The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Chimera » May 15th, 2015, 2:55 pm

Imagine habit constantly telling his kids or kids in his family that they have sinned and going to hell no matter what.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 15th, 2015, 3:04 pm

Well it's what his parents would have drilled into him after their parents drilled it into them and so on and so forth all the way back his original Trinidadian ancestors in that got it beaten into them while they were slaves (just like my ancestors). You can't really hold Habit at fault for being wrong, when eternal pain and damnation are the punishments for him trying to break free and seek the truth. Any normal person in his situation without the strength of will would fear God. Hopefully his kids would be able to break the chain of abuse when they have kids.

Postby Habit7 » May 15th, 2015, 3:16 pm

I though I was clear
Habit7 wrote:My belief sends no one to hell...

God is just in sending us all to Hell.

""Do not fear those who kill the body but are unable to kill the soul; but rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell." Jesus - Matthew 10:28

"The Son of Man will send forth His angels, and they will gather out of His kingdom all stumbling blocks, and those who commit lawlessness, 42 and will cast them into the furnace of fire; in that place there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.” Jesus - Matthew 13:41-42

“I tell you, no, but unless you repent, you will all likewise perish.” Jesus - Luke 13:5

Jesus speaks the most about hell in the Bible, He is just and there is a punishment for sin.

Apostle Paul speaking to Christians
And you were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience— among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind. But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:1-10

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:what of Muslims who do not believe Jesus is Christ,nor did he die on the cross or save the world of sin? They "shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone"?
Quran 98:6 says "Indeed, they who disbelieved among the People of the Scripture and the polytheists will be in the fire of Hell, abiding eternally therein. Those are the worst of creatures."
Richard Dawkins said I am "ignorant, stupid, insane or wicked" for not believing in evolution.
So what?

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:"maybe we are all wrong" seems a pretty agnostic statement to make
I never said maybe, but the Bible contempts that if Christianity is wrong
For if the dead are not raised, not even Christ has been raised. And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile and you are still in your sins. Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished. If in Christ we have hope in this life only, we are of all people most to be pitied. 1 Corinthians 15:16-19

It is not emotional abuse to say that somebody is wrong and disagree with them. If Christianity is not true, who cares what the Bible says about you?
But if it is true then repent and believe on Christ.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 15th, 2015, 3:24 pm

I think you mixed up a couple arguments there. I was saying it is emotional abuse for your parents to say that an imaginary being (or any stranger) is allowed to do whatever he wants do to you and that if you oppose his will you will be tortured and burnt for all eternity. Also, anytime he isn't a complete d!ck to you (like not burning and torturing you for all eternity) you must consider it a great act of mercy from him. I mean, I never burned or tortured anyone for all eternity and nobody talks about how merciful I am :roll:

Cool if it's just a bed time story... but to preach it as true... well that's just morally wrong.

Postby Habit7 » May 15th, 2015, 3:26 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Well it's what his parents would have drilled into him after their parents drilled it into them and so on and so forth all the way back his original Trinidadian ancestors in that got it beaten into them while they were slaves (just like my ancestors). You can't really hold Habit at fault for being wrong, when eternal pain and damnation are the punishments for him trying to break free and seek the truth. Any normal person in his situation without the strength of will would fear God. Hopefully his kids would be able to break the chain of abuse when they have kids.

My parents didnt drill it into me, they weren't Christian. And even if they did, that is a genetic fallacy, how I came to understand something doesn't make it true or false.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Imagine habit constantly telling his kids or kids in his family that they have sinned and going to hell no matter what.
I never said "no matter what." Hell is the predicament Christ is the solution. One is guilty before God because they have sinned, we all have sinned. Christ can save you through Him receiving your punishment on the cross. Repent of your sins, trust in Christ alone for your salvation, dont trust that your are good enough. That is message of the gospel. That is the message that has shaped the Western World. There is nothing novel about what I am saying.

In fact as you mentioned children:
How Christianity invented children

Pascal-Emmanuel Gobry

April 23, 2015

We have forgotten just how deep a cultural revolution Christianity wrought. In fact, we forget about it precisely because of how deep it was: There are many ideas that we simply take for granted as natural and obvious, when in fact they didn't exist until the arrival of Christianity changed things completely. Take, for instance, the idea of children.

Today, it is simply taken for granted that the innocence and vulnerability of children makes them beings of particular value, and entitled to particular care. We also romanticize children — their beauty, their joy, their liveliness. Our culture encourages us to let ourselves fall prey to our gooey feelings whenever we look at baby pictures. What could be more natural?

In fact, this view of children is a historical oddity. If you disagree, just go back to the view of children that prevailed in Europe's ancient pagan world.

As the historian O.M. Bakke points out in his invaluable book When Children Became People, in ancient Greece and Rome, children were considered nonpersons.

