Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby De Dragon » April 16th, 2016, 1:14 am

Garcia, like so many Ministers start out good, and then it seems like they realize that they are in Government and therefore almost obligated to make kant statements from time to time.

Postby desifemlove » April 16th, 2016, 2:19 pm

i don't believe that.lol. i don't think she was all bad, but didn't do tings IMHO leading to long-term development. no new industries, no new sources of employment.

if this annoys fine. but then fact annoys you, if it does, i does feel for you and zoom and the UNC Tuner crew. 8-)

Postby desifemlove » April 16th, 2016, 2:28 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:Race

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160415 ... eaten-suit

Axed SSA directors threaten suit *
Claims of unfair dismissal, ‘racist’ request...

Published on Apr 15, 2016, 1:00 am AST
By Anna Ramdass
anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Former high-ranking directors of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) have commenced legal ­action against the State for unfair ­dismissal, with one ex-director claiming he was asked to identify Indians in the agency to fire.
The ex-employees are former director of the agency Bisnath Maharaj, former deputy director Keron Ganpat, former director of intelligence Carlton Dennie, former assistant director of information and communication technology Alonzo Flemming, and former assistant director of administration Seukeran Singh, who were all fired by National Security Minister Edmund Dillon.
The men have retained the services of former attorney general Anand Ramlogan, and five pre-action letters were sent to the Office of the Attorney General on Wednesday with a 21-day deadline to respond before legal action is taken.
The claims total in excess of $6 million.
In the letters, the former directors stated their termination was unjust, claiming they were targets of political victimisation, unfair treatment and discrimination.
Former intelligence director Dennie stated in his letter he was summoned to a meeting by then director Matthew Andrews and asked to assist in weeding out the Indians in the agency.

and none of this ever happened under a UNC govt., eh?

dunno what you PNM and UNCs get out of this hypocrisy,, but cool, allyuh funny to watch.

Postby toyolink » April 16th, 2016, 2:33 pm

The continuous tendency of Ministers of Govt to use inflammatory phases and innuendos is nothing new.
What these officials don't seem to get is that this approach to articulating the issues really demonstrate a very limited level of mental and professional development.
Yes, things may need to be refined and modified to attain universally better results .....but jeeze must it always come across as if is some kinda witch hunt or initiatives are driven by bitterness or the need for revenge.
Leadership continues to elude us and our dysfunctional nature fuels the actions of our youth who justify their behavior from the examples set.
How can we expect different results if we continue doing the same things over and over.........madness.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 16th, 2016, 2:54 pm

De Dragon wrote:Garcia, like so many Ministers start out good, and then it seems like they realize that they are in Government and therefore almost obligated to make kant statements from time to time.

And seeing that the CEO of microsoft and CEO of google both being Indians I wonder if they too were hired because of their race? given scholarships because of their race?

I don't think its bias or any dotishness like that, I know Indian parents who don't even let their kids step outside, my brother don't even let his son play with the neighbor kids his claims were "the neighbor chirren duncy and it go rub off on meh son", he has him studying constantly even though he is only 7 years old cause he wants him to get into a good school and get the grades needed to enter UWI for Medicine or Engineering. So I don't know what dotishness the education minister talking about, medicine is no joking matter and its incredibly difficult aswell. Did you know when applying to places like MIT you need more than just good grades? they even look at things such as what were your awards as a kid in science fair what you created etc.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 16th, 2016, 3:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Garcia, like so many Ministers start out good, and then it seems like they realize that they are in Government and therefore almost obligated to make kant statements from time to time.

And seeing that the CEO of microsoft and CEO of google both being Indians I wonder if they too were hired because of their race? given scholarships because of their race?

