Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby X_Factor » March 25th, 2011, 10:11 pm

^ u interested in this
http://www.amazon.com/Daiwa-Sweepfire-4 ... 238&sr=8-2

paid around 225.00 and then filled it with trilene nylon...
bought it for small fishing never got around in using it
hit me a pm if ur interested

sweaty

Postby sweaty » March 26th, 2011, 10:09 am

Rahtid wrote:I saw some fishing rods in Sportworld in Trincity mall, for like $278-$378, are they good? Brand name is Safari, and a telescopic set that comes with lures,hooks,floats etc,,can I use this?

aye man,you should check Aphzal Hardware in El Soccorro if you wanna get a good fishing rod for a good price,bought my 7' shakespare rod and reel there for a combo price of $450 and got tackle there as well,was a good investment. If you gonna start,you should really get a quality rod and reel that will last you

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 26th, 2011, 3:49 pm

shakespear have alright equipment but i would advise you to invest in a penn reel, it will last for years...i purchased my penn torque jigging rod today...cant wait to test it out...where Razkal dey, i still waiting to hear from him...

Postby meccalli » March 26th, 2011, 10:12 pm

Rahtid wrote:
meccalli wrote:Thanks ryan, will check mankees.

On use of those artificial squids, theyre mainly for deep offshore fish on trolling rigs- billfish , tuna and the likes. If you want to fish squid, use real squid that has scent, its worked for me where other baits dont. If your interested on using lures, know what baitfish reside in the area you are fishing and choose your lure that best imitates the size, color and well action according how you intend to work it.

What fish your intend to target btw?

I dont go sea-fishing yet, so I mainly fish freshwater fishes now,until I decide to go to the sea and try it.
I still have to buy a rod/tackle/gear.

Man, go do some saltwater fishing. Makes you tough :P and you'll love it. Here's where i started off as a kid- Police post chaguaramas.yes where everybody does bathe like ants. 6:30 am onwards to around 8. On a nice sunny day, the water is absolutely wonderful early- clear, clean and you see shoals of baitfish and baby predatory fish. You'd get loads of small snappers, blinch that you can catch for fun and occasionally bonefish >.> you would not believe how that little silver fish tugs on light gear. All you need is a small caster with some 10/20lb test, some 1/0 or smaller hooks, 1/4 oz egg sinkers, swivels and some bait..i like squid or shrimp..those snappers go cuckoo for squid. If my calc's are right should run you under 75 bucks.

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » March 26th, 2011, 10:16 pm

You all could check southern whole stores they have a wide variety of rods and reels ,good price to also regular stuff like hooks ,line ,sinkers ,lures etc.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 27th, 2011, 12:06 am

if u go into southern whole salers (SWS) in marabella, make sure and ask for your discount...dey stock shakespear...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 27th, 2011, 12:19 am

SWS is de WORST wrt customer service!!

last time i was there is like i had to beg to see a rod.....i ended up expressing my dissatisfaction and walking out. me eh going back dere

i rather go tackle shop or general store any day. de fella in the hardware in elsocorro also very cool.

i agree that SWS have good prices, but i rather pay a lil more and get to see and macco everyting i want!!

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 27th, 2011, 7:58 am

ryan boi i just picked up one of the torque jigging rods about a month ago, the conventional model. I haven't paired it with a reel yet but i couldn't help myself from buying it (real tackle hoarder movements) it really is a nice rod can't wait to use it. I got the 5'8 rated for 30-80lb braid.....looking to pair it with an avet mxj
which one you got? what reel you looking to pair it up with?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 27th, 2011, 7:25 pm

reeLpACE, i know wat yuh mean, i suppose to go up wen dey get d reels dem but i jus had to get dat rod in meh hand...lol...i got the 6' boatrod model rated for 80-130lb braid....real nice...i goin and pair mine with ah penn battle 8000 reel and sum 100lb powerpro braid...u tried jigging yet? wat u caught?

todd61

Postby todd61 » March 27th, 2011, 7:57 pm

any one catch anything this weekend?My boat is down for repairs so i didn't when this weekend.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 27th, 2011, 8:39 pm

nope, didnt do anything this weekend but hoping to do something wednesday...

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 27th, 2011, 8:39 pm

meccalli wrote:
Rahtid wrote:
meccalli wrote:Thanks ryan, will check mankees.

On use of those artificial squids, theyre mainly for deep offshore fish on trolling rigs- billfish , tuna and the likes. If you want to fish squid, use real squid that has scent, its worked for me where other baits dont. If your interested on using lures, know what baitfish reside in the area you are fishing and choose your lure that best imitates the size, color and well action according how you intend to work it.