Back then, the entire social worldview was undergirded by a universally-held, if implicit, view: Society was organized in concentric circles, with the circle at the center containing the highest value people, and the people in the outside circles having little-to-no value. At the center was the freeborn, adult male, and other persons were valued depending on how similar they were to the freeborn, adult male. Such was the lot of foreigners, slaves, women...and children.

High infant mortality rates created a cultural pressure to not develop emotional attachments to children. This cultural pressure was exacerbated by the fact that women were more likely to develop emotional attachments to children — which, according to the worldview of the day, meant it had to be a sign of weakness and vulgarity.

Various pagan authors describe children as being more like plants than human beings. And this had concrete consequences.

Well-to-do parents typically did not interact with their children, leaving them up to the care of slaves. Children were rudely brought up, and very strong beatings were a normal part of education. In Rome, a child's father had the right to kill him for whatever reason until he came of age.

One of the most notorious ancient practices that Christianity rebelled against was the frequent practice of expositio, basically the abandonment of unwanted infants. (Of course, girls were abandoned much more often than boys, which meant, as the historical sociologist Rodney Stark has pointed out, that Roman society had an extremely lopsided gender ratio, contributing to its violence and permanent tension.)

Another notorious practice in the ancient world was the sexual exploitation of children. It is sometimes pointed to paganism's greater tolerance (though by no means full acceptance) of homosexuality than Christianity as evidence for its higher moral virtue. But this is to look at a very different world through distorting lenses. The key thing to understand about sexuality in the pagan world is the ever-present notion of concentric circles of worth. The ancient world did not have fewer taboos, it had different ones. Namely, most sexual acts were permissible, as long as they involved a person of higher status being active against or dominating a person of lower status. This meant that, according to all the evidence we have, the sexual abuse of children (particularly boys) was rife.

Think back on expositio. According to our sources, most abandoned children died — but some were "rescued," almost inevitably into slavery. And the most profitable way for a small child slave to earn money was as a sex slave. Brothels specializing in child sex slaves, particularly boys, were established, legal, and thriving businesses in ancient Rome. One source reports that sex with castrated boys was regarded as a particular delicacy, and that foundlings were castrated as infants for that purpose.

Of course, the rich didn't have to bother with brothels — they had all the rights to abuse their slaves (and even their children) as they pleased. And, again, this was perfectly licit. When Suetonius condemns Tiberius because he “taught children of the most tender years, whom he called his little fishes, to play between his legs while he was in his bath” and “those who had not yet been weaned, but were strong and hearty, he set at fellatio,” he is not writing with shock and horror; instead, he is essentially mocking the emperor for his lack of self-restraint and enjoying too much of a good thing.

This is the world into which Christianity came, condemning abortion and infanticide as loudly and as early as it could.

This is the world into which Christianity came, calling attention to children and ascribing special worth to them. Church leaders meditated on Jesus' instruction to imitate children and proposed ways that Christians should look up to and become more like them.

Like everything else about Christianity's revolution, it was incomplete. For example, Christians endorsed corporal punishment for far too long. (Though even in the fourth century, the great teacher St John Chrysostom preached against it, on the grounds of the victim's innocence and dignity, using language that would have been incomprehensible to, say, Cicero.)

But really, Christianity's invention of children — that is, its invention of the cultural idea of children as treasured human beings — was really an outgrowth of its most stupendous and revolutionary idea: the radical equality, and the infinite value, of every single human being as a beloved child of God. If the God who made heaven and Earth chose to reveal himself, not as an emperor, but as a slave punished on the cross, then no one could claim higher dignity than anyone else on the basis of earthly status.

That was indeed a revolutionary idea, and it changed our culture so much that we no longer even recognize it.

http://theweek.com/articles/551027/how- ... d-children

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2015, 4:51 pm

Habit7 wrote:Richard Dawkins said I am "ignorant, stupid, insane or wicked" for not believing in evolution.
So what?
well that may be his opinion, but I don't think he believes you are going to hell or eternal damnation in a lake of fire for not believing what he believes.

Postby Habit7 » May 15th, 2015, 5:39 pm

You keep repeating that as if it is wrong.

By who's authority I am wrong?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2015, 5:51 pm

Most of the posts on this thread are between Duane and Habit?

Habit I have a genuine question what would it take for you not to believe in God? Is there anything in particular?

If we were to find life elsewhere, would that change anything about you?

Note I do not have a problem with a men believing in god eh cause all of this is just philosophical at the end of the day. Whether a man believe god real or not it really don't change anything so yeah.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2015, 6:07 pm

Habit7 wrote:You keep repeating that as if it is wrong.

By who's authority I am wrong?
wrong? where did I say you are wrong?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2015, 6:08 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Most of the posts on this thread are between Duane and Habit?

Habit I have a genuine question what would it take for you not to believe in God? Is there anything in particular?

