2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby sharkman121 » December 8th, 2013, 8:06 am

This is an example of a daily log in my log tracker. Takes plenty of the guesswork out, so i might watch it and say "wey boy mih fats was lil high that day or my carb intake was a lil too low, thas mubbe why i wasa feelin lil lethargic etc etc"
1386504383463.jpg

Postby dougla_boy » December 8th, 2013, 8:48 am

Boy. The problem is gettin started with that counting calories thing boy.... I tried it, but dat real hard for me to do..... especially when thry talk about weighin food an sh!t.....

Postby sharkman121 » December 8th, 2013, 9:17 am

dougla_boy wrote:Boy. The problem is gettin started with that counting calories thing boy.... I tried it, but dat real hard for me to do..... especially when thry talk about weighin food an sh!t.....

true... but after you do it for a couple weeks, you'd get a fair idea of the weight of stuff and be able to average alot better. It doh hadda be exact exact, plus yr previous meals would be saved into yr database already so the next time u eat a similar meal you just have to select it from the list, you dont hadda go weigh over stuff. Takes me about 1 minute to do everyday.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 8th, 2013, 9:37 am

Sharks, if u read the article i posted, u can build and loose not at the same time but during a course of time...if that makes sense. What i stated was solely my opinion so dont get all butthurt....i stand corrected but like i said, wont u be better off having a bulking phase and a cutting phase so u can commit 100% at 1 goal within a period of time? How u gonna loose with a caloric surplus n build with a deficit...hmmmm

Here
First, let’s answer the question if it’s possible to lose fat and build muscle at the same time.

The short answer is that it depends on what you mean by the “same time”. Could be yes, could be no.

No – Physiologically speaking, it’s not possible to lose fat and build muscle at the same exact moment in time because one process is catabolic (losing fat) and the other is anabolic (building muscle).

Yes – It is possible, however, to gain muscle and lose fat over let’s say the course of two months, or even over the course of a day you may be able to lose fat and build muscle, but on a very small scale.

So now there are two more questions we must answer:

1) Is it worth attempting to lose fat and build muscle at the same time?

2) How do you try to lose fat and build muscle at the same time?

The rest of the article will address these two questions.

Is it worth trying to lose fat and build muscle at the same time?

I think the answer is a resounding No.

I give you this answer after one of my private clients gained 10lb of muscle and lost 10lb of fat in only a month. While he certainly is an aberration, the key point is that we were not trying to lose fat and build muscle at the same time. We were focusing on fat loss without muscle loss while taking advantage of his anabolic window, which I will discuss in a second.

There is not one top fitness model, or natural bodybuilder who tries to lose fat and build muscle at the same time. For people whose livelihood depends on their ability to transform their bodies, they focus on a muscle building phase of 6-9 months, then fat loss phase of 2-3 months. I think that should tell you everything you need to know right there.

Losing fat and building muscle at the same time sounds extremely desirable, but it’s NOT an intelligent approach to maximize your results despite all the marketing you see that tells you otherwise. Building muscle is anabolic, which requires you create a calorie surplus, while losing fat is catabolic and requires that you create a calorie deficit. Why attempt to do both at the same time for only mediocre results at best?

For over 5 years of my life, I spun my wheels trying to lose fat and build muscle at the same time. That’s a LONG time to spend 3-5 days in the gym for little to no results. I don’t want you to experience the same disappointment

Then

How To Lose Fat And Build Muscle At The Same Time?

The short answer is “nutrient timing” can help you lose fat and build muscle over the course of a few months, but I still STRONGLY recommend having the primary goal of either losing fat, or building muscle NOT both equally. I also want to emphasize that pursuing a fat loss phase, or a muscle building phase is far superior to maximize your results.

Nutrient timing is determined by (1) when you eat, (2) how much you eat, and (3) what you eat that together affect how your body responds. There are different schools of thought regarding nutrient timing and some nutrient timing plans can get so tedious and complicated that you would have to quit your day job to follow them.

So before getting into more specifics, if you do try to lose fat and build muscle, which one should you emphasize?

If you have more than 15% body fat (25% body fat for woman), I would STRONGLY recommend focusing on fat loss, with potentially some muscle gain if you’re lucky. The reverse is true for attempting to build muscle with some moderate fat loss. Here are 5 Ways to Measure Your Body Fat if you don’t know where to start.

One very easy to implement nutrient timing strategy for primarily fat loss is to reduce calorie intake for most of the week. Around your strength training workouts you can eat a high protein/moderate carb snack (let’s say 30g of protein, 30g of carbs) both 30 minutes before and after your workout to maximize the anabolic window when your muscles are most sensitive to sucking in protein. I generally do not recommend this strategy for people looking to lose fat without losing muscle because it can slow down progress, but I have seen it work well.

In terms of your workout routine, workouts don’t need to be that much different between going for muscle building and fat loss. In fact, many people have lost fat and gained muscle using the 8-week BuiltLean Program. I think regardless of whether your primary goal is losing fat, or building muscle, I would lift weights that are heavy for you to handle. The light weight, high rep strategy is just not as effective.

All of this can be broscience, just like every post in this thread with individual opinions...

Postby sharkman121 » December 8th, 2013, 10:46 am

i aint get butthurt padna, i just rather opinion be left out of a scientific question. Now having said that, everyone is gonna have opinions on whether it should be done as opposed to cutting/bulking...which i still dont buy your reasons as to why it is superior. It all depends on your goals and body type.

