COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31775 cases, 791 deaths, 7613 active, 23371 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » June 26th, 2021, 9:18 am

Oh ok

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31775 cases, 791 deaths, 7613 active, 23371 recovered in T&T

Postby Gladiator » June 26th, 2021, 9:34 am

First come first serve Deliesingh vaccine plan...
aaron17 wrote:Those figures yesterday... what cause the spike?
Or is it because of the days curfews and amount of testing? Seems like that.

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2021, 9:45 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

99.9% sure it's this, our data reporting is very very haphazard and never perfectly reflects what happened previously, at least according to Avery who presents vastly different looking data when he shows the cases actually occuring each day in the past

What is haphazard about our data reporting? It seems pretty standardised to me. And what about Dr Hinds' data is vastly different.

It is funny how when cases have a tremendous drop we know that it is outside of the trend and we write it off as an anomaly. But what when cases increase one day suddenly it is indicative of a spike. Let's allow a few days and see what the trend is nah.

Postby paid_influencer » June 26th, 2021, 9:47 am

anyone taking bets on there being a surprise conference today? will Keith jackassthething again or take a break this week?

Postby K74T » June 26th, 2021, 10:01 am

FB_IMG_1624716081747.jpeg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 10:07 am

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

99.9% sure it's this, our data reporting is very very haphazard and never perfectly reflects what happened previously, at least according to Avery who presents vastly different looking data when he shows the cases actually occuring each day in the past

What is haphazard about our data reporting? It seems pretty standardised to me. And what about Dr Hinds' data is vastly different.

It is funny how when cases have a tremendous drop we know that it is outside of the trend and we write it off as an anomaly. But what when cases increase one day suddenly it is indicative of a spike. Let's allow a few days and see what the trend is nah.

Listen moron, the data is reported from results across a week, so we never actually know how many cases happened from each day. That's why we use 7 day rolling averages to compensate for this.

Dr Hinds on TV would adjust and fix this data, if you looked once at his graphs they never line up with the public data.

I've contacted companies like Ubilityics who do work with this and they have also told me the same.

So STFU we are not reporting cases occured in the last 24 hours, I know this for a fact. This isn't even an indictment on the government.

Did I say it was a spike? I literally said yesterday we are still trending downward but we still needed more days of data to confirm it.

You'd be a lot more useful if you stopped licking PNM ass crack.

Postby paid_influencer » June 26th, 2021, 10:08 am

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1624716081747.jpeg

lmao, of course

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 10:09 am

"2:30pm" sure....

Postby paid_influencer » June 26th, 2021, 10:12 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

"2:30pm" sure....

we on island time bro

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2021, 11:00 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Listen moron, the data is reported from results across a week, so we never actually know how many cases happened from each day. That's why we use 7 day rolling averages to compensate for this.

Dr Hinds on TV would adjust and fix this data, if you looked once at his graphs they never line up with the public data.

I've contacted companies like Ubilityics who do work with this and they have also told me the same.

So STFU we are not reporting cases occured in the last 24 hours, I know this for a fact. This isn't even an indictment on the government.

Did I say it was a spike? I literally said yesterday we are still trending downward but we still needed more days of data to confirm it.

You'd be a lot more useful if you stopped licking PNM ass crack.

Wow so Dr Hinds wasted his time at Cambridge studying epidemiology, because he could have just reached out to you who knows more.

If you actually listen to Dr Hinds he explained that we use a 7 day rolling average because it is called an epidemiological week.

How to use EpiWeek Function
Epidemiological weeks are usually complete weeks. The ministries of health around the world define the day of the week as the first epidemiologic day. As a result, some countries may consider Sunday as the first day of the week while others may consider the first day of the week to be either Saturday or Monday.
https://www.cdc.gov/epiinfo/user-guide/ ... tions.html

You need to look over several days to spot trends. To just look at 24hrs will not be accurate because it takes over 18hrs at times to run PCR tests. Sometimes there are too much samples for the machine to run all in one cycle or too little so they will wait until samples build up. This happens both in public and private but as cases are dropping the backlog is almost removed.

The issue is preference, we use samples over several days to produce the results in the last 24hrs, but the trend is observed in the epidemiological week. This is not unique to TT https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-n ... s-n1233326

Nobody is licking PNM ass. You are just look at graduate professionals with hear of experience in the field and saying that they are wrong because you know a guy. And when i point out the several times you were wrong all you can say is oops. Just practise some humility, your wrong suggestion on an anonymous internet forum doesnt have the same consequences of public servants giving their all with their reputation on the line.

