Tuner Cooking Thread.

dogg

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby dogg » May 6th, 2020, 3:36 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:And I usually go market or by the triangle in chase village for pork but these days I eh able to go extra places. If I getting everything one place I happy.

Yeah, well, you can't do much with that freezer burnt pork The most I can tell you is, however you cook that old meat, make sure its fully foiled throughout and cooked for at least 3.5 hours. otherwise you gong to end up with a stringy grey unappetizing disaster.

Anyone who says they've had success with that cold storage pork are not real pork lovers.

As for the corn, I've never had ANY frozen vegetables that tastes better than fresh. But I understand the situation. Good luck bai.

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 4:48 pm

Yes redddogg

assassin

Postby assassin » May 6th, 2020, 6:30 pm

Frozen ribs are not grey.
Pugboy gave good info for cooking. Ribs are not meaty enough to foil and cook for 3.5hrs that is just dotishness trying to act smart

Thaw in fridge to a chill
Peel off the white membrane on the back if it is still there (likely)
Looks like there is some fat on the sides. Trim that off, it will burn
Pat dry and season with a rub of mixed spices, paprika for colour, little coarse salt, very little sugar
Put it back in fridge overnight covered
Cook on slow heat, oven or indirect on grill, for around 3hrs on the bone side
Wrap in foil with a little apple juice or cider vinegar mix or whatever liquid u wanna try and cook for 1hr again
If bones push out by then, bbq sauce or glaze and finish for only a few mins per side

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 7:11 pm

i see the gas station selling joes pizza and the pepper fried chicken now

Postby rspann » May 6th, 2020, 7:18 pm

So we could expect Patraj roti from next week and KFC from week after in most gas stations ?

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2020, 7:21 pm

they go have to expand that lil corner inside

pires gonna try and match them

rspann wrote:So we could expect Patraj roti from next week and KFC from week after in most gas stations ?

Postby 88sins » May 6th, 2020, 7:27 pm

assassin wrote:Frozen ribs are not grey.
Pugboy gave good info for cooking. Ribs are not meaty enough to foil and cook for 3.5hrs that is just dotishness trying to act smart

Thaw in fridge to a chill
Peel off the white membrane on the back if it is still there (likely)
Looks like there is some fat on the sides. Trim that off, it will burn
Pat dry and season with a rub of mixed spices, paprika for colour, little coarse salt, very little sugar
Put it back in fridge overnight covered
Cook on slow heat, oven or indirect on grill, for around 3hrs on the bone side
Wrap in foil with a little apple juice or cider vinegar mix or whatever liquid u wanna try and cook for 1hr again
If bones push out by then, bbq sauce or glaze and finish for only a few mins per side

sounds good, just missing a little sumn
puree a little fresh garlic, rub that on it before apply your dry rub & put it back in the fridge overnight
for glaze, heat a sliver of star anise & a single fresh bayleaf in some honey, you not trying yo cook them in the honey eh, just to heat the honey for the aromas & flavors to steep in lightly. brush on 5 minutes before finishing in the smoker or on the grill, after removing from heat let rest and reapply more glaze

Postby Chimera » May 6th, 2020, 7:54 pm

Hush yuh mucumflau.
dogg wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:And I usually go market or by the triangle in chase village for pork but these days I eh able to go extra places. If I getting everything one place I happy.

Yeah, well, you can't do much with that freezer burnt pork The most I can tell you is, however you cook that old meat, make sure its fully foiled throughout and cooked for at least 3.5 hours. otherwise you gong to end up with a stringy grey unappetizing disaster.

Anyone who says they've had success with that cold storage pork are not real pork lovers.

