COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 29956 cases, 699 deaths, 8803 active, 20454 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » June 18th, 2021, 4:59 pm

can we have a new ched for vaxxers vs anti. vaxxers? i fed up seeing the same ppl repeating themselves about not taking vaccine.

we get it. why you need to keep saying it over and over?

it's counter-productive and i just want to read updates n sheit in this ched. pls.

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 29956 cases, 699 deaths, 8803 active, 20454 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » June 18th, 2021, 5:00 pm

14 more dead. Finally the numbers gone up.
Who they thought they were fooling..

Postby hover11 » June 18th, 2021, 5:24 pm

So no nothing Hill carnival in London because of new variant and most of England is vaccinated ? What happens when this new variant reaches here

Postby Habit7 » June 18th, 2021, 5:26 pm

wtf wrote:14 more dead. Finally the numbers gone up.

Doom and gloom celebration going on here.

Postby sMASH » June 18th, 2021, 5:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:I asked this same question no one responded.....who footing the bill next year for the population to be re vaccinated, if you leave it to ppl they wouldn't do it unless necessary so the government have to spend yet again
elec2020 wrote:
hover11 wrote:But how many ppl willing to take yearly covid shots?
sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:Question, as the vaccine does not prevent you from being infected,simply hospitalization couldn't the virus move through vaccinated individuals and over time mutate to eventually overcome it?
De Dragon wrote:The longer a population takes to get vaccinated, the higher likelihood of mutations that are vaccine resistant, or with lower efficacies, as we are seeing right now. This article even says there may even be the need for updated vaccines.
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q ... jRBn-UIwTU
Hence y u get updated flu shots. Once it exists, it wil mutate to suit the environment.

Covid will have a yearly sheit just like flu

as well as who bears the cost as it is unfeasible for governments to be spending US billions on vaccines each year. Last i checked foreign reserves are finite inno.

is the flu shot free at the health centers? i think u can pay for it privately if u wanted to go that route. it would be on the scale fo that. but the covid would also be like the flu: u will get some flare ups, but more of a yearly niusance than a pandemic. some people will die, cause yearly 40 ppl die from teh flu, and nobody takes it on.

what trinidad did with covid was overblown. especially after easter.
u will always have some spread, just minimize ur superspreader events, and apply resources to deal with the cases u get.
we needed about 5k beds to work. this 1k thing was foolish.
imagine if ur normal was 4-5k in state care, what wodl the country's acitivity woudl be? it would be fairly normal.

we opted to crash the country, take on debts like debt, sending people mad lock up home, just because we could only handle 1k and not able to deal with 5k

u realize a bed is not a bed right? we already short on staff and perhaps almost short on other things like oxygen. simply putting ppl in ah bed is not treatment. and even so, we still do not have an effective approved or authorised treatment so without the lockdown as stated by the PM the projection would have been 100 deaths PER DAY without a lockdown. simply increasing beds and letting the virus rip through the population is not a solution.

even from a financial standpoint if half the country in quarantine due to widespread infection how any business going to function? what about the cost of dramatically more tests/testkits, oxygen, and all the other things they will need to buy? even getting extra staff well they have to be paid as well.

i do understand a bed is not just 'a bed'. there are over 100 countries with higher daily case rates than us, and u dont hear about them in the news. they just put their heads down, and got to handling the cases as they arise. shoulder to the wheel business.

Postby De Dragon » June 18th, 2021, 6:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:

No, he's merely pointing out the obvious, that 14 > 4.
I also thought the sad face emoji was a dead giveaway as well, yet somehow you're perceiving it as some "celebration?"
Is it because the numbers not remaining low makes the GORTT look bad?
Only a truly evil, demented mind would have a "celebration" of increased deaths from Covid, never mind the person's political leanings.

Postby Habit7 » June 18th, 2021, 7:25 pm

Habit7 wrote:

I also thought the sad face emoji was a dead giveaway as well, yet somehow you're perceiving it as some "celebration?"
Only a truly evil, demented mind would have a "celebration" of increased deaths from Covid, never mind the person's political leanings.

"Finally" expresses expectation after delay. "who they thought they were fooling" is the continued unfounded distrust in covid-19 numbers which is most doubtful of lower numbers.

Nevertheless, one day's increase is just part of a 7day assessment period. The recent epidemiological week still shows a reduction in deaths.

So next time you try to white knight for other tuners, try and actually benefit them nah.

