The Religion Discussion

Postby sMASH » February 3rd, 2010, 9:16 am

is a prayer, not an proclamation. can u direct me to the source of the literature,btw?

d spike

Postby d spike » February 3rd, 2010, 12:28 pm

sMASH wrote:is a prayer, not an proclamation. can u direct me to the source of the literature,btw?

Far from it, I'm afraid.

It's actually a list of some of the books in the Old Testament, of which a proper translation would have revealed something rather amusing in the order in which it was presented - amusing to me, at any rate.

What problem do you have with the translations we have at present?
The idea to study the first writings in order to access the "original" meanings of scripture may be noble, but would require not only a thorough understanding of Hebrew, Aramic and Greek, but a thorough understanding of how the language was used at the time of when the pertinent scripture was written (the idiom) and the culture of the writer.
This scholastic knowledge can't be acquired over the net, neither can it be learned in your spare time easily... You aren't the first person to have this idea, and this isn't the first time I would have to explain why this grand idea isn't a wise one, so forgive me for leaving out examples of horribly done translations (accepted today) and for being blunt.

Jerome, Lancelot Andrewes, John Overall, Hadrian à Saravia, Richard Clarke, John Layfield, Robert Tighe, Francis Burleigh, Geoffrey King, Richard Thomson, William Bedwell... all did their best... nothing wrong with using their works, bearing in mind the idiom and culture they translated their work into...

Despair not. There are ways to get around this. If you are interested, I can point you in this direction.

d spike

Postby d spike » February 4th, 2010, 12:01 am

Postby MG Man » February 4th, 2010, 12:30 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby bluefete » February 4th, 2010, 4:36 am

The earth is older than the sun and the moon. Genesis 1:16-18.

Maybe scientists are following God's truths after all.

d spike

Postby d spike » February 4th, 2010, 6:55 am

bluefete wrote:The earth is older than the sun and the moon. Genesis 1:16-18.

There you go again, lad...
Making a statement and a supporting quote that is as totally disconnected from the topic you yourself wished to discuss, as they are from each other.

Are you ready to deal with this now?

d spike wrote:
bluefete wrote:This never gave me an insight into the underlying themes of Avatar.
'Christian' themes, such as: Good vs. Evil, with Evil getting the thrashing it deserves; the human experience of having to choose between Good and Evil; the most wonderful human experience that comes the closest to the act of Creation - the act of love between a male and female creature; the emotional turmoil of a human caught between two life-changing choices...?

But, like anything else in life, there are lessons to be learned.
What about looking to see the good in all? Everything that is of this Creation has some good in it, no matter how twisted it might become. Learn to think for yourself, you frightened, paranoid, little man! If you believe we were placed here for a reason, how then can we have been placed among things that we must shun completely? You mean all this was created, then left to disintegrate when the original plan went belly-up? Are you placing your god on the same level as a poor loser? ("Allyuh out mih? Nah, I eh taking dat! I taking my bat an' ball, an' going home!")

Though we aren't of this world, aren't we supposed to be part of it? You believe your god created a beautiful world and holds it in existence, just for you to shun?

While I regret seeing the movie
Why? What did you find wrong with the movie? (and I am not referring to that heap of quenk crap that you got off the net... insulting to Hindus, my red seam...) I mean you, personally...

it reinforced the point to me that deep below the surface, Hollywood is about really trying to destroy God's credibility
No, it isn't, my paranoid friend. Hollywood makes movies to make money. A materialistic world. Yes, it's not very polite and rather obtuse, so what? Just like owning a cow, focus on the good it can produce rather than the crap it leaves behind. (Idiots who get rid off the dog because it craps on the lawn get burgled.) Imperfection means not yet perfect, not a total waste of time.

d spike wrote:Come to think of it, this thread's title does make sense...
...in this materialistic age, the Avatar movie is quite possibly (for many people) "your best encounter with God"...

So, you go and lock yourself up in your sealed capsule where the residue of a dirty world won't contaminate you... but ask yourself if that is what you were sent here for. Remember the servant who kept his master's coin (the talent) safe and sound in the ground, until his master's return? He fell from grace because he didn't use it...