As for the corn, I've never had ANY frozen vegetables that tastes better than fresh. But I understand the situation. Good luck bai.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 6th, 2020, 7:58 pm

Pizza kinna night.
Vege and non veg (shrimp)
IMG_20200506_193844.jpeg

solarkh

Postby solarkh » May 7th, 2020, 7:31 pm

Channa and aloo, Curry shrimp and Dhal Puree
20200507_192924.jpeg

Postby Ted_v2 » May 7th, 2020, 8:40 pm

anyone have some airfryer tips? got one today a 4L, did some premade fries and some chicken. chicken was crazy good, cooked straight til the bone, still amazed how well and moist it was done..

i need to start stocking up on some seasonings as my parents always cook so bland.
garlic powder,onion powder, i used some simply asia sweet ginger garlic by my grandma and i was shocked at how good it was.

what you all recommend to start purchasing? a particular brand?

Postby Dave » May 7th, 2020, 9:12 pm

An air fryer is your best friend. I got one as a present and there isn't almost anything it can't do. Your dry seasoning would help you according to what you like. Start simple then start experimenting. Guarantee nothing would go wrong.
Not sure what the power consumption is as yet but to me that's the downfall.
I also have an oil less turkey fryer which doubles as a grill and like the air fryer these devices always amazes me what it draws out of the meats.
My veins thank me every time lol.
Enjoy!

Postby Gladiator » May 7th, 2020, 9:23 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:anyone have some airfryer tips? got one today a 4L, did some premade fries and some chicken. chicken was crazy good, cooked straight til the bone, still amazed how well and moist it was done..

i need to start stocking up on some seasonings as my parents always cook so bland.
garlic powder,onion powder, i used some simply asia sweet ginger garlic by my grandma and i was shocked at how good it was.

I did some seasoned potato wedges the other night, it was quite good. Cut up potatoes with skins, season with garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, rosemary and salt.

Sprinkle and rub with a little olive oil and air fry...

Also did some chicken a couple weeks before... season with green seasoning, salt and grated fresh garlic overnight. Sprinkle a little olive oil and rub in.... air fry

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2020, 9:26 pm

Air fryer is great, for chicken it’s best to not have huge pieces like whole breast.

Postby gastly369 » May 7th, 2020, 9:29 pm

Boi that is life saver... Using it about 2 years or so

Did ribeye already in that ting came out bess
Ted_v2 wrote:anyone have some airfryer tips? got one today a 4L, did some premade fries and some chicken. chicken was crazy good, cooked straight til the bone, still amazed how well and moist it was done..

Postby Gladiator » May 7th, 2020, 9:34 pm

gastly369 wrote:Boi that is life saver... Using it about 2 years or so

Did ribeye already in that ting came out bess

How did you prep the ribeye... wanna try one soon.

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2020, 9:40 pm

it sucks for liver though
somebody tried to make a crispy liver in it for me to convince me liver could be good
it never crisped, stayed spongy mushy

Postby K74T » May 7th, 2020, 9:52 pm

Liver could never be good

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2020, 9:53 pm

I was willing to try if it was in small pieces and crispy dry, never happened

K74T wrote:Liver could never be good

Postby 88sins » May 7th, 2020, 11:02 pm

daz wat u think :lol:
A crispy fry liver (chicken only eh), seasoned with the usual onions garlic ginger etc, add a hint of cinnamon before frying, afterward fry sprinkle a little sea salt with condimentson d side? Best cutters ever. Makes a delicious sandwich too.
Wifey HATED liver when we first started living together. First time I mentioned it she watch me as if to say like what d ass wrong with you lol
I make it and she couldnt help but try it, and since then she hooked on that for life. We don't make it as often anymore, maybe once every few months, but that is only because we tend to avoid oily greasy fried foods as much as possible.
Liver isn't the best thing to eat too often but it has it's merits. Very rich in iron, and the iron is very easy for the body to digest and absorb.

Try it, yuh go like it.

