COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 5 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby Les Bain » March 17th, 2020, 8:01 pm

Watching a news report posted an hour ago on BBC news' YouTube here. The French now cannot go outside without an authorization form.

I hope our remaining pockets of cyakkers prepared not stress out our medical services when what they tempting gets them. Hush and dead quick.

Postby hydroep » March 17th, 2020, 8:15 pm

Some people who migrated and never gave up their citizenship are eligible to return too. Imagine the scene if they decide to come back for an extended period...:|

Postby redmanjp » March 17th, 2020, 8:32 pm

didn't they say before the ban that all incoming passengers must self quarantine?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2020, 8:47 pm

It's been 5 days with 5 confirmed cases so far.
No new cases reported today - is that because we are not testing or because there truly are no more cases in T&T at this time?

Postby eliteauto » March 17th, 2020, 8:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:didn't they say before the ban that all incoming passengers must self quarantine?

with the exception of 2, all my clients who have returned in the last 2 weeks have been sent on mandatory self-quarantine by their respective employers

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 17th, 2020, 8:53 pm

They are only testing ppl showing 'severe' symptoms, also as part of the testing criteria you have had to been in contact with someone with the virus or came back to Trini from a country that had it. Mild cases aren't being tested so ppl with "mild" cases of the virus can still infect others.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It's been 5 days with 5 confirmed cases so far.
No new cases reported today - is that because we are not testing or because there truly are no more cases in T&T at this time?

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 17th, 2020, 8:54 pm

Heard from a DMO buddy that they are NOT testing persons who have not traveled in 14 days. It is one of the main criteria at this time.

Basically they sticking to the "imported cases only" story. Even close contacts of infected persons are not being tested unless they become symptomatic.

Don't know if this is typical protocol for other countries or we just special.
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on March 17th, 2020, 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » March 17th, 2020, 8:55 pm

They arent testing you unless you were on a flight in the last 2 weeks or in direct contact with someone who was on a flight.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 17th, 2020, 8:55 pm

That is correct an will spread the virus. If ppl don't know they won't quarantine
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Heard from a DMO buddy that they are NOT testing persons who have not traveled in 14 days. It is one of the main criteria at this time.

Basically they sticking to the "imported cases only" story. Even close contacts of infected persons are not being tested unless they become symptomatic.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 17th, 2020, 8:56 pm

So the WHO is advising countries to test as much as possible but we are going against that here since cases are too 'mild' to be tested
Screenshot_20200316-132549.jpeg

Postby Chimera » March 17th, 2020, 8:56 pm

I could do with a test

Was in Grenada last week.
Was in New York and miami the week before that
And endlessly in close contact with some friends who were on a 7 day cruise that visit like 5 countries that have the virus

And ah feeling sickish

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby Gladiator » March 17th, 2020, 8:59 pm

No fuktard... get the balisier out your ass and do some reading from published articles from other countries dealing with the outbreaks. By that doctor stressing that the virus is "mild" people would NOT take it seriously and go out in public while sick and spread it. This is exactly what your dumschit prime minister saying not to do.

When the ICU is overwhelmed the decision is made NOT to treat the older people, hence they die and make up the death stats added to the fact that they are more susceptible and also at a higher risk of death. This does not mean that younger persons aren't suffering when they get COVID19 and need ICU care too. Her dotish "good news it only affecting old people" and it "mild" is extremely irresponsible...

Then again.... the majority of allyuh votebank is 80+ .... so go ahead and misinform them and see what happen!!!

boxy wrote:
Gladiator wrote:For those chanting this is ah old people disease... like Dr Trotman with her "good news"

CNN:

More than half of coronavirus cases in France under intensive care are below the age of 60
More than half of France's 300 coronavirus patients in intensive care are under the age of 60, according to the head of the country's national health agency.

“We have counted this evening 300 serious cases in intensive care. We have serious cases also amid adults and let me remind you that more than 50% of people in intensive care are under 60," Jerome Salomon said at a news conference on Saturday.
Salomon did not specify the age range of those under 60.

As of Sunday, French health authorities said there are 5,423 confirmed cases in the country, with 127 deaths reported.

That is an increase of 29 deaths and more that 1,300 cases from the day before, according to health authorities.
People of all ages suffer from these but the elderly may not be strong enough to completely fight it. How hard is this to understand? Cherry picking articles to get clout on social media. Or you just felt Dr Trotman bruise yuh ego too much with her explanationtapatalk_1584363061089.jpeg

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 17th, 2020, 9:00 pm

Are you being serious?? If you are contact me asap

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 17th, 2020, 9:13 pm

Wouldn't they issue a test for you because of your recent travel history? Maybe check up on it, might help
Phone Surgeon wrote:I could do with a test

And endlessly in close contact with some friends who were on a 7 day cruise that visit like 5 countries that have the virus

And ah feeling sickish

Postby redmanjp » March 17th, 2020, 9:17 pm

ST Auto wrote:They are only testing ppl showing 'severe' symptoms, also as part of the testing criteria you have had to been in contact with someone with the virus or came back to Trini from a country that had it. Mild cases aren't being tested so ppl with "mild" cases of the virus can still infect others.

they did do almost 100 tests so far and still only 5 positive- maybe someone went in a public place and spread it so they can't trace all possible cases, hence the lockdowns. maybe it was that school.

those mild cases u referring to is ones not connected indirectly (had contact with) to a traveller right? because how would they know that someone who has no connection likely has that.

