The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 13th, 2009, 10:18 am

Car security company Directed Electronics is unveiling a new iPhone application Tuesday that lets customers control parts of their Viper SmartStart-enabled vehicle from their iPhone or iPod Touch.
The app, called Viper SmartStart, is quite similar toZipcar's recently released iPhone app, except it can work with your car, and not one you're renting for the weekend. It too creates a virtual keychain control module that can do things like lock and unlock your vehicle, open the trunk, and activate the alarm, getting rid of the need to carry around one of those keychain clickers as long as you've got your phone handy.
Coolest of all, though, there's a "Smart Start" button in the center of the screen that can turn on your vehicle. The company is promoting this as a simple way to defrost or cool off a car before you get in--that is, assuming you correctly set the climate controls the last time you were inside.
Since the app uses the iPhone's data connection to send the commands, you can control your car (or cars) from anywhere you have an EDGE or 3G signal. It also means you can use it on a non-cellular data device like the iPod Touch, as long as it's near Wi-Fi.
The app is completely free, but it requires you have Viper's SmartStart system installed in each car you want to take control of. This costs $499 for a new installation, or $299 for cars that already have a Viper alarm system, as well as an active subscription to Viper's Smart Start service. Buyers of the system get a year of the $29.99 service included when they get the service installed; then they have to pay after that.
I'm still waiting for a version that can give you live video and steering controls, like the ridiculous, yet awesome invisible Aston Martin Vanquish from "James Bond: Die Another Day." Though something tells me that's not happening anytime soon.

<embed src="http://blip.tv/play/AYGl%2BnQC" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="480" height="300" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed>

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 13th, 2009, 10:21 am

A new iPhone concept video uses cover flow to manage multi-tasking on the iPhone.

Swedish design firm Ocean Observations created the video and suggests that a cover flow panel replace the dock at the bottom of the Springboard. You could then use cover flow to flip between currently running apps. You could tap to open an app or drag it out of the panel to quit.

A while back Ocean Observations also created a video to show how expose might function on the iPhone.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/W9Irt_J2c7o&rel=0&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 13th, 2009, 10:28 am

so who making the custom ipsw for 3G users? :|

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 13th, 2009, 11:32 am

also awaitin the 2G custom firmware...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 13th, 2009, 11:44 am

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 13th, 2009, 5:24 pm

Apple may be developing a Radio app for the iPhone and iPod touch, according to 9to5Mac.

The application is said to run in the background like the iPod app and be very similar to the FM radio in the new iPod nanos. It could even be incorporated into the iPod app.

The holdup on this app is apparently the integration of iTunes with the program. When listening to the radio you will be able to easily purchase the song using the Mobile iTunes Store.

9to5Mac also hypothesis that the app will likely have the same Live Pause functionality that the Nanos currently enjoy.

Both the Broadcom BCM4325 chip in the iPhone 3GS and the Broadcom BCM4329FKUBG chip in the new iPod touch support FM.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 13th, 2009, 8:25 pm

Apple is now shipping the iPhone 3GS with a new Bootrom that is not vulnerable to the 24kpwn exploit.

The iBoot-359.3.2 started to ship last week. A screenshot posted by Mathieulh shows the new version number.

MuscleNerd from the iPhone Dev-Team has confirmed that the loss of the 24kpwn exploit would mean a normal jailbreak would be impossible for the time being.

MuscleNerd wrote:oh oh, from what @cpich3g + @Mathieulh have found so far, a normal untethered JB may be in jeopardy in brand new 3GS units

For the time being we would suggest locating old stock or refurbished units. Hopefully, the dev teams will be able to find another exploit for the new bootrom.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 13th, 2009, 9:52 pm

SRASC, thanks again bro....

Postby M_2NR » October 13th, 2009, 10:24 pm

SRASC, thanks man.

Can you create a Hacktivated/Jailbroken 3GS 3.1.2?

Postby M_2NR » October 13th, 2009, 10:33 pm

ohh.. watch this.. remember pinch media spying on people without privaCy?

http://www.pinchmedia.com/blog/piracy-i ... m-360idev/

It’s been months since we introduced jailbroken detection to our library, and we’ve begun to get a better understanding of the jailbroken ecosystem, which has remained reasonably steady. To date, Pinch Analytics has received data from approximately 4.0 million jailbroken devices. About 38%, or around a million and a half of those, have used a pirated application. This estimate is low - application pirates take steps to avoid detection - but it’s worth pointing out that an individual who jailbreaks their phone is not necessarily an individual that steals applications.
Piracy is a global phenomenon, and rates of piracy in the United States are relatively low compared to other countries. The below chart shows pirated installs as a percentage of total installs, segmented by country:

talk about maco :|

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 14th, 2009, 8:51 am

GeoHot has released his Blackra1n jailbreak software for Mac users. You can download it from here. (Comes a day after the Dev Team released their PwnageTool.)

