The Religion Discussion

nareshseep

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby nareshseep » May 28th, 2015, 10:39 pm

Man quoting from he storey book and casting it as fact oui ... rofl...
They didnt have st anns long time yunno... as a result real madmen wrote stories, which they probably heard from other madmen. And then some bright fellah say lemmeh group all these madman stories and call it the holy buy-bull.... and mentally enslaved the followers.

Sad thing is eh.... some bought it whole sale....

Postby meccalli » May 28th, 2015, 10:51 pm

Habit7 wrote:Meccalli your Jehovah Witness teaching is rearing its head again.

Sorry, I forgot you believe God tortures people for eternity while we rejoice.

Postby Habit7 » May 28th, 2015, 11:43 pm

nareshseep wrote:Man quoting from he storey book and casting it as fact oui ... rofl...
arent you the one who believes in an eternal universe and can't quote anyone else but yourself as reference?

meccalli wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Meccalli your Jehovah Witness teaching is rearing its head again.
Sorry, I forgot you believe God tortures people for eternity while we rejoice.
not me say so, Bible say so.

Revelation 14:9-11 Then another angel, a third one, followed them, saying with a loud voice, “If anyone worships the beast and his image, and receives a mark on his forehead or on his hand, he also will drink of the wine of the wrath of God, which is mixed in full strength in the cup of His anger; and he will be tormented with fire and brimstone in the presence of the holy angels and in the presence of the Lamb. “And the smoke of their torment goes up forever and ever; they have no rest day and night, those who worship the beast and his image, and whoever receives the mark of his name.”

Ezekiel 18:23, 32 “Do I have any pleasure in the death of the wicked,” declares the Lord GOD, “rather than that he should turn from his ways and live?

“For I have no pleasure in the death of anyone who dies,” declares the Lord GOD. “Therefore, repent and live.”

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 28th, 2015, 11:50 pm

Habit7 wrote:
nareshseep wrote:Man quoting from he storey book and casting it as fact oui ... rofl...
arent you the one who believes in an eternal universe and can't quote anyone else but yourself as reference?

Yes are correct Habit7 ... its not in no book so it cant true.... therefore if it was in a book it would be proof and believable, like your storey book ... lol

/sarcasm

The buy-bull is a lie, yes I know ..... for the buy-bull tells me so...

Postby Habit7 » May 29th, 2015, 12:04 am

You don't believe that. You don't believe God is imaginary and that the Bible is a lie. You know there is possibility that you are wrong so you frequent a religion thread and troll to reassure yourself you right and I am wrong.

Your posts are never profound, you speak like an 11year old and you rely on pithy memes to make arguments because you can't articulate yourself.

No one in their right mind would deem a person delusional and yet interact with said delusional persons unless they question their own perception of reality.

Your continual presence here in the this thread proves that the topic of God interests you.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 29th, 2015, 12:43 am

For your information, Habit7, you rel like to ASSume ..... again

Man telling me what I believe... yuh feel you is the imaginary skydaddy ah wah?
I believe that the imaginary Dog/gawd/homosexual you theist worship is imaginary and that the buy-bull is a book of lies . I know there is possibility that I maybe wrong and I have no qualms with that. Unlike the theist like you who claims that your way is correct and that you cant be wrong. Such typical arrogance that makes you feel that you are entitled to say whatevah you want because you believe in a imaginary dog. You can post your view and I cannot. Hmm... someone has ego issues lol. (Double Standards)

You have not even answered the question which when posed to you "that if there was undeniable proof to you that there was no gawd will you still believe? I'm guessing you will still believe since you have to believe... Yup sometimes I wish I still believed in Santa too (sarcasm)

Habit7 when you quote from your storey book, its no different from when a 5 year old reads a book says look this is in the book, it must be real cause it in the book.

And as I have said for the umpteenth time,
You are free to believe whatever you want, thats ok by me. But the moment you start peddling your sheit as the only correct and true way. You will see my posts. I will keep you in check.

Why post on a religuous thread you say.. Well maybe one day when someone who questions the retardness of religion stumbles upon this thread, my posts will be helpful to them. Therefore my interests is not selfish like yours and your imaginary dawg but for my fellow upcoming atheist comrades. And maybe I may save lost folks like yourself and lead you to the light.

Postby meccalli » May 29th, 2015, 6:09 am

Habit7 wrote:not me say so, Bible say so.

