COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

drchaos

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31207 cases, 768 deaths, 7809 active, 22630 recovered in T&T

Postby drchaos » June 24th, 2021, 11:56 pm

Borders OPENING! WHOOO HOOO

I'm Psyched AF!

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 31207 cases, 768 deaths, 7809 active, 22630 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 25th, 2021, 12:22 am

redmanjp wrote:besides the US has reopened fully without masks and cases continue to drop, so no u are not a superspreader once u get that vax.

Screenshot 2021-06-25 at 12.19.02 AM.jpg

https://www.npr.org/sections/health-sho ... your-state

The state with the highest percentage of people vaccinated is Vermont at 64% and the lowest is Mississippi at only 29%.

Guess that's enough to open up fully? idk

Postby redmanjp » June 25th, 2021, 12:25 am

the states that are past 60% yes. but they should quarantine anyone coming from states with very low rates if they have the delta variant.

4 million a day in the US (at it's peak) is like 17,000 a day in T&T :shock:

and govt have ppl believing 3000-5000 per day is good. :x

Postby adnj » June 25th, 2021, 7:04 am

Exclusive-WHO estimates COVID-19 boosters needed yearly for most vulnerable

Francesco Guarascio

(Reuters) -The World Health Organization (WHO) forecasts that people most vulnerable to COVID-19, such as the elderly, will need to get an annual vaccine booster to be protected against variants, an internal document seen by Reuters shows.

The estimate is included in a report, which is to be discussed on Thursday at a board meeting of Gavi, a vaccine alliance that co-leads the WHO's COVID-19 vaccine programme COVAX. The forecast is subject to changes and is also paired with two other less likely scenarios.

Vaccine makers Moderna Inc and Pfizer Inc, with its German partner BioNTech, have been vocal in their view that the world will soon need booster shots to maintain high levels of immunity, but the evidence for this is still unclear.

The document shows that the WHO considers annual boosters for high-risk individuals as its "indicative" baseline scenario, and boosters every two years for the general population.

It does not say how these conclusions were reached, but shows that under the base scenario new variants would continue to emerge and vaccines would be regularly updated to meet these threats.

The U.N. agency declined to comment on the content of the internal document.

https://www.reuters.com/article/idUSL2N2O6281

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 25th, 2021, 7:36 am

Covid vaccine does not inoculate you from all diseases. Therefore obviously people will still die who have taken the vaccine though it may not be from covid

If you were to die from cancer let's say and you take the vaccine you will still die

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 25th, 2021, 7:40 am

https://journals.lww.com/americantherap ... 98040.aspx

More new Data on Ivermectin. This time it’s peer reviewed and it’s a systematic review, meta analysis and trial sequence analyzed.

Conclusions:

Moderate-certainty evidence finds that large reductions in COVID-19 deaths are possible using ivermectin. Using ivermectin early in the clinical course may reduce numbers progressing to severe disease. The apparent safety and low cost suggest that ivermectin is likely to have a significant impact on the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic globally.

Postby adnj » June 25th, 2021, 7:59 am

Oxford University explores anti-parasitic drug ivermectin as COVID-19 treatment

(Reuters) - The University of Oxford said on Wednesday it was testing anti-parasitic drug ivermectin as a possible treatment for COVID-19, as part of a British government-backed study that aims to aid recoveries in non-hospital settings.

Ivermectin resulted in a reduction of virus replication in laboratory studies, the university said, adding that a small pilot showed giving the drug early could reduce viral load and the duration of symptoms in some patients with mild COVID-19.

Dubbed PRINCIPLE, the British study in January showed that antibiotics azithromycin and doxycycline were generally ineffective against early-stage COVID-19.

While the World Health Organization, and European and U.S. regulators have recommended against using ivermectin in COVID-19 patients, it is being used to treat the illness in some countries, including India.

"By including ivermectin in a large-scale trial like PRINCIPLE, we hope to generate robust evidence to determine how effective the treatment is against COVID-19, and whether there are benefits or harms associated with its use," co-lead investigator of the trial Chris Butler said.

People with severe liver conditions, who are on blood-thinning medication warfarin, or taking other treatments known to interact with ivermectin, will be excluded from the trial, the university added.

