Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2018, 7:20 pm

Somebody tell meh if them people in maloney, sea lots, beetham etc etc would be visited by valuators....

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 7:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Somebody tell meh if them people in maloney, sea lots, beetham etc etc would be visited by valuators....

yes, the barataria office dealing with that region

they go need security to go with them though, which is why they would have to wait longer, compared to nearly every other part of the country where they can go alone

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2018, 7:38 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:you think it have 700k residences in a country of 1.3m people? okay

You do know that all buildings & properties are subjected to this property tax right? not just private homes. So yes, there are more than 700K properties in T&T.

ProtonPowder wrote:and as for the rental rates, there are objective formulae being used and rating sheets. also, they using 2009 rates from before the L&B tax got repealed so the rental values are extremely low

& where did the data for those "ratings sheets" come from, & who developed these "objective formulae"? If they were developed by locals with ties to politicians, they cannot be considered truly objective, & last I checked the gov't doesn't earn revenue from renting out state owned properties other than the occasional land lease or regulate private rentals, so they have no clue what criteria to use to say what property rents for how much where for their rating sheets. 10 different ppl will be willing to pay rent for the same item at 10 different rates, depending on what it mens to them & what the owner wants for it. So what they plan to do, use the median values?
& as to your "2009 rates", those rates then were ridiculously over-inflated, even by today's standards.

You can spout all the "objective formulae" & "rating sheets" you want, doesn't alter the understanding that many ppl have that many properties rental values will in fact be intentionally overestimated, & the state has a motivation to do so, since it nets them more "revenue" in taxes if left unchallenged by the owners as is their hopes.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 7:41 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:you think it have 700k residences in a country of 1.3m people? okay

You do know that all buildings & properties are subjected to this property tax right? not just private homes. So yes, there are more than 700K properties in T&T.

ProtonPowder wrote:and as for the rental rates, there are objective formulae being used and rating sheets. also, they using 2009 rates from before the L&B tax got repealed so the rental values are extremely low

& where did the data for those "ratings sheets" come from, & who developed these "objective formulae"? If they were developed by locals with ties to politicians, they cannot be considered truly objective, & last I checked the gov't doesn't earn revenue from renting out state owned properties other than the occasional land lease or regulate private rentals, so they have no clue what criteria to use to say what property rents for how much where for their rating sheets. 10 different ppl will be willing to pay rent for the same item at 10 different rates, depending on what it mens to them & what the owner wants for it. So what they plan to do, use the median values?
& as to your "2009 rates", those rates then were ridiculously over-inflated, even by today's standards.

You can spout all the "objective formulae" & "rating sheets" you want, doesn't alter the understanding that many ppl have that many properties rental values will in fact be intentionally overestimated, & the state has a motivation to do so, since it nets them more "revenue" in taxes if left unchallenged by the owners as is their hopes.

Good thing i explicitly stated residential then, and they leaving commercial/office space to the side for now, focusing on residential.

And i can tell you for a fact that the rates are extremely low. Using the other nonsense said in this thread, a 10*10 1br in woodbrook would go for less than $500 per month according to the rates directly from the sheet.

Edit: rental rate of less than $500 per month, leading to a tax of $13.50 per month.
Rates were derived from regional corporation and valuation research over a decade ago, new rates have not been released

Daran

Postby Daran » May 30th, 2018, 7:54 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

Good thing i explicitly stated residential then, and they leaving commercial/office space to the side for now, focusing on residential.

And i can tell you for a fact that the rates are extremely low. Using the other nonsense said in this thread, a 10*10 1br in woodbrook would go for less than $500 per month according to the rates directly from the sheet.

