science does not set out to disprove any religion. People may take scientific fact and use it to show why a religious belief may not be reproducible, true or logical. But then too they may also take their blind faith in their own beliefs to claim that the beliefs of others' may not be reproducible, true or logical.Habit7 wrote:Science may have disproved some religions, not Christianity.
In my example, who would have organised the balls by colour?Habit7 wrote:Matter can never organise itself into a regulated system. In your horrible example, you released the ball to gravity. A ball at rest will stay at rest. Matter at rest will stay at rest. Matter doesn't jump up by acting on itself and forms systems.
I know, Habit has organised his response. Now we can move the conversation forward.... I must have missed the jokemaj. tom wrote:Hahahaha.
It good for yuh Slarti.
Slartibartfast wrote:Section 1
It seems we have reached an impasse here for now. We have presented all that we could present and have each failed to convince the other person. I will be able to present more on this section if you give and honest and straightforward answer for section 2 and section 4.
Section 2
That is not what I meant. What I mean is,
Do you agree with the following statements that makes no reference to religion, theism, atheism or God.
"Absence of evidence is not evidence of existence"
"Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence"
If no, please state why not, if yes, then no further justification is needed and we could close off this section.
Section 3
Sorry if this sounds like I am repeating myself, I just want to be certain. Are you saying that there cannot possibly be any physical or empirical evidence for God (and by extension that is why he is only proven through your logic and philosophy)? If no, please state how I misrepresented what you said.
Section 4
In my example I was illustrating that intelligent input was not needed in order to produce what may seem like a organised system. I was not arguing the origin of the energy in the ball. Just the fact that it is a closed system with no energy input/output and that if observed at the right time it would appear to be organised by colour (won't quote the rest of the argument a I will try to keep this short). Do you disagree with this statement? (only considering the closed system with no energy input/output, not considering the source of the system for now.) If you disagree state why.In my example, who would have organised the balls by colour?Habit7 wrote:Matter can never organise itself into a regulated system. In your horrible example, you released the ball to gravity. A ball at rest will stay at rest. Matter at rest will stay at rest. Matter doesn't jump up by acting on itself and forms systems.
Yes I would have given it the initial energy to get everything moving, but once I let it go I had no further input. In this section, I am not arguing about the origin of the energy in the system. I agree with Newton's first law of motion.
Nevertheless, yes agree with those statements esp. how it makes irrational the absolute claim that someone doesnt exist because I lack the evidence. (I tried not to reference atheism there, I hope you are plz)Slartibartfast wrote: Now that I have shown that absence of evidence is not evidence of existence (or absence), the only way to settle this argument is for you to prove that your God exists.
Precisely. So agree that it is possible to get what looks like an organised system (i.e. the system looks like it is regulated according to colour) with no intelligent input.Habit7 wrote:Also at your zenith, all the balls, at a snapshot, organised by colour, serves the wonderful function of...nada.
Habit7 wrote:Nevertheless, yes agree with those statements
Who says it has to be linked or is linked? It is true.Habit7 wrote:What links?
Bouncing balls arranged by colour is not a function system at a snapshot because it is not functioning.Slartibartfast wrote:I am not talking about the functioning of the system. I am talking about a snapshot of the functioning system.
Now that this has been established it can be used as a premise for future arguments between the two of us.The absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence... therefore, the absence of scientific evidence for God is not evidence of the absence of God.
The absence of evidence is not evidence of existence... therefore, the absence of scientific evidence for God is not evidence of the existence of God.
Good so you agree with the following.Habit7 wrote:Likewise, non-functional randomised bouncing balls coincide with colour categorisation, not the balls bouncing by colour categorisation.
I did not mention the system functioning. To refute this you must prove refute one of the followingSlartibartfast wrote:So agree that it is possible to get what looks like an organised system (i.e. the system looks like it is regulated according to colour) with no intelligent input.
If the change in red is made then I agree with this statement. Is the change made in red agreeable with you?Habit7 wrote:You are saying that a dead clock appears to function because twice a day, at one second, it tells the correct time. However, time coincides with the dead clock, not the clock maintaining time.
Habit7 wrote:The God of the Bible is transcendent, you can't go to God, He must come to you. He has given you a complex and ordered world for you to know that He as Creator far more complex and He has His laws for us. We have arguments that prove God, based on our God-given logic. Thus it all comes back to your innate knowledge of God, which you affirmed earlier. God wants you to humble yourself before His mighty power, if you come shaking your fist at Him, He will continue to cast you out like the rebel you are.For though the Lord is exalted,
Yet He regards the lowly,
But the haughty He knows from afar.