My spike comment was not directed to you.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 11:21 am

Backside, again I not saying what Dr Hinds is doing is wrong. But you so quick to interpret anything I say as an attack on government.

I'm saying simply we can't use our public data to determine if a spike happened as a result of the vaccine crowds (which I highly doubt was a super spreader event, typical UNC clowns would love it to be). Because positive cases come in unevenly distributed across several days, it needs to be aligned afterwards based ok the date of the test taken. This is what Avery does, he aligns the data afterward on TV so we can analyze.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on June 26th, 2021, 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby st7 » June 26th, 2021, 11:36 am

the high figure could be a manipulated number by the govt (cause who can stop them?) to push their narrative of what comes out from the press conference later today /conspiracy

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 11:49 am

British study of nine recent entertainment events found they led to no major COVID-19 outbreaks

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/world/a ... led-to-no/

Good news for potentially having Carnival.

Postby hover11 » June 26th, 2021, 12:26 pm

So have carnival but no schools makes sense
Dohplaydat wrote:British study of nine recent entertainment events found they led to no major COVID-19 outbreaks

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/world/a ... led-to-no/

Good news for potentially having Carnival.

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2021, 12:35 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Backside, again I not saying what Dr Hinds is doing is wrong. But you so quick to interpret anything I say as an attack on government.

I'm saying simply we can't use our public data to determine if a spike happened as a result of the vaccine crowds (which I highly doubt was a super spreader event, typical UNC clowns would love it to be). Because positive cases come in unevenly distributed across several days, it needs to be aligned afterwards based ok the date of the test taken. This is what Avery does, he aligns the data afterward on TV so we can analyze.

You just said "Avery who presents vastly different looking data when he shows the cases actually occuring each day in the past"

You are saying what he did is wrong.
While he is pointing to the academic standard of using the epi week to spot trends and not just look at single days. That is why even on data sites they give the option of 7 day averages and countries around the world use those graphs to point to spikes.

But you say no, your way is better because between March 2020 and now, you have become an epidemiologist.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 26th, 2021, 12:40 pm

bluefete wrote:Well, some of us knew this all along.

Author: Ronal Bhola

Some months ago when Dr Nandram was dismissive of a question by journalist Urvashi Tiwari-Roopnarine many of us knew immediately that the authorities were uncomfortable with being truthful to the public about the Covid-19 epidemic in the country.

Nandram’s reply which started, “Not discounting your Google search Urvashi…” was contemptuous and condescending. Dr Nandram might have appeared once after that but has since disappeared.

Some of us know only too well from our years of long experience working in the public service, that the testing capacity at public institutions is limited, and thus the results presented to the public are not a true reflection of infections in the country. The histograms, pictographs and other graphs presented regularly, are all public relations gimmicks to mamaguy the lumpen and flotsam of society. So only someone with a knowledge of statistics can unmask this and explain if it is an attempt to educate or deceive the population.

If Ms Tiwari-Roopnarine is equipped with a sound knowledge of statistics then undoubtedly she will be a formidable figure that will make authorities tremble. My information from trusted sources is, that Urvashi Tiwari-Roopnarine has a masters degree in statistics; therefore anyone so qualified will understand if the statistical measurements as presented are really an attempt to educate or to bamboozle the population.

Now if that by itself does not make government ministers and medical professionals uncomfortable, take a look at her Facebook post of 1st May in which she says; “P1 is 2 TIMES as infectious…. “But whether or not authorities with all their academic qualifications and oaths to serve you the people of Trinidad and Tobago will admit, P1 IS A FACTOR in T&T’s SPIKE.”

She then challenged the authorities to “prove me otherwise.” They have not to date been able to. Saying she wrote to the CMO on March 23rd pointing out that numbers appeared to be doubling every few days and she suspected P1 was was driving not all but some of the spread, she received no response.

This was showed up the government as not being truthful and transparent with the population. But something that would have angered the political heavyweights was when she stated emphatically; “the election spike which featured much more activity and movement of persons in September 2020 is NOT comparatively the same as what is being seen post Easter.”

This was like an ‘un-pinned hand grenade put on the lap of non other than the cabinet. Here she was now a matador with a red flag in the bullfighters ring. She warned that “the countries most crippled by Covid are blamed largely on the way waves were managed. The authorities would have smiled but never applauded.

Yet she advised all about precautions to be observed and reiterated the basic public health guidelines. Knowledge of statistics arms one to understand epidemiology data.