TK!

Postby TK! » October 14th, 2009, 7:04 pm

do those sim card addons work to fool the iphone? i think that's the only solution for my locked 3gs

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 14th, 2009, 9:41 pm

can someone help.......... I am now using 3.1 and i realized that im not picking up any new wifi signals... All im getting is what i had before. Even if im somewhere that im sure has wifi i dont even see a network... Sup wit that???????

Postby M_2NR » October 14th, 2009, 10:38 pm

mitch wrote:so who making the custom ipsw for 3G users? :|

i guess SRASC doesnt have the time to make it for 3G and 3GS users :)

so.. google search helped me and i found this:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.ph ... stcount=19

or straight from the cattle's mouth:
http://mahmood1.com/jailbreak.aspx

Get your custom ipsw's for 2G, 3G and 3GS. ;)

Im guessing we should use
(for iPhones that rely on ultrasn0w, unoffical carrier, with no PUSH )

right?

im not updating until a few weeks so mitch, best of luck with the 3G.

TK!, you bought her locked or u updated?

Postby M_2NR » October 14th, 2009, 11:24 pm

ohh one more thing:
http://hackulo.us/forums/

NOTE #1: AppSync for 3.1 works on 3.1.2 on all devices (confirmed). Please install the AppSync for 3.1 package through our repo (cydia.hackulo.us) on your jailbroken 3.1.2.

appsync 3.1 works on 3.1.2 ;)

TK!

Postby TK! » October 15th, 2009, 8:02 am

darn... i did the custom packages and would've uploaded to rapidshare... but when i tested i get the dredded 1600 error ....this sis the second pwnage build in a row that does that. last time i tried the custome ipsw on another computer (pc even) and it failed.

only blackra1n worked.

corolla_2nr: it's a locked apple phone that was unlocked b4 3.1 but got bricked with the 3.1 update.

Postby M_2NR » October 15th, 2009, 8:22 am

TK! wrote:darn... i did the custom packages and would've uploaded to rapidshare... but when i tested i get the dredded 1600 error ....this sis the second pwnage build in a row that does that. last time i tried the custome ipsw on another computer (pc even) and it failed.

only blackra1n worked.

corolla_2nr: it's a locked apple phone that was unlocked b4 3.1 but got bricked with the 3.1 update.

sadly those custom ipsw's wont work again in your case. :(

shucks :(

BTW anyone tried iReb? was reading up on it... if only there was a way to downgrade baseband

TK!

Postby TK! » October 15th, 2009, 10:10 am

corolla_2nr wrote:if only there was a way to downgrade baseband

ppl all over de world shedding tears for that. worse case scenario... pay apple to break out of the contract :-( ???

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 15th, 2009, 11:03 am

this is sadly why i never bought a 3GS, and prob never will own one now either with the new bootrom

TK! - sorry buddy..

Postby M_2NR » October 15th, 2009, 3:02 pm

or devteam figures out how to unlock it or downgrade. Correct me if im wrong but wasnt this a problem a long time ago with 1.x.x and they solved it?

I hope mines is as it says... 3.0.1 and the older baseband. If not, TK! ah joining yuh 1sigh

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 15th, 2009, 5:58 pm

Several publications on Wednesday reported Apple’s latest iPhone 3GS units came with presumably jailbreak-proof firmware. The reports were half correct: The phones do indeed ship with different firmware with a new bootrom, but they are still hackable.

McDonald compared this situation with the newest iPhone 3GS devices to the second-generation iPod Touch. Apple shipped this iPod Touch with a different bootrom from the previous version, and for a while, owners who jailbroke the device needed to tether their devices in order to boot up. Later, the iPhone Dev-Team released another exploit to enable untethered booting.

The iPhone jailbreak community emerged soon after the original iPhone launched in June 2007. Hackers discovered methods to install unauthorized third-party software on the device, as well as unlock the iPhone to work with carriers that otherwise did not serve the iPhone.

