COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 26410 cases, 577 deaths, 9922 active, 15911 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » June 8th, 2021, 2:49 pm

Let me answer your questions as you came without disrespecting me and asked genuinely....I visit my General practitioner every 3 months along with my dentist (take pride in my teeth ) for regular check up blood work every 6 months to monitor myself which is why I can say I am healthy....I take pride in my health as you only have one life so make the best of it and treat your body good and it returns the favor. I work out daily to keep the blood flowing mind you I'm in my 20s... also I do not have kids. Like I said I have Never taken a flu short the vaccines I took I can't remember because I was a baby I guess. The last time I got the common cold was 5 years ago I remember well because I was like I don't get sick period.

Anyway if they make this vaccine thing mandatory please remember we live in trinidad where it is easy to get a fake ID fake DP ...a fake immunization card is nothing once you have the money..so I done beating up
carluva wrote:
hover11 wrote:I'm healthy so no I've never taken those things and have been perfectly fine without such so excuse me if I'm a little hesitatant to take such things....never even had a flu shot in my life, immune system on point so no need
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Can't compare that vaccination to this, you talking apples and oranges. Imagine I read an article where a guy was saying we take panadol and viagra why not take the vaccine ....those other vaccines were one shot and you were cleared for life to attend school , this covid vaccine every 6 months you must inject or you lose "immunity"

You never heard of booster shots - hepatitis, tetanus, pertusis, diphtheria, etc.

You keep coming up with these peculiar rationalizations as to why YOU choose not to take a Covid vaccine.

You keep debating about what is known - vaccines work.

You keep stating as fact what NO ONE knows - is a booster needed.

Don't vaccinate if you don't want to but there is something completely wrong with the lens that you're using to view information.

Hover11, I am curious so please indulge me for a moment.

Is it that you have never taken any vaccines in your life? Or did you got the first set of vaccines when you had no choice (i.e. as an infant) and thereafter, at some point in your life you stopped taking vaccines?

At what point in your life did you stop taking vaccines or shots?

Do you have kids? If so, have they been vaccinated?

On what basis are you saying that you are healthy? Do you "feel" healthy? Have you done regular medical examinations and blood tests which confirm you are healthy?
Last edited by hover11 on June 8th, 2021, 2:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Wraith King

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 26410 cases, 577 deaths, 9922 active, 15911 recovered in T&T

Postby Wraith King » June 8th, 2021, 2:49 pm

pugboy wrote:he announcing when unmasked arm wrestling can start back?

It has even stopped in the rainbow community?

carluva

Postby carluva » June 8th, 2021, 3:57 pm

hover11 wrote:Let me answer your questions as you came without disrespecting me and asked genuinely....I visit my General practitioner every 3 months along with my dentist (take pride in my teeth ) for regular check up blood work every 6 months to monitor myself which is why I can say I am healthy....I take pride in my health as you only have one life so make the best of it and treat your body good and it returns the favor. I work out daily to keep the blood flowing mind you I'm in my 20s... also I do not have kids. Like I said I have Never taken a flu short the vaccines I took I can't remember because I was a baby I guess. The last time I got the common cold was 5 years ago I remember well because I was like I don't get sick period.

Thanks for indulging me.

So it seems that your apprehension is related to flu vaccines, not necessarily all vaccines in general. Like you, I have never taken a flu vaccine nor have my children ever received the same. Never believed in it as I just let nature take its course. Personally, I am taking the COVID vaccine and am due for my 1st shot (AZ) this Thursday. Oddly enough, I think the presence of too much information, both legitimate and bogus, makes for difficult decision making and deciding to take this vaccine was truly an exercise in attempting to filter out the BS from non-BS.

I respect your view and your opinion. However, I would also advise the following my young friend... I know many persons in their 20s who are suffering from NCDs and was shocked that such young persons suffer from them. Many of them have said that this was due to poor eating choices growing up... too much meat; too much sweet drinks; not enough water; too much KFC; too much processed foods; alcohol etc. Moderation is the name of the game. You can do all the checkups and blood work, and kudos to you for doing so at a young age, but a poor diet that is not balanced and lacking basic nutritional minerals will cause health complications, sometimes irreversible. Don't even try to justify smoking and vaping. No amount of healthy lifestyle will compensate for smoking and vaping. So while you are young, keep up the interest in your health and make healthy decisions for your body.

