, 3:07 pm

There will be some new jobs where some will be rehired. But still many will be displaced...
Those excess will be looking outside for employment.
Cause the the cake gets smaller for the small folk to share.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 30th, 2018, 4:04 pm

The PNM is not to blame here, remember that.

It was Espinet and Espinet alone who did this.

Great is the PNM and it shall prevail.

Postby tr1ad » November 30th, 2018, 4:07 pm

sun shining... heavy shower across the refinery at the moment....
masking the tears, and the injustice