Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby HondaB20B » December 8th, 2015, 6:35 am

I have been using the bio pellets in my tank for close to 4 yrs in my tank with real good results. Its only because i was out the country and the pump froze up so i told my wife to take it offline. was the safer bet. Just have not gotten the time to hook it back up. During that time i was also adding the vodka also. Honestly if you dont have the time due to work and/or you not in the country often, a reef tank is really not for you.
I looked at that genesis reef system a while back. Too much gadgets for me means to much headache when i gone offshore or overseas and the wife screaming in my head something happen. Old school for me yes...................LOL

TheSpecialOne

Postby TheSpecialOne » December 8th, 2015, 8:45 am

Need help guys. Can't seem to get any coraline growth in my tank. It's a 2 year old system with Fish only presently. I have been waiting to see signs of coraline growth before i started to introduce corals. Can you guys help me out.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 8th, 2015, 9:50 am

TheSpecialOne wrote:Need help guys. Can't seem to get any coraline growth in my tank. It's a 2 year old system with Fish only presently. I have been waiting to see signs of coraline growth before i started to introduce corals. Can you guys help me out.

* what salt you using.
* What lights you running (type and watts).
* Did you start of with actual live rock (with coraline on it) or was it dead rock.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 9th, 2015, 9:46 am

i didnt start getting coraline till i started dosing 2 part
then it exploded

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 9th, 2015, 10:33 am

thatlife wrote:i didnt start getting coraline till i started dosing 2 part
then it exploded

I started after dosing purple up along with crushing coraline from on rocks into a liquid paste and dropped it into the flow of my powerheads. Prior to setting up my tank (1 year), i had bought my 250-300lbs of live rock (which had lots of coraline) from Raj and had it in my concrete tubs outside just waiting to set up the tank. One day i remember a whole bottle of purple-up fell into the tub and all the empty places got filled. Then about 3 mths after i started dosing 2 part. Thats 4 yrs ago. Within a week of the 2 part, all my glass and pumps and all over started to get covered.
But the key is not starting the process, but its getting it to continue growing. If you dont have the Cal/Alk right or the proper lights its just going to dwindle in any case.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2015, 11:09 am

On a different note, as you guys know that the aptasia is the pest of the aquarium that just somewhat never goes away. All you need is one rogue aptasia and all hell breaks loose in a few mths. They grow fast and multiple even faster by either spores or by fusion. I know alot of different cures which include different types of fishes, peppermint shrimp, slug like creatures, chemicals, and then there are the wands (electric shocks) All have their advantages and disadvantages that you read up all over the websites. I had mine (aptasia) contained and controlled for some mths in my reef tank from since i had about 12-15 peppermint shrimp. They really controlled my aptasia until the conk out when i wasnt in the country and after that, the aptasia went from a mere 25 or so, to a few hundred strong in just a few mths. They grew large and started to kill out my zoas by stinging them. I added about 25-30 shrimp in the tank and i still dont know what happened because they never ate any of them other than the small ones and left the big ones. Wanted to buy the copperband butterflyfish but that would not of lasted a few hrs especially since i have 4 very large tangs which are like pitbulls. Could not take the chance. A few mths ago, i went by Raj to buy salt (ONLY) and as i was passing buy some tanks, this strange fish caught my eye. The minute i saw it, i knew what it was and its capabilities. The mottled filefish. In less than 5 min he was in a bag heading south. From the first day he just chilled and never really ate much, but i guess he was just doing it at his own pace. Now some mths after, my tank is maybe 95% rid of the aptasia. He still picks at things on the rocks maybe cause he cant get into the small holes where they retract into. He hardly swims much but he is a great fish that was added to my collection. If you do have an aptasia problem, dont hesitate to look into one. I have no issues at the moment when it comes to corals............................. but then again i am LPS and leathers. Just decide to shed some light.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod ... catid=2562

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 10th, 2015, 11:56 am

Hey guys can clean up crew ( snails) survive in a tank without a chiller?

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 10th, 2015, 3:57 pm

high intensity laser

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2015, 4:28 pm

thatlife wrote:

high intensity laser

yeah but the laser real expensive and you have to go to each one and shoot it. Thats like you have a 1 acre piece of land and it overgrown with razor grass and they ask you to go pick it out by hand.............................LOL

Ent it better you get 2-3 sheep and in 3 mths the land clear.
Come d same way with the fish. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

When last I checked, the laser was close to 400US, wherby the fish is way cheaper

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 12:48 pm

Just did a 20% water change and rescaped the tank... was a bit rushed didn't like the outcome but its new so it should grow on me...
1449938911911.jpg

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 1:34 pm

Anyone have extra clean up crew... lol the tang picks at the algae but it seem to be over powered

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2015, 2:59 pm

Do you ever do a lights out ever so often to slow down the algae growth?
And it easy for you cause you dont have corals. You can go without lights for some time.
How long is your light duration.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 4:05 pm

I dont ever put on lights unless ppl are over, my tank it in the garage

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2015, 4:08 pm

Whey sah............. so de fish dont need light?
Yeah but algae needs light to grow. So then what algae you talk about

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 4:21 pm

I have algae i usually scrub the tank once or twice a week...
1449951676166.jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2015, 4:26 pm

when you mean scrub........... what you mean

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2015, 4:28 pm

The algae you talk about is that brownish purplish stuff?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 5:18 pm

Green... i know what coraline algae is... lmao ive been readig all your posts dont worry...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2015, 5:38 pm

kyhamil wrote:Green... i know what coraline algae is... lmao ive been readig all your posts dont worry...

wasn't coralline I talking about. What you mean by scrub

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 5:38 pm

The back of the tank you would see what i mean

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2015, 5:41 pm

LOL...........ok.
But if you hardly have on the lights, how come you getting so much algae.
too much sunlight?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 5:41 pm

I have the magnetic cleaners and a long arm glass cleaner... i just pass that twice a week and the metal scraper if necessary... i leave the back glass and only clean the sides and front

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2015, 6:43 pm

But if you hardly have on the lights, how come you getting so much algae.
too much sunlight?

Postby meccalli » December 12th, 2015, 6:47 pm

Excess nutrients as well if not.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 6:52 pm

I been trying to post a reason for the problem all evening... this time of year due to the angle of the sun on an evening light hits the tank directly for a cpl hrs

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 6:53 pm

See
1449960765424.jpg

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 12th, 2015, 6:53 pm

And the algea im talking about is that stuff to the back od the tank

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 13th, 2015, 12:15 am

meccalli wrote:Excess nutrients as well if not.

that and the fact that it doesn't seem like you running a skimmer

Postby meccalli » December 13th, 2015, 6:52 am

My situation is the same, sun exposure and no skimmer. Since I started using purigen, it stunts algae and the water looks great all the time. Wonderful product for both fresh and salt. It's also rechargeable, just have to soak it well to remove the chlorine after recharging in a bleach solution.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » December 13th, 2015, 8:36 am

Id look into the purigen... and I do have a skimmer, 2 actually... but im buying a new 1 rated for 200+ gallobs when i go on vaca tomorrow... new tank next year should be 5x2x2 or 5x20"x20"