Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 10:19 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Using it to pay for municipal services is what was originally planned for by the ministry, and is what those taxes are used for in every other country that has such a tax.

You can pretend I am a PNM all you want, go and rant on your facebook about it under every newspaper article and status if you want. If you step back and watch for one minute, you go see that this tax will end up just like VAT. Contentious in the beginning but secretly even the opposition knows and wants it to stay. They all just toe the party line and contrarian stance to rope all of you into one of two camps.

I guess that's why they stopped it for so many years, to see it stay :roll:

Exactly Dragon Dude ! Smart :D

It did not matter , the sky did not fall.

There is no need for Data and Property Tax.

PNM is Maco Central.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2018, 10:27 pm

De Dragon wrote:I guess that's why they stopped it for so many years, to see it stay :roll:

Is all a chess game, is all for show.

Proton Head believes .
There is a nice rocky chair waiting for you in St Anns.

I not PNM bredda, not UNC, COP, PEP or anything else. Just a fella that proceeding down an academic route relating to this very thing. I not putting my head on a block for no politician because all of them taking their money from the same men at the top.

Postby De Dragon » May 3rd, 2018, 10:41 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
De Dragon wrote:I guess that's why they stopped it for so many years, to see it stay :roll:

Is all a chess game, is all for show.

Proton Head believes .
There is a nice rocky chair waiting for you in St Anns.

I not PNM bredda, not UNC, COP, PEP or anything else. Just a fella that proceeding down an academic route relating to this very thing. I not putting my head on a block for no politician because all of them taking their money from the same men at the top.

The "Axe the Tax" was a cornerstone on which the PP won that election in 2010. They'd be foolish to support any reintroduction of it. No show thing there, just common sense.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2018, 10:51 pm

De Dragon wrote:The "Axe the Tax" was a cornerstone on which the PP won that election in 2010. They'd be foolish to support any reintroduction of it. No show thing there, just common sense.

I still have one of the yellow "Do So" stickers lying around somewhere, and they will fight it on those grounds again in 2020, and remember when i say that even by then, is an extremely slim chance that people will be taxed.

The longer Devant fight this the better, since middle of last year I saying he taking it to the Privy Council if he get the chance. Many people dont have a $500 to $1500 to drop on this every year; the tax rates they using are highly dependent on the land/house location. And as much as you feel is 'common sense' for what these people doing, they still knocking glass together in the tea room of Tower D on the waterfront.

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 11:19 pm

Proton Head missing the entire concept with this Tax Property issue.

It is not that just because you spending or you have money - you should be taxed.

Where the tax dollars going ? Where have the tax dollars and boom $$ gone ?

History is repeating itself Proton Head. Rehashing your words " Educate yourself "

"Chess Game" my tanty arse on by father's ex wife side once removed !

Postby De Dragon » May 3rd, 2018, 11:32 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
De Dragon wrote:The "Axe the Tax" was a cornerstone on which the PP won that election in 2010. They'd be foolish to support any reintroduction of it. No show thing there, just common sense.

I still have one of the yellow "Do So" stickers lying around somewhere, and they will fight it on those grounds again in 2020, and remember when i say that even by then, is an extremely slim chance that people will be taxed.

The longer Devant fight this the better, since middle of last year I saying he taking it to the Privy Council if he get the chance. Many people dont have a $500 to $1500 to drop on this every year; the tax rates they using are highly dependent on the land/house location. And as much as you feel is 'common sense' for what these people doing, they still knocking glass together in the tea room of Tower D on the waterfront.

Common sense is not making a 180 on the position that helped you get elected. Common sense is fighting the reintroduction of the tax in the courts to keep your support. Whether or not they socialize in the tea room is irrelevant when the political bell rings

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2018, 11:50 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^^

It is not that just because you spending or you have money - you should be taxed.