I don't think its bias or any dotishness like that, I know Indian parents who don't even let their kids step outside, my brother don't even let his son play with the neighbor kids his claims were "the neighbor chirren duncy and it go rub off on meh son", he has him studying constantly even though he is only 7 years old cause he wants him to get into a good school and get the grades needed to enter UWI for Medicine or Engineering. So I don't know what dotishness the education minister talking about, medicine is no joking matter and its incredibly difficult aswell. Did you know when applying to places like MIT you need more than just good grades? they even look at things such as what were your awards as a kid in science fair what you created etc.

Applications 2 top tier US schools requires grades fm kindergarten.

But unless ur on scholarship...the cost of 1st world education usually outweighs the benefit.

Re: RE: Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby Morpheus » April 16th, 2016, 3:30 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Future serial killer? Let the child be a child a little. Always good to mix it up. A little recreation and interaction is good.

LoL @ the dunciness rubbing off. Guess who sounding like the dunce?

Postby The_Honourable » April 16th, 2016, 4:43 pm

By Anna Ramdass

Former high-ranking directors of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) have commenced legal ­action against the State for unfair ­dismissal, with one ex-director claiming he was asked to identify Indians in the agency to fire.
The ex-employees are former director of the agency Bisnath Maharaj, former deputy director Keron Ganpat, former director of intelligence Carlton Dennie, former assistant director of information and communication technology Alonzo Flemming, and former assistant director of administration Seukeran Singh, who were all fired by National Security Minister Edmund Dillon.
The men have retained the services of former attorney general Anand Ramlogan, and five pre-action letters were sent to the Office of the Attorney General on Wednesday with a 21-day deadline to respond before legal action is taken.
In the letters, the former directors stated their termination was unjust, claiming they were targets of political victimisation, unfair treatment and discrimination.
Former intelligence director Dennie stated in his letter he was summoned to a meeting by then director Matthew Andrews and asked to assist in weeding out the Indians in the agency.

The accusation of bias entering Medicine in UWI is not new. Study this article from 2007:
prof010707.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » April 16th, 2016, 4:51 pm

An enquiry into UWI's admissions committee
Published on Sep 28, 2010, 10:57 pm AST

There was a headline in the Express, of June 2007, "Prof hits admission policy of Mt Hope Medical School". There were numerous supporters of this, especially on one radio talk show. Because of this, not long afterwards, a letter sent to me by the University of the West Indies (UWI) campus principal, dated October 19, 2007, stated that "applicants with a BSc degree may now receive more points than those with only A-Level/CAPE passes, depending on the class of GPA of their degree. In addition, applicants need not have studied only science-based subjects at A-Level/CAPE. Chemistry and biology will be compulsory, but the third subject can be from the humanities or social sciences".

The UWI Today bulletin of the St Augustine campus also stated that an applicant's chances of admission would be enhanced if he/ she takes part in co-curricular activities such as sports, debating, music, drama, demonstrable leadership experience or experience working in a health-related institution. A Guardian headline of November 15, 2007 then read, "UWI changes policy to Med School". Hooray, Hurrah! Or so I thought.

But here lies the rub and the sole reason for today's column. From what I am told, the vast majority of students chosen for medical school since then are still 17 to 18-year-olds with A-Levels in physics, math and chemistry. Moreover, whereas all medical schools in the US and England require applicants to be interviewed, as I said before, Dean Ramsewak dictated that interviews "would take too much time". This is inexplicable, indefensible and irrational! How on earth could one know about extra-curricular activities, personality traits, et cetera, without personal interviews? In short, they are still carrying out their own agenda.

But you see, medicine is not merely a profession; it is a vocation. In fact, I have long observed, for example, that the "honours" student in the exams do not necessarily make the best-caring doctor. Indeed, some have turned out to be, among other things, very business-oriented. In addition, there have been several enrollees into medical school here who were obviously unsuitable from day one, be it because of attitude, deportment or lack of basic communication skills. Some even displayed little real interest in the field.

Interestingly, entry requirements to medical school are still making international headlines. In an article in The New York Times, of January 15, 2010, under the headline, "Do you have the right stuff to be a doctor?", Dr Pauline Chen wrote that "competition to get into medical school remains fierce, and personality tests are used among other things to assess whether a person could handle the stress of medicine. The investigators found that the result of the personality test had a striking correlation with the students' performance. Personality is what makes us who we are."