Psalm 138:6
Slartibartfast wrote:The absence of evidence is not evidence of existence
Slartibartfast wrote:You are clearly avoiding the argument because you are afraid of being refuted.
Slartibartfast wrote:... science disproves religion, as religious texts make a lot of assertions about reality that have been proven false....
...I never said religion is God or vice versa....
Habit7 wrote:Science may have disproved some religions, not Christianity. There is no empirical scientific fact that runs counter to Christianity...
...God is impossible to disprove because He is possible to prove. For instance I have done so already in this series of posts using the Law of causality
Slartibartfast wrote:It seems we have reached an impasse here for now. We have presented all that we could present and have each failed to convince the other person...
The absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence... therefore, the absence of scientific evidence for God is not evidence of the absence of God.
The absence of evidence is not evidence of existence... therefore, the absence of scientific evidence for God is not evidence of the existence of God.
Slartibartfast wrote:Ok so what links the natural and the supernatural? You said all evidence for God will be indirect and would have to somehow bridge that gap between natural and supernatural. Also you have to prove that the supernatural exists?
Habit7 wrote:What links? Law of causality, supernatural is the cause, nature is the effect.
Slartibartfast wrote:Is this the absolute only thing that links it? (Not arguing if this is wrong or right, still getting to understand your view)
Good so you agree with the following.Habit7 wrote:Likewise, non-functional randomised bouncing balls coincide with colour categorisation, not the balls bouncing by colour categorisation.
I did not mention the system functioning. To refute this you must prove refute one of the followingSlartibartfast wrote:So agree that it is possible to get what looks like an organised system (i.e. the system looks like it is regulated according to colour) with no intelligent input.
If the change in red is made then I agree with this statement. Is the change made in red agreeable with you?Habit7 wrote:You are saying that a dead clock appears to function twice a day, because at one second, it tells the correct time. However, time coincides with the dead clock, not the clock maintaining time.
Slartibartfast wrote:What if Steve is just an emotional guy?
That just postmodern ideology. How can you call yourself tolerant if you don't disagree with someone?Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Simply not believing what another person believes is not intolerance. What is intolerant is saying ONLY my way is right and I will rewarded by God and your way is so wrong that you will be punished by God and be tortured by the devil, you heathen, infidel, sinner.
what's a Dawkinist?Habit7 wrote:That just postmodern ideology. How can you call yourself tolerant if you don't disagree with someone?Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Simply not believing what another person believes is not intolerance. What is intolerant is saying ONLY my way is right and I will rewarded by God and your way is so wrong that you will be punished by God and be tortured by the devil, you heathen, infidel, sinner.
Muslims believe I am going to Hell and Dawkinists believe that I am deluded that doesn't mean I issue a fatwah on their head (at least Christians don't). I just think they are wrong.
I am sure reading this you are disagreeing with me but that doesn't mean we must merge black and white views into a grey soup. In a world with multiple religions, either all are wrong or one is right and all are wrong.
Intolerance is silencing opposing view, not disagreeing with them.
This right here is proof that Christianity is an emotionally abusive religion. Imagine if my kids had to see me the same way, I would consider myself a failure of a father. Habit, you want a hug bro... you look like you could use a hug. It must be tiring to constantly live like thisHabit7 wrote:...God is just in sending us all to Hell.
But God being rich in mercy...
But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death. - is this not your belief?Habit7 wrote:My belief sends no one to hell, a Muslim's belief sends no one to Hell and a Hindu's belief doesn't determine another's state when they reincarnate.
the God you believe in.Habit7 wrote:Christianity teaches God's standard is perfection, a measure no one meets. We have all lied, stolen, disobeyed our parents, hated people and all of these sins show our rebellion against the good God who created us. God is just in sending us all to Hell.
what of Muslims who do not believe Jesus is Christ,nor did he die on the cross or save the world of sin? They "shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone"?Habit7 wrote:But God being rich in mercy, chose to send His Son as a man to live the life we failed to live. Christ paid for the sins of those who would believe in Him bearing their sin while He endured the just wrath of God during the cross. He died and rose again to new life just as those who put their faith in Him have a new life in Him. Therefore God is just and the justifier of those who repent and put the faith in His Son in that God justly punishes sinners, while God justly punishes Christ in the place of Christians who have received the prefect sinless life of Christ.
well they surely can't all be right.Habit7 wrote:I believe that exclusive message of the gospel is right, which would mean all others wrong. I tolerate the other messages and even what they say about my eternal destiny. I believe they are wrong, they believe I am wrong. Either, one of us is correct or we are all wrong.