The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

achillies

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby achillies » September 22nd, 2011, 3:13 pm

Captainzaak wrote:I just finished in a online conference (listen in only) with McAfee, they call it "Hacking Exposed Live!"

Very, very informative, they detailed items on the Android and iOS platform on malicious apps, how it works, what damage can it do, demos etc.

At the end the host said they will be uploading the conference to http://www.hackingexposed.com/ (under Webcasts)

I suggest you guys check it out, very informative.

Thanks, Will peep

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 22nd, 2011, 4:24 pm

RASC wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
RASC wrote:
S_2NR wrote:so nobody find the new market seems kinda "windows phone 7 ish" ? :/

You mad brah?

no ..looks nice.. :|

Doh tell Mitch that eh :lol:

When you Android nerds ready to look clean, classy and fresh lemme know 8-)

Some other recommendations when you guys decide to ditch android:

Acne Cream
A Barber
Shaving Utensils
A year's subscription to GQ magazine
A Gym Membership

That's the starter pack...by the end of the month you'll be rocking dock shoes without socks and actually know more than 5 females who are NOT your relatives ;)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 22nd, 2011, 8:31 pm

achillies

Postby achillies » September 23rd, 2011, 7:36 pm

Even With IPads And IPod Touches Thrown Into The Mix, Android Still Almost Doubles Apple’s OS Share

Millennial Media released a new Mobile Mix report today that shows Android growth in a way that many of us have been waiting for. Rather than just comparing smartphone operating systems, they also threw in connected devices like tablets and multimedia offerings. So what that means is, we get to look at Android (tablets and phones) vs. iOS (iPhones, iPads and iPod Touches) for the first time. The results? I think they speak for themselves in that big chunk of blueberry pie above. With 550,000+ new Android devices being activated each day, these numbers really aren’t surprising, so we’ll move onto to another subject that we have been pondering for the last couple of days.
With rumors of the next iDevice running rampant, we have seen a barrage of reports suggesting that when it is finally released, will crush the competition with furious anger. Now, while any normal human being can fully realize how ridiculous that statement is, I guess we need to look at everyone’s definition of ”crush.” If we are talking about sales of one particular phone or from one manufacturer, then yes, it will likely dominate. But if you look at market share, there is no stopping this Android train, leading me to the questions of the day.
Do we care that Apple will have the top selling individual devices for the time being or do we care more about Android’s overall stranglehold on OS market share? And in a related question, would you rather a specific Android manufacturer attempt to compete with Apple for the top spot or are you OK with this seemingly endless flooding of new phones every other week?

Droid-Life

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 23rd, 2011, 8:00 pm

Amazon press conference set for September 28th, could this be its long-awaited tablet?

Amazon's been cooking something in a supposed Android-based oven for quite some rumored time. Now, an invite has gone out from the Bezos-backed company for an event on the 28th of this month at 10AM. Will the e-retailer officially announce a pair of 7- and 10-inch Kindle refreshes we've seen so much digital ink spilled over, or is this the heavily-skinned Android tab that TechCrunch got its hands-on earlier this month? We'll be there to let you know what the company's got up its e-reading sleeve.

Engadget

achillies

Postby achillies » September 24th, 2011, 9:06 am

3 Years Ago Today, The T-Mobile G1 Was Officially ANNOUNCED

3 years may not sound like much in people years but in smartphone years — that’s like Clint Eastwood status. It was 3 years ago to this day that T-Mobile officially announced the G1. It was the smartphone that started a revolution. T-Mobile made a booboo today when they tweeted that the G1′s birthday was today, but after cross referencing, the device was actually announced on September 23rd, 2008. The G1 wont officially turn 3 until October 22nd, the day that it was released.

Either way, I can’t believe how far Android has come since then.What’s really weird is how I was feeling nostalgic last night and found myself watching old G1 videos. I’m curious, anyone readers out there still rockin’ the G1?

Phandroid

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 24th, 2011, 6:20 pm

an Android RAZR? hmmm...