Likewise
And to you who are troubled rest with us, when the Lord Jesus shall be revealed from heaven with his mighty angels, In flaming fire taking vengeance on them that know not God, and that obey not the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ: Who shall be punished with everlasting destruction from the presence of the Lord, and from the glory of his power.

Edom’s streams will be turned into pitch, her dust into burning sulfur; her land will become blazing pitch! It will not be quenched night or day; its smoke will rise forever. From generation to generation it will lie desolate; no one will ever pass through it again

In a similar way, Sodom and Gomorrah and the surrounding towns gave themselves up to sexual immorality and perversion. They serve as an example of those who suffer the punishment of eternal fire.

And turning the cities of Sodom and Gomorrha into ashes condemned them with an overthrow, making them an ensample unto those that after should live ungodly;

As for 'Hell' used by the messiah. It was both timely and culturally relevant to the understanding of the people and their long history with the Hinnom valley being both a place of heathen sacrifice, used to show the morbid state that brings separation from God. Fires of moloch and asher poles where children were offered and was then a filth heap, a burning pile of garbage and waste filled with maggots and flies. Can only wonder how hinnom in the OT becomes hell, the pagan breach concept in the NT.

The wages of sin is death, not eternal torture.

Postby Habit7 » May 29th, 2015, 7:28 am

I am no more telling you what to believe than you are telling me what to believe. We are here to discuss and to make one' spoilt forcefully. Neither am I telling you what to post. I am just calling you out on what is obvious in that your presence here speaks of the insecurity of your belief and your need to reassure it. And if you affirm that you have some amount of insecurity why make absolute universal claims like God is imaginary or the Bible is a lie? You don't know for sure and heckling doesn't make your position any stronger.
nareshseep wrote:You have not even answered the question which when posed to you "that if there was undeniable proof to you that there was no gawd will you still believe? I'm guessing you will still believe since you have to believe... Yup sometimes I wish I still believed in Santa too (sarcasm)
I can remember you posing me that question but I have answered it before in another form
Habit7 wrote:
nareshseep wrote:
64793_455077201233437_293383637_n.jpg

So Spiderman equates to the God of the Bible even though Stan Lee admits to Spiderman being a fictitious character he developed to sell comic books :wink:

Hey, why don't secular humanists really live out what they believe in. If there is no God, no life after death, no accountability, etc. why are you wasting your time posting in the religious thread of a internet forum. Be a true hedonist, be a epicurean. If this is the one and only life you will live, live it up. Whatever you do in this life is just an interlude to your sure and certain death and collision with inexistence and insignificance. Squeeze every sensual joy out of life with no inhibition for morality, distant outcome and even law because if the consequences are too steep, the most that could be done to you is that you die and avoid all responsibilities.

The Bible explores this position. It says, If the dead are not raised, “Let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we die" (1 Corinthians 15:32). And it says of Christians in 1 Corinthians 15:19, If in Christ we have hope in this life only, we are of all people most to be pitied.

So don't waste your time here with cheesy internet memes that could only convince the weakest of minds. Go and fulfil every fleshly desire you have...

...or you might be all totally wrong and have now steeped a greater condemnation on your life.

Postby Habit7 » May 29th, 2015, 7:45 am

meccalli wrote:The wages of sin is death, not eternal torture.

Timely and culturally Jesus wasn't telling ppl that sin would eventually carry you to Jerusalem city landfill. Gehenna was a reference to their limited minds, what Jesus was talking about was far worst than Gehenna where the fire is not quenched and the worms don't die, I am sure Gehenna is not still burning today.

Plus there is apparent contradictions, outer darkness (Matthew 22:13) how could it be dark with everlasting fire? Or how could be a bottomless pit if it some earthly place (Revelation 9:1-12)? This place is indescribably worst than anyone can think of, it is a place of eternal torment for the Devil and his angels (Matthew 25:41) and since the fall of man, sinful men are sent there.

If you think death or annihilation will make men avoid there think again. Revelation 20:14 Then death and Hades were thrown into the lake of fire. This is the second death, the lake of fire.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 29th, 2015, 8:05 am

You sure you guys reading the same book?

Postby Habit7 » May 29th, 2015, 8:11 am

You and nareshseep believe in the same science?

Postby Slartibartfast » May 29th, 2015, 8:27 am

Which book on science you talking about exactly?

Postby Habit7 » May 29th, 2015, 8:28 am

He says the universe is eternal, do you agree?