History is repeating itself Proton Head. Rehashing your words " Educate yourself "

You moving the goalposts every time I say something, it gone from calling me a PNM to trying to argue about philosophy of taxation. Settle down yute, I say anything defending the tax? whether or not we should pay it? Not a damn thing

I defend a party or any minster? No. I giving alyuh information that getting withheld from the public and what you doing bredda, is shooting the messenger.

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 3:19 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^^

You moving the goalposts every time I say something, it gone from calling me a PNM to trying to argue about philosophy of taxation. Settle down yute, I say anything defending the tax? whether or not we should pay it? Not a damn thing

I defend a party or any minster? No. I giving alyuh information that getting withheld from the public and what you doing bredda, is shooting the messenger.

Ya getting dazed and confused .. again and again
You supporting PNM property tax with municipal services, podium talk, goal post , chess etc.,
PNM man go to school & educate yourself :lol:

Postby 88sins » May 4th, 2018, 5:49 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Using it to pay for municipal services is what was originally planned for by the ministry, and is what those taxes are used for in every other country that has such a tax.

d problem is that ppl fed up. fed up of these politicians saying one thing & then doing something entirely different. fed up of the ever increasing cost of living. fed up of fuel hikes. fed up of new taxes being rammed up & down their G.I. tract, & fed up of being forced to pay to clean up some dumbass politicians clusterf_ck. And when ppl truly totally fed up, they will oppose you & tell you to your face they know you are a liar & are fed up of the lies & they no longer tolerating your deceit. & that is where the bulk of the opposition on this tax issue comes from.

if baldilocks & lemonface really wanted the support of the public on this it'd be easy to get, by reforming the law & allowing the regional corps to collect & use the revenue collected for projects in their respective areas, so that taxpayers would directly see their dollars at work. But nah, they not doing that to save their life, because they & the public know that these politicians only lookin for another source of money to mismanage/misappropriate. People generally wouldn't have as much of an issue in paying a tax that they know & can see does something for them.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 4th, 2018, 7:20 am

RedVEVO wrote:Ya getting dazed and confused .. again and again
You supporting PNM property tax with municipal services, podium talk, goal post , chess etc.,

lol, stay in your corner unless you have a question to ask

Postby 88sins » May 4th, 2018, 9:22 am

ProtonPowder wrote:

dat kinda like askin Satan to install a/c in he kitchen

assassin

Postby assassin » May 4th, 2018, 9:41 am

if baldilocks & lemonface really wanted the support of the public on this it'd be easy to get, by reforming the law & allowing the regional corps to collect & use the revenue collected for projects in their respective areas, so that taxpayers would directly see their dollars at work. [/b][/u] does something for them.

Yep. And it was campaigned that this local government reform was one of the first major changes to be undertaken

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 12:44 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

dat kinda like askin Satan to install a/c in he kitchen

There is no Satan .. and no corner :D it does not exist .

Some really ole arse people on tuner .. with ancient concepts .

And voodoo stick shaking :D

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 10th, 2018, 10:32 pm

Lmao

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 10th, 2018, 11:15 pm

What papers is that?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2018, 5:08 am

d last paragraph killing me

Postby hydroep » May 11th, 2018, 7:08 am

"What really is the link between what one has and the property tax..."

Well a senator say if squatters have cable they could afford the tax. Sh!tkicker say to whom much is given much is expected. And on CNC3's mid-term analysis last night Conrad Enill basically say the same thing talking about a man who was complaining that his after tax profit gone from > $ 100M to < $ 75M.

Uncertainty is one thing but it's the apparent dishonesty in the approach people seem to have a problem with. On the one hand you're saying its based on physical attributes of the property and now it appears that will be qualified by an arbitrary assessment of one's wealth. When you look at who's in charge that's a justifiable concern...:|

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 11th, 2018, 7:12 am

Tax is based solely upon 3 factors

1) square footage of the house.
2)class of the house (executive, modern, standard, substandard, shack).
3)Band of the house. In each regional corporations there are high income or low income areas. So for example, a house in Palmiste would have a higher multiplier than a house on in Diamond or Esperance a few minutes away.

