Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby De Dragon » March 16th, 2016, 9:24 pm

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:I suspect that if sheit was put in your mouth and you were told it was ice cream by Underwear Man, Haram Rawi, in fact, any PNM official you'd "nyam" it down and ask for seconds.
I'm positive that that claim will never be backed up by anything tangible in the way of documentation. You'll have to forgive my cynicism, but Haram- Rawi is not someone I'd believe "jus' so"
Also is it possible at all for you to defend the PNM without reference to the UNC? We all agree that sheit took place on their watch, but that doesn't mean that sheit happening now is not sheit.
Umm, but aren't you nyamming what Padarath putting in your mouth?

If there is actual proof of "sheit" I will condemn it. But all you are offering is your delusions and I can't disprove that.

WRT to achievements, our last wanderlust for achievements without revenue generation has left us in this wonder pile of debt that we are in. Road paving, box drains and other construction is ongoing without fanfare. Let's consider achievements to be stabilising economy, not going to the IMF cap in hand and creating new revenue generating sources leading to a more diversified economy.

In other words, your beloved PNM has got zip, zero, nada, zilch, nix, goose egg.

Postby Habit7 » March 16th, 2016, 10:36 pm

Well Mr. Unbiased I have posted some acheivements in this thread already. Even tonight there was a commissioning ceremony for the lighting of La Savanne recreational field in Mayaro. But if you want a UML style wall of pictures celebrating every box drain and road paving you will be disappointed.

The priority right now is to generate revenue to pay for achievements of the last govt.

Postby De Dragon » March 16th, 2016, 10:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:Well Mr. Unbiased I have posted some acheivements in this thread already. Even tonight there was a commissioning ceremony for the lighting of La Savanne recreational field in Mayaro. But if you want a UML style wall of pictures celebrating every box drain and road paving you will be disappointed.

The priority right now is to generate revenue to pay for achievements of the last govt.

:?
But according to you, recreational ground lighting does not qualify as "achievements". Didn't you say that stabilizing the economy and not approaching the IMF are true achievements? Is it that you are saying that the last Government achieved because they did/didn't do these things? Or are you using circular logic because the PNM will never achieve these achievements?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 17th, 2016, 4:52 am

66 pages....anything?

Postby De Dragon » March 17th, 2016, 5:27 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:66 pages....anything?

Stable economy. No
IMF Relief seeking- No
Well according to Habit7 the latter is an achievement :roll:
What they have definitely achieved is continuation of the Marlene/Carew debacle, and the continuing blind eye being cast by Underwear Man, who despite his calls to "bring evidence" is showing that in spite of said evidence, he will do nothing unless absolutely forced to. Two Plate meanwhile continues to play dotish and unyielding in the face of mounting evidence of wrongdoing.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 17th, 2016, 5:39 am

imf have nuttn for we. they wont lend the pnm no money.

Postby 1UZFE » March 17th, 2016, 6:16 am

bluesclues wrote:imf have nuttn for we. they wont lend the pnm no money.

Dont say dat. I have faith in d PM. :-|:roll:

Postby zoom rader » March 17th, 2016, 8:50 am

Habit7 needs to tell his God Rowley and Maxi fluffy to fire Marlene McDonald now and save us from further PNM tyranny.

Postby Habit7 » March 17th, 2016, 10:04 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:66 pages....anything?

Stable economy. No
IMF Relief seeking- No
Well according to Habit7 the latter is an achievement :roll:
What they have definitely achieved is continuation of the Marlene/Carew debacle, and the continuing blind eye being cast by Underwear Man, who despite his calls to "bring evidence" is showing that in spite of said evidence, he will do nothing unless absolutely forced to. Two Plate meanwhile continues to play dotish and unyielding in the face of mounting evidence of wrongdoing.

Well S&P revised their outlook for T&T from stable to negative in December 2015, the PNM inherited that. The govt has to have short term and long term goals to bring about stability again. It is kinda facetious to think that after 3 months the economy with return to stability after nearly 1.5 yrs in decline. But I suspect as much from you when you want to keep the conversation level at "Underwear Man" and "Two Plate." I like to back up my opinion with citable facts and news articles. Such as S&P stating “The People’s National Movement government, elected in September, has taken initial steps to address the fiscal problem, including raising some taxes and administered prices, reducing some spending, and plans to take further measures in its midyear fiscal review in March 2016.”