I am not "fit" per se. And as a typical Trini, I have a pot belly. LOL. But I do eat in moderation and avoid ingesting processed foods too often. I hardly ever drink sweet drinks - my go to liquid is water. Occasionally I will have a soft drink and have some alcohol or the odd fresh juice. KFC and doubles is almost like once a month or once every two months.

hover11 wrote:Anyway if they make this vaccine thing mandatory please remember we live in trinidad where it is easy to get a fake ID fake DP ...a fake immunization card is nothing once you have the money..so I done beating up

This is where I will beat up on you.

If you do this, never, and I mean never, blame anyone for the state of affairs in Trinidad. Blame yourself and furthermore, don't ever criticise any other flaw in our society. Why? Because by falsifying such information, you are part of the problem in our society and if you are part of the problem, you can never be part of the solution. This is simply Trini mentality at its finest.

Continuing on... If you do this and falsify documentation such as this, you are doing a grave dis-service to all the persons who have made the decision to get a vaccine, for the betterment of themselves, the betterment of society and the betterment of persons such as you. You cannot expect to be anti-vaccine and expect to reap the benefits of those who have chosen to get vaccinated, if it comes to this. In fact, you are also creating a situation whereby you and others like you will prolong this pandemic and make if difficult for it to be ever brought under control.

So as I said from the onset, I respect your opinion. But please, if you exercise your right to abide by your opinion, do also accept the consequences that come with your decision and do not act as though you expect to have the cake and eat from it as well.

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2021, 4:01 pm

Hope you doing ct scans too, you never know what is growing inside of you that bloodwork never picks up whilst showing excellent health

dont ask me how i know

hover11 wrote:Let me answer your questions as you came without disrespecting me and asked genuinely....I visit my General practitioner every 3 months along with my dentist (take pride in my teeth ) for regular check up blood work every 6 months to monitor myself which is why I can say I am healthy....I take pride in my health as you only have one life so make the best of it and treat your body good and it returns the favor. I work out daily to keep the blood flowing mind you I'm in my 20s... also I do not have kids. Like I said I have Never taken a flu short the vaccines I took I can't remember because I was a baby I guess. The last time I got the common cold was 5 years ago I remember well because I was like I don't get sick period.

Anyway if they make this vaccine thing mandatory please remember we live in trinidad where it is easy to get a fake ID fake DP ...a fake immunization card is nothing once you have the money..so I done beating up

Postby Dave » June 8th, 2021, 4:13 pm

^^^ I can echo the same sentiments.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 8th, 2021, 4:24 pm

Postby K74T » June 8th, 2021, 4:24 pm

280 cases and 10 deaths

FB_IMG_1623183765900.jpeg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 8th, 2021, 4:24 pm

WOW! We should be ready to open back stuff by next week. :shock:

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 8th, 2021, 4:28 pm

DMan7 wrote:WOW! We should be ready to open back stuff by next week. :shock:
Yea bro seems like Rowley saved us from destruction.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 8th, 2021, 4:32 pm

wtf wrote:

The restrictions / lockdowns and mass vaccinations working. By July I reckon it'll be like we were never in a pandemic to begin with.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 8th, 2021, 4:34 pm

They report all the cases from the public holidays and weekends and thing already?

Postby aaron17 » June 8th, 2021, 4:34 pm

Yea but its still 10 ppl dead

Postby goalpost » June 8th, 2021, 4:34 pm

Sarcasm at its finest.

I hope...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 8th, 2021, 4:35 pm

wtf wrote:

The lockdowns have worked and worked well, despite what UNC and Fuad would have you believe. I'm definitely not the most pro-lockdown person, but in certain cases it is absolutely necessary. In fact, I have always said we took too long to lock down, despite what Habit7 would have you believe.

The good news is that the Rnaught is below 1, which means if we continue this lockdown for 3 more weeks. We can in fact be in a decent position to reopen.

That said, I would open up in the reverse order they locked down. Open beaches first, and WFM last.
CleanShot 2021-06-08 at 4.31.24.png

The P1 strain is very viral and the minute it crosses 1, we will need to lockdown again in order to contain it.

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2021, 4:41 pm

open back slowly and how to prevent idiots spreading en masse again?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 8th, 2021, 4:50 pm

pugboy wrote:open back slowly and how to prevent idiots spreading en masse again?

you can't really.....that's why we need mass vaccination

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7807 cases, 140 deaths, 121 active, 7546 recovered in T&T

Postby Habit7 » June 8th, 2021, 5:01 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:In fact, I have always said we took too long to lock down, despite what Habit7 would have you believe,

This was you, all of you, on March 18th 2021
Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,

We are too restricted given the number of cases, ease up is necessary as it's affecting people's livelihoods far too long. Not to mention the adverse effects on kids absent from school.

So when you found us too restricted, you retroactively wanted us to lockdown.

You would have been the first one to bawl dictatorship.

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2021, 5:48 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
wtf wrote:

The lockdowns have worked and worked well, despite what UNC and Fuad would have you believe. I'm definitely not the most pro-lockdown person, but in certain cases it is absolutely necessary. In fact, I have always said we took too long to lock down, despite what Habit7 would have you believe.

The good news is that the Rnaught is below 1, which means if we continue this lockdown for 3 more weeks. We can in fact be in a decent position to reopen.

That said, I would open up in the reverse order they locked down. Open beaches first, and WFM last.
CleanShot 2021-06-08 at 4.31.24.png

The P1 strain is very viral and the minute it crosses 1, we will need to lockdown again in order to contain it.

ey, it wasnt the lockdowns. the superspreader easter week, that had stopped. so the event that triggered the spread had ceased.
the bell curve woudl have gone up and down in any case.... soe or none.

the soe did stop interactivity, after the the damage had already been dealt. so it reduced that amount by some portion.

u can do all that we was doing before, just no mass gathering social events.

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2021, 6:00 pm

well hopefully the geographic tracking should show reductions across the board and hopefully the hotspot areas of illegals would have had herd immunity in those communities by now

Postby MaxPower » June 8th, 2021, 6:10 pm

wtf wrote:

Yeh bro,

As i said before, he get damn lucky eh.

Everything is working perfectly in his favor.

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2021, 6:47 pm

600+ dead ppl ain’t nothing to boast about eh

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 8th, 2021, 7:34 pm

sMASH wrote:
ey, it wasnt the lockdowns. the superspreader easter week, that had stopped. so the event that triggered the spread had ceased.
the bell curve woudl have gone up and down in any case.... soe or none.

the soe did stop interactivity, after the the damage had already been dealt. so it reduced that amount by some portion.

u can do all that we was doing before, just no mass gathering social events.

Nope, this isn't how virus spread works.

Viruses spread from person to person. So easter weekend (EW) amplified that because everyone was mixing and liming. So now imagine before EW we had 1000 cases, post EW we would now have 3000.

Those same 3000 persons would each spread it to 1 to 2 persons, hence the cycle of growth continues.

A lockdown then stops (in theory) the mingling or mixing of bubbles. So each of the active cases out there spreads it to less people. The aim is to keep the Rnaught less than one because that leads to fewer and fewer cases over time.

Cases don't spike and then stop growing unless they've reached some kind of sticking point like herd immunity.

Postby Country_Bookie » June 8th, 2021, 7:37 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1623163422745.jpeg
Fairy Al Rawi used the pandemic as cover to call a media conference at the same time as the normal MOH media conferences. The difference is his media conference was solely to bash the UNC. Man using this thing to play politics yes.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7807 cases, 140 deaths, 121 active, 7546 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » June 8th, 2021, 7:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:In fact, I have always said we took too long to lock down, despite what Habit7 would have you believe,

This was you, all of you, on March 18th 2021
Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,

We are too restricted given the number of cases, ease up is necessary as it's affecting people's livelihoods far too long. Not to mention the adverse effects on kids absent from school.

So when you found us too restricted, you retroactively wanted us to lockdown.

You would have been the first one to bawl dictatorship.

Some obsessive digging there Habit.

On March 18th, I did not know we had the P1 strain nor did I know cases were slowly growing. Our CMO and MOH did however know and say on their assess letting it get out of control.

Secondly, go dig some more and you'll see me saying (in light of the new information) that we should lockdown.

Remember I told you both Singapore and Taiwan who locked down early would prevent an outbreak, unlike Trinidad.

Well I've been proven right so far as their cases are dropping.

CleanShot 2021-06-08 at 7.37.36.png

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 26410 cases, 577 deaths, 9922 active, 15911 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » June 8th, 2021, 7:42 pm

pugboy wrote:600+ dead ppl ain’t nothing to boast about eh

Could have been worse bro.

600+ dead is not his fault.

Trinis were irresponsible and it led to their death and endangered the lives of others.

Whether PNM or UNC…wearing a mask, sanitizing and not congregating would have saved more lives.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7305 cases, 129 deaths, 285 active, 6891 recovered in T&T

Postby goalpost » June 8th, 2021, 8:08 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
matr1x wrote:Here is to a covid new year

true talk. covid will likely kill out more people in 2021 than 2020.

Huh

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2021, 8:13 pm

without the easter weekend, it would move back to the normal method of spreading, as it was before. with minor bumps here and there. it would run out of high rate of new peopel to infect as the peopel went back to their regular interactivity.
yes its a cyclical growth, but it needs new people to infect adn that woudl have been staved off cause easter stopped.

the bell curve woudl still occur cause easter week put a sh*t ton of cases. and as it burned tru the new people, it woudl adjust it self back down.

yes, the soe reduced how large the bell curve was, tho. cause it cut down the activity to even lower than the normal rate.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 8th, 2021, 8:28 pm

sMASH wrote:without the easter weekend, it would move back to the normal method of spreading, as it was before. with minor bumps here and there. it would run out of high rate of new peopel to infect as the peopel went back to their regular interactivity.
yes its a cyclical growth, but it needs new people to infect adn that woudl have been staved off cause easter stopped.

the bell curve woudl still occur cause easter week put a sh*t ton of cases. and as it burned tru the new people, it woudl adjust it self back down.

yes, the soe reduced how large the bell curve was, tho. cause it cut down the activity to even lower than the normal rate.

No, and. you need to learn to spell or use autocorrect.

Our regular activity was more than enough to propel this spike. Hence why you saw extreme growth after easter. That indicates in our 'normal' we had a high Rnaught and the minute we get back to normal, we'll have inevitable spikes.

The difference is that in the future, people might be more vigilant (I hope) and we'll also have 10% vaccinated as well as some natural herd immunity. So future spikes that might happen Aug/Sept should not be as bad, however, it's definitely possible for it to be worse (complacency, pointless and ill-timed restrictions, Sinopharm not working well).

Do you think Easter weekend was some magical super spreader one-off event? No, that's not how viral spread works. Easter just brought it up a couple of weeks.

The P1 is 2.2 times more virulent than the original strain. Easter or not, we would have had a bad spike because of the P1 strain.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 8th, 2021, 8:37 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:without the easter weekend, it would move back to the normal method of spreading, as it was before. with minor bumps here and there. it would run out of high rate of new peopel to infect as the peopel went back to their regular interactivity.

No, and. you need to learn to spell or use autocorrect.

Our regular activity was more than enough to propel this spike. Hence why you saw extreme growth after easter. That indicates in our 'normal' we had a high Rnaught and the minute we get back to normal, we'll have inevitable spikes.

The difference is that in the future, people might be more vigilant (I hope) and we'll also have 10% vaccinated as well as some natural herd immunity. So future spikes that might happen Aug/Sept should not be as bad, however, it's definitely possible for it to be worse (complacency, pointless and ill-timed restrictions, Sinopharm not working well).

Do you think Easter weekend was some magical super spreader one-off event? No, that's not how viral spread works. Easter just brought it up a couple of weeks.

The P1 is 2.2 times more virulent than the original strain. Easter or not, we would have had a bad spike because of the P1 strain.

Man telling people they need to learn how to spell and or use autocorrect
Also claiming to be an expert on how viruses spread and ...

He doh understand the difference between the words Virulent and Transmissible.

Postby K74T » June 8th, 2021, 9:03 pm

Dotishplaydat