What fish your intend to target btw?

I dont go sea-fishing yet, so I mainly fish freshwater fishes now,until I decide to go to the sea and try it.
I still have to buy a rod/tackle/gear.

Man, go do some saltwater fishing. Makes you tough :P and you'll love it. Here's where i started off as a kid- Police post chaguaramas.yes where everybody does bathe like ants. 6:30 am onwards to around 8. On a nice sunny day, the water is absolutely wonderful early- clear, clean and you see shoals of baitfish and baby predatory fish. You'd get loads of small snappers, blinch that you can catch for fun and occasionally bonefish >.> you would not believe how that little silver fish tugs on light gear. All you need is a small caster with some 10/20lb test, some 1/0 or smaller hooks, 1/4 oz egg sinkers, swivels and some bait..i like squid or shrimp..those snappers go cuckoo for squid. If my calc's are right should run you under 75 bucks.

I want to,but time does not allow it. I only have sundays, and I normally sleep most of it,so I take my son to a pond nearby and do a lil fishing there.

didnt bother to go fishing today as we caught an iguana,,lol

thnx on all the advice yall,,,

03272011(002).jpg

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 27th, 2011, 9:55 pm

yea i tried jigging a few times already but i only had some luck with a lil 1oz jig....caught some small redz, it was good fun tho i must say......but i looking to get more into it with some heavier jigs and hopefully the heavier fish too :)

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 28th, 2011, 9:00 am

ryan99tt wrote:have this app for my ipod, it real cool...

caught this yesterday....didnt get ah chance to weigh it to see how heavy it was...

finally weighed and was..............44lbs......lol

Postby Razkal » March 28th, 2011, 8:16 pm

^bess...you ever caught a 50 pounder? or was this one step closer? :lol:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 28th, 2011, 8:52 pm

actually, this was my first tarpon...well secound...both caught on the same night but one was released...great catch for my first, i'd say...lol

venomz

Postby venomz » March 28th, 2011, 9:13 pm

what time port of spain wholesale market closes of? say wednesday morning for the holiday? 9spiritual baptist holiday

looking to get some bait bonito squid etc....
coming from south..

Postby meccalli » March 28th, 2011, 11:14 pm

Hey ryan, why'd you hide your face on tuner lol, i saw these same pics on a certain trinidad fishing accessory store's FB page aha >.>

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 28th, 2011, 11:43 pm

to protect my identity on tuner...i dont really like ppl comin up to me and harrassin me bout tuner stuff all d time but d important ppl know me...

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » March 28th, 2011, 11:48 pm

Headin out to d gulf in d morning,.....hope dey bitin'.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 28th, 2011, 11:50 pm

neocyst, take sum pics of d ketch and gd luck...

neocyst

Postby neocyst » March 28th, 2011, 11:51 pm

thanks man..will do!!

todd61

Postby todd61 » March 29th, 2011, 12:01 am

Any one know any good 22ft or 24ft Pirogue without engine.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 29th, 2011, 12:08 am

nah, most i see around for sale is with engine...looking to invest in one soon too...lol

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » March 29th, 2011, 10:09 am

todd61 wrote:Any one know any good 22ft or 24ft Pirogue without engine.

I've been looking for the same thing for quite some
time now but most men I meet are calling >$25,000
for a 22ft without engine, one of these Saturdays I'm
planning to drive around to all those fishing depos and
ask around (Claxton Bay, Waterloo etc). I'm looking for
something a little bigger (27'-28'), already got 2-40hp
yamaha's

venomz

Postby venomz » March 29th, 2011, 11:08 am

mariner /corsa marketing by sando general hospital makes new 27ft boat at 30k up

with bait well
seats
and flooring boat with liquid styrofoam to keep it a float it if flips

pimptacular on the forum has working knowledge there...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 29th, 2011, 12:31 pm

yup, it better to buy ah new boat because u never know wat yuh gettin if yuh buy it used...unless u personally know the person u buying it from...dey cud jus put sum fibreglass over d cracks and paint it up and u feel u get ah real gd boat until it start leaking...know wat ulyuh doin eh...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 29th, 2011, 10:15 pm

where all d men who went out today? wat is d ketch?

neocyst

Postby neocyst » March 29th, 2011, 10:23 pm

Too tired to post pics now!!! Will do later

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 29th, 2011, 10:34 pm

lol...like yuh murder dem?