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 4th, 2010, 8:40 am

^^^^ :)

Postby MG Man » February 4th, 2010, 9:42 am

hahahahahahahahaha
you twit
where does science tell you the earth is older than the sun and moon?

Postby wagonrunner » February 4th, 2010, 10:05 am

hahahahahahahahaha
you twit

better yet. how does a star the size of the sun form, if earth's gravitational pull existed already?
have you seen this picture? what do you notice?

Postby wagonrunner » February 4th, 2010, 10:28 am

Soundwave wrote:wagonrunner posted a pic of Uranus...

she in that pic?
oh shucks. dyslexic moment. :oops:

Postby 3stagevtec » February 4th, 2010, 10:49 am

hahahahahahahahaha
you twit

better yet. how does a star the size of the sun form, if earth's gravitational pull existed already?
have you seen this picture? what do you notice?

what's funny is our sun is a really small star by comparison..

Postby Sky » February 4th, 2010, 11:00 am

I regret coming back in here yes :!:

vin123

Postby vin123 » February 4th, 2010, 11:44 am

Sky wrote:

X2 but i'll leave a line and run away lol :

God is too big to fit inside One Religion

laterz

d spike

Postby d spike » February 4th, 2010, 8:17 pm

vin123 wrote: God is too big to fit inside One Religion

This has less to do with the size of the infinite and more to do with the narrow-mindedness of man.

d spike

Postby d spike » February 4th, 2010, 9:59 pm

[quote="d spike"]ἡ μετάφÏ

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 4th, 2010, 11:26 pm

Sky wrote:

ROFL

I come in this thread whenever I want a good laugh.
this one and the one about Avatar are the two funniest :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby RASC » February 11th, 2010, 2:58 pm

Hindu Tuners:

I got the answer to the "MakeUp" being applied to Male Hindus when it's their wedding day. The applying of Eyeliner, Lipstick, Blush, Foundation and Fake Eyelashes is a right of passage for the boy as he enters adulthood.

So essentially it's Tradition for the female members of his family to restrain him and apply this to his face the day of his wedding.

He is to wear this makeup/eyeliner and lashes throughout the entire ceremony.

I'd like to thank Fuener kittles for this revelation.

Postby MG Man » February 11th, 2010, 3:28 pm

my bro got married in a hindu civil ceremony in canada.....wore a suit, stood up in front a pundit with his bride in the civil hall or whatevr it was...
whole thing took about 20 min
*shrugs*
as with all other religions, you don't need to subject oneself to all the cultural assness that people feel compelled to do..........RASC all that rubbish u detailed there is cultural rubbish that these fools cannot distinguish from religion.....whether is god, jesus, allah, ram, bhudda or manning...............it is all still a crock ofshit

Postby RASC » February 11th, 2010, 3:31 pm

MG Man wrote:my bro got married in a hindu civil ceremony in canada.....wore a suit, stood up in front a pundit with his bride in the civil hall or whatevr it was...
*shrugs*
as with all other religions, you don't need to subject oneself to all the cultural assness that people feel compelled to do..........RASC all that rubbish u detailed there is cultural rubbish that these fools cannot distinguish from religion.....whether is god, jesus, allah, ram, bhudda or manning...............it is all still a crock ofshit

WTF...now I getting confused. :S
I thought it was part of Hindu Tradition...thas what she tell me. :?

No one here had to go through that under Traditional rights? So is all Foolishness???

Postby RASC » February 11th, 2010, 3:34 pm

MG Man wrote:my bro got married in a hindu civil ceremony in canada.....wore a suit, stood up in front a pundit with his bride in the civil hall or whatevr it was...
*shrugs*

No one here had to go through that under Traditional rights? So is all Foolishness???

Postby bluesteel29 » February 11th, 2010, 3:38 pm

2post???...dam...u really confused

Postby RASC » February 11th, 2010, 3:40 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:2post???...dam...u really confused

Ah Telling Yuh :lol:

Postby MG Man » February 11th, 2010, 5:19 pm

RASC wrote:
bluesteel29 wrote:2post???...dam...u really confused

Ah Telling Yuh :lol:

breds, most ppl cannot seperate tradition and culture from religion
all that assness with makeup a ting is not a requirement or a pre-requisite.....I defy anyone to show me where it was written by any god or committee of multiple deities that a man must pretty up to get married
most of that stuff is symbolic, and in many cases the symbolism is quite deep....problem is tantie and nanny themselves eh have no clue what it all means............

and to illustrate how stupid people can be, I was at a church wedding once,and while the bride and groom were walking back from the altar to the exit, some woman STOPPED THEM and made them SWITC PLACES because the groom was on the WRONG SIDE................I was like WTMF....you kill de people moment for THAT???????? Woh? Jesus isssa beast? he go sin yuh for such a horrible transgression??????