It took a change in govt for ppl to get a clearer idea of the economy and the challenges we face in the future, this was hidden from us prior to Sept 8 2015. While you are interested in the hairstyle, make-up and manicure of Trinidad we need to address the stage 4 cancer spread through Trinidad. That is where achievements should be measured.

It doesn't surprise me that you, 1UZFE, ZR or UML dont have confidence in the PM, you never had it before. But the majority of the T&T voted their confidence him after having experienced 5yrs of the alternative. So sit back and relax and allow him to clean up the mess he asked to clean up, and if you and others are still dissatisfied, vote against him again.

zoom rader wrote:Habit7 needs to tell his God Rowley and Maxi fluffy to fire Marlene McDonald now and save us from further PNM tyranny.
Coming from a guy who doubted that it was Anil Roberts in the Rm 201 video this is refreshing. But I have already called for the PM for fire Marlene and I am getting pretty pissed it is taking him so long.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 17th, 2016, 10:32 am

That interview was a poor one, no questions really answered, doesn't really help peoples confidence or lack there of for the government.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 17th, 2016, 10:33 am

1UZFE wrote:
bluesclues wrote:imf have nuttn for we. they wont lend the pnm no money.

Dont say dat. I have faith in d PM. :-|:roll:

Have faith in imf lending policy too. Imf only lends if the country can demonstrate a credible path to recouperating the funds. Oil reserves dont have so much leverage anymore as under the unc. So what is the recovery plan? Put more pressure on the average citizen again?

Postby Habit7 » March 17th, 2016, 1:28 pm

inb4IMFisPNM

IMF Staff Completes 2016 Article IV Mission to Trinidad and Tobago
Press Release No. 16/115
March 17, 2016

An International Monetary Fund mission, headed by Mr. Elie Canetti, visited Trinidad and Tobago during March 3–March 15, 2016 to conduct the annual Article IV consultation. Mr. Canetti issued the following statement in Port of Spain at the mission’s conclusion:

“Trinidad and Tobago’s economy is confronting a major shock with the sharp fall in energy prices that accelerated through early 2016. Based on available information, including on job losses and continued supply-side constraints in the energy sector, the mission projects GDP to fall 1 percent this year. In addition, declines in energy-based revenues will constrain the Government’s ability to act as an engine of growth. Beyond 2016, new energy projects will modestly boost energy production, while non-energy growth could start to recover, provided there is confidence in the country’s ability to navigate the harsher global environment.

“Despite the great challenges posed by the need to adjust to energy prices, Trinidad and Tobago still has enormous strengths, including a well-educated work force and a stable political system. With substantial financial buffers and low, albeit rising levels of public debt, Trinidad and Tobago is not in a crisis. Nonetheless, in recent years, taking into account the size of energy revenue windfalls, the country has under-saved and under-invested in its future. As a consequence, the imbalances that are now starting to build up could lead the country to uncomfortable levels of debt and external financial cushions absent further action.

“The new Government agrees that policy adjustments are needed. Since assuming office six months ago, the Government has already taken some difficult but necessary steps in the face of sharply lower energy revenues, including widening the VAT tax base, cutting fuel subsidies, reducing the number of Ministries with a view to streamlining the civil service, and instituting spending cuts. Despite these measures, with the further fall in energy prices since the budget, the mission projects the FY 2016 budget deficit at some 11 percent of GDP, although if one were to consider asset sales as revenue rather than financing, this would be equivalent to about 5 percent of GDP. Continued projected deficits of this size call for further fiscal consolidation, perhaps of around 6 percent of GDP over the next few years.

“The Government has already identified additional measures that could meet some portion of this, including improving tax collections (with the help of a unified revenue authority), increasing gaming taxes and reintroducing property taxation. We believe there is further scope to widen the VAT base and increase some excise taxes, which are low by the region’s standards. The Government has agreed to conduct a wide-ranging expenditure review, and will seek the assistance of the World Bank to rationalize and reverse the unsustainable increases in spending on transfers and subsidies over the last several years.

“We support the Government’s intent to conduct a national dialogue on fuel subsidies with a view to phasing them out over time, and to review the CEPEP and URP Government employment schemes and the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE) program to make them more cost-efficient. Reducing such expenditures would also leave room for a needed reorientation towards development spending.

