Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

not_a_monkey

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby not_a_monkey » May 29th, 2018, 6:06 pm

Everyone know darn well why they vote for who they vote for.

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2018, 6:20 pm

Kamla dem was voted into office primarily to sort this matter out. They stalled it for 5 years. And now we got this.

Postby The_Honourable » May 29th, 2018, 6:21 pm

This morning on CNC3's the Morning Brew Hema Ramkissoon spoke with Chartered Surveyor Afra Raymond about the Property Tax. Mr Raymond said the Tax is not a new tax.

Postby Gladiator » May 29th, 2018, 7:05 pm

The_Honourable wrote:This morning on CNC3's the Morning Brew Hema Ramkissoon spoke with Chartered Surveyor Afra Raymond about the Property Tax. Mr Raymond said the Tax is not a new tax.

Sellout and lickazz...

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 29th, 2018, 7:27 pm

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/st ... d4fc6.html

I said it but nobody was listening

Imbert is an idiot who does not know what he is saying. These structures are not assessed for rental values. Imbert is not an economist, an assessor or valuer.

Postby 88sins » May 29th, 2018, 7:42 pm

maybe not a economist, valuer or assessor, but he's still an economically invaluable ass.

and as to that dam sellout assfra, up to now, with all the gum flappin he making about this property tax & how "fair" it is, he cannot say what is fair about paying a property tax just because inept politicians want more public $$ to squander, & that neither the homeowner nor his property would benefit from.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 29th, 2018, 9:29 pm

88sins wrote:maybe not a economist, valuer or assessor, but he's still an economically invaluable ass.

and as to that dam sellout assfra, up to now, with all the gum flappin he making about this property tax & how "fair" it is, he cannot say what is fair about paying a property tax just because inept politicians want more public $$ to squander, & that neither the homeowner nor his property would benefit from.

In my opinion your last part is especially true, even keeping Raymond's expertise in mind. The part that rings especially bad with me is the news that broke today, that anyone whose annual rental value falls below 18k will be rounded up to 18k.

Voiding 10% of that leaves you with 16.2k, 3% of which is $486, Which is where that $40/month minimum property tax comes in.

A very high number of properties I have seen have values which will fall below 18k per year, even standard houses. This happens when the houses are located in lower banded areas, which tend to be less urbanised. That would be like whiteland/mayo side in couva-tabaquite-talparo corp, and moruga, penal and lower debe in the penal-debe corp.

Seems a bit punitive on poor people tbh

Postby bluefete » May 29th, 2018, 9:48 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Seems a bit punitive on poor people tbh

The PNM poor will get exemptions from the tax. The gov't will find some excuse because their votes matter.

Waiting for Zoomie to come in and comment.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 29th, 2018, 9:59 pm

bluefete wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Seems a bit punitive on poor people tbh

The PNM poor will get exemptions from the tax. The gov't will find some excuse because their votes matter.

Waiting for Zoomie to come in and comment.

Rural areas of the princes town and penal-debe corp are majority indian people who will pay next to nothing

and even then, apply to BIR for forbearance in accordance with section 23 of the property tax act

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » May 29th, 2018, 10:13 pm

imbutt is retarded

Postby meccalli » May 29th, 2018, 10:15 pm

If only residence in geographical locations determined income...My family knows and help some of the poorest people who happen to live in woodbrook in homes they inherited.

Postby 88sins » May 29th, 2018, 10:53 pm

meccalli wrote:If only residence in geographical locations determined income...My family knows and help some of the poorest people who happen to live in woodbrook in homes they inherited.

shhhh, doh say dat
iz only ppl wit morney could live in certain places like Woodbrook & Maraval & St. James & ting

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 29th, 2018, 10:53 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-05- ... y-tax-info

Everyone's personal information should be safe. However I feel as if whistleblowers behind opaque and unjust practices will also be fined.

http://www.ttparliament.org/publication ... =28&id=786
Hansard not even published yet

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2018, 11:12 pm

Gladiator wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:This morning on CNC3's the Morning Brew Hema Ramkissoon spoke with Chartered Surveyor Afra Raymond about the Property Tax. Mr Raymond said the Tax is not a new tax.

Sellout and lickazz...

And more ..

Somebody did not fire him some years ago ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2018, 11:36 pm

88sins wrote:maybe not a economist, valuer or assessor, but he's still an economically invaluable ass.

Good points .

Chances are your tax will go elsewhere where you will not benefit .

So what is " fair " about this situation ?

Property owners did not create this problem but are being penalized .

