Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

daring dragoon

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby daring dragoon » July 10th, 2022, 6:50 am

Worries over surging global food costs are easing as prices of everything from cooking oils to wheat and corn tumble to the lowest levels in months on increasing physical supplies and as investors reduce their bullish bets on futures markets.

Palm oil, the world’s most consumed edible oil, has plunged more than 40% from a record close in April to the weakest level in a year, while wheat has slumped over 35% from an all-time closing high in March, and corn has dropped about 30% from its peak this year.

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February choked supplies of grains and sunflower oil from the Black Sea, worsening existing shortages caused by extreme weather and supply-chain chaos. This sparked fears of a global food crisis, which would hit consumers in poorer nations particularly hard. Prices are now back to levels before the invasion.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -in-a-year

who say PNM not to blame for increasing prices of food. world prices on corn, wheat, cooking oil plumet to levels before invasion and yet the PNM say raise the price and they dotish supports behind them 100%

wing

Postby wing » July 10th, 2022, 7:40 am

daring dragoon wrote:
Worries over surging global food costs are easing as prices of everything from cooking oils to wheat and corn tumble to the lowest levels in months on increasing physical supplies and as investors reduce their bullish bets on futures markets.

Palm oil, the world’s most consumed edible oil, has plunged more than 40% from a record close in April to the weakest level in a year, while wheat has slumped over 35% from an all-time closing high in March, and corn has dropped about 30% from its peak this year.

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February choked supplies of grains and sunflower oil from the Black Sea, worsening existing shortages caused by extreme weather and supply-chain chaos. This sparked fears of a global food crisis, which would hit consumers in poorer nations particularly hard. Prices are now back to levels before the invasion.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... -in-a-year

who say PNM not to blame for increasing prices of food. world prices on corn, wheat, cooking oil plumet to levels before invasion and yet the PNM say raise the price and they dotish supports behind them 100%
Good news with the falling prices. However from what has been published, the shipments have been contracted with the higher prices. The government may be in a position to subsidize nfm, it will be interesting to see what the private producers do. My feeling is not a single cent reduction in the prices for a few months still.

Postby MaxPower » July 10th, 2022, 11:39 am

Avenue was pumping weekend.

Rel food selling

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 10th, 2022, 1:10 pm

people does still lime on the avenue? them limers hadda be in they 40's by now.

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » July 10th, 2022, 2:31 pm

daring dragoon wrote:people does still lime on the avenue? them limers hadda be in they 40's by now.

Yeh boy dd,

Plenty 40 year olds with pot belly and dark eyes.

Level teeny boppers too on the facebook and IG live hashtagging, boomeranging and @-ing.

Chants of “we outside” can be heard.

My rum cork days done since the great era of Pier 1, Beer Garden and $5 beastly cold rum shop beers in Curepe.

Dem places like Zen and Space n sheit turn me off. The younger folks kill the scene.

Timelapse go tell yuh the scene back in the day, me and he i sure met up and knock back a few.

Postby 88sins » July 10th, 2022, 3:58 pm

Here's a fun tidbit of information.

Business people DON'T lime on the avenue.
You will find them all over the place, in all kinda out of the way small hidden establishments, in the east, west, central, north and south. But NEVER on the avenue. Even people who own & operate bars on the avenue don't lime on the avenue.

He who knows knows

Postby timelapse » July 10th, 2022, 4:08 pm

daring dragoon wrote:people does still lime on the avenue? them limers hadda be in they 40's by now.

Yeh boy dd,

Level teeny boppers too on the facebook and IG live hashtagging, boomeranging and @-ing.

My rum cork days done since the great era of Pier 1, Beer Garden and $5 beastly cold rum shop beers in Curepe.

Dem places like Zen and Space n sheit turn me off. The younger folks kill the scene.

Timelapse go tell yuh the scene back in the day, me and he i sure met up and knock back a few.
Correct boy Max.The zen, 51, and cockroach lounge crowd killed the liming scene.IMO,that crowd just wanted to be seen, like the pretentious IG posse.I don't knock beers though.I only drink Daroo.

Postby bluefete » July 10th, 2022, 4:30 pm

Royal Castle 1 piece and fries went from $20 to $22.00

A little less than TWO WEEKS LATER it is now $24.95.

They could keep it.

Postby RedVEVO » July 10th, 2022, 5:32 pm

bluefete wrote:Royal Castle 1 piece and fries went from $20 to $22.00

They could keep it.

If you buying a one piece and complaining , there seems to be deeper issues involved here :lol:

Maybe if you do not buy the sky will fall .

Postby RedVEVO » July 10th, 2022, 5:35 pm

timelapse wrote:

Yeh boy dd,

Correct boy Max.The zen, 51, and cockroach lounge crowd killed the liming scene.IMO,that crowd just wanted to be seen, like the pretentious IG posse.I don't knock beers though.I only drink Daroo.

Classical response by my brother Timex :lol:

Let's get a room :lol:

Postby bluefete » July 10th, 2022, 6:47 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
bluefete wrote:Royal Castle 1 piece and fries went from $20 to $22.00

They could keep it.

If you buying a one piece and complaining , there seems to be deeper issues involved here :lol:

Maybe if you do not buy the sky will fall .

And this is why we will never get anywhere in this country. Maybe, I could only afford a one piece. Unlike you, I was not born with a gold spoon in my mouth.

I should have made this post in the "sufferer's thread".

Postby pugboy » July 10th, 2022, 6:52 pm

will the sky fall if the chinese raise them box of noodles and couple lil chopped pieces?

Postby paid_influencer » July 10th, 2022, 7:01 pm

I sometimes line up to buy food, look up at the menu, recognize nothing is priced where I feel comfortable, and I simply walk out. No bawl up, no dramatics, just walk out. People sometimes look at me strange when I walk out. I have rarely seen others do the same.

so bluefete, I support you for walking out. Nothing wrong in that and no shame in that.

Postby paid_influencer » July 10th, 2022, 7:05 pm

pugboy wrote:will the sky fall if the chinese raise them box of noodles and couple lil chopped pieces?

chinese guaranteed to get a few racial comments, maybe death threats.

Postby timelapse » July 10th, 2022, 8:18 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Yeh boy dd,

Classical response by my brother Timex

Let's get a room
The daroo part ent?If dais the case, we really could lime

dogg

Postby dogg » July 11th, 2022, 11:38 am

Oye, maxipad, a new Massy Stores opening in San Juan soon.

You and the rest of your Guyanese leechers and misfits could go and dress up to take selfies there.

In TnT we have a name for your kinda people well many names, but one is "never-see-come-see" Ask a trini acquaintance to define it for you.

MaxPower wrote:Avenue was pumping weekend.

Rel food selling

Anyway, for the Trinis posting here, A lotta small/medium food outlets closing up shop. They gotta raise prices too high to continue making any kinda sustainable profit.

Postby bluefete » July 11th, 2022, 11:41 am

paid_influencer wrote:I sometimes line up to buy food, look up at the menu, recognize nothing is priced where I feel comfortable, and I simply walk out. No bawl up, no dramatics, just walk out. People sometimes look at me strange when I walk out. I have rarely seen others do the same.

so bluefete, I support you for walking out. Nothing wrong in that and no shame in that.

Thank you. Sometimes it is better to walk away when prices do not fit your pocket instead of trying to show off for the neighbour.

Postby bluefete » July 11th, 2022, 11:42 am

dogg wrote:Oye, maxipad, a new Massy Stores opening in San Juan soon.

You and the rest of your Guyanese leechers and misfits could go and dress up to take selfies there.

In TnT we have a name for your kinda people well many names, but one is "never-see-come-see" Ask a trini acquaintance to define it for you.

Rel food selling

Anyway, for the Trinis posting here, A lotta small/medium food outlets closing up shop. They gotta raise prices too high to continue making any kinda sustainable profit.

Rebranding Ramesh and Leela?

dogg

Postby dogg » July 11th, 2022, 11:47 am

bluefete wrote:

Rel food selling

Diskomart? I thought so myself, but then someone said it'll be on the other side of highway, In front of Peakes. We'll know in a few days.

Maxipad excited. He can't wait to send pix back to Guyana posing in front of a new Massy.

Postby bluefete » July 11th, 2022, 12:41 pm

dogg wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Rel food selling

Diskomart? I thought so myself, but then someone said it'll be on the other side of highway, In front of Peakes. We'll know in a few days.

Maxipad excited. He can't wait to send pix back to Guyana posing in front of a new Massy.

Okay, cool. Thanks for the update. But if they are across the highway, what do they know that we don't? They opened a branch at Brentwood that seems to be a bit in the bush. BUT Massy fans will find it.

ROFL @ Maxipad though.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 11th, 2022, 12:47 pm

built is an they will come. you aint see by brentwood they cutting a road to come back out onto the hiway among other improvements. soon movie town central will reopen in brentwood. was a deal between d grocery and the chinese man just like in guyana.

Postby bluefete » July 11th, 2022, 12:52 pm

daring dragoon wrote:built is an they will come. you aint see by brentwood they cutting a road to come back out onto the hiway among other improvements. soon movie town central will reopen in brentwood. was a deal between d grocery and the chinese man just like in guyana.

I thought that was long time logic.

But I was just passing up the highway so I did not see the road they are cutting. Not surprised though. Jobs hadda jobs.

Gixxerrider

Postby Gixxerrider » July 11th, 2022, 1:22 pm

@DOGG its xtra foods and starbucks possibly KFC as well infront by peakes

Postby K74T » July 11th, 2022, 1:26 pm

It's Diskomart going full Massy

Postby teems1 » July 11th, 2022, 1:52 pm

daring dragoon wrote:built is an they will come. you aint see by brentwood they cutting a road to come back out onto the hiway among other improvements. soon movie town central will reopen in brentwood. was a deal between d grocery and the chinese man just like in guyana.

Massy isn't spending their money to build roads that others would have to.

They treat the MoW like their personal lapdog.

Perks of being on control of government for 50+ years.

Postby MaxPower » July 11th, 2022, 7:38 pm

is how dogg still toting over Massy lol

Does know the snackette shoppers who never set foot in a air condition grocery

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 11th, 2022, 7:58 pm

Allyuh post the $70 baigan from massy nah

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 11th, 2022, 8:04 pm

People shop at Massy for comfort, why shop in POS market and deal with the dirty environment and rude people there

Postby paid_influencer » July 11th, 2022, 8:19 pm

^pick-pockets too. Leave the wallet at home if you have to go down certain streets. And stress for parking too

all the people jealous of Massy customers... do you have a reusable bag? If you have one, just walk in. It is open to everyone.

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2022, 8:27 pm

that massy price have to be an error, or I suspect the middleman doing a number on them
those middlemen are real snakes