COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31207 cases, 768 deaths, 7809 active, 22630 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 12:46 pm

We have no 'right' decision here, the cat done out the bag and we'll likely have an explosion of cases a month after re-opening.

And we do have to re-open because this government has wasted funds yet again and pointless projects and corruption.

So yea we either go, who dead dead, or we try our best to ramp up vaccination of all over 60s and vulnerable people.

I'd personally, try to hit 7000-10,000 vaccinations a day and try to have as many fully vaccinated persons by the time we reopen properly (meaning go back to non-essential services).

Street food, beaches and curbside pickup can be reopened asap, but let's say they choose mid or early July.

So removing the essential services only will likey be end of July, 5 weeks from now.

We can like have 300K fully vaccinated by that time, which should help reduce deaths a lot for the next covid spike. Not ideal, but it is what it is.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31207 cases, 768 deaths, 7809 active, 22630 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » June 25th, 2021, 12:49 pm

MaxPower wrote:Yeh,

Hundreds of Trinis lining up by South Park.

Reminds me of the great flood where people NOT in need were “begging”.

Filled with the hand me out Red Government crew

Well yeh Zoom.

All it takes to win an election and keep support is a few hand outs….it’s that easy.

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 12:55 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:We have no 'right' decision here, the cat done out the bag and we'll likely have an explosion of cases a month after re-opening.

And we do have to re-open because this government has wasted funds yet again and pointless projects and corruption.

So yea we either go, who dead dead, or we try our best to ramp up vaccination of all over 60s and vulnerable people.

I'd personally, try to hit 7000-10,000 vaccinations a day and try to have as many fully vaccinated persons by the time we reopen properly (meaning go back to non-essential services).

Street food, beaches and curbside pickup can be reopened asap, but let's say they choose mid or early July.

So removing the essential services only will likey be end of July, 5 weeks from now.

We can like have 300K fully vaccinated by that time, which should help reduce deaths a lot for the next covid spike. Not ideal, but it is what it is.

Quite innovative, ramping up vaccinations is the obvious choice that this inept govt never thought about.

Do you have any idea of the source of these vaccines needed for ramping up vaccinations?

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 1:11 pm

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-uk- ... s-12341688

The UK has reported 15,810 new COVID cases and another 18 coronavirus-related deaths in the latest 24-hour period.
The figures compare with 16,703 infections and 21 deaths announced yesterday, and 10,476 cases and 11 deaths this time last week.

Delta moving quickly through the population.

Postby zoom rader » June 25th, 2021, 1:17 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:We have no 'right' decision here, the cat done out the bag and we'll likely have an explosion of cases a month after re-opening.

Quite innovative, ramping up vaccinations is the obvious choice that this inept govt never thought about.

Do you have any idea of the source of these vaccines needed for ramping up vaccinations?
ramping up with what?

A vaccine that is not acceptable in the Canada and soon other countries with adopt the same.

Boy Rowlee and Trinidad full ah 5hit

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 1:45 pm

Britain wants all Chinese vaccines halted due to toxic effects

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » June 25th, 2021, 1:58 pm

hover11 wrote:Britain wants all Chinese vaccines halted due to toxic effects

source?

Postby adnj » June 25th, 2021, 1:59 pm

There is nothing to halt - no Chinese manufactured Covid-19 vaccines are approved for use in the UK.

The COVID-19 vaccines currently approved for use in the UK are:

Moderna vaccine
Oxford/AstraZeneca vaccine
Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine
Janssen vaccine (available later this year)

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavir ... s-vaccine/

There was however a halt to injections of J&J in the USA last week due to the discovery of blood clots.
Last edited by adnj on June 25th, 2021, 1:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 2:00 pm

https://www.oann.com/chinese-virus-vacc ... mediately/
i_code_and_stuff wrote:

source?

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 2:03 pm

Exactly but they did their research on them and they are saying it isn't worth the risk of use.

m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid10159141252085943&id=664140942

adnj wrote:
There is nothing to halt - no Chinese manufactured Covid-19 vaccines are approved for use in the UK.

Moderna vaccine

Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31207 cases, 768 deaths, 7809 active, 22630 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 25th, 2021, 2:15 pm

hover11 wrote:https://www.oann.com/chinese-virus-vacc ... mediately/
i_code_and_stuff wrote:

source?

OANN is a conspiracy news site

Just Google “oann review”

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 25th, 2021, 2:17 pm

The opposition of the republic of trinidad and tobago is currently bringing a motion of no confidence in the minister of health.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 2:19 pm

Habit7 wrote:

ramping up with what?

A vaccine that is not acceptable in the Canada and soon other countries with adopt the same.

Boy Rowlee and Trinidad full ah 5hit

Well habit7 government went and did the stupidest thing rather than keep illegals out, and react quickly to the outbreak, or acquire free vaccines from India when it was available - they got complacent, lazy and now reopening the border when the most contagious variant is abound, knowing fully well that vaccinated persons can bring it in. Basically, f*cking us over yet again.

