Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby toyolink » May 2nd, 2018, 2:51 pm

Why doesn't the state exercise some common-sense and implement a property tax which shows a bit of consideration for the average citizen who want to pay but don't want to be faced with levels of payment that they just cant afford at this time.
Retroactive from Sept. 2016 is just another punch in the gut...........3yrs property tax one time?
Pensioners have to go and essentially beg for some consideration.........What about the dignity of these folks who for decades worked and contributed to get us to where we are and surviving on $3000-$5000 per month?
Sometimes people in authority just lose touch with reality and start to believe their own foolishness.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 2nd, 2018, 3:14 pm

Imballs et al doh care bout nobody but themselves.....Let's do this

Postby 88sins » May 2nd, 2018, 3:16 pm

toyolink wrote:Why doesn't the state exercise some common-sense and implement a property tax which shows a bit of consideration for the average citizen who want to pay but don't want to be faced with levels of payment that they just cant afford at this time.
Retroactive from Sept. 2016 is just another punch in the gut...........3yrs property tax one time?
Pensioners have to go and essentially beg for some consideration.........What about the dignity of these folks who for decades worked and contributed to get us to where we are and surviving on $3000-$5000 per month?
Sometimes people in authority just lose touch with reality and start to believe their own foolishness.

& dey eh riot yet

Postby 88sins » May 2nd, 2018, 3:19 pm

What's the simplest most cost effective way to rid a small boat, with multiple small compartments, of a severe rat infestation?

Postby Gladiator » May 2nd, 2018, 3:57 pm

88sins wrote:What's the simplest most cost effective way to rid a small boat, with multiple small compartments, of a severe rat infestation?

Postby paid_influencer » May 2nd, 2018, 4:43 pm

pnm supporters are masochists. the more pain and suffering you inflict on them, the more they will support their party

Postby The_Honourable » May 2nd, 2018, 4:57 pm

paid_influencer wrote:pnm supporters are masochists. the more pain and suffering you inflict on them, the more they will support their party

Saw a comment on facebook that the party can chop off dey arms clean... election call they will dip dey nose in d ink and vote pnm :lol:

As for the property tax, they will say if you could pay for carnival costume, you can pay the tax :roll:

Postby 88sins » May 2nd, 2018, 5:44 pm

nope, nice try tho Gladiator
the answer would be take it to shallow waters, sink it for awhile, & bring it back up. Any rats that didn't abandon ship will drown, any that try to come back aboard will be seen in the open & effectively squashed
The ship being T&T, the rats being these parasitic politicians, & the shallow waters being the people's financial situation.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 2nd, 2018, 6:55 pm

88sins wrote:What's the simplest most cost effective way to rid a small boat, with multiple small compartments, of a severe rat infestation?

burn it lmao

Postby The_Honourable » May 2nd, 2018, 10:24 pm

No Plan By Government To Make Property Tax Retroactive For 2 Years

The Minister of Finance, Hon. Colm Imbert, MP, has noted concerns expressed in the Senate about the possible retroactive application of property tax for 2 years and wishes to make it clear that the Government has no plan to do this.

Instead, what the Government is proposing in the bill before the Parliament is the extension of the waiver of the collection of property tax beyond December 31st, 2015, as is the current law.

It is to be noted that in January 2015, the former Government went to Parliament and waived the collection of property tax for the years 2010-2015 by way of the Finance Act of 2015 (act No. 2 of 2015). Prior to this waiver, the former Government had left the 2009 Property Tax Act on the books unchanged for almost 5 years, thus making the tax retroactively collectible for the years 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014.

However, this waiver lapsed at the end of 2015, making the tax applicable in 2016. Accordingly, in the current version of the property tax act amendment bill before the Senate, it is proposed that the waiver be extended to December 31st 2016.

It is to be noted that the property tax act amendment bill is still before the Senate and that the committee stage of the bill has not yet taken place and is scheduled for Friday May 11th 2018. Further, to date, the Government has not yet circulated its proposed list of amendments to the bill for the consideration of the Senate, since the Ministry of Finance is in the process of reviewing the contributions made by all Honorable Senators in order to finalize the list of amendments.

It is to be noted that it is the policy of the Government that property tax will only be applicable from the year in which the actual collection commences.

Accordingly, as the Government continues with the necessary administrative work to put itself in a position to collect this tax, such as the ongoing valuation of properties, further extensions of the effective date of the collection of property tax will be required. Obviously, at this time, the waiver should be extended to December 31st 2017, and this adjustment will be made to the legislation at the committee stage next week.

- The Hon. Colm Imbert. M.P.

Minister of Finance

Source: http://ctvtt.com/ctv/index.php/c-news/p ... or-2-years

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 2nd, 2018, 10:42 pm

Tax not coming for at least 2 more years at the rate that the ministry going, 2020 election is going to be interesting for sure.

