Flow Internet Thread

Soul Collector

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby Soul Collector » September 4th, 2014, 2:57 pm

I just walking by sure pay with an old bill so they get the acc number and bar code to scan and say I paying $300.

Anyway, I getting absolute SHIITTT service for the past week or so. I talking about less than 1mb and not being able to stream 360p vids until it drop to 144p to buffer and then sites not loading etc.

When I waste meh mc money to call them is the usual......"Well is nun wrong on we side so hush yuh cyat".

AdmissionBAned

Postby AdmissionBAned » September 4th, 2014, 3:20 pm

Soul Collector wrote:I just walking by sure pay with an old bill so they get the acc number and bar code to scan and say I paying $300.

Anyway, I getting absolute SHIITTT service for the past week or so. I talking about less than 1mb and not being able to stream 360p vids until it drop to 144p to buffer and then sites not loading etc.

When I waste meh mc money to call them is the usual......"Well is nun wrong on we side so hush yuh cyat".

Did you try retesting you box?

AdmissionBAned

Postby AdmissionBAned » September 4th, 2014, 3:20 pm

Soul Collector wrote:I just walking by sure pay with an old bill so they get the acc number and bar code to scan and say I paying $300.

Did you try retesting you box?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 5th, 2014, 1:09 am

Yes I go through all the usual stuff and to no avail.

Thing is, either direct or plugged into the router, I get bad speeds sometimes. I just plugged direct into the modem and the speed is fine. It's just random.

Last time they told me oh how it could be my router causing it. I went and bought a ASUS RT-N66U and I am having the same problem. They came and changed the modem too so its a brand new one. The tech who came also cut the copper wire to connect to my modem saying it was too long in the first place which can cause instability (that so for years since I have flow eh).

Anyone have any ideas?

brickman

Postby brickman » September 5th, 2014, 1:57 am

Soul Collector wrote:Yes I go through all the usual stuff and to no avail.

Thing is, either direct or plugged into the router, I get bad speeds sometimes. I just plugged direct into the modem and the speed is fine. It's just random.

Last time they told me oh how it could be my router causing it. I went and bought a ASUS RT-N66U and I am having the same problem. They came and changed the modem too so its a brand new one. The tech who came also cut the copper wire to connect to my modem saying it was too long in the first place which can cause instability (that so for years since I have flow eh).

Anyone have any ideas?

So every machine/device you tested it on gives the same problem?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 5th, 2014, 2:39 am

brickman wrote:So every machine/device you tested it on gives the same problem?

Well so far I passed through 2 modems and 2 routers and same problem so I would say yes. It's not only my PC that's affected even though I'm plugged directly into the router. Laptop and iPad have the same problems.

And no - they aren't using up all my bandwidth or anyone else. I can see who is connected to my router and exactly how much bandwidth they use with the new ASUS one I got which is pretty handy because before I used to think maybe other ppl gained access somehow to my network and that was causing me to slow down.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 5th, 2014, 6:19 am

To avoid people connecting to your network try and disable SSID broadcasting and only allow approved IP addresses to connect as for the slow speeds I'm getting the same and flow customer reps are real hogs

ModMania

Postby ModMania » September 5th, 2014, 8:13 am

Also a wireless tip: use AES/wpa and not wep, wep uses more processor power where as wpa doesnt.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 5th, 2014, 10:04 am

Hacked a router protected by WEP...use WPA and up

AdmissionBAned

Postby AdmissionBAned » September 5th, 2014, 10:16 am

kerwinishere wrote:Hacked a router protected by WEP...use WPA and up

Use wep guys so I can hack it for free wifi thanks

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 5th, 2014, 10:34 am

Backtrack

ModMania

Postby ModMania » September 5th, 2014, 11:20 am

^^^kali linux

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » September 5th, 2014, 2:37 pm

Soul Collector wrote:
brickman wrote:So every machine/device you tested it on gives the same problem?

Well so far I passed through 2 modems and 2 routers and same problem so I would say yes. It's not only my PC that's affected even though I'm plugged directly into the router. Laptop and iPad have the same problems.

And no - they aren't using up all my bandwidth or anyone else. I can see who is connected to my router and exactly how much bandwidth they use with the new ASUS one I got which is pretty handy because before I used to think maybe other ppl gained access somehow to my network and that was causing me to slow down.

What you can try is moving the modem to the first point of entry for your coaxial trunk, this will eliminate any malfunctioning splinter or frayed cable on the loop that could be causing your connection problems.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » September 5th, 2014, 6:37 pm

kerwinishere wrote:To avoid people connecting to your network try and disable SSID broadcasting and only allow approved IP addresses to connect as for the slow speeds I'm getting the same and flow customer reps are real hogs

Disabling the SSID from broadcasting does not make it any safer, maybe from the average joe but anyone who knows what they are doing can still access it, finding it is as easy as using wireshark or aircrack to name examples, just saying.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » September 5th, 2014, 6:53 pm

Not everyone will go through all the processes just to get some free WiFi

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 5th, 2014, 7:42 pm

kerwinishere wrote:To avoid people connecting to your network try and disable SSID broadcasting and only allow approved IP addresses to connect as for the slow speeds I'm getting the same and flow customer reps are real hogs

Well I'm seeing exactly whose connected to me in real time while I'm getting the crap speeds of less than 1mb with the ASUS software.
ModMania wrote:Also a wireless tip: use AES/wpa and not wep, wep uses more processor power where as wpa doesnt.