And hover11, while UK is experiencing a mini outbreak guess what. Almost all the new infections are amongst unvaccinated persons, many of whom have had covid already. So what happen to your natural immunity? I thought that was your solution to everything?

If allyuh feel things bad now when we are the worst in the Caribbean, give it a few months, we'll be probably end up one of the worst in the world.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on June 25th, 2021, 2:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » June 25th, 2021, 2:19 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:The opposition of the republic of trinidad and tobago is currently bringing a motion of no confidence in the minister of health.

watching now

Postby paid_influencer » June 25th, 2021, 2:22 pm

hover11 wrote:https://www.oann.com/chinese-virus-vacc ... mediately/
i_code_and_stuff wrote:

source?

OANN is a conspiracy news site

Just Google “oann review”

One America New Network is the news program on AWE (formerly Wealth Channel). They are a legit source, even included in White House press briefings.

It is politically slanted, like MSNBC or Fox News, but it is a legit news outlet.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 2:23 pm

hover11 wrote:Exactly but they did their research on them and they are saying it isn't worth the risk of use.

m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid10159141252085943&id=664140942

adnj wrote:

Moderna vaccine

Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine

Backside, they never intended to use it, they already secured their vaccine supply and approved what they deemed high quality and safe.

And if you get your news sources from OAN you really need some help in doing good research.

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 2:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Well habit7 government went and did the stupidest thing rather than keep illegals out, and react quickly to the outbreak, or acquire free vaccines from India when it was available - they got complacent, lazy and now reopening the border when the most contagious variant is abound, knowing fully well that vaccinated persons can bring it in. Basically, f*cking us over yet again.

You are not answering the question. India already gave us vaccines. Where are we to get vaccines to ramp up vaccinations NOW?

PS we are not worst in the Caribbean in cases or deaths so idk where you got that from
Last edited by Habit7 on June 25th, 2021, 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » June 25th, 2021, 2:26 pm

well I just checked the video. They are calling covid the "Chinese Virus", and the vaccines for COVID are by extension "Chinese Virus Vaccine." so this isn't referencing Sinopharm or Sinovac specifically.

I take back anything I ever said in defense of OAN. I will not die on that hill.

Postby redmanjp » June 25th, 2021, 2:43 pm

paid_influencer wrote:well I just checked the video. They are calling covid the "Chinese Virus", and the vaccines for COVID are by extension "Chinese Virus Vaccine." so this isn't referencing Sinopharm or Sinovac specifically.

I take back anything I ever said in defense of OAN. I will not die on that hill.

if it turns out it was made in a lab rather than emerged naturally i would have no problem calling it that

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 2:45 pm

It actually have ppl that still believe this mutated from bats ....mankind had no influence over this lol
redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:well I just checked the video. They are calling covid the "Chinese Virus", and the vaccines for COVID are by extension "Chinese Virus Vaccine." so this isn't referencing Sinopharm or Sinovac specifically.

if it turns out it was made in a lab rather than emerged naturally i would have no problem calling it that

Postby adnj » June 25th, 2021, 2:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:

A Coronavirus Epidemic Hit Humanity 20,000 Years Ago, DNA Study Reveals

YASSINE SOUILMI & RAY TOBLER, THE CONVERSATION

25 JUNE 2021

A coronavirus may have swept across East Asia more than 20,000 years ago, leaving traces in the DNA of people in modern China, Japan and Vietnam. Our research, published in Current Biology, found evidence of genetic adaptation to the coronavirus family of viruses in 42 genes in modern populations in these regions.

https://www.sciencealert.com/scientists ... in-our-dna

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 2:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Well habit7 government went and did the stupidest thing rather than keep illegals out, and react quickly to the outbreak, or acquire free vaccines from India when it was available - they got complacent, lazy and now reopening the border when the most contagious variant is abound, knowing fully well that vaccinated persons can bring it in. Basically, f*cking us over yet again.

You are not answering the question. India already gave us vaccines. Where are we to get vaccines to ramp up vaccinations NOW?

PS we are not worst in the Caribbean in cases or deaths so idk where you got that from

We only got from India as a consolation, if we'd asked on time like the 100 other countries we easily would have gotten 150k or more, free and since February.

We are the 2nd worse in deaths per million, only Guyana is marginally ahead and in a week or two so we'd take their position.

Only Jamaica is behind us in vaccinations.

I'd say we're the worst in the Caribbean given those metrics.

Aren't we getting 300k more Sinopharm just now? The Chinese vaccines might be not as good, but they'll save countless lives so re-opening too much before we fully vaccinate another 150k would be irresponsible.

If we get 300k next week, we can start on the 5th July, 10k a day is 15 days for the first doses and then starting July 26th to Aug 15th fully vax these people.