Postby Gladiator » May 7th, 2020, 11:44 pm

You make mih mouth water with dat post dey sins...

daz wat u think
A crispy fry liver (chicken only eh), seasoned with the usual onions garlic ginger etc, add a hint of cinnamon before frying, afterward fry sprinkle a little sea salt with condimentson d side? Best cutters ever. Makes a delicious sandwich too.
Wifey HATED liver when we first started living together. First time I mentioned it she watch me as if to say like what d ass wrong with you lol
I make it and she couldnt help but try it, and since then she hooked on that for life. We don't make it as often anymore, maybe once every few months, but that is only because we tend to avoid oily greasy fried foods as much as possible.
Liver isn't the best thing to eat too often but it has it's merits. Very rich in iron, and the iron is very easy for the body to digest and absorb.

Try it, yuh go like it.

Postby shogun » May 8th, 2020, 12:17 am

Dave wrote:An air fryer is your best friend. I got one as a present and there isn't almost anything it can't do. Your dry seasoning would help you according to what you like. Start simple then start experimenting. Guarantee nothing would go wrong.
I also have an oil less turkey fryer which doubles as a grill and like the air fryer these devices always amazes me what it draws out of the meats.
Enjoy!

F'real. Been meanin' to get one for a while.

What brand /model you got, if you don't mind me asking?

Postby shogun » May 8th, 2020, 12:18 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Pizza kinna night.
Vege and non veg (shrimp)IMG_20200506_193844.jpeg

Duuude.

Postby eliteauto » May 8th, 2020, 12:33 am

Just finished prepping some 4oz burger patties for dinner tomorrow night
20200507_234249.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 8th, 2020, 12:58 am

dawg, you never throw down a classic dry stew liver/gizzard mix with a fry or coconut bake?

Wash, clean, cut liver and gizards in half.
Season with salt/bp, chadon beni, plenty small thyme, garlic and ginger, and a healthy dollop of worcestershire with a couple dashes of bitters.
Needs a good dose of brown sugar for stew, maybe a 30-50% bump over the equivalent volume of normal chicken. Use a mild oil, like coconut.
After you brown the sugar properly and add the meat, let it go on high for about 3-5 mins to get the caramelization on all the meat.
Reduce heat and add Finely choped onions, pimentos, green pepper. Average one onion, 4-6 pimentos, a small green pepper for a pack of liver and a pack of gizzard.
Drop a tsp or so of maggi AP or maybe Chief chicken seasoning.
Cover and Let it cook for about 20 minutes. Remove cover and crank the heat to max to dry it down on the last 5 min. stir to make sure it doh stick and burn, but not too much to mashup the meat.
Salt and BP to taste, may not need much.

If you want to add some nice crispness, drop some freshly chopped fat chives when you turn off stove.

Sauce is very little, but thick with deep flavour. Liver is rich and smooth, the gizzard is chewy. Nice balance of texture.

Guaranteed to lash with fry bake, coconut bake or hops and a hit of fresh grind lime peppersauce. Bet you'll go for seconds or thirds.

Some boil channa works with this combo too.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 8th, 2020, 1:00 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Pizza kinna night.
Vege and non veg (shrimp)IMG_20200506_193844.jpeg

I not too long prepped my dough and marinara for tomorrow night LOL. Bacon for the kid and mushroom/pepper/tomato/red onion for the wife and MIL. I might just take a small sample on both. :lol: :lol: :lol: chef first cut business

Postby Dave » May 8th, 2020, 4:40 am

Wifey bought a Kalorik, believe it came from Pricesmart.

Another limitation would be size also and the population you catering for but for us it is not too bad.
shogun wrote:
Dave wrote:An air fryer is your best friend. I got one as a present and there isn't almost anything it can't do. Your dry seasoning would help you according to what you like. Start simple then start experimenting. Guarantee nothing would go wrong.
Enjoy!

F'real. Been meanin' to get one for a while.

What brand /model you got, if you don't mind me asking?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 8th, 2020, 5:56 am

i bought a max sonic 4L

Postby Dave » May 8th, 2020, 7:23 am

Congrats. Do share your exploits!

Postby pugboy » May 8th, 2020, 7:59 am

pricesmart price for the air fryer not bad, it was cheaper than what is cost me to bring down mine via seabox.

yesterday I bought a foreign duck in massy to roast for sunday.