Postby redmanjp » June 18th, 2021, 7:53 pm

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:I asked this same question no one responded.....who footing the bill next year for the population to be re vaccinated, if you leave it to ppl they wouldn't do it unless necessary so the government have to spend yet again
elec2020 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:Question, as the vaccine does not prevent you from being infected,simply hospitalization couldn't the virus move through vaccinated individuals and over time mutate to eventually overcome it?
Hence y u get updated flu shots. Once it exists, it wil mutate to suit the environment.

as well as who bears the cost as it is unfeasible for governments to be spending US billions on vaccines each year. Last i checked foreign reserves are finite inno.

is the flu shot free at the health centers? i think u can pay for it privately if u wanted to go that route. it would be on the scale fo that. but the covid would also be like the flu: u will get some flare ups, but more of a yearly niusance than a pandemic. some people will die, cause yearly 40 ppl die from teh flu, and nobody takes it on.

u will always have some spread, just minimize ur superspreader events, and apply resources to deal with the cases u get.
imagine if ur normal was 4-5k in state care, what wodl the country's acitivity woudl be? it would be fairly normal.

we opted to crash the country, take on debts like debt, sending people mad lock up home, just because we could only handle 1k and not able to deal with 5k

u realize a bed is not a bed right? we already short on staff and perhaps almost short on other things like oxygen. simply putting ppl in ah bed is not treatment. and even so, we still do not have an effective approved or authorised treatment so without the lockdown as stated by the PM the projection would have been 100 deaths PER DAY without a lockdown. simply increasing beds and letting the virus rip through the population is not a solution.

even from a financial standpoint if half the country in quarantine due to widespread infection how any business going to function? what about the cost of dramatically more tests/testkits, oxygen, and all the other things they will need to buy? even getting extra staff well they have to be paid as well.

i do understand a bed is not just 'a bed'. there are over 100 countries with higher daily case rates than us, and u dont hear about them in the news. they just put their heads down, and got to handling the cases as they arise. shoulder to the wheel business.

and what are their death figures like?

Postby redmanjp » June 18th, 2021, 9:41 pm

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 18th, 2021, 10:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:Image

Nothing to see here ... A consenting adult makes a decision to refuse a medical intervention.

The family member is going through the stages of grief, Anger. Someone needs to pay for my relative losing their life.
Soon she will reach acceptance.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 18th, 2021, 10:12 pm

elec2020 wrote:but vaccinated getting reinfected already. Look at Seychelles, 86% of the Seychelles’ targeted population for vaccination (70,000 people) got the shots but yet still cases and deaths on the rise (5 deaths, 493 new cases yesterday). So what is the point. Is the 14 per cent that causing the people to still get infected? Can't make this sheit up.

Silence ... No response to this.

Postby sMASH » June 18th, 2021, 10:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Hence y u get updated flu shots. Once it exists, it wil mutate to suit the environment.

and what are their death figures like?

prolly similar to the yearly flu deaths.. that happens, but nobody takes on...

Postby Habit7 » June 19th, 2021, 12:29 am

sMASH wrote:i do understand a bed is not just 'a bed'. there are over 100 countries with higher daily case rates than us, and u dont hear about them in the news. they just put their heads down, and got to handling the cases as they arise. shoulder to the wheel business.

We just recently fall out of the top 10, I don't know which 100 countries you thought were ahead of us.

Screenshot 2021-06-19 002725.jpg

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 19th, 2021, 9:13 am

drchaos wrote:
elec2020 wrote:but vaccinated getting reinfected already. Look at Seychelles, 86% of the Seychelles’ targeted population for vaccination (70,000 people) got the shots but yet still cases and deaths on the rise (5 deaths, 493 new cases yesterday). So what is the point. Is the 14 per cent that causing the people to still get infected? Can't make this sheit up.

They don't have a response. They can use whatever news article that doctor so and so say this and that but I looking at facts. And according to the facts Seychelles highly vaccinated populace back to getting cases. Some other countries too mind you.

Postby hover11 » June 19th, 2021, 9:22 am

England is back on restrictions and they have quality vaccines
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

They don't have a response. They can use whatever news article that doctor so and so say this and that but I looking at facts. And according to the facts Seychelles highly vaccinated populace back to getting cases. Some other countries too mind you.

Postby X_Factor » June 19th, 2021, 9:24 am

elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

No one said you cannot get infected if you got the vaccine, what was stated is that you have less chance of being hospitalized or death

While seychelles cases are on the rise, their 7 day death average is 0/1

carluva

Postby carluva » June 19th, 2021, 9:40 am

Ain't that the truth.

The same two suspects trolling anti-vaccine but when they're challenged the defence is "I am free to my opinion".

We get it... You don't want the vaccine. Move on and focus on other things.
st7 wrote:can we have a new ched for vaxxers vs anti. vaxxers? i fed up seeing the same ppl repeating themselves about not taking vaccine.

we get it. why you need to keep saying it over and over?

it's counter-productive and i just want to read updates n sheit in this ched. pls.

Postby Habit7 » June 19th, 2021, 10:00 am

hover11 wrote:England is back on restrictions and they have quality vaccines
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

There is no response to the Strawman fallacy you all keep creating. Vaccines are not to totally eliminate any case from occurring. It is to reduce hospitalisation and death. And in Seychelles and other highly vaccinated countries, this is so among the fully vaccinated.

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » June 19th, 2021, 10:17 am

Screenshot_20210619-100836_WhatsApp.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » June 19th, 2021, 10:22 am

Habit7 wrote:

"Finally" expresses expectation after delay. "who they thought they were fooling" is the continued unfounded distrust in covid-19 numbers which is most doubtful of lower numbers.

Nevertheless, one day's increase is just part of a 7day assessment period. The recent epidemiological week still shows a reduction in deaths.

So next time you try to white knight for other tuners, try and actually benefit them nah.

You keep revealing new LFD RFD PNM "qualities" daily, Paranoia seems to be your latest.
If he wasn't attacking your cult, I'm sure your kant would be quiet.
The ultimate LFD RFD PNM apologist white knight accusing me of white knighting :rofl: :rofl:
You're like a mutant strain of dotish, adopting to any anti LFD RFD PNM criticisms

Postby De Dragon » June 19th, 2021, 10:27 am

drchaos wrote:

Yes, we all know there is no possibility whatsoever of getting infested after you get vaccinated.
Didn't we start more than piecemeal vaccinations recently? What are our numbers? Is that 80% of a population fully vaccinated? Herd immunity is to drive the virus to manageable levels like the flu, not eradicate it completely, thus freeing up your healthcare systems.
You sure talk weird for a doctor.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 19th, 2021, 10:40 am

elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

They are not back on, they have very very limited restrictions right now. Basically everything but night clubs are open.

They delayed their full removal of all restrictions by a month due to the presence of the Indian variant.

But expect full freedom in the UK next month.

Postby hover11 » June 19th, 2021, 10:44 am

When that variant hits here what do you think will happen?
Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

They are not back on, they have very very limited restrictions right now. Basically everything but night clubs are open.

They delayed their full removal of all restrictions by a month due to the presence of the Indian variant.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 19th, 2021, 10:47 am

hover11 wrote:When that variant hits here what do you think will happen?
Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Honestly, another equally bad out break, which probably will happen even if it doesn't get here, because as soon as we start removing restrictions cases will spike. We don't have nearly enough people vaccinated to even consider the normalcy we had in Feb/Mar.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 30183 cases, 713 deaths, 8578 active, 20892 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » June 19th, 2021, 10:53 am

FB_IMG_1624114284253.jpeg

Postby K74T » June 19th, 2021, 10:54 am

wtf wrote:
Screenshot_20210619-100836_WhatsApp.jpeg
Relevance?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 19th, 2021, 11:06 am

drchaos wrote:

:lol: Yes, we all know there is no possibility whatsoever of getting infested after you get vaccinated.
Didn't we start more than piecemeal vaccinations recently? What are our numbers? Is that 80% of a population fully vaccinated? Herd immunity is to drive the virus to manageable levels like the flu, not eradicate it completely, thus freeing up your healthcare systems.

The point is that the 30 to 40% of the population that refuse to vaccinate are not the reason for variants and the virus enduring. This FLASE claim has been said over and over from people on this forum.

The virus is endemic, which means it will continue to make its rounds and mutate every couple of months.

Vaccine/Natural acquired immunity is the only way to reach a steady state where this becomes just like the seasonal flu.

People who don't want the shot will eventually get natural infection and very highly likely survive. They will then become immune and therefore contribute to Heard Immunity so getting us to where we need to be.

Postby De Dragon » June 19th, 2021, 11:24 am

drchaos wrote:

:lol: Yes, we all know there is no possibility whatsoever of getting infested after you get vaccinated.

The point is that the 30 to 40% of the population that refuse to vaccinate are not the reason for variants and the virus enduring. This FLASE claim has been said over and over from people on this forum.

The virus is endemic, which means it will continue to make its rounds and mutate every couple of months.

Vaccine/Natural acquired immunity is the only way to reach a steady state where this becomes just like the seasonal flu.

People who don't want the shot will eventually get natural infection and very highly likely survive. They will then become immune and therefore contribute to Heard Immunity so getting us to where we need to be.

So how many deaths/hospitalizations/long term debilitation are you willing to to tolerate before natural immunity? Please include how many of your family in your figures

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 19th, 2021, 11:37 am

drchaos wrote:

Not entirely true, it's not black and white. Vaccinated people even with Sinopharm will have reduced spread, especially to other vaccinated persons as well.

If we all get vaccinated we all do our part to sideline Covid. And yes it's unlikely Covid will ever disappear, but it needs to become a non issue.

Postby hover11 » June 19th, 2021, 11:47 am

You said with sinopharm it will minimize the spread you forget that we have children here who when schools reopen in September will become spreaders by themselves as they cannot be vaccinated at this time, the virus will be here moving through the community allowing for possible mutations
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Not entirely true, it's not black and white. Vaccinated people even with Sinopharm will have reduced spread, especially to other vaccinated persons as well.

If we all get vaccinated we all do our part to sideline Covid. And yes it's unlikely Covid will ever disappear, but it needs to become a non issue.