Edit: rental rate of less than $500 per month, leading to a tax of $13.50 per month.
Rates were derived from regional corporation and valuation research over a decade ago, new rates have not been released

So a typical 2000sqft home will go for 20 times that then? That's $270 pm, not a low figure at all

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 8:02 pm

Daran wrote:So a typical 2000sqft home will go for 20 times that then? That's $270 pm, not a low figure at all

First: average homes in trinidad are not 2000sf, not anywhere close

Second: anything in excess of the 'average' size for an area is assessed at half the rate so large properties are not penalised too heavily

Third: woodbrook is the highest bracket in the country, everywhere else is lower, dropping to 10-20% of that for rural areas

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2018, 8:32 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Good thing i explicitly stated residential then, and they leaving commercial/office space to the side for now, focusing on residential.

so first off let's do some math
your minister of fine ants himself ,the dishonorable Clown Inbutt, stated, using the data they have now I assume, that any property with an ARV below 18000/year would be rounded up to 18000/year or 1500/month. Meaning they putting a minimum value to ppl property. So if u only getting $1000/month, you still gonna have a tax liability on $500/month that you do not make in rental income. now, using that rounded up figure, a persons's monthly tax liability at the minimum would be no less than $40.50, for a total of $486/yr, MINIMUM. This is where baldilocks came up with the " less than the price of a zaboca" idea.

I have no idea who u trying to bs with that $13.50 crap, but it eh wukkin here. dem eh want to go thru all this to collect no $162/year at a rate of 13.50/month. If it was ever going to be that little, nobody would care. But it's not going to be that little, & ppl want to know what they getting for their money that benefits either them or their property besides more squandermania & jackass braying.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 8:42 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Good thing i explicitly stated residential then, and they leaving commercial/office space to the side for now, focusing on residential.

so first off let's do some math
your minister of fine ants himself ,the dishonorable Clown Inbutt, stated, using the data they have now I assume, that any property with an ARV below 18000/year would be rounded up to 18000/year or 1500/month. Meaning they putting a minimum value to ppl property. So if u only getting $1000/month, you still gonna have a tax liability on $500/month that you do not make in rental income. now, using that rounded up figure, a persons's monthly tax liability at the minimum would be no less than $40.50, for a total of $486/yr, MINIMUM. This is where baldilocks came up with the " less than the price of a zaboca" idea.

I have no idea who u trying to bs with that $13.50 crap, but it eh wukkin here. dem eh want to go thru all this to collect no $162/year at a rate of 13.50/month. If it was ever going to be that little, nobody would care. But it's not going to be that little, & ppl want to know what they getting for their money that benefits either them or their property besides more squandermania & jackass braying.

He's your minister too buddy.

And that change for minimum $40 per month is a brand new addition that everyone, including valuers only heard about this week as well. I telling you about the rates from the sheet from a mathematical standpoint and how easy it would be to fall below.

And this proves my point that the rental rate values are not overinflated,

If it was ever going to be that little, nobody would care

People would still be crying that they getting genocided from a 'injun tax'

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2018, 9:13 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:He's your minister too buddy.

wrong on both points, I ain't yuh buddy, & I NEVER voted for that pompous plick of an a--hole or any of his cronies, & I never will.

ProtonPowder wrote:And that change for minimum $40 per month is a brand new addition that everyone, including valuers only heard about this week as well. '

Absolutely amazing, since this was stated in a media release on tv since last year. :lol:

ProtonPowder wrote:I telling you about the rates from the sheet from a mathematical standpoint and how easy it would be to fall below.

Useless point, since no property ARV can fall below their established minimum. Regardless of how nice it would be IF it could happen, it won't ever happen.

ProtonPowder wrote:And this proves my point that the rental rate values are not overinflated,

Believe whatever u need to believe to be able to sleep at night, but paying tax on an estimate that's higher than what your actual ARV is worth is in fact an over-inflation of its value, if you believe otherwise that is entirely your own business.