This is how I see it set in my router.
Screenshot_1.png
Screenshot_1.png (3.93 KiB) Viewed 2445 times

ninjabilly wrote:What you can try is moving the modem to the first point of entry for your coaxial trunk, this will eliminate any malfunctioning splinter or frayed cable on the loop that could be causing your connection problems.

I'm trying really hard to understand this and not feel stupid.....help me out a bit more there please lol

ModMania

Postby ModMania » September 5th, 2014, 8:43 pm

Wait nah....less than 1Mbs....yuh pay yuh bill????

Flow has a config file for suspended accouts...those who aint payin get suspended with 512k

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » September 5th, 2014, 9:05 pm

Lol not a problem.

I am trying to determine your slow internet is due to a problem between the node(box outside on pole with blinking lights) and your modem.
To eliminate any wiring or splitter malfunction, connect your modem to the first point where flow's coaxial cable enters your home and do a speedtest.
If after the speed test your results are within acceptable ranges, then the problem is with your internal wiring and components.

Postby stev » September 5th, 2014, 9:13 pm

ninjabilly wrote:Lol not a problem.

I am trying to determine your slow internet is due to a problem between the node(box outside on pole with blinking lights) and your modem.
To eliminate any wiring or splitter malfunction, connect your modem to the first point where flow's coaxial cable enters your home and do a speedtest.
If after the speed test your results are within acceptable ranges, then the problem is with your internal wiring and components.

da fuq u talkin bout? there is no such thing...

whut?

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » September 5th, 2014, 9:16 pm

There are no such thing as a splitter malfuntion. Wow I guess the reason why I couldn't get a stable connection on a single split was due to fairies dancing in my cable, but once the splitter was replaced no noise and a stable connection.

Postby stev » September 5th, 2014, 9:32 pm

ninjabilly wrote:There are no such thing as a splitter malfuntion. Wow I guess the reason why I couldn't get a stable connection on a single split was due to fairies dancing in my cable, but once the splitter was replaced no noise and a stable connection.

yeh, nobody gives a sheit about ur fairy coax splitters....

whats this nonsense about box with lights on the pole?

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » September 5th, 2014, 9:37 pm

Why so hostile, take a chill pill.

If it wasn't dark out I would go take a picture of it, I may also be calling it by the wrong name. Long story short there was a problem with a friend's connection to said box, flow came out and rectified it.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 5th, 2014, 9:48 pm

Well I'm completely lost :| And yes ModMania less than 1mb.

On a more positive and slightly less weird but also derp note, I checked the cable that's connected to my modem and it seemed slightly loose for some reason. I tightened it back after the tech left when he changed the modem and cut the copper wire inside it so I was thinking ok, no reason to check that, it's tightly screwed in :(

Where the modem is it doesn't move or shake at all........so with that said, there seemed to have really been dancing fairies involved. Probably not dancing IN my cable but probably ON it.

Being serious for a bit tho, the white material covering the cable seems twisted in a spiral sort of way....so maybe it just undid itself? Sorcery? Physics? D fuq? :|

Speeds seemed to have normalized. Back to streaming 1080p normal and no drops etc. This doesn't fix all the BS and headache they caused me all them years back tho just cuz this ended up being my fault...somewhat. Guessing as how he cut the copper wire in the cable it actually made it worse as my connection got loose. Oh the sweet irony.

Ok I done type, firetruck.

Edit - nah nah nah.....so F.A.W.K. is a cuss now? It changed to firetruck.....wtmc, just after I say I done type too...steueps eh.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 6th, 2014, 7:22 am

Bodow. Full powahhh.

But on a real if you don't pay your bill. The Ethernet ports go dead and you just get WiFi at under 500km/s

ModMania

Postby ModMania » September 6th, 2014, 7:38 am

Glad to hear its fixed...

Stev that box on the pole may not be directly infront yur house....but in your area somewhere on some pole.....its called a node, its where fiber terminates and and coax leaves out to the taps where u get a line coming into yur house.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 7th, 2014, 11:39 pm

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 14th, 2014, 11:02 pm

Flow is not online tonight anyone else's down?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 15th, 2014, 5:34 am

Flow throttling my speed. Getting just over 260 kbps

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » September 15th, 2014, 2:37 pm

ModMania wrote:Wait nah....less than 1Mbs....yuh pay yuh bill????

Flow has a config file for suspended accouts...those who aint payin get suspended with 512k

you get no service at all, not 512K

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 15th, 2014, 3:04 pm

When I get less than 1mbps through the router, but full or faster speed when the modem directly connected to the computer, I find that a simple router reset does not always fix it.

I have to unplug all the lan cables from the router, reset, and then connect back everything. See if that helps. If you have no cables connected, well me eh know then. My router could just be malfunctioning.