2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 1:58 pm

doh lol, state if you agree or disagree and why.

Postby A172 » December 7th, 2013, 2:06 pm

i just want to tone bro

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 7th, 2013, 2:22 pm

Right now I'm 185@14.x %. Unless that Omron bf monitor wrong like hell.

Postby A172 » December 7th, 2013, 2:31 pm

those omrons are unreliable imo, I tried it and it put me at 19%bf and I have visible abs and obliques lol

if you're really 14%bf you would only need to lose 7.5lbs to be 10%bf, you could do that in a month and a half easy

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 7th, 2013, 2:35 pm

Well that sucks halls.
Thought it was like almost a standard, a couple docs and dieticians I saw using it and thought it'd be a good buy.

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 2:48 pm

one could be 19% bf and have visible abs and obliques. Its all about body composition wrt muscle/fat ratio, everyone's different, some carry more bf in glutes and thighs.

Omron is unreliable though, has me @ 17%. I use it as a guide.

Postby A172 » December 7th, 2013, 2:54 pm

so if I'm 190lbs I could be carrying close to 40lbs of FAT and still see my obliques and abs clearly?

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 3:17 pm

Even though im using this pic SOLELY as a reference, as it would hold true in all circumstances. Ppl in the 15- 20% could have visible abs and obliques even though not CLEARLY DEFINED, just visible.

there are even more pics floating around the web where ppl have been lab tested 20% bf with more visible abs than that pic

And a 190lb person carrying 19% (36lbs) bf, its all about where you retain fat the most. Yes for most ppl especially men its the mid section area but for alot its the thighs/glutes and other areas. All depends on how your body is composed. There is no hard and fast rule when it comes to this. generally..yes, hard and fast..no.

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 3:19 pm

back to the original ques though, yuh dont agree its possible to build muscle and burn fat at the same time naturally?

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 7th, 2013, 4:42 pm

Need serious advice...

I am 200lbs. BMI is 25. I am 5' 8" in height. I am muscular and built, but thick. Something like an off season bodybuilder. No matter how hard I try to increase my Cardio, and push my weight with reps and sets on the bench, even with kickboxing, decrease carbs and bad fats, increase protein intake, also I do hard work on a truck, making my day work, an actual workout, I could never seem to get back my six pack. I still have that 1 to 2 inches of bodyfat on my core. What can I do?

Postby meccalli » December 7th, 2013, 5:13 pm

sharkman121 wrote:back to the original ques though, yuh dont agree its possible to build muscle and burn fat at the same time naturally?

Yes it is, but you need a really strict diet and it happens ALOT more slowly- the body doesn't do so well in multi tasking that that's why people rather go through a cycle, bulk/cut. Faster doing one thing at a time.

Kal-El Ward wrote:Need serious advice...

I am 200lbs. BMI is 25. I am 5' 8" in height. I am muscular and built, but thick. Something like an off season bodybuilder. No matter how hard I try to increase my Cardio, and push my weight with reps and sets on the bench, even with kickboxing, decrease carbs and bad fats, increase protein intake, also I do hard work on a truck, making my day work, an actual workout, I could never seem to get back my six pack. I still have that 1 to 2 inches of bodyfat on my core. What can I do?

I can think of diet probably, see if you can eliminate any foods that can upset your hormones in terms of oest and possibly implement a plateu breaking program and diet just to shed it, dunno if it would stick once you revert to regular eating. I for one am comfortable with some fat.

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 5:50 pm

Kal-El Ward wrote:Need serious advice...

That's definitely yr diet then...lots of ppl think they eat healthy and in actuality they don't. I don't blame them...there is a Lott of misinformation out there.

Wat exactly does yr diet look like?

Postby dougla_boy » December 7th, 2013, 6:07 pm

I downloaded this app....Nike Training Centre App......it is a nice little app to have when u cant go gym and u cud get a lil sweat worked up......

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 7th, 2013, 7:07 pm

Diet is home cooked food. Rice, peas, only meat is chicken breast, Salads, drink only fresh juice and water. I eat three times a day. Sometimes skip breakfast though. But my work output outweighs what I intake.

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 7:15 pm

fuggeh traditional cardio and hiit...

workouts like this is how i lost 40+ lbs. Looks easy but is extremely hard, he has many more vids on his channel..check it out.

Postby meccalli » December 7th, 2013, 7:40 pm

That may actually be where the problem lies. Your body is most likely not inclined to lose any more fat if your eating at a deficit. You may actually need to eat more at a surplus to get the ball rolling as well as something intense like hiit. You'll have to calculate it to be sure though as far as your intake is concerned.

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 8:20 pm

meccalli wrote:Your body is most likely not inclined to lose any more fat if your eating at a deficit.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 7th, 2013, 9:25 pm

I eh run in almost a month...mc exams

Trac i feel i'll take u up on that lightweight offer after the Christmas yes..