ProtonPowder wrote:People would still be crying that they getting genocided from a 'injun tax'

Nobody likes taxes. Nobody. But they are a necessary evil, & ppl generally tend to be more accepting of them when they know their tax dollar is going to be used to do something that benefits them or their nation in general. As is now, we all know that isn't the case with this proposed tax. You will pay your property tax, & see absolutely no evidence of where it went, & it won't benefit you, your property, or anyone else other than some politician or political financier. That is the primary reason why most ppl are opposed to this tax. Couple that with the fact that in hard to argue & win an argument that there is/will be a racial divide when it comes to taxation, especially when everybody, regardless of race, getting shafted the same way, all simply to line the pockets of a jackass in a suit or his creditors.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 9:29 pm

88sins wrote:wrong on both points, I ain't yuh buddy, & I NEVER voted for that pompous plick of an a--hole or any of his cronies, & I never will.

I didnt vote for them either, but you do live in trinidad, right?

88sins wrote:Absolutely amazing, since this was stated in a media release on tv since last year. :lol:

Fair enough, didnt know that part

88sins wrote:Useless point, since no property ARV can fall below their established minimum. Regardless of how nice it would be IF it could happen, it won't ever happen.

You claim the values are inflated, i disprove your point, then you move the goalposts to something else that happens as a consequence of the rates being too low, okay.

88sins wrote:Believe whatever u need to believe to be able to sleep at night, but paying tax on an estimate that's higher than what your actual ARV is worth is in fact an over-inflation of its value, if you believe otherwise that is entirely your own business.

The values are low, i dont see you quoting figures to prove otherwise

ProtonPowder wrote:People would still be crying that they getting genocided from a 'injun tax'

88sins wrote:Nobody likes taxes. Nobody. But they are a necessary evil, & ppl generally tend to be more accepting of them when they know their tax dollar is going to be used to do something that benefits them or their nation in general. As is now, we all know that isn't the case with this proposed tax. You will pay your property tax, & see absolutely no evidence of where it went, & it won't benefit you, your property, or anyone else other than some politician or political financier. That is the primary reason why most ppl are opposed to this tax. Couple that with the fact that in hard to argue & win an argument that there is/will be a racial divide when it comes to taxation, especially when everybody, regardless of race, getting shafted the same way, all simply to line the pockets of a jackass in a suit or his creditors.

This is a very political issue, and i am here to shed some light on an opaque subject. I not defending any party, politician or instititution, but rather exposing the mechanics of the tax

Postby RedVEVO » May 30th, 2018, 10:44 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:He's your minister too buddy.

wrong on both points, I ain't yuh buddy, & I NEVER voted for that pompous plick of an a--hole or any of his cronies, & I never will.

ProtonPowder wrote:And that change for minimum $40 per month is a brand new addition that everyone, including valuers only heard about this week as well. '

Absolutely amazing, since this was stated in a media release on tv since last year. :lol:

ProtonPowder wrote:I telling you about the rates from the sheet from a mathematical standpoint and how easy it would be to fall below.

Useless point, since no property ARV can fall below their established minimum. Regardless of how nice it would be IF it could happen, it won't ever happen.

ProtonPowder wrote:And this proves my point that the rental rate values are not overinflated,

Believe whatever u need to believe to be able to sleep at night, but paying tax on an estimate that's higher than what your actual ARV is worth is in fact an over-inflation of its value, if you believe otherwise that is entirely your own business.

Nobody likes taxes. Nobody. But they are a necessary evil, & ppl generally tend to be more accepting of them when they know their tax dollar is going to be used to do something that benefits them or their nation in general. As is now, we all know that isn't the case with this proposed tax. You will pay your property tax, & see absolutely no evidence of where it went, & it won't benefit you, your property, or anyone else other than some politician or political financier. That is the primary reason why most ppl are opposed to this tax. Couple that with the fact that in hard to argue & win an argument that there is/will be a racial divide when it comes to taxation, especially when everybody, regardless of race, getting shafted the same way, all simply to line the pockets of a jackass in a suit or his creditors.

All good points 88sins.

Property tax has NOT been collect for many years.

PNM supporters are constantly calculating the "loss" but as one looks around what has changed ?