Now as per your post, one may take precedence over the other, as with a fat person having way more fat to lose than muscle to gain... And when i say at the same time i do mean within a set period e.g. 1 -2, 3months etc.. not simultaneously. But yr post above reinforced many of my points. But obviously a fat man aint go try to do both at the same time and vice versa a skinny dude. but this is a topic we could argue till the cows come home i realise :lol:

Postby desifemlove » December 8th, 2013, 10:53 am

EXODUS wrote:oh i c...then u wanna be the mariusz pudzianowski type!!! bearmode!!!

attaining that strength yet being fit like a horse is all up to genetics oui. some ppl gifted, others hadda wrk 2x hard. anyhow, to loose weight and fat is 2 different thing.

Q: My thing is if your baseline cals are 2500, to loose weight/fat, you'd have to eat just below 2500 to shed but a little more than to gain...hence, there is a trade off....or i am wrong??? this human body is a miracle in its own little way yes. right now i'm seeing my abs pop but the lower flab stil there...obliques coming to come but i eat like a horse. 5pc KFC, burgers but i also eat clean-ish...pig out mostly on wkends and odd days. i get in at least 4-6 meals a day... strength sllloooowly climbing, fat slowly disappearing but my weight fluctuates 195-199 ish...

i jes want this....wish i had sum black genetics :D :D :D *

interesting read

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/kelly3.htm
http://www.builtlean.com/2011/08/04/can ... same-time/

er.. homo tendencies aside, if your weight staying the same, then you need to up your exercise and lower your cal intake.

Postby sharkman121 » December 8th, 2013, 11:16 am

Yuh doh need to say no homo in dis ched, we all be mirin.

Postby DVSTT » December 8th, 2013, 5:25 pm

Anywhere locally sells the padded rollers for the leg attachment? The ones on my home gym aren't good enough and my shins get pressed against the metal bar when I try to do the leg extensions. (not usually a problem but I injured my shins running so it now pains like hell).

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 8th, 2013, 7:29 pm

I have the same problem. Leg extensions with all the weights get painful, not because of the weight, but because of the metal rubbing on my shinbone.

I take my Harbinger leather glove and wrap it around my shinbone where I have a nice permanent bruise. Also double check that the hinge for the leg extension part is tight. If it is loose, it tends to be harder on your shin.

Postby X_Factor » December 8th, 2013, 9:47 pm

what about getting a piece of foam or sponge and just wrap it over the metal as a temp fix?

Postby DVSTT » December 9th, 2013, 9:14 am

X_Factor wrote:what about getting a piece of foam or sponge and just wrap it over the metal as a temp fix?

Yes, I figure I'd improvise something until I find a permanent solution, probably get some gloves like Vexx.

Postby A172 » December 9th, 2013, 10:32 am

here's a situation:

-getting less than 80g protein per day for 8weeks
-in a caloric deficit
-never plateau'd and lifts still going up

explain.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » December 9th, 2013, 10:43 am

#yuhdotishawah

A172 wrote:here's a situation:

-in a caloric deficit

explain.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 9th, 2013, 10:50 am

Yuh izza forkin freak.....lolol. meano nah, carbs = energy so that would explain the strength...and well u dus have good sleep. Enlighten me

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 9th, 2013, 11:14 am

172 have dat dere genetics.

Postby sharkman121 » December 9th, 2013, 11:33 am

b18b_turbo wrote:#yuhdotishawah

A172 wrote:here's a situation:

-in a caloric deficit

explain.

defoq :lol: :lol:

Postby DVSTT » December 9th, 2013, 1:33 pm

Trying to locate one like this locally, something below $2000.00. Any idea where I can check?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 9th, 2013, 1:35 pm

that is bollocks IMHO.
You want some good cardio/warmup, get a spin bike and crank the tension up

Postby DVSTT » December 9th, 2013, 1:43 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:that is bollocks IMHO.
You want some good cardio/warmup, get a spin bike and crank the tension up

Dad wants one that works the arms. It has a tension adjustment on it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 9th, 2013, 1:47 pm

Most appliance stores carry these types.
Courts, Fen's.

Could also try S&G (where I got my spin bike over 4 years ago)

Postby DVSTT » December 9th, 2013, 1:51 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Most appliance stores carry these types.
Courts, Fen's.

Court's has a marcy, but it has terrible reviews online.
Fen's has one but it's over $4000.00.
I'm calling S&G now.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 9th, 2013, 2:07 pm

A172 in that case, you have good test levels and still see dem prison gains on dat dere poverty macros.

Postby A172 » December 9th, 2013, 2:12 pm

isn't muscle supposed to waste on low protein diet?

Postby AllTrac » December 9th, 2013, 2:24 pm

100-120g protein @190lbs on a daily checking in!

Postby dougla_boy » December 9th, 2013, 2:26 pm

DVSTT wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Most appliance stores carry these types.
Courts, Fen's.

Court's has a marcy, but it has terrible reviews online.
Fen's has one but it's over $4000.00.
I'm calling S&G now.

i sold mine on tuner a few months ago........600........rel piper price.........yuh miss out dan

also with the arms workout, if u go a spin class......yuh arms does get a lil burn goin...........

Postby A172 » December 9th, 2013, 2:27 pm

AllTrac wrote:100-120g protein @190lbs on a daily checking in!

you just want to tone bro?

Postby AllTrac » December 9th, 2013, 2:30 pm

A172 wrote:
AllTrac wrote:100-120g protein @190lbs on a daily checking in!

you just want to tone bro?

no 1g brotein x bw, RIP muscles.

Postby A172 » December 9th, 2013, 2:34 pm

dat anabolic windoe

Postby AllTrac » December 9th, 2013, 2:37 pm

A172 wrote:dat anabolic windoe

so you saying if I time my protein intake at the 0.000027th of a second after my workout I can lose fat and build muscle while on a deficit?

dat Zeus genetics of peace.

Postby A172 » December 9th, 2013, 2:51 pm

bro I've been building muscle and losing fat simultaneously for years, I mean just look at me