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 1:50 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Tax not coming for at least 2 more years at the rate that the ministry going, 2020 election is going to be interesting for sure.

Yes, Tax Man playing smart.

He is trying to assess the public reaction " to riot or not to roti "

Anybody who challenges him seriously, he will back down.

Remember when Roget gave him an ultimatum .

And Casino people issue went silent .

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2018, 4:57 am

If extended for two more years from 2015, that would mean it would be required from 2017.
So when it does come on stream, say 2019, u would have to pay for 2017 come forward....
I. E. When the extension period completes

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2018, 7:04 am

RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Tax not coming for at least 2 more years at the rate that the ministry going, 2020 election is going to be interesting for sure.

Nah jed, is not cause they playing smart, is because they need finished data on half of all taxable units in the country before they start taxing. And they now start collecting that data.

By that i mean field visits, not the forms that everybody fight in court over

Postby 88sins » May 3rd, 2018, 8:38 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
Nah jed, is not cause they playing smart, is because they need finished data on half of all taxable units in the country before they start taxing. And they now start collecting that data.

The real problem we have here, is what is the definition of a tax and taxable units. That is the real issue here.
You cannot tell ppl you are going to implement sweeping mandatory taxation on everybody in a sector or the entire nation as a whole, simply because they have something & the politicians that happen to be in authority feel they should pay for having it.
To phrase it somewhat loosely, a tax is a fee levied on one entity by another entity in order to facilitate the use or upkeep of a facility or system that the taxed entity benefits from. So you can't tax people into oblivion for something you have no investment in or did nothing for, simply because they doing well. That is how u motivate businesses & people to close up shop & gtfo.

What facilities or systems does the state have in place that benefit the gaming industry? None that I know of.

So with this proposed tax, in it's current format, what do you get for your dollar, besides the opportunity to be a tenant of the state or to lose your home that you bought/built with your hard earned money if for whatever reason you can't pay it? What benefit will property owners see, directly or indirectly, for this additional property tax dollar that they are expected to pay with a smile? & why should they be made to suffer this burden? Because a bald-headed ditch digger & a over-glorified draughtsman tell some dotish femule to say it's "necessary"? eh-eh, start over, dey done gone wrong already.
& yes, I said it. it's an additional property tax, make no mistake about this. stamp duty isn't a donation, it's a direct tax on the transfer of property. registration fees, VAT on building materials & legal fees, these are all taxes directly related to properties, whether building, buying or gifting them, that the state collects. No two ways about this.

Postby The_Honourable » May 3rd, 2018, 10:05 am

Squatters buy cable, pay taxes

SQUATTERS can afford to buy cable TV and pay property taxes too. This was the opinion of Independent Senator David Small during debate on the Property Tax Amendment Bill 2018 in the Senate on Tuesday night. He revealed an instance where a cable provider told him that squatters living not far from his home, purchased a $1,500 per month cable TV package.

While some squatters are revenue challenged, Small said this instance shows other squatters are, "able to comfortably afford to pay their tax." The senator said the challenge here is to, "find the balance." Retirees "are in the same boat" as squatters and are not short of funding, Small added. Property tax, Small added, will not have people running and "screaming in the streets."

Minister in the Ministry of Finance Allyson West said people accept that that property tax, "is not a fearsome thing." Given the country's current economic circumstances, she said, "It is a tax that is required. A tax that is prudent." West will conclude debate on the bill when the Senate sits on May 11 at Tower D of the Port of Spain International Waterfront Centre at 1.30 pm.

Source: http://newsday.co.tt/2018/05/02/squatte ... pay-taxes/

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 11:18 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Nah jed - PNM is Maco Central .

Is tax then thief :D

You do not need that Data .

They fool you . It is a trick .

Postby SR » May 3rd, 2018, 1:44 pm

Direct tv dish in sea lots....wooden shacks being replaced with bricks....and all squatin. Same goes for laventille and beetham

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2018, 9:07 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Stop chatting nonsense man, you sounding like a UNC politician on a podium. It have high ranks in ministry of finance that dont want this tax to start with and not ready to go to court for Impsbert to defend anybody. They doing every damn thing by the books.

Anybody ever deal with government valuers for stamp duty? Is the exact same process they using for this.

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 9:12 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Stop chatting nonsense man, you sounding like a UNC politician on a podium. It have high ranks in ministry of finance that dont want this tax to start with and not ready to go to court for Impsbert to defend anybody. They doing every damn thing by the books.

Anybody ever deal with government valuers for stamp duty? Is the exact same process they using for this.

There was a system in place that was good.

Why base tax payment on a rental value ?

They do not need ANY data .

PNM is Maco Central .

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2018, 9:26 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

PNM is Maco Central .

They can use a capital value system instead of rental system, but rental values move more fluidly with market conditions, while capital values have a lag time.

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 9:30 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

PNM is Maco Central .

They can use a capital value system instead of rental system, but rental values move more fluidly with market conditions, while capital values have a lag time.

So PNM tuner what is your point ?

Suffer and torture the small people today and tomorrow or always under PNM ?

Postby De Dragon » May 3rd, 2018, 9:32 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Squatters buy cable, pay taxes

SQUATTERS can afford to buy cable TV and pay property taxes too. This was the opinion of Independent Senator David Small during debate on the Property Tax Amendment Bill 2018 in the Senate on Tuesday night. He revealed an instance where a cable provider told him that squatters living not far from his home, purchased a $1,500 per month cable TV package.

While some squatters are revenue challenged, Small said this instance shows other squatters are, "able to comfortably afford to pay their tax." The senator said the challenge here is to, "find the balance." Retirees "are in the same boat" as squatters and are not short of funding, Small added. Property tax, Small added, will not have people running and "screaming in the streets."

Minister in the Ministry of Finance Allyson West said people accept that that property tax, "is not a fearsome thing." Given the country's current economic circumstances, she said, "It is a tax that is required. A tax that is prudent." West will conclude debate on the bill when the Senate sits on May 11 at Tower D of the Port of Spain International Waterfront Centre at 1.30 pm.

David Small, like Allyson West are kants. Their kantish justification only holds water if every single squatter had a $1500.00 cable package. By their logic, we should not implement property tax because one squatter/retiree cannot afford the tax.

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 9:38 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Squatters buy cable, pay taxes

David Small, like Allyson West are kants. Their kantish justification only holds water if every single squatter had a $1500.00 cable package. By their logic, we should not implement property tax because one squatter/retiree cannot afford the tax.

Agreed.

We should NOT have to pay ANY Land and House taxes .

Why is this so necessary ?

For 56 years all the Gov't Administrations have TT looking like KnowWhere Land.

Leave the small man alone PNM Cabal. Allow us to enjoy life , cool and tax free.

Take away the MPs free car concessions and perks and everybody good :x

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2018, 9:41 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

PNM is Maco Central .

so when you get your questions answer you calling me a PNM. I have zero political affiliations. I trying to answer questions anybody have jed, stop acting like i is your rumshop padna and tackle the point i making.

The tax supposed to pay for municipal services. There are exceptions in the bill for people to appeal to the BIR under section 23 in cases of hardship. Educate yourself

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 9:52 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

PNM is Maco Central .

so when you get your questions answer you calling me a PNM. I have zero political affiliations. I trying to answer questions anybody have jed, stop acting like i is your rumshop padna and tackle the point i making.

The tax supposed to pay for municipal services. There are exceptions in the bill for people to appeal to the BIR under section 23 in cases of hardship. Educate yourself

How you know tax going for "municipal services" ?

You are true PNM without a doubt . Do not hide .

Come out the closet :|

Postby De Dragon » May 3rd, 2018, 10:00 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

PNM is Maco Central .

Tax is going into the Consolidated Fund, which means that the GORTT can basically do anything that they like with it. I'm not averse to a tax per se, but I need to see my tax dollars working where I live, not supporting any government thievery and bobol, like Darryl Smith sexual escapades, or Shamfa cell phone bill.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2018, 10:05 pm

Using it to pay for municipal services is what was originally planned for by the ministry, and is what those taxes are used for in every other country that has such a tax.

You can pretend I am a PNM all you want, go and rant on your facebook about it under every newspaper article and status if you want. If you step back and watch for one minute, you go see that this tax will end up just like VAT. Contentious in the beginning but secretly even the opposition knows and wants it to stay. They all just toe the party line and contrarian stance to rope all of you into one of two camps.

Postby RedVEVO » May 3rd, 2018, 10:11 pm

They are people in TT who believe . Things changing fast .

They believe in Banks and get scorched with exorbitant fees and charges .
Foreign and Local are all the same with no care for the average man.

Then there are those believe Property Tax will fix everything via Municipal Services.

We have a pitch lake and we have the worst roads . The pitch is basically free.
But we believe .

Proton Head believes .
There is a nice rocky chair waiting for you in St Anns.

Educate yourself and wake up - if you are young.
If you old and have to drink oats with a straw STFU.

Postby De Dragon » May 3rd, 2018, 10:17 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Using it to pay for municipal services is what was originally planned for by the ministry, and is what those taxes are used for in every other country that has such a tax.

You can pretend I am a PNM all you want, go and rant on your facebook about it under every newspaper article and status if you want. If you step back and watch for one minute, you go see that this tax will end up just like VAT. Contentious in the beginning but secretly even the opposition knows and wants it to stay. They all just toe the party line and contrarian stance to rope all of you into one of two camps.

I guess that's why they stopped it for so many years, to see it stay :roll: