*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby RapToR » August 5th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I NEED a RF remote

my light and a/c controller are not in the same direction as the TV, receiver etc etc and it's kinda pointless setting up a macro and you have to point the remote at each device in sequence

plus I like being able to control the volume on my music from anywhere in the house instead of having to walk from the kitchen and go point the remote at the receiver each time.

the Harmony One doesnt have RF either

If you want me to pick up one for you in best buy CA, let me know

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2011, 1:18 pm

RapToR wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I NEED a RF remote

my light and a/c controller are not in the same direction as the TV, receiver etc etc and it's kinda pointless setting up a macro and you have to point the remote at each device in sequence

plus I like being able to control the volume on my music from anywhere in the house instead of having to walk from the kitchen and go point the remote at the receiver each time.

the Harmony One doesnt have RF either

If you want me to pick up one for you in best buy CA, let me know
LOL no I mean I cannot do without an RF remote - i already have a Harmony 900

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 6th, 2011, 9:08 am

Anyone has an idea what price Paradigm Monitor series speakers go at?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2011, 12:35 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:Anyone has an idea what price Paradigm Monitor series speakers go at?
on the paradigm website they have a dealer listed in T&T

AUDIO VIDEO ONE
Glencoe, Trinidad W.i.
868 689 2065
domchatoor@gmail.com

http://paradigm.com/products/products-b ... r-speakers
click Where to buy and choose Trinidad W.I. under country

they don't have that series listed on Amazon

that's some NICE speakers though 8-)

BlitzMekenzie

Postby BlitzMekenzie » August 6th, 2011, 12:41 pm

whats the best projector i can buy? looking 2 play some movies off it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2011, 12:55 pm

^ depends on your budget and use

there are home theater projectors for US$20,000 and then there are ones for US$2,000

there is some discussion earlier on in this thread on the pros and cons of projectors for home theater.

In the January 2011 issue of Sound & Vision Magazine there is a review on the Epson Pro Cinema 9700B. While they classify it as a BUDGET projector, they say "it's fantastic value for just over US$3,000; you'd have to step up quite a bit in price to get a noticeable increase in performance"

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 6th, 2011, 6:56 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:Anyone has an idea what price Paradigm Monitor series speakers go at?

AUDIO VIDEO ONE
Glencoe, Trinidad W.i.
868 689 2065
domchatoor@gmail.com

Thanks, just want to know prices so I can budget for it.
Still haven't decided on a TV yet tho :x

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2011, 12:15 am

There is the Paradigm Cinema 110 which will be excellent if you plan on more movie watching than music listening

http://www.amazon.com/Paradigm-Cinema-1 ... 375&sr=8-4

I'm sure these will still sound GREAT with music too - it's Paradigm!

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » August 7th, 2011, 6:06 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ depends on your budget and use

there are home theater projectors for US$20,000 and then there are ones for US$2,000

there is some discussion earlier on in this thread on the pros and cons of projectors for home theater.

In the January 2011 issue of Sound & Vision Magazine there is a review on the Epson Pro Cinema 9700B. While they classify it as a BUDGET projector, they say "it's fantastic value for just over US$3,000; you'd have to step up quite a bit in price to get a noticeable increase in performance"

panasonic pt-ae4000u around $2200us.............best..its looks really good..in my opinion better than a lcd flat screen

it have the new pt-ae7000 full 1080p 3d for around $3000-$4000us,,should be out soon

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 7th, 2011, 3:12 pm

I have the PT-AE3000 about 2 1/2 yrs now. Working great. cah go wrong with a panasonic.
The pt-ae7000 looking like a good upgrade with the 3D.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2011, 7:23 pm

GLANIMAL wrote:

panasonic pt-ae4000u around $2200us.............best..its looks really good..in my opinion better than a lcd flat screen
for that price you can get a newer plasma that will show MUCH better than a LCD flat screen

the price-point/value for the projector comes in when you want a 110" screen

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 7th, 2011, 7:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:There is the Paradigm Cinema 110 which will be excellent if you plan on more movie watching than music listening

Yep! Was actually looking at that same set up .....only thing I was wondering is how well they'd be able to take "jamming".

