The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

neexis

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby neexis » October 20th, 2016, 6:02 am

How will the courier know if the order was placed via phone/snail mail or verbally? Those cases are not from an online source and would be exempt from the OPT.

Postby Chimera » October 20th, 2016, 8:45 am

neexis wrote:How will the courier know if the order was placed via phone/snail mail or verbally? Those cases are not from an online source and would be exempt from the OPT.

then this would apply

NOTE: We are aware that some packages are sent through CSF by friends and family members however at this time no guidelines have been provided by customs and as such would incur the 7% tax until further notice.

Postby hydroep » October 20th, 2016, 9:10 am

The application of those criterion will no doubt be left up to the 'discretion' of customs officers... :|

nsingh_tt

Postby nsingh_tt » October 20th, 2016, 11:49 am

So in addition to the 7%, we paying duties and vat on the shipping cost too. Because duties and vat used to be calculated on item cost.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby bluesclues » October 20th, 2016, 11:56 am

nsingh_tt wrote:So in addition to the 7%, we paying duties and vat on the shipping cost too. Because duties and vat used to be calculated on item cost.

Can of worms my friend.. can of worms.

Postby pete » October 20th, 2016, 12:57 pm

Duties and taxes are supposed to be charged on the freight. The way the skybox companies have been avoiding that I guess is by not charging freight until delivery or its free freight from Miami to Piarco and the freight ya pay is from piarco to their warehouse I guess.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » October 20th, 2016, 1:31 pm

Use sea couriers like seabox?

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2016, 1:38 pm

BTW, if the 7% OPT is charged before duty and VAT that means that duty and VAT is charged on the 7%tax

So for something like car parts you have to add the 35% duty and vat on the 7% (7 x 1.35) = 9.45%

So the 7% tax actually incurs a 9.45% price increase due to the way it is applied.

ZeroOne wrote:Use sea couriers like seabox?

I seaing them now.

This guy right here going to get a massive boost in business with this tax.

www.caribbeanchemicals.com wrote:Mr. Pires is a past graduate of Ridley College. He started working in the production department at Caribbean Chemicals as a boy and moved up the ranks to Managing Director in 1992 after the passing of his father. He is currently the chairman of VEMCOTT and has served on the Board of First Citizens Bank and was a past Vice President of the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Industry and Commerce. Mr. Pires is an entrepreneur and has successfully opened several other businesses such as Sea Box Ltd, Samurai Restaurant, Bottle Stop, Chill & Grill and Island Beers

Postby pete » October 20th, 2016, 1:58 pm

And if that happens they just gonna put the tax there too.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2016, 2:08 pm

pete wrote:And if that happens they just gonna put the tax there too.

And if people find a way around that by using the business exemption they may just remove the overal business exemption and have you meet certain criteria to apply for it.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 20th, 2016, 2:09 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Use sea couriers like seabox?

Will confirm. I see the criteria say custom bonded warehouse will get the 7%.

One of my shipments came in late so i will have to pay the 7% on a $20 item from websource. Next i will try with seabox. If that is failure, well then, all my items i bringing in is for trade.

Postby pete » October 20th, 2016, 2:12 pm

To bring it in for trade you must bring it as a registered company and use a customs broker to clear the goods for you at the bonded warehouse. This will incur additional cost as well (unless you are a customs broker)

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 20th, 2016, 2:22 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

And if people find a way around that by using the business exemption they may just remove the overal business exemption and have you meet certain criteria to apply for it.

Well this is how they had to do it if they wanted to avoid retailers having to push prices even higher. There's no real criteria they can set at the customs level that is unattainable tho. Once ur a corporate citizen like myself u can meet the criteria.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2016, 4:05 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

Well this is how they had to do it if they wanted to avoid retailers having to push prices even higher. There's no real criteria they can set at the customs level that is unattainable tho. Once ur a corporate citizen like myself u can meet the criteria.

Not if they decide to make an exemption based on volume or overall worth. Like $10,000,000 worth of imports per year. Or single shipment of more than five full containers.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby bluesclues » October 20th, 2016, 4:39 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

Not if they decide to make an exemption based on volume or overall worth. Like $10,000,000 worth of imports per year. Or single shipment of more than five full containers.

I suppose. Sounds like some tedious wording and operation tho. If u make the requirement too high, you knock startups out of the game.

Either way this is just wrong direction in policy making. Once there is a legitimate way to exempt purchases from that tax, we will find it. And i will use it in protest, as i dont mind waiting longer to receive my stuff, and i dont mind clearing it in customs myself as i have done a few times. If it will save me $300+ it's worth it. That is a day pay for most ppl. Trini money done aint worth the paper its printed on already.

