The economy is not stimulated , people are not spending and it is not due toHabit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:Epic back pedal
No, let me make it simple for you.
Me pointing to one mall at one time doesn't counter the universal trend of malls declining because of online shopping. If tomorrow C3 Movie Towne is full because ppl come to watch Mortal Kombat, that does not mean the cinemas are not declining during covid-19.
SuperiorMan wrote:The_Honourable wrote:SuperiorMan wrote:Tuner Friends,
When do you all think UNC will win again?
It's normal in democracies for governments to change so to answer your question, yes they will.
In it's current form? No. UNC was on a loosing streak with Panday since 2002 and once he was removed, UNC won (in a partnership). Kamla is in the same position now as Panday in the 2000s... loss after loss and not leaving while the supporters are not seeing anybody else beyond the current leader.
PNM doing chit and most of the population don't respect Rowley but UNC still have the stains of their 2010-2015 governance whether it was real for example SIS or fake, like emailgate.
Thanks for your response The_Honourable.
I was asking when you think they will win again....do you think the next election once they get rid of Kamla?
Kickstart wrote:The economy is not stimulated , people are not spending and it is not due toHabit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:Epic back pedal
Me pointing to one mall at one time doesn't counter the universal trend of malls declining because of online shopping. If tomorrow C3 Movie Towne is full because ppl come to watch Mortal Kombat, that does not mean the cinemas are not declining during covid-19.
Covid. The measures put in place by the government is not working both in forex and the local economy.
Habit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:The economy is not stimulated , people are not spending and it is not due toHabit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:Epic back pedal
Covid. The measures put in place by the government is not working both in forex and the local economy.
Ok economist.
I am sure you have a plan to revive mall shopping too.
Kickstart wrote:
Lets see a tax was placed on online shopping because
i. of forex
ii. local powerful businessmen complained that online shopping affecting their sales.
so these measures are put in place but what has that caused ? and dont blame Covid as this was way before Covid.
The economy is not looking good and the measures in place is not working. People are just not spending
Kickstart wrote:Habit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:The economy is not stimulated , people are not spending and it is not due toHabit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:Epic back pedal
Ok economist.
I am sure you have a plan to revive mall shopping too.
i. of forex
ii. local powerful businessmen complained that online shopping affecting their sales.
so these measures are put in place but what has that caused ? and dont blame Covid as this was way before Covid.
The economy is not looking good and the measures in place is not working. People are just not spending
For the last time the cause of this bad economy is not due to covid. It is the policies put in place by the government. They are shifting the blame on covid when in fact its their own policies , taxation and lost of job that is the root causeHabit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:
i. of forex
This was before covid https://oxfordbusinessgroup.com/news/wh ... -forecasts
As I pointed out before on some other lament thread, the TT economy was projected for growth, not by Imbert, but by independent international financial observers, or as some like to call them PNM.
Of course the economy is not looking good now because of covid. But 8mths ago we had a choice in who we wanted to carry us through the storm and the majority of ppl choose PNM again. So things are not going to turn around in a day, stop whining and lamenting and just deal with what T&T and the majority of world countries are facing right now.
Kickstart wrote:For the last time the cause of this bad economy is not due to covid. It is the policies put in place by the government. They are shifting the blame on covid when in fact its their own policies , taxation and lost of job that is the root causeHabit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:
i. of forex
As I pointed out before on some other lament thread, the TT economy was projected for growth, not by Imbert, but by independent international financial observers, or as some like to call them PNM.
Of course the economy is not looking good now because of covid. But 8mths ago we had a choice in who we wanted to carry us through the storm and the majority of ppl choose PNM again. So things are not going to turn around in a day, stop whining and lamenting and just deal with what T&T and the majority of world countries are facing right now.
As MP imbert said" they have not rioted yet" these are the new measures that they put out on test.
Kickstart wrote:For the last time the cause of this bad economy is not due to covid. It is the policies put in place by the government. They are shifting the blame on covid when in fact its their own policies , taxation and lost of job that is the root causeHabit7 wrote:Kickstart wrote:
i. of forex
As MP imbert said" they have not rioted yet" these are the new measures that they put out on test.
i. of forex
It appears to me that posters who are in favour of the government are making excuses for them . There seems to be a handful of these posters to which and I am sure that there are many other s who don't agree with the excuses. One such poster was caught back pedaling when confronted.sam1978 wrote:You seem to be in la la land too or just trying to make excuses for the govt . Some form of diversification would have been better than sitting idly by and doing nothing.
At least it would have put us in a better position in the future at a closer time. Worse than that they are inviting friends over to share in what is a quickly shrinking pantry of resources , and allowing illegals to enter at will by not properly securing the borders. Forex is at an all time low with no signs of increasing soon and when we start to bawl for shortages , the guests just have to go to somebody else house .
I not too worried because the new “hero” MONS will come to our rescue . He will do what is needed to correct the influx of venes.
Btw it’s compounded , not expounded.
Kickstart wrote:It appears to me that posters who are in favour of the government are making excuses for them . There seems to be a handful of these posters to which and I am sure that there are many other s who don't agree with the excuses. One such poster was caught back pedaling when confronted.sam1978 wrote:You seem to be in la la land too or just trying to make excuses for the govt . Some form of diversification would have been better than sitting idly by and doing nothing.
At least it would have put us in a better position in the future at a closer time. Worse than that they are inviting friends over to share in what is a quickly shrinking pantry of resources , and allowing illegals to enter at will by not properly securing the borders. Forex is at an all time low with no signs of increasing soon and when we start to bawl for shortages , the guests just have to go to somebody else house .
I not too worried because the new “hero” MONS will come to our rescue . He will do what is needed to correct the influx of venes.
Btw it’s compounded , not expounded.
sam1978 wrote:This govt has been here for five + years and have they taken steps to do so?
Forex is scarce, if we keep at this rate would it get better or would it deplete? When it’s done , what would our purchases come from?
Expounded means to explain ,compounded means to aggravate or increase , so I should leave it and don’t say anything and say it’s a typo? Allyuh good yes!
adnj wrote:.....
sam1978 wrote:Let’s try again.
No diversification.
Low forex supply.
Influx of illegal immigrants.
Country finances in a bad shape.
Compound means increase or aggravate.
Which one is incorrect ? (without childish memes and attacks)
adnj wrote:sam1978 wrote:Let’s try again.
No diversification.
Low forex supply.
Aggravate? Aggregate, yes.
The country's wealth is attributed to its large reserves and exploitation of oil and natural gas. ... Oil and gas account for about 40% of GDP and 80% of exports, but only 5% of employment.
Lots of oil wealth for 30 years coming to an end. If you don't have a plan by now, it's too late.
adnj wrote:sam1978 wrote:Let’s try again.
No diversification.
Low forex supply.
Aggravate? Aggregate, yes.
The country's wealth is attributed to its large reserves and exploitation of oil and natural gas. ... Oil and gas account for about 40% of GDP and 80% of exports, but only 5% of employment.
Lots of oil wealth for 30 years coming to an end. If you don't have a plan by now, it's too late.
If anything, I am getting fed of how cynical this place getting. Everybody has a lament about what others should do and not one extra responsibility is put on themself.sam1978 wrote:Let’s try again.
No diversification.
Low forex supply.