Note I do not have a problem with a men believing in god eh cause all of this is just philosophical at the end of the day. Whether a man believe god real or not it really don't change anything so yeah.
it doesn't change anything for whom? for them or for you?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2015, 6:27 pm

^ Both of us I would suspect.

Even though Habit does believe in a God, he dos not actually take it literally. For example he does not believe the word of the bible as absolute fact. He couldn't it, its impossible.

Most people even though religious just use god as some sort of comfort in the hope there is some sort of justice. Sure they may not admit it to us, but deep down they don't believe this literally.

For example if we were to believe everything in the Bible we would still be stoning people to death and if a child dies in a car accident we would be saying things like its all part of God's master plan.
I do not believe that anyone including Habit believes that all the bad things that happen is part of god's master plan. I don't think anyone really believes that.

But at the same time they believe there is some force in the universe that was responsible for all of this even I don't have a problem believing something like this. I believe there is something out there some unknown force greater than us and perhaps even more intelligent than us. Like alien life etc A civilization far far away on another planet and maybe even responsible for our very existence.

Postby Habit7 » May 15th, 2015, 6:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wrong? where did I say you are wrong?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What is intolerant is saying ONLY my way is right and I will rewarded by God and your way is so wrong that you will be punished by God and be tortured by the devil, you heathen, infidel, sinner.

You said it was intolerant, which I would like to believe you think is wrong.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Habit I have a genuine question what would it take for you not to believe in God? Is there anything in particular?

I don't think there is anything that will persuade me otherwise. As a Christian I don't just know about God, I know God. Christians have the assurance of the Holy Spirit living in us in manner that a non-Christian can't relate to or know. Beside that The God of the Bible gives the only consistent and true way to see the world or have a worldview. I find myself not coming to logical dead ends as I have demonstrated with some posters in this thread, but only through a Christian worldview the natural and supernatural world is explained throughly.

I said it before that if aliens are found it wouldn't destroy Christianity. I would admit though that if there are aliens found to be of equal or higher humans in intelligence it would counter the teaching of the Bible. However that faith/hope is more grounded in science fiction than any observation in science.

Postby Habit7 » May 15th, 2015, 6:46 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Both of us I would suspect.

Even though Habit does believe in a God, he dos not actually take it literally. For example he does not believe the word of the bible as absolute fact. He couldn't it, its impossible.

Most people even though religious just use god as some sort of comfort in the hope there is some sort of justice. Sure they may not admit it to us, but deep down they don't believe this literally.

For example if we were to believe everything in the Bible we would still be stoning people to death and if a child dies in a car accident we would be saying things like its all part of God's master plan.
I do not believe that anyone including Habit believes that all the bad things that happen is part of god's master plan. I don't think anyone really believes that.

But at the same time they believe there is some force in the universe that was responsible for all of this even I don't have a problem believing something like this. I believe there is something out there some unknown force greater than us and perhaps even more intelligent than us. Like alien life etc A civilization far far away on another planet and maybe even responsible for our very existence.
EF I am sure you have a strong opinion, it would be stronger if it were grounded in truth. Take a search through these key words you are using and see my views on them.

For instance the Bible doesn't call for anyone to be stoned today. Plus us and many other civilised countries execute death penalties through various means. And I will one up you about a child dying in a car accident. God justly poured out His wrath on His Son in His fore-ordained plan. Therefore the Lord gives and He takes away, blessed be His name. Job 1:21
Last edited by Habit7 on May 15th, 2015, 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2015, 6:47 pm

^ aight scene. Well I can't say you are wrong or anything like that since these things are just our beliefs, all of us have our own.

My uncle who is a Physics professor in Miami spoke with me recently and I asked this very question if there is a god and where did we come from. His response was rather interesting, he said the answer to that question does not matter and its just philosophical.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 15th, 2015, 6:49 pm

Effectic look up the Fermi Paradox on youtube. There js a very interesting video of alien life and how odd it is that we have not yet been contacted. It raises a lot of questions (without answering anything) but you may find it interesting nonetheless as it gives you something to think about.

And Habit it's kind of hard to hit a dead end if you are travelling in a circle. Still, it's not something you should boast about

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 15th, 2015, 6:51 pm

^ thanks will check out the videos on youtube, I like those kind of stuff with alien life etc.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » May 15th, 2015, 7:33 pm

Carry on....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 16th, 2015, 9:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS, you obviously did not read his posts in this topic.