Postby gastly369 » October 20th, 2016, 4:50 pm

Local store have this for $3450

#supportlocal

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Slartibartfast » October 20th, 2016, 4:53 pm

bluesclues wrote:I suppose. Sounds like some tedious wording and operation tho. If u make the requirement too high, you knock startups out of the game.
The reasoning behind it seems like a construed way to do just that. Considering what they would have had to go to to actually implement it, I doubt the tediousness of the wording will deter them in any way. BTW, tedious wording and law seem to go hand in hand.

Ghastly don't start on watches. My watch was US$50 when I bought it. I saw it selling for $1200 in the mall. Watches ridiculously priced.

Postby gastly369 » October 21st, 2016, 7:16 am

Lol bai ... If I hadda bring in ah pencil go do that yes

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 21st, 2016, 7:35 am

i do not have a problem with the 7% but it must be executed properly...currently the 7% is being applied to VAT...simply put TAX On TAX....thus making the 7% equivalent or closer to 15% overall

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » October 21st, 2016, 7:06 pm

Is the tax in US or TT can sum1 break it down please

Postby *KRONIK* » October 21st, 2016, 8:05 pm

Kalisnakov wrote:Is the tax in US or TT can sum1 break it down please

This is how websource give the breakdown

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2016, 1:21 am

I have confirmation from tropical express couriers that the seabox service is unaffected by the 7% tax. Will try to get official confirmation from seabox tomorrow.

An item of $20 usd value was charged $17ttd in opt tax. This is unacceptable. As with shipping, duties and the tax, my total to receive my item is $190ttd. So i am paying 100$ in tax for a $150 item in addition to the $100 for shipping. And impsbert dont find this unreasonable.

But again. What is it to sacrifice a pawn to get a bishop? This is the end of the line for the pnm, for imbert, for rowley and these old fogies with their outdated thinking and bogus management of our resources that have been destroying this country. This is the last time they will hold government office in their lifetime.

neexis

Postby neexis » October 22nd, 2016, 6:52 am

bluesclues wrote:I have confirmation from tropical express couriers that the seabox service is unaffected by the 7% tax. Will try to get official confirmation from seabox tomorrow.

What do you need to confirm? OPT applies to air freight. Unless seabox flying those cargo ships in.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » October 22nd, 2016, 8:02 am

Gf made a mistake and ordered a dress and shipped with Aero post, dress was from China cost $7.77 and it is 108tt to clear with OPT

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 22nd, 2016, 8:09 am

People just sitting back and taking the nonsense from this gov't. ..
Is this your great policy idea to increase revenue. Man steups.....Go sit with your people and come up with some real.ideas to stimulate the economy....make some investment s....encourage foreign investors. ..u have to spend money to make money.....

Tax duties etc are now more re thAn the price of the product....makes no sense at all...

Postby pete » October 22nd, 2016, 8:17 am

Hope all those who beating up about it know to send a message on November 28.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2016, 8:17 am

neexis wrote:
bluesclues wrote:I have confirmation from tropical express couriers that the seabox service is unaffected by the 7% tax. Will try to get official confirmation from seabox tomorrow.

What do you need to confirm? OPT applies to air freight. Unless seabox flying those cargo ships in.

I need to confirm the interpretation of the statements made in the tax collections ammendment. Whether they are working in conjunction or independently.

Example
1)Ppl who use air freight have to pay the tax
2)Consumers who make purchase via an electronic transaction have to pay the tax

Does that mean that even tho u use sea freight, u still have to pay the tax because ur a consumer, or because u made the purchase electronically.. or both. Hope im not opening a can of worms.

But thats just how i roll. I want official confirmation from seabox before i make my next order and place it with them. Will probably also call finance ministry and interrogate them on the wording, intention and interpretation of this tax.. and even, get itheir explanation in writing if possible.

Homie is not playing, does not play.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2016, 8:23 am

pete wrote:Hope all those who beating up about it know to send a message on November 28.

The amount of ppl i interface with every day.. the general consensus from what i would call a startling majority can only be described as.. absolute discontent. Nov 28 will at least weaken pnm's cabinet majority.

I will vote for the first time in these local elections in arima.. against the pnm candidate.

Postby pete » October 22nd, 2016, 9:03 am

Well it's just local govt elections. Nothing will be affected at the cabinet level.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2016, 10:48 am

pete wrote:Well it's just local govt elections. Nothing will be affected at the cabinet level.

Yeah i know. That is my fault for using the word cabinet so loosely. Just the word to use that incorporates the ministers and those at the local constituency level escapes me at the moment lol. Unless i just said 'government'. Which doesnt really highlight the different party members.

It will still weaken their dominance across sectors and regions, and send a message about the ppl's displeasure with the direction and way in which they have been doing things. Essentially bullying citizens out of their hard earned worthless dollars to live off them while telling them to find a way to survive on their own.