Many hold the view that property tax is NOT needed .

It penalizes a person for being a success .

Success I define in this context as having a home .

Keep it simple.

Did you not pay VAT, stamp duty etc., on purchasing the home ?

So this PNM Gov't want more and more to fill whose pocket and to what agenda ?

Postby 88sins » May 31st, 2018, 12:18 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
88sins wrote:wrong on both points, I ain't yuh buddy, & I NEVER voted for that pompous plick of an a--hole or any of his cronies, & I never will.

I didnt vote for them either, but you do live in trinidad, right?

& you want what? A medal?
There is a vast difference between living in a country & having an allegiance/loyalty/blind obedience to an alleged leader/politician.

ProtonPowder"[quote="88sins wrote:Absolutely amazing, since this was stated in a media release on tv since last year. :lol:

Fair enough, didnt know that part.[/quote]
Honestly I am not surprised, it ain't easy to keep up with the amount of crap that goes on in dis place.

ProtonPowder wrote:
88sins wrote:Useless point, since no property ARV can fall below their established minimum. Regardless of how nice it would be IF it could happen, it won't ever happen.

You claim the values are inflated, i disprove your point, then you move the goalposts to something else that happens as a consequence of the rates being too low, okay.

You disproved nothing, & I moved nothing. I simply pointed out the negative effects that can occur as a result of a minimum ARV limit, as well as showed how the ARV can in fact be over-inflated.

ProtonPowder wrote:
88sins wrote:Believe whatever u need to believe to be able to sleep at night, but paying tax on an estimate that's higher than what your actual ARV is worth is in fact an over-inflation of its value, if you believe otherwise that is entirely your own business.

The values are low, i dont see you quoting figures to prove otherwise

Funny, since I thought that that minimum ARV was a quoted figure from your minister of fine ants media release, & it was materially more than your quoted minimum of $500/month for a 10'x10' room in Woodbrook according to your mentioned "rate sheets".
But whatever.

I get that u trying to justify an unjustifiable intention. But sometimes it's just simpler to let it go. I srsly doubt you they or anyone can convince ppl to happily embrace & accept what they do not want.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 31st, 2018, 12:58 am

88sins wrote:I get that u trying to justify an unjustifiable intention. But sometimes it's just simpler to let it go. I srsly doubt you they or anyone can convince ppl to happily embrace & accept what they do not want.

I see you didnt read my last part so I will repeat it

This is a very political issue, and i am here to shed some light on an opaque subject. I not defending any party, politician or instititution, but rather exposing the mechanics of the tax

Postby 88sins » May 31st, 2018, 2:33 am

I read it, just refused accept it as the cop out you offered it to be & offered you an alternative while effective;y ignoring it.

but whatever, not like u or they could make anyone care or accept that manure

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 31st, 2018, 9:06 am

88sins wrote:I read it, just refused accept it as the cop out you offered it to be & offered you an alternative while effective;y ignoring it.

I am explaining how the tax works though, yall just prefer to shoot the messenger than hear the message

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 31st, 2018, 9:36 am

Say what you all want but the reality is Indian households would be paying the bulk of this tax...

Also would the public actually see the benefits of this tax? Are we going to get better roads, medical care or better service all together...imo this is only going to benefit ministers and family...does not matter which government in power...

Postby bluefete » May 31st, 2018, 9:45 am

Once you have something other than a house on your land, you will pay property tax on it.

So says Imbert.

Minimum Property tax will be $480.00 per year at an annual rental value of $18,000.00 regardless of whether or not you can get your toilet rented for $18,000.00 per year.

Postby 88sins » May 31st, 2018, 11:33 am

Even if you have nothing on your land you still going to have to pay this property tax. Because they are taxing the land, & if there is a structure on the land the idea is that the structure adds to the value of the land & so any buildings or structures on the land is then seen as land & then valued accordingly based on it's usage, be it residential, agricultural, or commercial.
& any commercial activity on the property lands that property in a commercial classification. so ppl with a lil small shop on their property will pay a commercial rate.