Postby sharkman121 » August 7th, 2011, 7:50 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:I was looking at the Harmony 1100 but ended up deciding that its too damn expensive for what it does.
Got my Harmony One remote a couple days now and loving it. Setup was a breeze and now i no longer have to compete with the other remotes for space on the couch :|

my sentiments exactly when i got mine, lil over a year now. 11 remotes in one house was just ridiculous.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2011, 8:03 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:There is the Paradigm Cinema 110 which will be excellent if you plan on more movie watching than music listening

Yep! Was actually looking at that same set up .....only thing I was wondering is how well they'd be able to take "jamming".
very well if you match it to a good amp/receiver with appropriate power

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 7th, 2011, 8:42 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:I was looking at the Harmony 1100 but ended up deciding that its too damn expensive for what it does.
Got my Harmony One remote a couple days now and loving it. Setup was a breeze and now i no longer have to compete with the other remotes for space on the couch :|

my sentiments exactly when i got mine, lil over a year now. 11 remotes in one house was just ridiculous.

11 remotes?? :shock: damn....yours probably paid for itself by now with the money you saved not having to buy batteries :lol: :lol:

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » August 13th, 2011, 6:24 am

GLANIMAL wrote:

for that price you can get a newer plasma that will show MUCH better than a LCD flat screen

the price-point/value for the projector comes in when you want a 110" screen

exactly :)

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 22nd, 2011, 9:58 am

HTPC people.

Allyuh know how to get to bitstream DTSHD and Dolby TruHD from mkv files to the Receiver?
Ripped Bluray files from HD working but not mkv.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 22nd, 2011, 10:01 am

this works besss!!! and it friggin HUGE!

bess buy from Raptor ever

Postby crazybalhead » August 22nd, 2011, 10:21 am

AUDIO VIDEO ONE
Glencoe, Trinidad W.i.
868 689 2065
domchatoor@gmail.com

A new pair of Paradigm Atoms will run you about 450US in Barbados, the nearest dealership. There is no authorised dealer in Trinidad.

To be honest, the Atoms are amazing, but a little on the small side for serious music and HT listening. Sub has to do a lot of work.

The Monitors should be a little better.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 11:54 am

rmtuner wrote:HTPC people.

Allyuh know how to get to bitstream DTSHD and Dolby TruHD from mkv files to the Receiver?
Ripped Bluray files from HD working but not mkv.
what player are you using? VLC?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 22nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

I use powerdvd11, Arcsoft Total Media and Media Player Classic Home Cinema

VLC good?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 12:37 pm

^ http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
very good, free, very powerful yet very light

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 22nd, 2011, 12:37 pm

or use XBMC

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 1:59 pm

^ yup very robust and is the perfect platform for a HTPC

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2011, 12:15 pm

Tiger Direct has this for US$299 if you use the coupon code CEZ40513

Samsung HT-D5500 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System - 5.1 Channel, 1000 Watts Total, Built-in WiFi, Video Upscaling, iPod Dock, HDMI, USB, Black

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... =S254-0522

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 26th, 2011, 12:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Tiger Direct has this for US$299 if you use the coupon code CEZ40513

Samsung HT-D5500 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System - 5.1 Channel, 1000 Watts Total, Built-in WiFi, Video Upscaling, iPod Dock, HDMI, USB, Black

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... =S254-0522

i got those coming soon for $3000

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 26th, 2011, 2:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yup very robust and is the perfect platform for a HTPC

Ok I updated the shark codecs to latest v3.03 and now I getting full bitstreaming of MKV files with Dolby TrueHd and DTS-HD.
Using Windows Media Player.

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2011, 7:26 pm

So... XBMC had like zero support for all the music videos i have "collected" it never parsed them good... even the file names were uck...

Guess what i resorted to... Yup... Windows Media Center... :/

EDIT:
zomg... media center is XBMC for n00bs like me... :oops:
watch at this:
http://lifehacker.com/5475774/top-10-wi ... d-boosters
and dont forget airplay/video support...

Anton

Postby Anton » August 29th, 2011, 2:08 pm

Hey guys i'm doing a budget upgrade to my home theater speakers. I've decided that the best bang for buck for the mains would be a pair of Dayton Audio B652s
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdet ... er=300-652

I'm not sure if to get the Dayton CCS-33B center

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdet ... er=300-674

or if just to get an additional pair of the B652s and use either one or two for the center.

The receiver is a Pioneer VSX-820K

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... /VSX-820-K

Thanks