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2018, 7:10 am

Now , do not get me wrong eh, but I do not oppose a property tax but I oppose this proposed property tax. The taxpayer not gonna see any benefit from it in it's current state, & it's a friggin unjust burden to every property owner in this cpontry, that are already paying large sums in taxes to the state for their property.

If clong impsbutt really want property tax, allow the reg. corps to administer & collect it & have them audited annually(they pay for their own audit, or the state sends it's own auditors), & dispose of stamp duty & VAT on property transfers & building & repairing & maintaining costs. Do this, & nary a soul would have any opposition, ppl would be happy to pay their property tax then.

But as this labasseshitbird pushing as is this right now, all they gonna get from most ppl on this issue is resistance, & going buy the amount of bs they do so far I srsly doubt they will ever see another term in office after this

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2018, 8:12 am

anybody on tuner get the infamous call yet???

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2018, 8:38 am

not me, but then again I submitted nothing

last I heard they not actually entering ppl buildings yet, just playin maco from outside.

Postby zoom rader » May 30th, 2018, 8:53 am

88sins wrote:not me, but then again I submitted nothing

last I heard they not actually entering ppl buildings yet, just playin maco from outside.
When is the dude date to submit docs?
Or is that not effect as yet?

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2018, 9:10 am

as far as I know that due date was nullified when it was established that submission of the VRF's was a voluntary process.

Can't have a mandatory due date for something ppl don't have to do if they don't want to.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 10:17 am

You can still submit forms any day. However they supposed to come out with a new form described in the valuation of land act amendment bill Schedule II (page 12 onward)
http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/b2018h02g.pdf

At this stage the assessors are building a database, not calculating taxes.

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2018, 10:26 am

I think u mean "the asses building a database"

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 11:02 am

88sins wrote:I think u mean "the asses building a database"

They have a job to do just like everyone else

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » May 30th, 2018, 12:55 pm

Why they taking so long to implement this tax?

Postby zoom rader » May 30th, 2018, 1:35 pm

randolphinshan wrote:Why they taking so long to implement this tax?
Because we still have a democratic country for the time been and our parliamentary elected members both lower and upper houses are doing the job we hired them for.

You can't rush a PNM bill

Postby De Dragon » May 30th, 2018, 1:50 pm

Because we still have a democratic country for the time been and our parliamentary elected members both lower and upper houses are doing the job we hired them for.

You can't rush a PNM bill

Tokes feel because he squatting, he safe :lol: :lol:

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 1:57 pm

Half of the property database needs to be filled before taxes are sent to the public.

Realistically that is 250k residential properties. Mark my words, this not happening anytime soon.

Postby Gladiator » May 30th, 2018, 3:28 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

Half of the property database needs to be filled before taxes are sent to the public.

Realistically that is 250k residential properties. Mark my words, this not happening anytime soon.

Check these sycophants nah.... cyar wait to get rimmed up the azz with TAX....

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2018, 6:00 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

actually it's closer to 350K, however
it's mostly because contrary to the lies & intimidation tactics used by the albino midget leprechaun witha face that looks liike a rotten grapefruit, nobody other than the PNM really wants this tax, not even their diehard PNMites, and the majority of property owners never submitted a vrf, so they gonna have to go house to house & maco ppl property & guestimate inflated values.

Now, it have something plenty ppl not taking into consideration.

Throughout the history of this country, the state has made it a habit of valuing things very differently from values that actually exist on the open market. Usually for far more than an item is worth on the open market. It's one of the reasons why gov't expenditure is always so high, oftentimes for small projects that could be done for less.
So do not be surprised if you find they saying you could rent a 10'x10' one room in woodbrook for 5K/month when in truth & reality you would only get 1500-2K for it.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 30th, 2018, 6:07 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

actually it's closer to 350K, however
it's mostly because contrary to the lies & intimidation tactics used by the albino midget leprechaun witha face that looks liike a rotten grapefruit, nobody other than the PNM really wants this tax, not even their diehard PNMites, and the majority of property owners never submitted a vrf, so they gonna have to go house to house & maco ppl property & guestimate inflated values.

Now, it have something plenty ppl not taking into consideration.

Throughout the history of this country, the state has made it a habit of valuing things very differently from values that actually exist on the open market. Usually for far more than an item is worth on the open market. It's one of the reasons why gov't expenditure is always so high, oftentimes for small projects that could be done for less.
So do not be surprised if you find they saying you could rent a 10'x10' one room in woodbrook for 5K/month when in truth & reality you would only get 1500-2K for it.

you think it have 700k residences in a country of 1.3m people? okay

and as for the rental rates, there are objective formulae being used and rating sheets. also, they using 2009 rates from before the L&B tax got repealed so the rental values are extremely low