Postby zoom rader » May 11th, 2018, 7:27 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Tax is based solely upon 3 factors

3)Band of the house. In each regional corporations there are high income or low income areas. So for example, a house in Palmiste would have a higher multiplier than a house on in Diamond or Esperance a few minutes away.
Yup this tax was really an injun tax

Postby bluefete » May 11th, 2018, 7:30 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:What papers is that?

Sunshine.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2018, 7:43 am

1% have some to pay as well

Postby matr1x » May 11th, 2018, 8:39 am

How you sure the 1% paying?

Postby The_Honourable » May 13th, 2018, 12:08 am

After prolonged debate in both houses of the parliament, the Property Tax Amendment Bill 2018 was passed in the Senate.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 13th, 2018, 12:53 am

The_Honourable wrote:After prolonged debate in both houses of the parliament, the Property Tax Amendment Bill 2018 was passed in the Senate.

I wonder if the new return form in the schedule for this bill

Postby The_Honourable » May 23rd, 2018, 12:07 pm

Property Tax is fair

THE idea that the Property Tax unfairly targets East Indians was refuted by surveyor and commentator Afra Raymond speaking to Newsday yesterday. At a recent Maha Sabha function, guest of honour surgeon Dr Dilip Dan alleged that the tax maybe being targeted at East Indians who had tirelessly toiled and saved to build their homes rather than squander their earnings.

Raymond however retorted that such a notion of an unfair taxation was an idea imported from the political right-wing in the United States and was not related to the Africans and East Indians of TT. He argued that as property is a store of wealth it should be taxed the same way as a business such as a travel agency into which a pair of business partners had invested their individual capital and was now generating revenues. Raymond made the point that property tax is not charged on capital value, but on rental value.

Lamenting that property tax has not been paid since 2009, Raymond said, "It is long overdue. The quicker they bring it the better."

Source: http://newsday.co.tt/2018/05/21/afra-pr ... x-is-fair/

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2018, 12:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

1% have some to pay as well
1% will most likely have their houses linked to their bussiness and pay less when they cook the books as a loss

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 23rd, 2018, 12:42 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Property Tax is fair

THE idea that the Property Tax unfairly targets East Indians was refuted by surveyor and commentator Afra Raymond speaking to Newsday yesterday. At a recent Maha Sabha function, guest of honour surgeon Dr Dilip Dan alleged that the tax maybe being targeted at East Indians who had tirelessly toiled and saved to build their homes rather than squander their earnings.

Raymond however retorted that such a notion of an unfair taxation was an idea imported from the political right-wing in the United States and was not related to the Africans and East Indians of TT. He argued that as property is a store of wealth it should be taxed the same way as a business such as a travel agency into which a pair of business partners had invested their individual capital and was now generating revenues. Raymond made the point that property tax is not charged on capital value, but on rental value.

Lamenting that property tax has not been paid since 2009, Raymond said, "It is long overdue. The quicker they bring it the better."

But who/what determines the rental value . the figures i seeing is crazy

Postby hydroep » May 23rd, 2018, 12:51 pm

^Exactly, it's an arbitrary value made by valuators and the higher properties are valued the more money they make. Afra Raymond is not a surveyor/property valuator or something so?...:|

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2018, 2:14 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Property Tax is fair

But who/what determines the rental value . the figures i seeing is crazy

well yuh done know who eatin out a pnm anus already.
Assfra Rammond knows full well he is spouting nonsense, because the average homeowner derives zero income from it & bears all the expenses relating to it's upkeep.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 23rd, 2018, 5:13 pm

For some of the statements here I can clarify.

Commercial rates are tied to the building, not to the business entity, and are higher than residential rates. Property taxes are not income taxes and cannot be written off if the business draws a loss in a fiscal year.

"Rental rates" are misleading. Yes we know that the majority of owners are not renting their properties. It is a 'potential rental value.' People could understand the basis of capital value even though they not selling their property, but somehow this confusing people.