Postby Slartibartfast » May 29th, 2015, 8:29 am

Which book is that written in?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 29th, 2015, 8:50 am

http://www.rawstory.com/2015/05/teens-are-fleeing-religion-like-never-before-massive-new-study-exposes-religions-decline/

Teens are fleeing religion like never before: Massive new study exposes religion’s decline

Religion is rapidly losing the youngest generation of Americans, according to new research.

America’s rising generation of adults are the least religiously observant of any generation in six decades, determined an expansive study led by Jean Twenge, a psychology professor at San Diego State.

“Unlike previous studies, ours is able to show that millennials’ lower religious involvement is due to cultural change, not to millennials being young and unsettled,” Twenge says in a San Diego State University news release. .

In one of the largest studies ever conducted on Americans’ religious involvement, researchers from Case Western Reserve University and the University of Georgia collaborated with Twenge and her colleagues in California to analyze data from four national surveys of U.S. adolescents between the ages of 13 and 18. The surveys were taken between 1966 and 2014, and include responses from some 11.2 million people.

The researchers’ findings were published this month in PLOS One.

According to Twenge and her cohorts, today’s adolescents view religion as less important, report less “approval” of religious organizations, and spend less time on prayer than did their similarly-aged predecessors. Some 75 percent of American 12th graders, the paper finds, believe that religion is “not important at all” in their lives.

Twenge cites a surge of individualism as the force behind atheism’s relative appeal to a young, self-centric generation. She’s literally written the book on the subject: “Generation Me.” In it, Twenge provides academic rationale to support the allegation that children born in the 1980’s and 1990’s form an “Entitlement Generation,” which she describes as being “tolerant, confident, open-minded, and ambitious but also disengaged, narcissistic, distrustful, and anxious.”

“These trends are part of a larger cultural context, a context that is often missing in polls about religion,” Twenge says. “One context is rising individualism in U.S. culture. Individualism puts the self first, which doesn’t always fit well with the commitment to the institution and other people that religion often requires. As Americans become more individualistic, it makes sense that fewer would commit to religion.”

The study also notes an “increasing acknowledgment that religion is not consistent with scientific understanding” could be driving adolescents away from religion. It is possible that “debates about teaching creationism or intelligent design in U.S. schools, such as those in Kansas in 2005, pushed some young people away from religion,” Twenge and her colleagues write in the study.

The generational decline of religion’s appeal in America has been documented in other studies as well, including one published last year by Massachusetts computer scientist Allen Downey. Downey’s conclusion as to why Americans are turning to atheism contrasts with Twenge’s, however. As noted by the MIT Technology review, Downey finds unprecedented access to information afforded by the Internet to be a major factor in determining a person’s inclination to embrace religion. The Internet, Downey argues, could be as significant a variable as childhood religious upbringing in influencing an individual’s spiritual outcomes.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 29th, 2015, 8:55 am

Habit7 same can be said for you, constantly referring to your storey book makes you seem that you need constant reassuring. Those buy-bull quotes are no different from a meme. Your storey book says so, so it must be true. The difference between you and me is that you have a closed mind and I have a mind that's open to change.

And as we all know the only constant in this world iz change.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » May 29th, 2015, 9:01 am

changes thread title to storybook debate thread lol

Postby 3stagevtec » May 29th, 2015, 9:21 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 29th, 2015, 9:43 am

^ ROFL

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2015, 9:52 am

the Dune series makes more sense than el biblay...Frank Herbert is the new Messiah

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 29th, 2015, 10:13 am

MG Man wrote:the Dune series makes more sense than el biblay...Frank Herbert is the new Messiah
The Dune novels have their fair share of discrepancies

big one is the "Bene Gesserit Reverend Mothers in Heretics of Dune are possessed of ancestral memories. However, this ability is not possessed by any Bene Gesserit in the earlier novels. When Jessica endures the spice agony in Dune, for example, she gains access to the memories of all the Reverend Mothers who came before her, but she doesn't gain ancestral memories."

The topic of religion in Dune is complex - and sometimes crazy as hell (no pun intended).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Dune_religions

While some might say Frank Herbert was smoking his own "spice melange" when he concocted the religions in his novels, it is arguable that many actual religions today were eventually constructed in the same manner that Herbert projected: they were built up over millennia from older religions and beliefs.