Apple wasn’t pleased. At the launch of the British iPhone in September 2007, Steve Jobs said Apple would work to suppress unlock hacks.

Apple has even suggested to the U.S. Copyright Office that jailbreaking is illegal — to no avail, as the Dev-Team has been careful to only provide patches hacking the iPhone, as opposed to copying the software, according to McDonald.

“It’s a cat-and-mouse game,â€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 15th, 2009, 6:00 pm

Apple has announced that developers can now use In App Purchases in their free iPhone apps. In the past developers needed to charge at least $.99 for their application before Apple would allow the use of In App Purchases

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 20th, 2009, 6:56 pm

ActivateMMS2G brought MMS for 2Gs running 3.0 but was unable to be installed on subsequent iPhone OS releases (3.0.1, 3.1, 3.1.2). Hopefully Native MMS iPhone 2G from the iFoneGuide repository will bring this feature back to iPhone 2G owners. This along with Tethering Patch 3G & Tethering Patch 3GS are Cydia versions of CommCenter hacks released by the iPhone Dev Team's MuscleNerd.
There are ways to do these hacks manually but they are considered "dangerous" and to be done by only advanced users.
-iPhone 2G MMS
-iPhone 3G/3GS Tethering

I've tried the Native MMS iPhone 2G & it doesn't seem to work, but others should try & see to verify.

Postby M_2NR » October 20th, 2009, 7:40 pm

id try but i need access to my phone in the coming days n next week i'll be getting a surprise so...
i might sell the 2G.

Anyone want a 2G?

Before i sell it i might give it a try if i get bored ;)

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 20th, 2009, 9:56 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ yea boy!!!!!!!!!! how much u sellin it for????? pm me

Postby M_2NR » October 20th, 2009, 10:39 pm

LOL! check PM bro.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 20th, 2009, 11:11 pm

iPhone 2G MMS CommCenter Hack

(DONE) Backup original CommCenter (goes without saying...)
(DONE) Replace CommCenter in: /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CoreTelephony.framework/Support/ with the patched one.
(DONE) Chmod the new CommCenter to 755
(?) Open /System/Library/CoreServices/SpringBoard.app/M68AP.plist and insert a true boolean value for "mms" under capabilities

How do I "insert a true boolean value for "mms" under capabilities"?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 21st, 2009, 9:24 am

I've tried both the Cydia & manual methods to regain MMS on the iPhone 2G. The results are the same with both. The only thing that would indicate it may have worked is if you go into the Messages app & try to write a message, for a brief second you will see the template for the camera button in the Messages app

& then it disappears. Unfortunately thats about it.

This video should help those willing to try despite my results.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 22nd, 2009, 10:15 am

Getting MMS back on your iPhone 2G (Image) (manual way)

01) Download this (patched CommCenter)

02) SSH into your iPhone & navigate to

Code: Select all

/System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/CoreTelephony.framework/Support/
where you will see your original CommCenter. Back that up. Then replace it with the downloaded CommCenter.

03) When it is in place, right click & select properties & make sure the Octal is set to 0755

04) Then go to

/System/Library/CoreServices/SpringBoard.app
& locate the M68AP.plist file. (You will need a .plist editor for this part. http://ipodrobot.com has one)
or you could download my M68AP.plist file from here with configuration already done. (NB not sure if it will mess up anything or not but I don't see any reason why it would)

05) Copy the M68AP.plist file out of the iPhone & with the .plist editor insert

<key>microphone</key>
<true/>
<key>mms</key>
<true/>
<key>opengles-1</key>
<true/>
the MMS code as seen above in between the microphone & opengles settings. Save this version & after backing up the original from the iPhone replace it with this edited version.

06) Reboot iPhone.

07) Once done go to

Settings>General>Network>Cellular Data Network
& for bmobile customers insert these settings into the fields.
-APN: mms
-MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app
-MMS Proxy: 192.168.210.104:8080

08) Reboot once more.

09) That should be it. You should now have MMS on your iPhone 2G once again (if you had it before using ActivateMMS2G during the 3.0 days).

Credit goes to Whiterat for his work on this patch.
Last edited by SRASC on October 24th, 2009, 11:15 am, edited 5 times in total.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 22nd, 2009, 12:00 pm

sorry guys, i ent read the whole thread....posting a question for a friend

if I have an iPhone 3G that is jailbroken and i want to update to the latest firmware, will the update re-lock the phone? and where will i get the latest firmware to d/l? and is there anything else i should know before i start the update?

thanks in advance