If you did not take that seriously here she is again on June 8; “… the only way you can take results from a sample (eg which Covid strain is dominant) and extrapolate it to categorise an entire population is IF the sample is representative (a smaller replica) of the population. Statisticians use randomised samples to achieve this. If you are feeding suspected VOC cases, the positive repatriated or persons with severe disease to be sequenced, the results will obviously be skewed.”

“38% of samples tested by UWI being P1 is NOT the same as 38 % of detected cases in T&T being P1.” A journalist interpreting epidemiological data during a pandemic is not to be taken lightly. This is one area where political spin is not possible because facts are stubborn things.

That was an intercontinental ballistic missile and the government was not going to allow it. She was now a clear and present danger to political office holders and must be stopped !

First she must not attend the Saturday press conferences.

Writing 20 years ago in one of his commentaries in the newspaper about another administration, Retired Justice Lennox Deyalsingh said that the arms of the state are long and vengeful.

This now was action by the state on a journalist who committed no wrong.

The OCM Group acquiesced to government by sequestering one of its own a journalist who understands measurements of phenomena and exposed bamboozling of the population by a government.

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=101 ... 7014086539

didnt cnc3 do the same an stop akash samaroo last year when he was asking too much relevant questions that capha and the nawh couldnt answer or didnt want to answer. since then they put him to cover small sheit stories. expect this reported to appear covering stories that appear like 7.55pm just before the news ends.

Postby paid_influencer » June 26th, 2021, 12:45 pm

hoss, that is just how things does run on the island. Urvashi need to learn to sing for her supper

Postby paid_influencer » June 26th, 2021, 12:47 pm

any predictions on what the PM going to address at 2:30pm island time?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 12:51 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Backside, again I not saying what Dr Hinds is doing is wrong. But you so quick to interpret anything I say as an attack on government.

You just said "Avery who presents vastly different looking data when he shows the cases actually occuring each day in the past"

While he is pointing to the academic standard of using the epi week to spot trends and not just look at single days. That is why even on data sites they give the option of 7 day averages and countries around the world use those graphs to point to spikes.

But you say no, your way is better because between March 2020 and now, you have become an epidemiologist.

U like arguing about nothing eh, I didn't even say what he doing wrong. I literally said he aligns the data to the date the test was taken. That is data we don't have access too, and to adjust for this all we can do is using rolling averages to adjust for it . End of story.

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2021, 12:54 pm

lolllll

Postby hover11 » June 26th, 2021, 1:01 pm

Construction would reopen
paid_influencer wrote:any predictions on what the PM going to address at 2:30pm island time?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 26th, 2021, 1:46 pm

Habit7 wrote:

you dare question Dohplaydat. The man is a certified know it all

Postby hover11 » June 26th, 2021, 2:07 pm

Man is a lawyer engineer and epidemiologist in one
elec2020 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Postby Habit7 » June 26th, 2021, 2:10 pm

Nah he is not saying Dr Hinds is wrong. He is just saying Dr Hinds is wrong because the cases are not being reported like how he wants. Dr Hinds an epidemiologist is using an epidemiological week which is a health institution standard to point out spikes but some guy who DPD spoke to said dat is chupidness.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 26th, 2021, 2:27 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

SO True ... De man feel he know so much that he does attempt to discredit Nobel Peace prize winners, Inventors of Vaccine technology, Prof of infectious disease/epidemiology and the list goes on and on.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 26th, 2021, 2:31 pm

:bday:
Habit7 wrote:Nah he is not saying Dr Hinds is wrong. He is just saying Dr Hinds is wrong because the cases are not being reported like how he wants. Dr Hinds an epidemiologist is using an epidemiological week which is a health institution standard to point out spikes but some guy who DPD spoke to said dat is chupidness.

Good lord you like putting words in my mouth just like putting dicks in yours eh.

All I said was we don't have the data for the number of cases coming out each day, only MoH has that internally, hence we can't determine when spikes truly happen because of the messy data that is made available publicly.

Postby MaxPower » June 26th, 2021, 2:32 pm

Team,

Keep us posted with the updates today.

5th July we easing restrictions?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 26th, 2021, 2:56 pm

Everything re-opening. Doubles tomorrow fellas?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » June 26th, 2021, 2:59 pm

Doubles never stop

Postby The_Honourable » June 26th, 2021, 3:08 pm

More sinopharm vaccines coming in July resulting in an acceleration of the vaccination program