Postby 88sins » May 31st, 2018, 11:42 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
88sins wrote:I read it, just refused accept it as the cop out you offered it to be & offered you an alternative while effective;y ignoring it.

I am explaining how the tax works though, yall just prefer to shoot the messenger than hear the message

More like prefer to shoot the author. But the messenger will get set straight & sent back with a response that would discourage any further dotish transmissions.

Besides, when a known a--hole sends a negative message that he knows nobody wants, only an idiot would happily carry it & be upset when they realize nobody want to hear it because it brings nothing beneficial to the recipient.
So tell us, are you going to be that idiot?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 31st, 2018, 12:32 pm

It have a Christian PNM man they hire recently where I work a pretty nice person actually, he is a driver and when I first heard him talk I was like yeah boy this is a man of class and commonsense. Then the other day I heard him say "people talking and complaining about property tax, Trinis too bold face and cheap they want everything free, prayers is a business and it should be taxed you do not need to have a temple in your house as a separate prayer room" He went onto say if them doubles man and taxi drivers feel they can continue to get away living without free tax they have something coming for they backside they like too much freeness in this country and it have to done. He went onto say Taxi drivers like to pick and choose which people they want to go with because they don't like traffic so they only want to go short so Tax in they mother kant is what they need which btw I will say is true it does have Taxi drivers who only going short which is illegal BTW. And them so should be punished which he does have a point.
HOWEVER what about the other Taxi drivers doing the right thing and going full trip and taking the traffic, making way less money won't they also feel the blunt of the tax? and the man going short will still go short. So where is the logic here?

This man works for $250 a day as a driver for 5 days a week, he travels to work so I really do not see why he is in favor of taxes it makes no sense to me. $250 a day is pretty good its a lot more than most air condition office jobs but I do not think that is grounds for supporting the government on more taxes, I mean even the most dotish people know that you do not support any government in raising taxes.

He sounds just like a trini but maybe he is from a different country originally and he secretly hates Trinis? he is a staunch PNM supporter but in personality he is a nice person, he does always give people good advice and like to see people strive he does lecture others about saving money and thing which IMO is a good thing so I really cannot see why he supports these tax increases.

Perhaps it is his blind loyal PNM support?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 31st, 2018, 12:41 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

More like prefer to shoot the author. But the messenger will get set straight & sent back with a response that would discourage any further dotish transmissions.

Besides, when a known a--hole sends a negative message that he knows nobody wants, only an idiot would happily carry it & be upset when they realize nobody want to hear it because it brings nothing beneficial to the recipient.
So tell us, are you going to be that idiot?

Your entire point is that you would rather stay ignorant than hear something unpleasant. Exposition is not advocacy.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 31st, 2018, 1:29 pm

Questions: are pensioners paying this tax and how they determining the value of vacant lots??

Postby zoom rader » May 31st, 2018, 2:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Questions: are pensioners paying this tax and how they determining the value of vacant lots??
Injun pensioners will have to pay cause PNM assume they have money.

Meanwhile PNM ppl ,laventille and Beetham where they steal electricity and water will most likely not be pressured to pay this tax.

This is purely aimed at injuns

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 31st, 2018, 3:29 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Questions: are pensioners paying this tax and how they determining the value of vacant lots??

By default everyone pays the tax, but if a property owner is in economic hardship then every year they can apply for a deferral. Section 23:

23. (1) The Board may upon the application of the owner of
land authorise the deferral of the payment of the assessed tax on
the land on the grounds of the impoverished condition of the
owner and his inability to improve his financial position
significantly by reason of age, impaired health or other special
circumstances, that undue hardship to that owner would
otherwise ensue.
(2) An application under subsection (1) shall be made in
writing in the prescribed form and shall be accompanied by
evidence that the applicant—
(a) is in receipt of—
(i) a public assistance grant;
(ii) a disability grant;
(iii) a senior citizens’ pension; or
(iv) a Trinidad and Tobago conditional cash
transfer card,
from the State; or
(b) does not receive an annual income exceeding
the maximum amount specified in section 3 of
the Senior Citizens’ Pension Act.
(3) A certificate under subsection (2) shall be conclusive
of the owner’s inability to pay tax assessed under this Act.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 31st, 2018, 3:34 pm