All religions have it...Hinduism is just an easy target becasue there is so damn much symbolism and metaphors and sheit....and nobody can give a straight answer anymore...........kinda like christianity before the revolution, or islam now.............

vin123

Postby vin123 » February 11th, 2010, 7:30 pm

MG Man wrote:breds, most ppl cannot seperate tradition and culture from religion

very much true, I have said it time and time again. Hinduism is soooo old stuff just got mixed up from being cultural to "religious".

I can't believe I'm coming back into this but I wanna make one last try before I give myself a head ache:

RASC what religion do you belong to?
What is wrong "if" a guy wants to wear make up for his wedding??

eyephone

Postby eyephone » February 11th, 2010, 7:36 pm

Ah yes. The corporations that advertising at the top of each page (rbtt, stag, sbcs etc) must be so happy that they contributin to wonderful emo-totee cheds like these.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 11th, 2010, 7:57 pm

This is true, alot of stuff that go on in our religions are TRADITION. Problem is that the spiritual heads are either:
1) not educated enough
2) Not intelligent enough
3) too ignorant
4) Mislead
5) Or just plain stupid.

I am a hindu and and I got married under hindu rites. I did not wear any makeup or do anything that I could not get a proper explanation for. Who explained this stuff to me? My pundit. His name? Hardeo Persad of SWAHA.

The IMPORTANT parst of a hindu Marriage, if translated, are actually just like the english vows, some even the same. The three day thing is tradition. THE IMPORTANT stuff is on the Sunday, when the Pundit is present, just like the Priest or Imam at the other weddings.

Postby MG Man » February 11th, 2010, 8:03 pm

^^^yup
which is pretty much what me bro did
pil opening prayer, sacred vows, closing prayer, sign de register, now allyuh kids go find ah room an bull :lol:

Postby sMASH » February 11th, 2010, 11:25 pm

d spike, thanks for replacing me in meh place, i was trying to attack. i will not even make my point as i started off wrongly.

finally saw avatar ..... 3d winzzzzzzzzzzzzz
movie nice. graphics dammmmmmmmmmmm
too much nakedness to carry meh lil bro and sis.

storyline eh all dat, but de message is well portrayed and brutally blunt

we are greedy, careless, and destructive. in our attempts to express our conceptions of superiority we have lost the consciousness of our connections to the world which sustains us physically.

one of the early scenes summarized it pretty well; when the seeds thingies were landing on the dude and re-actively he wanted to kill the things, not because of fear nor threat, just plain proximity. he need to be lambasted in order to stop killing the things.

wrt evil connotations, i see as much in that as i see practiced in any other popular religion (what i believe to be evil and what u believe to be evil may be two different things, as the tasting of blood is less evil than the belief that god has progeny; that the preservation of the environment is more gud than the establishment of our uncompromising dominion). i just take it with a pinch of salt and let live as they let live.

from god we come and to god is our eventual return, so we all are connected.
we should be very economical with the taking of life as we cannot even grant it far less for sustaining it, so we thank god for providing the food and acknowledge that he is the supreme creator and sustain-er. sustenance is a blessing, not an obligation. killing is a serious matter, and should be performed correctly with humility for a worthy cause, as the transgressors risk sin

Kittles

Postby Kittles » February 11th, 2010, 11:43 pm

RASC wrote:
*shrugs*

u get confused easy jed. that is the same thing i was trying to tell u but u didnt understand. probably cause i didnt use words like assness.
anyways i have never seen a groom wear fake eyelashes. i dunno where u get that one from.

But if a man want to respect his tradition and wear some makeup to please his family, why that bothering u??? he not harming anybody - it not making him gay, or a hater.