Habit7 has stated many times that he believes in the literal meaning of the Bible absolutely. He believes the Universe and the Earth is 6000-12000 years old and the literal account of Adam and Eve, he believes that dinosaurs and humans lived together at the same time, that creation happened in 7 days, the literal account of Noah's and the Ark approximately 4,350 years ago etc etc

but despite all of this, I really do not think you are capable of arguing with him on any subject matter :lol:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 16th, 2015, 9:32 pm

10917378_416108991872792_4672318099853382015_n.jpg

10934048_417184288431929_6155899287893567120_n.jpg

10152525_299513950198964_1500414592_n.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 16th, 2015, 9:40 pm

^ well I go agree with duane there, judging from how much pages this thread has with you and habit I eh even going to try to argue with habit lol :lol:

Do you know if in real life Habit might be a pastor?

Thus far from info I have gathered, I understand UML is paid by the UNC to promote their achievements, Zoom Raider is an Afro Trini who works in the Oil Sector in the UK according to rollin stock anyways, RASC is paid by the PNM to promote misinformation "According to Zoom Raider and UML anyways"

And well from seeing some of Habit posts on this thread, I am guessing he is a Pastor.

Postby Habit7 » May 17th, 2015, 2:59 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS, you obviously did not read his posts in this topic.

Habit7 has stated many times that he believes in the literal meaning of the Bible absolutely.
No I have not.
Habit7 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Christians - Take the bible literally and believe the world is like 6,000 years old in which case yes... evolution does disprove the bible.

The same for the Big Bang theory (que accusations of Krauss worship)
Not quite.

Christians read the Bible in the way it was meant to be read. Literal where the author intends, figurative where it is clearly evident. The Bible doesn't state the age of the earth. Some Christians land on the side of a young earth through genealogies, others see it as an old earth by integrating modern estimates as being a form of natural revelation.

Nevertheless macroevolution is not a fact, it cannot disprove anything. It still lacks the observable, repeatable and quantifiable evidence by which we can call it a scientific law.

Big bang theory is actually under serious review right now.

But Duane, you believe at some point humans weren't at the top of the food chain, you fail at distinguishing between archaeology and palaeontology and you believe the appendix is a vestigial organ. Yet to claim to be true to science.

You fail to distinguish what happened in history from what is currently observable with empirical science. I hold to empirical science, what happened in the past is not empirical, it is historic. We are therefore left to put our faith in our best scientific explanations or a historic account. I however choose the historic account of the Bible. To tell me the Bible is wrong on these issues you need to point to empirical science, not theories.
We both use the same evidences, we just explain their interconnectivity differently.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Do you know if in real life Habit might be a pastor?
I am not a pastor nor clergy nor do I have any formal theological training. I am a Christian, I represent a Christian worldview (with some distinctives on non-essentials). I try not to reference my profession qualifications because I want what I say to be scrutinised on whether it is true, not by my authority.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 17th, 2015, 9:35 am

So basically what habit7 is saying we don't know bout historee therfore gawd did it.

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2015, 9:09 am

nareshseep wrote:So basically what habit7 is saying we don't know bout historee therfore gawd did it.
How is your "god of the gaps" allegation of me any different than your 'nature of the gaps' faith? Where when science can't explain something you hope that someday there is a natural explanation for it.

What I am saying is that these observations point to an intelligent, powerful, eternal, immaterial being. Natural explanations only point to an infinite regress.

Postby MG Man » May 18th, 2015, 9:45 am

Habit7 wrote:What I am saying is that these observations point to an intelligent, powerful, eternal, immaterial being. Natural explanations only point to an infinite regress.

that's merely an opinion

Postby Slartibartfast » May 18th, 2015, 9:58 am

Habit7 wrote:How is your "god of the gaps" allegation of me any different than your 'nature of the gaps' faith?

Because you say "this is the absolute truth" and shy away from arguments that prove you wrong.

Science says "this is the best explanation we can come up with right now considering all of the information and knowledge that we currently possess" and welcomes serious arguments that proves well held theories wrong.

Notice the difference now?

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2015, 10:25 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Habit7 wrote:How is your "god of the gaps" allegation of me any different than your 'nature of the gaps' faith?

Because you say "this is the absolute truth" and shy away from arguments that prove you wrong.
Well if anything in this thread is that I have not shy away from arguments. Secondly you can't say I'm wrong unless you also claim absolute truth.

Science can only claim absolute truth on current empirical observations we have access to. Explanations on the past are speculative, not absolute. Science can only explain natural phenomena. Therefore the hope that nature created itself naturally is an infinite regress and a fool's errand. Nature has to come from a supernatural source, science can't tell you that because science is incapable of empirically observing the past, far less the origin.

This has to do with logic not science.

Postby MG Man » May 18th, 2015, 10:43 am

Habit7 wrote:Secondly you can't say I'm wrong unless you also claim absolute truth..

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 18th, 2015, 8:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:Secondly you can't say I'm wrong unless you also claim absolute truth..

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wah bout if both parties are wrong... lol

DJ

Postby DJ » May 21st, 2015, 10:13 am

well its obvious that Habit7 is absolutely wrong anyway.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 21st, 2015, 12:15 pm