Also, for a vacant lot where a rental value cannot be determined upon the improvements. Then a capital value is derived via a comparative method (like what they do for stamp duty), then apply a rate of 3.5% of that capital value as the rental value, 3% of which is the tax to be paid.

So if you have a lot in palmiste valued at 1M on the open market, rental rate is 35k, taxable rate is 31.5k so the tax would likely be around $915 per year

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 31st, 2018, 3:34 pm

In other words they asking to see all your financial info....total bs

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 31st, 2018, 4:40 pm

ah have 1.25 Acre land, I hope I won't have to pay over $1000 in tax a year for it.

no houses on it or anything like that but it has 160 small coconut plants, it is classified as agriculture land from what I know. Just hoping the tax for this won't cross $1K a year.

I not saying that I not willing to pay taxes eh, just want to state that for the record, but if I have to pay taxes I want it to go towards my area so they can build pavements etc. Why should I pay land tax for laventille which btw has proper pavements and stuff while my area does not?

The PNM has a history of neglecting Indian areas, so if I am forced to pay this tax which will not even go for this area I just hope its less than $1K a year.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 31st, 2018, 5:43 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ah have 1.25 Acre land, I hope I won't have to pay over $1000 in tax a year for it.

no houses on it or anything like that but it has 160 small coconut plants, it is classified as agriculture land from what I know. Just hoping the tax for this won't cross $1K a year.

I not saying that I not willing to pay taxes eh, just want to state that for the record, but if I have to pay taxes I want it to go towards my area so they can build pavements etc. Why should I pay land tax for laventille which btw has proper pavements and stuff while my area does not?

The PNM has a history of neglecting Indian areas, so if I am forced to pay this tax which will not even go for this area I just hope its less than $1K a year.

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/03/03/colm-fa ... -land-tax/
Imbert said something about low rates for agricultural land, idk if they sticking to this though.

But normally
The tax rate for residences is 3% of 90% of the Annual Rental Value.
For agricultural lands it is 1% of 90% of the Annual Rental Value.

Edit: To even get the ARV, they just get 2% of the capital value of the lands and agricultural buildings. (VOLA sched I). Agricultural lands are generally cheap, so if the land and shed/anything else worth 300k

Then the ARV is 6k, the ATV is 5.4k, and the property tax would be $54 for the year, so $40 a month :/

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » May 31st, 2018, 6:14 pm

TAX IN WE ASS AND WE LIKE IT SO.

Postby RedVEVO » May 31st, 2018, 6:35 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

By default everyone pays the tax, but if a property owner is in economic hardship then every year they can apply for a deferral. Section 23:

23. (1) The Board may upon the application of the owner of
land authorise the deferral of the payment of the assessed tax on
the land on the grounds of the impoverished condition of the
owner and his inability to improve his financial position
significantly by reason of age, impaired health or other special
circumstances, that undue hardship to that owner would
otherwise ensue.
(2) An application under subsection (1) shall be made in
writing in the prescribed form and shall be accompanied by
evidence that the applicant—
(a) is in receipt of—
(i) a public assistance grant;
(ii) a disability grant;
(iii) a senior citizens’ pension; or
(iv) a Trinidad and Tobago conditional cash
transfer card,
from the State; or
(b) does not receive an annual income exceeding
the maximum amount specified in section 3 of
the Senior Citizens’ Pension Act.
(3) A certificate under subsection (2) shall be conclusive
of the owner’s inability to pay tax assessed under this Act.

Protein Head there are so many "appeal boards" that do not exist .