By end of Aug we should have 300k or 23% fully vaccinated.

Then and only then we should consider stopping essential services only. This will require lots of financial support to keep businesses alive, but we have. The government f*cked up by not locking down sooner.
CleanShot 2021-06-25 at 2.48.59@2x.png
CleanShot 2021-06-25 at 2.49.17@2x.png

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 3:28 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:We only got from India as a consolation, if we'd asked on time like the 100 other countries we easily would have gotten 150k or more, free and since February.

This is just speculation. India was under no obligation to give us any, but we gratefully received what we got. India allocated 500K to the Caribbean, you have nothing other than your imagination to say that we could get almost a third of that.

But you said we should ramp up vaccination but we have no vaccines to do that. We ordered 300 Sinopharm but we have to wait. There are no vaccines to ramp up anything. Just annoying ppl lamenting for vaccines that are not available not just to TT but to most of the developing world.

And you said TT was the worst, now you backpedalling. These are all the Caricom member states including the ones you conveniently left out. Up until March, we were crushing it, then we had the Gamma variant, lets see how everybody will do now with the Delta variant. We were already the most locked-down country in the Caribbean and YOU were saying that we were the most locked down in the world. To say we should have locked down sooner is YOU contradicting yourself.

coronavirus-data-explorer (8).png

coronavirus-data-explorer (7).png

Postby paid_influencer » June 25th, 2021, 3:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:There are no vaccines to ramp up anything. Just annoying ppl lamenting for vaccines that are not available not just to TT but to most of the developing world.

yea those ppl need to shut up. We get it, the inactivated virus vaccines aren't as good at preventing transmission and won't allow us to reopen in the same way America and the UK are reopening. We understand that. But it will help save lives today and it is an important part of the integrated strategy of dealing with the virus.

Keep your mask on, keep social distancing, do not lime or attend gatherings even after being vaccinated. The vaccine will help, but you still need to do all those things if we want to keep the virus under control.

Postby aaron17 » June 25th, 2021, 3:59 pm

Two words:

Delta Plus

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:We only got from India as a consolation, if we'd asked on time like the 100 other countries we easily would have gotten 150k or more, free and since February.

This is just speculation. India was under no obligation to give us any, but we gratefully received what we got. India allocated 500K to the Caribbean, you have nothing other than your imagination to say that we could get almost a third of that.

But you said we should ramp up vaccination but we have no vaccines to do that. We ordered 300 Sinopharm but we have to wait. There are no vaccines to ramp up anything. Just annoying ppl lamenting for vaccines that are not available not just to TT but to most of the developing world.

And you said TT was the worst, now you backpedalling. These are all the Caricom member states including the ones you conveniently left out. Up until March, we were crushing it, then we had the Gamma variant, lets see how everybody will do now with the Delta variant. We were already the most locked-down country in the Caribbean and YOU were saying that we were the most locked down in the world. To say we should have locked down sooner is YOU contradicting yourself.

coronavirus-data-explorer (8).png
coronavirus-data-explorer (7).png

Cases don't matter, every country has different testing criteria, deaths are a better metric. And I like how suddenly Belize and Surinam conveniently ended up the Caribbean.

Given those trends you posted, we are still almost last and probably be 2nd or 3rd to last in Caricom by end of August. And you still proud?

All these places except us had open borders for almost a year too.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 4:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Habit7 wrote:There are no vaccines to ramp up anything. Just annoying ppl lamenting for vaccines that are not available not just to TT but to most of the developing world.

yea those ppl need to shut up. We get it, the inactivated virus vaccines aren't as good at preventing transmission and won't allow us to reopen in the same way America and the UK are reopening. We understand that. But it will help save lives today and it is an important part of the integrated strategy of dealing with the virus.

Keep your mask on, keep social distancing, do not lime or attend gatherings even after being vaccinated. The vaccine will help, but you still need to do all those things if we want to keep the virus under control.

I have not said otherwise, take the Sinopharm as it will save your life. Just please know we are still far from normal, I honestly think we'll need many covid measures still well into 2022.

Postby adnj » June 25th, 2021, 4:06 pm

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 4:12 pm

Four words

GOD is a trini....thats all will say
aaron17 wrote:Two words:

Delta Plus

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 4:18 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Cases don't matter, every country has different testing criteria, deaths are a better metric. And I like how suddenly Belize and Surinam conveniently ended up the Caribbean.

Given those trends you posted, we are still almost last and probably be 2nd or 3rd to last in Caricom by end of August. And you still proud?

All these places except us had open borders for almost a year too.

Cases are no better or worse metric than death. You trust other countries' reporting, countries who up until late last year still had to send samples to CARPHA in TT to be tested, to incorrectly say we are the worst, but now you trust them over us?

So Guyana in the Caribbean but not Caricom members like Belize and Suriname? Then tell them to give back their donations that India gave to Caricom then.

Stop trying to find down de ting nah.