Exclusive: Motorola Spyder (Droid RAZR for Verizon?) features industry-first qHD Super AMOLED display, LTE, dual-core processor

Well hello there, Motorola Spyder. A trusted source just sent us some photos of this as-yet announced dual-core LTE Moto handset — the first phone we’ve ever seen with a 4.3-inch 960 x 540 qHD Super AMOLED display. It’s all wrapped in Gorilla Glass and a Kevlar casing with a splash-guard coating, which ought to make it a fairly tough. Internally, it seems like a close cousin of the Droid Bionic: 4G LTE, an unspecified dual-core 1.2GHz processor, 1GB of RAM, an 8 megapixel camera with 1080p video recording and image stabilization, an “HD” front-facing camera, and Moto’s Webtop environment with several custom docks and a version of the Lapdock laptop-lite dock. We don’t know much yet about pricing and availability, but we’re digging for more — we’ll let you know. Check the gallery below for a few more shots.

Update: Another trusted tipster has just chimed in to let us know that he’s had a chance to play with the Spyder, and guess what it was called in the About screen? “Droid RAZR,” recalling perhaps the most famous (infamous?) brand in Motorola’s history. This lines up perfectly with a recent PocketNow report of a test photo from a so-called Droid RAZR, so it’s all lining up — and given the “Droid” nomenclature, this also means it’ll be going to Verizon.

Update 2: The same tipster also believes that the Droid RAZR is almost certainly the same phone as the Droid HD that Engadget published photos of last month, and that it could be ready in time for the holidays. Why two names? It’s possible the retail name isn’t finalized, or it wasn’t back when the Droid HD name was getting tossed around. Hopefully, we’ll know more soon.

this is my next

Postby S_2NR » September 24th, 2011, 6:23 pm

+1.. the spyder looks really nice.
i remember about 5 years ago when i had a razr..really sleek phone back then.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 24th, 2011, 6:24 pm

Exclusive: Motorola Xoom 2 is 9mm thick, shoots 1080p, streams Netflix in HD

Sure, we just brought you details on the 4.3-inch Droid RAZR (or Spyder), but now we’re hunting bigger game — like a 10.1-inch Motorola Xoom 2 that’s just 9mm thick. That’s still a hair thicker than the iPad 2′s 8.8mm frame, but our trusted source says this Xoom successor will have an unspecified dual-core 1.2GHz processor, come with 1GB of “faster” RAM, record 1080p video, and still supposedly get eleven hours of battery life compared to the original model’s ten. There’s an optional keyboard case planned, in addition to a stylus pen, though our source couldn’t tell us whether the HD screen has an active digitizer or if it just transfers the electricity to your finger.

Our mole did, however, spend some time talking up some special software deals — the Xoom 2 is scheduled to be the first tablet to ship with Adobe Flash Player 11, stream Netflix in HD (are we looking at an OMAP 4?), and may wirelessly sync to your PC with some new apps that Moto’s cooking up in-house. Last but not least, we’re hearing the Xoom 2 will have a built-in IR blaster and some sort of home automation software may be ready for launch. We don’t have much more than that, but when we find out, you’ll be the first to know!

this is my next

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 24th, 2011, 6:28 pm

Motorola Xoom 2 evidence mounts -- new photos, rumored specs and a Media Edition?

Talk of a younger, slimmer Motorola Xoom just keeps on coming. A helpful tipster is adding fuel to the rumors of a Xoom 2 with these shots of a similar, but not exactly identical Motorola tablet. When compared to the images we saw yesterday, this unnamed Android 3.2 slate looks a tad less polished in the rear and seems to favor a portrait format, with the camera resting up top. What's more, our source says the slab appears to be smaller than what we've already seen, which could line up with a report from This Is My Next, pegging a Xoom 2 Media Edition. That device is rumored to have an 8.2-inch HD IPS display and weigh .95 pounds. It is apparently being billed as an "e-reader replacement," and comes with an onboard IR remote and subwoofer. In further Xoom 2 news, TIMN is saying the classic version will measure 9mm thick, pack a 1.2GHz processor, 1GB RAM, and enable 1080p video recording. If all of that isn't enough to satisfy your Motorola-tablet craving, we've got a gallery of photos below.

Engadget, this is my next

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 24th, 2011, 6:30 pm

S_2NR wrote:+1.. the spyder looks really nice.

yep the RAZR is a very popular brand name. let's hope Google really uses this brand to push Android even more over the top!