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2015, 10:19 am

yeah but as far as weird fiction goes, Dune > le biblay
When you consider it was just Frank alone who wrote most of the books, vs a bunch of fellas who wrote el biblay, Frank did a better job f consistency than those weirdoes

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » May 29th, 2015, 10:31 am

lol at trying to comprehend dune. all time favourite movie of mine.

the spice melange.. mmm #dmt-Botches

Postby MG Man » May 29th, 2015, 10:40 am

bluesclueless

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 29th, 2015, 6:22 pm

Free Blessings ->

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 30th, 2015, 12:04 am

Everything is failing the world is at an end grab a six pack of Carib and chill.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 3rd, 2015, 3:15 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Everything is failing the world is at an end grab a six pack of Carib and chill.

Yup

http://phys.org/news/2015-02-big-quantu ... verse.html

Postby bluefete » June 5th, 2015, 10:40 pm

What a shame.

The Biggest Scam of All: Pastor Creflo Dollar Will Get His $65 Million Luxury Jet
Posted: 06/05/2015 5:15 pm EDT Updated: 4 hours ago
CREFLO DOLLAR

You may have heard the story a few months ago about an Atlanta-based minister who claimed he needed a $65 million private jet so he could "safely and swiftly share the Good News of the Gospel worldwide." But almost as quickly as Pastor Creflo Dollar asked his 200,000 followers to each donate $300.00 towards the purchase of a luxurious jet, the campaign vanished and was removed from his website.

But now, the board of World Changers Church International -- which also operates as Creflo Dollar Ministries, has announced it is ready to purchase the plane.

"We plan to acquire a Gulfstream G650 because it is the best, and it is a reflection of the level of excellence at which this organization chooses to operate."

This has got to be one of the biggest shams ever, and there's so much delusion it's hard to even figure out where to begin.

Let's start with the money. Imagine what could be accomplished with $65 million! That's a lot of money. Do you think Jesus would have wanted his earthly representatives travelling the globe in luxurious accommodations? Or do you think Jesus would have wanted to see that $65 million used to feed the poor, help the homeless, improve education, or just make some kind of huge impact to help humanity?

World Changers Church International said, "A long-range, high-speed, intercontinental jet aircraft is a tool that is necessary in order to fulfill the mission of the ministry."

Sure, who wouldn't want such a nice aircraft to travel the world? I know I would and I bet you would, too. And if you're one of the few people in this world who can afford one, go for it! But when you start hitting up your congregants -- many of whom struggle with their day-to-day finances and barely have enough money to provide the basic necessities for themselves and their families -- that's when something has to be done.

What about flying commercially? Jesus travelled on foot and by donkey. Granted there were no Gulfstream G650s back in the day, but if there were somehow I don't think you would have seen Jesus flying around in one. Dollar resides in Atlanta, the city with the world's largest airport with flights to every major international destination on a daily basis. Certainly it would be more cost effective for his flock to do their work around the world this way.

But after all, God told him to buy the plane. Dollar said, "If I want to believe God for a $65 million plane, you cannot stop me. You cannot stop me from dreaming. I'm gonna dream until Jesus comes."

I don't know what's worse: the fact that Creflo Dollar believes God spoke to him and told him to buy this jet, or the fact that people are so gullible and delusional and are actually supporting this guy. Of course, as Dollar puts it, it's simply part of what he calls "prosperity theology," in other words, giving of your own money to the church because by doing so your level of personal wealth is blessed and will grow significantly.

It's not surprising, really, that people buy into this nonsense. After studying mental toughness training for the last 31 years, there's a definite pattern of people who are operating from a weak state of mind to be more vulnerable to the suspension of critical thinking and doing anything that makes them feel better. Being addicted to the emotion of hope is a killer, so when Pastor Dollar tells them to give $300.00 and reminds them of the promise of everlasting life, a mansion in the sky and being reunited with loved ones, it sure sounds pretty good.

The bottom line: It's time for people to wake up and stop being stupid! Stop being manipulated and giving your money to the power hungry religious leader who owns two Rolls Royce cars and multiple multi-million-dollar homes. Creflo Dollar is a fake. If he was so genuinely concerned about doing good and Godly deeds, he would be raising $65 million to truly make a difference in the lives of so many. Instead, he'll be enjoying a better than first-class experience as he jets around the world in style laughing at the farce he created.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/steve-sie ... lp00000592

Postby rspann » June 6th, 2015, 11:03 am

Come on nah man, you expect the pastor to fly on commercial flights?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 6th, 2015, 11:53 am

Fact:
1433605988207.jpg
1433605988207.jpg (20.6 KiB) Viewed 3325 times