Then, on September 3, 2010, in the Lancet, the UK's prestigious medical journal, Prof Ronald A Barr, Stanford University, USA, wrote about the norms by which the admissions committee there once selected its students. He mused about one applicant: "His grades in science are strong. He'll do fine. Admit," said the dean, and about another applicant, he said: "Surely, he was a leader in his volunteer organisation, but he got a C+ in organic chemistry. Reject."

Barr continued: "As I look back on this process, one applicant, in particular, comes to mind. I sensed his passion to become a physician. He communicated easily. He described the strong sense of connection he had felt with the patients at the free clinic at which he had volunteered before applying to medical school. I had an intuitive sense he would become a great physician, yet the decision was, 'His science grades aren't strong enough. Reject.' I felt personally bruised and I said to myself, 'Is greatness in science such as chemistry and physics a prerequisite for greatness in medicine?' What was the scientific evidence in support of this assumption?" Look, I have been querying this for more than 20 years.

He added: "The 'art' of medicine (as opposed to the science) is based on something other than knowledge of chemistry and physics. My search found something else though —something troubling. It found consistent evidence that performance in the pre-medical sciences is inversely associated with many of the personal, non-cognitive qualities so central to the art of medicine."

In fact, Harrison Gough, a psychologist at the University of California, in the US, administered a series of psychological tests to 1,071 students entering medical school between 1955 and 1967. He found that the students who did better in science subjects before entering medical school were "narrower in interest, less adaptable, less articulate and less comfortable in interpersonal relationships."

Australia also had its say. Dr PJ Tutton's studies of medical students in Australia also found that students who did the best in the pre-medical sciences scored lower on standardised measures of empathy and tended to be shy, submissive, withdrawn, or awkward and ill-at-ease, socially. He added: "I do not mean to suggest that knowledge of science is irrelevant to medical education and medical practice. There is a critically important threshold of scientific knowledge that forms the foundation on which a medical education is built. However, once one has exceeded this cognitive threshold, additional scientific knowledge adds little to subsequent performance as a physician." Right on, Dr Tutton. I and some others only did biology and chemistry at O-Level. It was enough.

And so, I will be calling for an enquiry into the composition of the admissions committee, including their own qualifications.

—Courtenay Bartholomew is UWI's first Trinidadian professor of medicine. He is director of the Medical Research Centre.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 79043.html

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 16th, 2016, 6:18 pm

Oh the irony. The Medical Cartel complains about the Medical Cartel.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » April 16th, 2016, 6:42 pm

desifemlove wrote:

By Anna Ramdass

dunno what you PNM and UNCs get out of this hypocrisy,, but cool, allyuh funny to watch.

Talk you have a ched on kamla every move , but cool always love to see how you turn a ched into race and religion and play so innocent

Postby brams112 » April 16th, 2016, 8:49 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

By Anna Ramdass

Talk you have a ched on kamla every move , but cool always love to see how you turn a ched into race and religion and play so innocent

This is nothing new it is referred to as ethnic cleansing,not saying more,got a warning,but no quote of what I said,so I am trembeling :lol: .defemine is kicks oui.

Postby De Dragon » April 16th, 2016, 11:24 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Shhh, yuh creating comedy for desiwannahumpKamlalove.

Postby Habit7 » April 17th, 2016, 5:53 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

By Anna Ramdass

But arent you posting this article in 2 threads which has nothing to do with race, in which one can accuse you of turning a ched into race and religion and play so innocent?

Nevertheless, it doesn't surprise me that after the madness that occurred in SIA/SSA and ensuing firing of those responsible, those who stand accused will lash out with something scurrilous like race and bias. I dont blame them though because when Nigel Clement and Brig. Joseph got fired and sued the state for millions and won, they didn't have their word against the govt, they had documents like below to prove their case.

Postby desifemlove » April 17th, 2016, 11:24 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:

By Anna Ramdass

i didn't mention race. just both allyuhs does come and accuse each other of ting..it funny and the country doh move forward.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 2nd, 2016, 12:52 am

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 2nd, 2016, 2:36 am

It's not getting any better is it?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 2nd, 2016, 2:38 am

The crime problem is really getting out of hand here, is ther any international objective agency that could intervene and give the much needed help and support that we need?

I mean the IMF is already here is there an equivalent with regards to crime management and reduction?
Last edited by Numb3r4 on May 2nd, 2016, 2:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 2nd, 2016, 2:41 am

Oh and has the current Minister of National Security unveiled a crime plan?

Is there a prospective time table for one being released?

Was a reason ever given for having so many ministers attached to the portfolio if national security?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 2nd, 2016, 6:38 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Oh and has the current Minister of National Security unveiled a crime plan?

Is there a prospective time table for one being released?

Was a reason ever given for having so many ministers attached to the portfolio if national security?

Yeah decentralize the criminals from Laventille, Beetham and Enterprise and send them throughout the rest of the country . so they can talk about Crime reduction in the north

Already in progress.

Yeah plenty people have to eat a food.
When you have many people with no mental capability it takes loads to make a decision.
or it takes loads of people to come up with ways of distracting the nation so they will focus on other stuff like speed traps instead of crime

Postby desifemlove » May 2nd, 2016, 7:20 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,227149.html

Speed guns to take effect Monday
Saturday, April 30 2016

SPEEDING motorists will be forced to slow down when police officers begin using LIDAR Speed Guns on Monday, subsequent to the publication of the order which is supposed to be done at some point on Monday.

Minister of Works and Transport Fitzgerald Hinds, made this announcement yesterday at a press conference at the ministry’s head office in Port-of- Spain.

“We in Trinidad and Tobago, the traffic management branch, we instituted and installed a stop speed camera along one of the highways in this country, and the statistics coming from that pilot project is a very grave revelation indeed. For example, when we put the legal speed limit up, 80kmph, we find that on a daily basis, an average of 550 persons exceed that limit...at a single location,” Minister Hinds said.

He said data shows that 55 percent of fa- talities result from speeding, 30 percent as a result of alcohol impairment; ten percent as a result of failure to use one’s seatbelt and five percent as a result of behaviours like red light running. A $1,000 fine will have to be paid for breaching the speed limit.

spacer
Print print
spacer

Postby De Dragon » May 3rd, 2016, 11:24 pm

Rowley's 12 day trip is cheaper than before. He doesn't know the cost, but he is sure that it is cheaper :|

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 3rd, 2016, 11:54 pm

Postby De Dragon » May 4th, 2016, 1:38 am

Nice, because Sando parking is therapy.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 8th, 2016, 12:48 am

Things are a bit quiet right now....aside from the speed guns.

Whether that's good or an indication of nothing being done....well.

Rowley did discipline Minister Hinds for recently having an office in the Water Front Complex when he should have been at the offices already paid for by the state. So that could be something good.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 8th, 2016, 2:52 am

"no right to privacy" checking in

Postby De Dragon » May 8th, 2016, 11:04 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:"no right to privacy" checking in

And there will be a disgusting apologist brigade who will certainly come here and defend this tyrannical, dictatorial nonsense.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2016, 12:35 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:"no right to privacy" checking in

And there will be a disgusting apologist brigade who will certainly come here and defend this tyrannical, dictatorial nonsense.

Oh gosh you must not be so hard on yourself. Pp lost months ago. Don't chastise yourself now for being a disgusting apologist for the last few years.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 8th, 2016, 12:41 pm

8mths later...how do you all feel?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 8th, 2016, 3:15 pm

nick639 wrote:^^ like we're heading to a world status lower than haiti

Not really...

Once yuh see thiz...we nowhere near Haiti...