Postby S_2NR » September 24th, 2011, 6:57 pm

razr or no razr..

ice cream sandwich taking too long to release!
come on google..hurry up.. :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 24th, 2011, 7:03 pm

they waiting to crash d iPhone/iOS 5 party :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » September 24th, 2011, 8:22 pm

mitch wrote:
S_2NR wrote:+1.. the spyder looks really nice.

yep the RAZR is a very popular brand name. let's hope Google really uses this brand to push Android even more over the top!

Verizon needs to change their advertising, when they stop marketing android devices for a certain demographic, Android will grow in popularity.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 25th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Samsung moves 10 million Galaxy S IIs, pats itself on the back

Since its debut in April, Samsung claims to have moved 10 million Galaxy S IIs -- not quite iPhone numbers (which sold 20 million units in Q2 alone), but still quite impressive. It's especially noteworthy since, at the end of July, only five million had passed into customers' hands. In just eight weeks the number of Galaxy S IIs sold has doubled, and Sammy's flagship device has yet to even make a dent here in the US. At this rate the S II is set to far eclipse its ubiquitous predecessor's sales figures, which took over seven months to hit the same milestone. Check out the self-congratulatory PR after the break.

Engadget

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 2:24 pm

would have bought a galaxy s 2 but its too big IMO.

Postby r3iXmann » September 25th, 2011, 2:56 pm

i might cop one..i tried using a nexus one after owning the captivate but it's too small

might either buy a nexus s or a galaxy s2 in a few wks

Postby RASC » September 25th, 2011, 3:00 pm

S_2NR wrote:would have bought a galaxy s 2 but its too big IMO.

Have you held a 4.3 or 4.5 device before?
After going that big...you just can't go back to anything smaller.

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 3:10 pm

nope..biggest ive had is 4" with the galaxy s and my nexus s.
i fear most for pocketability with that size of phone.

Postby Stephon. » September 25th, 2011, 3:12 pm

Phone sizes aren't that much of an issue anymore. I've seen people pull imax screens out of their pockets before

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 25th, 2011, 3:22 pm

i find the 4.3'' screen of the SGS II to be the perfect size. really cant see myself using a phone with a smaller screen again...

Postby RASC » September 25th, 2011, 3:31 pm

mitch wrote:i find the 4.3'' screen of the SGS II to be the perfect size. really cant see myself using a phone with a smaller screen again...

4.3 is the perfect size FOR REAL...
...in landscape typing with both hands is a dream-I can't imagine using something smaller comfortably again. Using the iphone4 with it's smaller screen for example is a chore-and that's one of the best landscape keyboards in terms of fluidity.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 25th, 2011, 4:20 pm

mitch wrote:i find the 4.3'' screen of the SGS II to be the perfect size. really cant see myself using a phone with a smaller screen again...

Totally agree, was a bit apprehensive when I saw the size at first, but after a couple days, I know I can't go back to anything smaller, even had envy for the sprint version because of the screen size.....

And for all those that may be holding off because of Samsung Updates problem

I'm running 2.3.5

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 4:29 pm

maybe if i used a galaxy s II i might think differently.
portability is a big deciding factor when im buying a phone.

Irfy

Postby Irfy » September 25th, 2011, 4:36 pm

S_2NR wrote:maybe if i used a galaxy s II i might think differently.
portability is a big deciding factor when im buying a phone.

It's pretty light for a smartphone but 4.3'' screen isn't small. It has a comfortable feel to it so the big screen has its benefits. You should try it out.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 25th, 2011, 4:47 pm

Fits in all my pockets normel normel

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 4:48 pm

case or no case? cause that would add to the size

Irfy

Postby Irfy » September 25th, 2011, 4:59 pm

I ha a case on mine and it does still fit in d pockets.

Postby S_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 5:03 pm

This is a good comparison between iphone4 and galaxy s2.
The size difference is huge! :drinking:

Irfy

Postby Irfy » September 25th, 2011, 5:22 pm

Daz d case I have. I get it free so I using it till I get something else for it. It hav a kick stand!! Haha.