Ivermectin is the seventh treatment to be investigated in the trial, and is currently being evaluated alongside antiviral drug favipiravir, the university said.

https://www.reuters.com/world/uk/oxford ... 021-06-22/

Postby paid_influencer » June 25th, 2021, 10:20 am

CCN TV6: Trinidad and Tobago
42m ·
THE HUNGER IS REAL: From daybreak, hundreds of people lined the pavement leading to South Park Plaza in San Fernando, responding to an advertisement for a hamper distribution.
The South Park Plaza Hamper Distribution Programme takes place today and next week Tuesday from 10am.
Interested persons were required to register with vaild ID. Registered persons will receive a distribution chit and will be required to stand stand six feet apart in a collection line.
The Express found, however, that there was no social distancing among those to arrived long before distribution began.
Each family will receive one hamper.
Express photojournalist Trevor Watson captured this video.

https://www.facebook.com/CCNTV6/posts/5665981206777358

13m .
TURNED AWAY: TOO MANY
The South Park Plaza Hamper Distribution Programme ended prematurely this morning, leaving hundreds of people disappointed. A South Park representative said police officers advised that people were not observing the Covid-19 protocols. He said the team would meet to come up with a better system to distribute hampers. Those who registered this morning will have an opportunity to receive hampers next week. Express photojournalist Trevor Watson captured this video.

https://www.facebook.com/19269626077257 ... 8797860666

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 10:36 am

Been saying for a while that the ivermectin research has promise, looking forward to see how that Oxford study goes

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 10:42 am

99.8% Of Los Angeles Covid Deaths In Past 6 Months Were Among Unvaccinated People.

https://deadline.com/2021/06/99-p4rcent ... 234781402/

It's almost as if vacines actually work

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 10:53 am

For now...let's wait and see the effects yet to be discovered after prolonged usage
Dohplaydat wrote:99.8% Of Los Angeles Covid Deaths In Past 6 Months Were Among Unvaccinated People.

https://deadline.com/2021/06/99-p4rcent ... 234781402/

It's almost as if vacines actually work

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 10:54 am

paid_influencer wrote:CCN TV6: Trinidad and Tobago
42m ·
THE HUNGER IS REAL: From daybreak, hundreds of people lined the pavement leading to South Park Plaza in San Fernando, responding to an advertisement for a hamper distribution.
The South Park Plaza Hamper Distribution Programme takes place today and next week Tuesday from 10am.
Interested persons were required to register with vaild ID. Registered persons will receive a distribution chit and will be required to stand stand six feet apart in a collection line.
The Express found, however, that there was no social distancing among those to arrived long before distribution began.

13m .
The South Park Plaza Hamper Distribution Programme ended prematurely this morning, leaving hundreds of people disappointed. A South Park representative said police officers advised that people were not observing the Covid-19 protocols. He said the team would meet to come up with a better system to distribute hampers. Those who registered this morning will have an opportunity to receive hampers next week. Express photojournalist Trevor Watson captured this video.

The struggle is real. We need to open back up soon as possible so that ppl can work and not need welfare. But if we open up too much, ppl will get sick and die and ppl will call the doctors murderers. You cant please everybody.

Postby paid_influencer » June 25th, 2021, 10:56 am

we taking all them loans to help poor people, not so? 200M US$ loan from china. give them ppl food

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 10:59 am

Apparently the 200m was for budget allocation because our budget was falling short .....I understand where the humanitarian side coming out here however would you take a loan to buy groceries ?
paid_influencer wrote:we taking all them loans to help poor people, not so? 200M US$ loan from china. give them ppl food

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 11:02 am

Habit7 wrote:
42m ·

13m .

The struggle is real. We need to open back up soon as possible so that ppl can work and not need welfare. But if we open up too much, ppl will get sick and die and ppl will call the doctors murderers. You cant please everybody.

Government dug a stupid hole for itself by lazily managing the covid situation and not providing proper relief and fast enough vaccination.

When they open up, no matter if we wait 3 months from cases will spike. We are in a sheit situation thanks to rediculously poor governance.

Postby aaron17 » June 25th, 2021, 11:09 am

The slightest thing something open up..ppl jackarsing the scene.
That's the problem.
:x

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 11:12 am

Once you open a mall or cinema or clothing store, the 8000 infected home will find some reason to leave their humble abodes and mingle with the general population thus spreading it even further ,please remember the dominant strain is now the P1 soon to be Delta
aaron17 wrote:The slightest thing something open up..ppl jackarsing the scene.
That's the problem.
:x

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 11:24 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
42m ·

13m .

Government dug a stupid hole for itself by lazily managing the covid situation and not providing proper relief and fast enough vaccination.

When they open up, no matter if we wait 3 months from cases will spike. We are in a sheit situation thanks to rediculously poor governance.

How much time I have to remind you. YOU were saying in March the govt was too stringent, now you are saying that they are too lazy? I can quote you if you forget.

You are the perfect example of not being able to please everybody because you don't criticise on a consistent principle.

And this not "fast enough vaccination." Vaccines from where?

The govt managed covid excellently from March 2020 to March 2021. We had very small numbers for our size, they won an election based on it touting their management of covid. Commendations from Oxford, US govt and WHO. Then we experienced the same spike most countries in the world did, suddenly it is "poor governance." Sometimes I wish we could ship out some of allyuh mouthers on your own island and see how you will fair. Because it seems like you stayed in a Holiday Inn once and now you know everything thing in law, medicine and engineering. And when I point out your errors, that doesn't count.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 25th, 2021, 11:29 am

Yea yea more excused habit7

Postby MaxPower » June 25th, 2021, 11:34 am

Yeh,

Hundreds of Trinis lining up by South Park.

Reminds me of the great flood where people NOT in need were “begging”.

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 11:36 am

Who doesn't like free groceries. I honestly don't believe half of those ppl were not "sufferers" it synonymous with if I giving out 500 dollars wouldn't everybody line up both rich and poor
MaxPower wrote:Yeh,

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 25th, 2021, 11:42 am

times hard. the only relief was the salary relief grant (off between 1500 to 1000.... what is that???) in May idk if it was carried over for June.

Postby zoom rader » June 25th, 2021, 11:47 am

Filled with the hand me out Red Government crew

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 25th, 2021, 11:53 am

The only "problem" with Ivermectin is that it will reduce the need in people's mind for vaccinations.

This was expressed in meeting with colleagues 2 weeks ago.

So a few people were actually against it, based not on the data or its merits but for the fact that we may not need to force vaccinations on everyone if we have cheap therapeutics that work.

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 11:53 am

I dont know who are those ppl to say whether or not they are faking. I prefer to accept them as who they claim to be. The reality is that, unlike some natural disaster, these ppl can return to making money if they are allowed to open back up. Opening back up will spike cour cases.

We need to say whether or not we are willing to accept cases spiking, healthcare workers being overwhelmed and shaming vaccines suppliers and the countries they belong to, to guilt them into selling us vaccines.

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 11:55 am

But at what cost remember with spikes means deaths as well
Habit7 wrote:I dont know who are those ppl to say whether or not they are faking. I prefer to accept them as who they claim to be. The reality is that, unlike some natural disaster, these ppl can return to making money if they are allowed to open back up. Opening back up will spike cour cases.

We need to say whether or not we are willing to accept cases spiking, healthcare workers being overwhelmed and shaming vaccines suppliers and the countries they belong to, to guilt them into selling us vaccines.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 25th, 2021, 11:55 am

Filled with the hand me out Red Government crew

Most people for Harsh measures and sitting home collecting a salary/pension or work in essential services which means their kids not going hungry tonight.

Or the brainwashed political sycophants who support political leaders even though they are being lead over a cliff.

Postby Habit7 » June 25th, 2021, 12:01 pm

hover11 wrote:But at what cost remember with spikes means deaths as well
Habit7 wrote:I dont know who are those ppl to say whether or not they are faking. I prefer to accept them as who they claim to be. The reality is that, unlike some natural disaster, these ppl can return to making money if they are allowed to open back up. Opening back up will spike cour cases.

Small businesses were dealing with low sales before. Now they haven't had an income in 2mths, to ask them to go for a next month with income, they are more concerned about their death from starvation before death from covid-19.

Postby hover11 » June 25th, 2021, 12:03 pm

So open up and let who dead dead we under 200k vaccinated atm but I understand where you coming from the balance between lives and livelihood...not an easy decision
Habit7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:But at what cost remember with spikes means deaths as well

Small businesses were dealing with low sales before. Now they haven't had an income in 2mths, to ask them to go for a next month with income, they are more concerned about their death from starvation before death from covid-19.

Postby aaron17 » June 25th, 2021, 12:39 pm

Sounding like the 'Trolley problem'