“The country’s external situation has been very challenging. Against a backdrop of foreign exchange shortages that have intensified since the beginning of 2015, the recent sharp falls in energy prices are further reducing the available supply. Reflecting those energy price declines, the current account of the balance of payments is estimated to have registered a deficit of over 5 percent of GDP in 2015 after years of surpluses. The mission estimates that deficits will continue, albeit at a reduced level of 2–3 percent of GDP as the economy slows and public spending is contained. The modest pace of depreciation should help to improve the current account. On the other hand, speculative and precautionary motives are reportedly increasing demand for foreign exchange. In the circumstances, greater flexibility in the foreign exchange market would be critical to resolving the foreign exchange shortages.

“While it is appropriate that the Central Bank paused in its interest rate hiking cycle in January, there is little scope, as The Bank agrees, to cut interest rates, at least until shortages of foreign exchange are ameliorated.

“The mission met with Government officials, banks, and private sector representatives to assess the foreign exchange legal framework and market practices and conditions, including the widespread shortages of foreign exchange, to ascertain whether there are measures in place which may give rise to exchange restrictions or multiple currency practices.”

“The financial system remains sound, but some reform legislation has been lagging. Accordingly, the mission welcomes the Government’s intention to push forward with passing long-delayed insurance legislation, while improving the supervision of credit unions and systemically important financial institutions is also a priority.

“Structural reforms remain key to unlocking the country’s growth and diversification potential. The mission welcomes the continued emphasis on improving the business environment and streamlining Government “make-work” programs to help alleviate shortages of less-skilled labor. The Government has initiated a much needed review of GATE, which we trust will better focus the educational system. Procurement reform, a key Government priority, is needed to assure contractors of an even playing field and reduce perceptions of corruption. The Government has also made a strong start on the urgent need to reform the country’s statistics agency, with a view to turning it into a strong and independent National Statistical Institute.

‘The authorities were in broad agreement with the mission’s assessment, and the mission wishes to express its gratitude towards the authorities for their candor and gracious cooperation and hospitality throughout our stay.”

IMF COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT
Media Relations
E-mail: media@imf.org
Phone: 202-623-7100

http://www.imf.org/external/np/sec/pr/2016/pr16115.htm

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 17th, 2016, 6:22 pm

^Translation

Yuh taxin yuh ppl hard and that could recoup some funds. But u doin shyt long time and didnt save and invest wisely when you had the chance. Now as we see it, we will see about lending you some change but you cant borrow as much as you would like to at this time. You need to fix your outdated insurance laws, try and stop gouging the public with interest rates to encourage and stir up circulation, be more fair with contract awarding because it seems that system is corrupt even from our standpoint which contributes to a lack of investor confidence. We note that you are trying to reform the statistical agency which is always out of date and playing with yuh piggy in a corner to make it look like yuh working. But as we foresee energy prices to be taking another hit, your lack of diversification programs to increase revenues does not leave the imf confident at this time that you are sufficiently addressing the key issues which led to trinidad being in this position now. Yuh could increase taxes but that wont deal with the foreign exchange shortfall since the country is spending faster than it generates income. Please address these issues before u come and ask us to borrow any money. You have now partially lost your sovereignty, and so u need to get on with long overdue reforms and stop sidestepping them. Kindly signed, the imf.

Postby Habit7 » March 17th, 2016, 9:18 pm

bluesclues are you aware that your post prior to mine contradicts the one after?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 17th, 2016, 9:50 pm

Habit7 wrote:bluesclues are you aware that your post prior to mine contradicts the one after?

your post has nothing to contradict. post did not lend pnm any money. post did say that lending rate under consideration is lowered from previous years and still, all pending review of recovery plans. any money lent wont be to palance with. it will be strictly for programmes designed and agreed by the imf to be credible. failure to produce this will result in my previous post. it also stated that it does not recognize trinidad as being in a crisis even in the face of kumar saying food going and run out in 3 months. which affects our ability to be categorized for crisis lending. which falls under 2 categories, mismanagement and commodity swings. in trinidad's case it is both mismanagement and predictable commodity swing which cause our decline and so the imf expects trinidad to find viable means of increasing the inflow of foreign reserves in relation to it's outflow before it just drop USD in our lap for us to drain out the bucket again and come back cap in hand.

understand first world language. 0 fcks were given.

i can tell you one thing, there will be no rapid rail. not with imf money.

