zoom rader wrote:^^^ dat ok more black oman for me
screwbash wrote:help TT nationas first. give more food cards, more welfate cheques, allow the food cards to buy rum and cigarette. help TT nationals ease they stress.
Nah,Ben_spanna wrote:zoom rader wrote:^^^ dat ok more black oman for me
So now yuh iz ah hypocreet! i thawt yuh always preeching anyting black is peenem and yuh aint want Nutthen to do with dat.
Well look ting now!
V’zuelans hurt in Woodford Square consider legal action
From left, Jairo Fontt, 22, and Yuliannys Pérez, 19, speak with Newsday at Independence Square, Port of Spain, on Wednesday. -
TWO VENEZUELANS that were injured by a falling parts of a tree in Woodford Square on Monday are now considering taking legal action against the State for compensation.
Yuliannys Pérez (19) and Jairo Fontt (22), both currently unemployed, were sitting on a bench in the Woodford Square, Port of Spain, last Monday, when they were surprised by a tree that broke in two and fell on them.
Caught under the rubble, they were helped by passers-by and police who were on spot.
Minutes later, emergency services took them to the PoS General Hospital.
"We were walking around the city looking for work and decided to sit in Woodford Square in front of the red house to rest," Yuliannys said yesterday to Newsday after being discharged from the hospital by doctors.
Yuliannys Perez shows some of the injuries she suffered when parts of a tree fell on her and fellow Venezuelan Jairo Fontt on Monday in Woodford Square. - AYANNA KINSALE
He said the accident happened while they were praying to God to help them get a job.
“The tree made a strange sound and fell immediately without giving us time to move. There was no wind.”
The couple comes from the city of Guiria in the Venezuelan state of Sucre. Fontt has been in TT since last February and Perez since April. They live in St James.
Yuliannys was fired from her previous job last Saturday, while Jairo has been unemployed for three months.
"We are alive by the mercy of God," added the girl.
The doctors who treated them in the hospital observed scratches on their arms, legs, necks, back and face. In addition the pair had injuries that generate swelling and pain that prevent them from performing some physical activities. They were told the pains might remain for more than a month.
Perez said she told doctors that she had a lot of pain in her neck but they were unwilling to give her a collar. A Venezuelan friend lent her one.
Perez also said she was not given the medical report and was told that only the police were authorised to do so.
Fontt said, “They gave us three tablets of Diclofenac, Ibuprofen and Omeprazole. They also sent us to buy other medicines on our own, but we have no money.”
The pair said, so far, no government entity in TT had offered them any assistance or asked about the status of their injuries.
They said they went to the Living Watter Community to ask for help but were refused.
They also went to the Venezuelan Embassy and were met by the consul, Ricardo Sánchez, who promised to help them.
The pair said they would consider taking legal action if they could not get help.
Fontt said,"We do not have work, we have no food, nor to pay rent, so we are practically unable to work and someone must take responsibility, it is not possible that a tree that looked old had not been cut before an accident."
The two said they were in talks with a local lawyer to proceed with a complaint against the relevant authorities.
rspann wrote:Look how their prayers were answered. Settlement for damages from POS corporation, no need to look for work for a while.
88sins wrote:those two, they trying a ting, but it eh go work out for them the way they hoped.
pugboy wrote:so illegal ones getting free health care ?
MaxPower wrote:pugboy wrote:so illegal ones getting free health care ?
I see no issue here,
Trinidad is here to help.
pugboy wrote:so illegal ones getting free health care ?
pugboy wrote:i seeing plenty chicas esp in san juan walking with small styrotex coolers selling pies
You are not zoomy, so you safeMaxPower wrote:^ fire the Trinis, pay the Venes $350 or more.
Do not hire the Trinis, fire them and let them change their stink mentality. I am so proud that many businesses are taking this step.
This country needs more productivity and discipline and the locals are being out performed.
Mods, are these hate comments or facts?
Respond.
Kickstart wrote:You are not zoomy, so you safe