Postby meccalli » December 7th, 2013, 9:41 pm

Reiterating some points from tom venuto, still have that e-book after all these years. You can take up any issues with him. Kal isn't an obese person who's inactive, you see that with a lot of manual labourers who eat almost nothing for their activity, work all day and still have belly fat. Even people who are dead skinny and barely eat anything will retain belly fat, its an evolutionary trait to store visceral fat for men. If you barely have fat, and not eating enough, body's not gonna let what little it has for the sake of vanity.Then there's that hidden issue of stress, one of the main reasons why some men can't lose fat because they stress about it and end up with low T ala cortisol.

Postby DVSTT » December 7th, 2013, 9:45 pm

If you're limited to one protein shake a day, when would be the best time to take it?

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 9:47 pm

Now that I have no problem with. It is based on the precedent that if u eat too few calories while trying to lose fat, the body will go into starvation mode and try to hold on to whatever fat stores it has which would make it difficult to lose weight. I'm aware of tom venutos work for quite a few years now.

However kal el did not state he has this issue....at least from what he posted. So it would be presumptuous to assume that which was why I ask him to post his diet first. I would assume that he's eatin a regular diet but less carbs and more protein etc like what he mentioned chicken breasts, rice and peas, salads etc.

Postby sharkman121 » December 7th, 2013, 9:50 pm

DVSTT wrote:If you're limited to one protein shake a day, when would be the best time to take it?

Post workout imo

Postby DVSTT » December 7th, 2013, 10:16 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:If you're limited to one protein shake a day, when would be the best time to take it?

Post workout imo

I read online that immediately after a workout is the best time if you're trying to build up muscle mass. I thought I'd see what the experts had to say as well.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 7th, 2013, 10:19 pm

Post workout and when u awake is ideal imo but take ya shake whenever, to hit your total intake or raise it a lil above maintenance depending on ur macros and goals...or as a quick fix when ur on the go.

Lol @ building muscle and loosing fat. Why commit at 50% to 2 things as opposed to 100% @ 1 thing within a given period. Which 1 would yield you more results? If you got that toney freeman genetics, then lucky u, it would be possible but doing em season apart (off/on), would be substantially better....then again, trini ppl wanna have ah beach body right thru d year yet expect to build muscle at the same rate of fatloss or wanna pig out for xmas and expect to rip up for carnival. The logic???
Thing is, when u loose fat, the areas that deplete would obviously look firmer n toner or more muscular, tending to lead you to believe that u loosing the fat and building rel muscle at an alarming rate but whats really happening is that you subcutaneous fat is diminishing , thus revealing your gyms physical underlying attribute...muscles. thats just my opinion but you can do whatever the f#@k u wanna do... :grin::grin::grin:

Ever heard the sayin, Eat clen n tren hard..thats the ideal way for ur goals vexxx...lolol. u wanna be zyzz ent? I knw the feel. Having all dem bishes swarming n lickin ur nips while u frolickin in the sand....:-o

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 7th, 2013, 11:04 pm

EXODUS wrote:Post workout and when u awake is ideal imo but take ya shake whenever, to hit your total intake or raise it a lil above maintenance depending on ur macros and goals...or as a quick fix when ur on the go.

Lol @ building muscle and loosing fat. Why commit at 50% to 2 things as opposed to 100% @ 1 thing within a given period. Which 1 would yield you more results? If you got that toney freeman genetics, then lucky u, it would be possible but doing em season apart (off/on), would be substantially better....then again, trini ppl wanna have ah beach body right thru d year yet expect to build muscle at the same rate of fatloss or wanna pig out for xmas and expect to rip up for carnival. The logic???
Thing is, when u loose fat, the areas that deplete would obviously look firmer n toner or more muscular, tending to lead you to believe that u loosing the fat and building rel muscle at an alarming rate but whats really happening is that you subcutaneous fat is diminishing , thus revealing your gyms physical underlying attribute...muscles. thats just my opinion but you can do whatever the f#@k u wanna do... :grin::grin::grin:

Ever heard the sayin, Eat clen n tren hard..thats the ideal way for ur goals vexxx...lolol. u wanna be zyzz ent? I knw the feel. Having all dem bishes swarming n lickin ur nips while u frolickin in the sand....:-o

Nah dawg. Zyzz aint my thing. Skinny ripped for aesthetics? I aint a model, and I'm not aspiring to be one. Pointless for me.

I'm all about functional strength and being healthy as a horse (save the clen puns). I honestly don't care to get uber ripped.

My journey started off as weightloss and despite the naysayers and the shifttalkers, I lost 75lbs with my method. firetruck broscience 255 to 180 +- 5

I reached a decent physical size, but now I wanna be stronger. I was fat but not weak. I did construction for years, so under that weight had some muscle and strength. Toting cement bags, full barrows of sand/gravel, bussing concrete with sledge, playing catch with concrete brick to offload truck etc.

I'm in my early thirties, work, school and now child commitments. Gym is a time luxury for me so I have my small equipment at home, and I hit it as much as I can.

New goal is to ditch the remaining flab and cut some more fat and build functional strength.

When I started playing with my meow weights (Weider 4300 home gym, me eh big like alyuh ballers), I was about 20+% BF on the Omron.

Even if it's wrong it's consistent. It's showing slow weekly decline into the 14's. Meaning I lost about 6% BF since I started, while maintaining the 180lbs +- 5 weight . Not bad, for inconsistent training, slipping nutrition and probably bad form.

Postby meccalli » December 7th, 2013, 11:37 pm

I actually stopped traditional weights years ago, but this is a bodybuilding dominated thread so you won't see me alot. Other than bodyweight, sandbag walks and natural movement/lifts are the only thing i'll do out of bw exercises. Experimented alot with static, gymnastic holds i.e planches, bar work- just hanging for extended periods sometimes, and it made my muscles extremely supple, very firm even when relaxed. One arm and handstand pushups are my staples as well as pistols. Need to get back into it once exams are done.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 8th, 2013, 12:28 am

oh i c...then u wanna be the mariusz pudzianowski type!!! bearmode!!!

attaining that strength yet being fit like a horse is all up to genetics oui. some ppl gifted, others hadda wrk 2x hard. anyhow, to loose weight and fat is 2 different thing.

Q: My thing is if your baseline cals are 2500, to loose weight/fat, you'd have to eat just below 2500 to shed but a little more than to gain...hence, there is a trade off....or i am wrong??? this human body is a miracle in its own little way yes. right now i'm seeing my abs pop but the lower flab stil there...obliques coming to come but i eat like a horse. 5pc KFC, burgers but i also eat clean-ish...pig out mostly on wkends and odd days. i get in at least 4-6 meals a day... strength sllloooowly climbing, fat slowly disappearing but my weight fluctuates 195-199 ish...

i jes want this....wish i had sum black genetics :D :D :D *

interesting read

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/kelly3.htm
http://www.builtlean.com/2011/08/04/can ... same-time/

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 8th, 2013, 1:07 am

So I need to eat more? So maybe my body is storing due to my small meals? Lack of sleep causes storage of fat also? Note that I don't eat late and before sleep.

Postby sharkman121 » December 8th, 2013, 7:45 am

i doh even know where to start with the misinformation in this post.. no wonder ppl saying this thread riddled with broscience

EXODUS wrote:Lol @ building muscle and loosing fat. Why commit at 50% to 2 things as opposed to 100% @ 1 thing within a given period. Which 1 would yield you more results?
why say one would only commit 50% in this scenario? Are you saying bulking and cutting or vice versa is superior than someone simply doing weight training along with cardio to add muscle and lose fat? Take the average person coming into the gym with not much muscle and fat to lose, they not going to jump into bulking and cutting, they gonna start a routine consisting of cardio and weight training to build muscle and lose fat. If followed consistently, they gonna build muscle mass AND lose fat.
Bulking and cutting techniques imo are for persons who are a tad more experienced know what they are doing and have more knowledge of nutrition principles, you dont want that dere dirty bulk or persons starving themselves or eating one set of bush in a futile attempt to lose fat.

If you got that toney freeman genetics, then lucky u, it would be possible but doing em season apart (off/on), would be substantially better....then again, trini ppl wanna have ah beach body right thru d year yet expect to build muscle at the same rate of fatloss or wanna pig out for xmas and expect to rip up for carnival. The logic???
Opinion much?

Thing is, when u loose fat, the areas that deplete would obviously look firmer n toner or more muscular, tending to lead you to believe that u loosing the fat and building rel muscle at an alarming rate but whats really happening is that you subcutaneous fat is diminishing , thus revealing your gyms physical underlying attribute...muscles.
Yes this is for ppl who already have some sort of muscle tone already, losing fat would reveal more defined muscle below. This does not mean that new muscle mass is not being added, if you doing weight or resistance of course new muscle mass will be added AND you gonna be losing fat.

^this here, well i just loled :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » December 8th, 2013, 7:58 am

Kal-El Ward wrote:So I need to eat more? So maybe my body is storing due to my small meals? Lack of sleep causes storage of fat also? Note that I don't eat late and before sleep.

Yes lack of sleep is a big factor in weight loss also, as meccalli mentioned this is tied to producing more cortisol that makes it harder to lose fat. Lack of sleep and stress increase cortisol levels whic makes the body hold on to stubborn belly fat.

And before you eat more, stop guessing wrt to yr meal plans.... calculate yr bodies daily calorific requirements, there are plenty body calculators online so you'd know what you shooting toward, it'd take the guess work out of it, then breakdown your protein/carbs/fats according to that...finally track your calorific and macronutrient intake with a food logger like myfitnesspal.com.
Now when you step on the scale you'd no longer be surprised at the results cuz via tracking you'd know what to expect.. if you are surprised however, you'd know that you have to adjust your nutrition and macros via the food logger whether is to further cut carbs or add more protein etc etc to see desired results.