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2016, 2:21 am

bluesclues wrote:
Habit7 wrote:bluesclues are you aware that your post prior to mine contradicts the one after?

your post has nothing to contradict. post did not lend pnm any money. post did say that lending rate under consideration is lowered from previous years and still, all pending review of recovery plans. any money lent wont be to palance with. it will be strictly for programmes designed and agreed by the imf to be credible. failure to produce this will result in my previous post. it also stated that it does not recognize trinidad as being in a crisis even in the face of kumar saying food going and run out in 3 months. which affects our ability to be categorized for crisis lending. which falls under 2 categories, mismanagement and commodity swings. in trinidad's case it is both mismanagement and predictable commodity swing which cause our decline and so the imf expects trinidad to find viable means of increasing the inflow of foreign reserves in relation to it's outflow before it just drop USD in our lap for us to drain out the bucket again and come back cap in hand.

understand first world language. 0 fcks were given.

i can tell you one thing, there will be no rapid rail. not with imf money.

Notice how even when citing sources and such, he still tries to give the impression that everything wrong with the economy had its genesis in 2010, and will be miraculously righted by 2020 :lol:
Give Underwear Man he credit, he have this fellas tie-up like on a Hitler Youth type level.

$h@dy

Postby $h@dy » March 18th, 2016, 8:14 am

1st Achievement by the PNM Gov't

Housing Minister Marlene McDonald has been fired

Yea !!!!!!!!! :elephant:

Postby Habit7 » March 18th, 2016, 8:51 am

De Dragon wrote:Notice how even when citing sources and such, he still tries to give the impression that everything wrong with the economy had its genesis in 2010, and will be miraculously righted by 2020 :lol:
Give Underwear Man he credit, he have this fellas tie-up like on a Hitler Youth type level.

De Contradictions
De Dragon wrote:I will "rush in" as you put it, every time you post your baseless accusations, which seems to be all the time.It seems that you are always trying to ascribe some kind of motive or negative belief to me in the absence of any evidence.

Postby 1UZFE » March 18th, 2016, 12:21 pm

2 plate Marlene got fired.
Good way to start of achievements.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 18th, 2016, 1:05 pm

So after all these pages we still can't identify one 'achievement' of this OJT government?

I'm sorry for T&T. We have to put up with another year or two of this crap.

Whatever kool aid they serve in Balisier House like Habit7 drink the whole jug.

Postby desifemlove » March 19th, 2016, 12:34 am

brams112 wrote:How come this thread turn out to a what UNC did,rather than what this govament achieve so far?seems like nothing except fool fools like habit an them then?

so governments never inherit situations from others? and what you expect in under a year? roads paved wit gold? box drains filled with wine?

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2016, 9:36 am

desifemlove wrote:
brams112 wrote:How come this thread turn out to a what UNC did,rather than what this govament achieve so far?seems like nothing except fool fools like habit an them then?

so governments never inherit situations from others? and what you expect in under a year? roads paved wit gold? box drains filled with wine?

Not according to Habit7............

Postby K74T » March 19th, 2016, 10:46 am

Habit7, just carry dragon on De Date nah man.

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2016, 10:50 am

K74T wrote:Habit7, just carry dragon on De Date nah man.

Angry sex is awesome...........

Postby Habit7 » March 19th, 2016, 1:36 pm

:shock: :oops:

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 23rd, 2016, 12:01 am

Quick question prime minister rowley and finance minster imbert or berty is gonna take off further fuel subsidy wats yall take on this

Postby Morpheus » March 23rd, 2016, 1:28 am

urbandilema wrote:Quick question prime minister rowley and finance minster imbert or berty is gonna take off further fuel subsidy wats yall take on this

viewtopic.php?t=662948
Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 1st, 2016, 4:32 pm

Removal of the fuel subsidy would give folks a much more realisitic view of the current economic situation. It might force citizens to rethink how they spend.

Will make things harder though.

Postby De Dragon » April 3rd, 2016, 2:03 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Removal of the fuel subsidy would give folks a much more realisitic view of the current economic situation. It might force citizens to rethink how they spend.

Will make things harder though.

The subsidy needs to end. The execution of its end will determine the social and economic costs to follow. A lot of bank/UWI economists are calling for a bite the bullet, one and done complete severance of the fuel subsidy, but remember these are all highly paid professionals who wouldn't flinch to pay the expected new costs.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 3rd, 2016, 4:27 am

The only thing wrong with a gradual reduction is everyone will have a different opinion as to how much how slowly. Also every reduction in the subsidy will probably trigger a price change, The consumers are always the one to take the hit verses profit. Taxi fares in Trinidad never change in anything under a $1 increment so first subsidy change will trigger a price change and then another one subsequent every change.

Better to just remove it and have everyone on the same page and get used to it. Also, no-body can own a car and cry "poor". It's that kind of irrational thinking that a recession will repair.