Postby redmanjp » March 17th, 2020, 9:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I could do with a test

And ah feeling sickish

did they at least tell you to self quarantine? i wonder if at this stage is only optional

zorced

Postby zorced » March 17th, 2020, 9:25 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:

This is true. Absurd right....

Anyone can shed light on the test kit supply? Supposedly very limited.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 17th, 2020, 9:26 pm

Yes not connected to travelling. Point is testing is the key to information an quarantining which will stop spreading.
redmanjp wrote:
ST Auto wrote:They are only testing ppl showing 'severe' symptoms, also as part of the testing criteria you have had to been in contact with someone with the virus or came back to Trini from a country that had it. Mild cases aren't being tested so ppl with "mild" cases of the virus can still infect others.

they did do almost 100 tests so far and still only 5 positive- maybe someone went in a public place and spread it so they can't trace all possible cases, hence the lockdowns. maybe it was that school.

those mild cases u referring to is ones not connected indirectly (had contact with) to a traveller right? because how would they know that someone who has no connection likely has that.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 17th, 2020, 9:29 pm

Supposedly have 3000 kits according to the press conference yesterday
zorced wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 17th, 2020, 9:33 pm

Make some friends within the medical fraternity...your head will explode

Postby The_Honourable » March 17th, 2020, 9:45 pm

The more we learn about the coronavirus, the more nefarious it becomes.

Most public efforts to are focused on detecting those with symptoms, like a fever. But new research shows that the majority of covid-19 carriers (50%-75%) are asymptomatic. So you're much more likely to get infected by someone who looks and feels fine.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » March 17th, 2020, 9:56 pm

With only 3000 kits available it may not be practical to go about a mass testing so the only option is to confirm cases by testing those that are symptomatic and containment for everyone else.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2020, 10:11 pm

zorced wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

I believe it was said that only CARPHA has test kits.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2020, 10:12 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2020, 10:18 pm

The_Honourable wrote:The more we learn about the coronavirus, the more nefarious it becomes.

Most public efforts to are focused on detecting those with symptoms, like a fever. But new research shows that the majority of covid-19 carriers (50%-75%) are asymptomatic. So you're much more likely to get infected by someone who looks and feels fine.

What other virus has up to 75% of those infected are asymptomatic?

Postby Gladiator » March 17th, 2020, 10:20 pm

The_Honourable wrote:The more we learn about the coronavirus, the more nefarious it becomes.

What other virus has up to 75% of those infected are asymptomatic?

Its almost like this virus is choosing who it wants to kill!!

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2020, 10:23 pm

Feeling to go herd Immunity route.

LOCK away all the old and immuno compromised people fir a month, get infected and ride it out, then carry the antibodies for it.
Then leggo the old people.... Can't transmit it, and can't contract it again. So old people can't get it.

Postby Gladiator » March 17th, 2020, 10:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

India's Govt is doing the same... only testing a certain amount a day to not let the numbers jump up. Real bullshitery...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » March 17th, 2020, 10:39 pm

They claim resource management as the reasoning.
Gladiator wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

India's Govt is doing the same... only testing a certain amount a day to not let the numbers jump up. Real bullshitery...

Postby paid_influencer » March 17th, 2020, 10:55 pm

sMASH wrote:Feeling to go herd Immunity route.

LOCK away all the old and immuno compromised people fir a month, get infected and ride it out, then carry the antibodies for it.
Then leggo the old people.... Can't transmit it, and can't contract it again. So old people can't get it.

I said I would stop posting, but this dragged me back in.

People tend to focus on things the want to see. Herd Immunity is a thing, and the opposite of herd immunity also holds true for the same reason. i.e., if a large percentage of people are infected, it would be nearly impossible to prevent transmission to the remaining uninfected.

For example, say SFGH has hundreds of people that come in everyday to work as heath care workers, receptionists, technicians, lab attendants, guards, food handlers, etc. If that working population gets infected with any measurable prevalence, it would be impossible to stop them from spreading it in the hospital and we would then have a --- clusterf*k catastrophe --- level of deaths in a very short space of time.

Anybody with diabetes, heart, asthma, is seriously at risk in the next few weeks. It's important as f*ck they stay isolated and its important as f*k we try to flatten out that curve too.

I'm going back to not posting now :drinking: