Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Re: Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Postby 16 cycles » October 7th, 2014, 7:13 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
It's quite possible he would have done a hunger strike if the courts allowed the smelters to be built and if the PP allowed the smelters to be built.

not sure based on silence from the Kubs camp on recent environmental events -

-oil 'spill' - petrotrin
-still ongoing burning of rubbish @ Beetham landfill

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 7th, 2014, 7:34 am

16 cycles wrote:
It's quite possible he would have done a hunger strike if the courts allowed the smelters to be built and if the PP allowed the smelters to be built.

-oil 'spill' - petrotrin

A few things:

1. I do not expect WK and company to be THE only group to comment on EVERY single environmental event locally.

2. Petrotrin at least cleaned up the spills, compensated residents, provided healthcare and more. The perception at least isn't that nothing positive is being done to appease and fix.

3. You want WK to protest to who about the ongoing burning of rubbish @ the Beetham landfill? The fire starters? SWMCOL?

Believing that WK should protest for every single environmental issue just because he staunchly protests against a portion of the highway is myopic.

Postby 1UZFE » October 7th, 2014, 7:43 am

Devils advocate.
If he dosent protests for other issues. Then what does he stand for. This seems like a 1 track opposition.
Petrotrin left certain places in a mess, up to today. Just for facts.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 7th, 2014, 7:47 am

1UZFE wrote:Devils advocate.
If he dosent protests for other issues. Then what does he stand for. This seems like a 1 track opposition.
Petrotrin left certain places in a mess, up to today. Just for facts.

That's why I said perception cuz I can't speak to every single location with respect to the cleanup. I can't say I agree I with the devil's advocate in this scenario because it doesn't seem logical. Why? Because the highway wasn't the only issue he stood against.

Postby Redman » October 7th, 2014, 7:55 am

R!CH!E wrote:Redman you sound intelligent so I am certain that you will also know that no matter which route is chosen issues will arise. Truth is, most of the residents want a hi-way and don't really care where it passes, once Penal and Debe are connected and we are relieved of our distress.

My issue isnt about pleasing every one-but the TRUTH is that there is a process that will establish what is the best route,that will minimize the UNNECESSARY damage to the environment and communities, solve the transport issues people have today-while also being of sufficient capacity for the future requirements of the SW Peninsula's needs.

Whether that route is the Govts plan,the HRM plan or something different is irrelevant.

Our objective as a people should be to get the BEST route and value for the 7,000,000,000 we spending.
Its our money. The people north of the lighthouse are footing the bill just like those in South.

Simply with the history of mis management of all govts we have had, we should have more disclosure from the GORTT on this the biggest project in our history.
The way GORTT has dealt with this raises many questions

WK s choice of action is unnecessary noise -but I fully endorse his right to do it...as I support UML and brams right to spew drivel.-See their posts above for examples of wasted freedom of expression

Postby 16 cycles » October 7th, 2014, 8:52 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:It's quite possible he would have done a hunger strike if the courts allowed the smelters to be built and if the PP allowed the smelters to be built.

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Believing that WK should protest for every single environmental issue just because he staunchly protests against a portion of the highway is myopic.

-didn't state he should have protested for every environmental issue....but definite silence based on some of the more recent issues....not even a statement...

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 7th, 2014, 9:15 am

Redman wrote:
R!CH!E wrote:Redman you sound intelligent so I am certain that you will also know that no matter which route is chosen issues will arise. Truth is, most of the residents want a hi-way and don't really care where it passes, once Penal and Debe are connected and we are relieved of our distress.

My issue isnt about pleasing every one-but the TRUTH is that there is a process that will establish what is the best route,that will minimize the UNNECESSARY damage to the environment and communities, solve the transport issues people have today-while also being of sufficient capacity for the future requirements of the SW Peninsula's needs.

Whether that route is the Govts plan,the HRM plan or something different is irrelevant.

Our objective as a people should be to get the BEST route and value for the 7,000,000,000 we spending.
Its our money. The people north of the lighthouse are footing the bill just like those in South.

Simply with the history of mis management of all govts we have had, we should have more disclosure from the GORTT on this the biggest project in our history.
The way GORTT has dealt with this raises many questions

WK s choice of action is unnecessary noise -but I fully endorse his right to do it...as I support UML and brams right to spew drivel.-See their posts above for examples of wasted freedom of expression

Everyone wants what is best but at the end of the day you will end up doing 101 feasibility studies every time someone or some group has an objection and the project would have never gotten off the ground.

Postby Redman » October 7th, 2014, 9:26 am

Everyone wants what is best but at the end of the day you will end up doing 101 feasibility studies every time someone or some group has an objection and the project would have never gotten off the ground.

Not if we have an established structure of executing these types of public projects-we dont.

Other places -like the US have public policy guidelines that inform the way these projects are conceived,developed and executed.

We should have had a definitive justification process with fixed parameters,transparent procurement process all settled BEFORE construction started.

So that when construction starts -its done properly.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 7th, 2014, 12:01 pm

Redman wrote:

Not if we have an established structure of executing these types of public projects-we dont.

Other places -like the US have public policy guidelines that inform the way these projects are conceived,developed and executed.

We should have had a definitive justification process with fixed parameters,transparent procurement process all settled BEFORE construction started.

Wait on that to happen and we would still be using the Old Southern Main Road.
I agree we need these things but getting these in place are easier said than done pal.
We don't live in the ideal world.

Postby RBphoto » October 7th, 2014, 12:19 pm

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 7th, 2014, 1:51 pm

If it was a real fast he would already be dead.
He's just not eating or drinking during the day.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 7th, 2014, 4:21 pm

Redman wrote:

Remember, that "Armstrong Report" was the first of it's kind by ANY Caribbean country for a mega project such as this one. That in itself was a massive accomplishment despite what anyone has to say about it. That should serve as a guideline on the proper process in even entertaining the thought of any similar project of this magnitude.

With that said, I found this video to be very well done and quite funny while not taking away from the message it tries to deliver.

Postby shogun » October 7th, 2014, 6:30 pm

Heh...

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 7th, 2014, 8:24 pm

16 cycles wrote:

-oil 'spill' - petrotrin

Ah like you...

If he's so much of an environmentalist, how come he doesn't highlight the other issues as you mentioned???

In addition Flooding, Vehicle Emissions, De-Forestation of the Northern Range (our shield for Hurricanes etc) for housing of the "Rich & Famous", Erosion of our Coast Lines, just to name
a valid few...!!!

Kuby just full ah real sheit...!!! Lookin at d Crook on the News just now, how come a man who
CLAIMS to be on a so-called hunger strike, be so mobile to disembark from an SUV? I'm sure he
goes back the same way he comes out...!!!

Postby The_Honourable » October 8th, 2014, 1:08 am

As i said, if he want people to take the hunger strike seriously, he should be in front the Prime Minister's office for the full 24hrs and 7 Days. This kinda 8-4 weekdays and taking weekends off to watch flowers in his garden and to swim in salt water not cutting it.

I don't wish for him to die but that going home ting and taking weekends off really suspect :|

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 8th, 2014, 1:41 am

Redman wrote:
R!CH!E wrote:I have been reading this post from the inception, reading and considering the arguments for and against. Trying to understand how people whose lives are not affected daily could cause such a big impact Mr. Kublalsingh, Mr. Roget, Mr. Minshall et al.

My home is not in the proposed current route or the proposed re-route, but I have family and friends who had to relocate, may have to relocate or have been put on notice. I live and work in the area and so I am directly affected either through mobility or through family/friends relocation.

I would like the people who are not affected to consider:
- A drive to Debe from Penal used to take me 5-10 minutes at any day or time; now that said drive could take 30-45 minutes at best.
- When I worked in San Juan I had to be up at 4 am to beat the traffic to get to work for 8 am (I would reach at 7 am). The employer was private sector and as such no flexi-time or any other time arrangement so I could not work from 7 am and leave and hour earlier. I would leave at 5 pm and be home by about 7:30 pm.
- I now work at Otaheite (Mon Desir), passing through the M2 Ring road means I could reach to work in 15 minutes, now because of the traffic I take and alternative route which takes 30 minutes to bypass the traffic. When the creek is flooded we either stayed at work, find some other recreation or stay in traffic till low tide takes water out.

What I am trying to say is if this traffic is re-routed away from Penal/Debe our plights go unanswered. New alternatives i.e. bettering the current road networks/new roads are in use but still the traffic persists. We must also keep in mind that the Penal/Debe region is still growing and a short term solution will be just that short term.

I just want the rest of Trinidad to hear the plights of the people from south of San Fernando and all the people who come from out of area to work deep south. The country's main resources oil and gas is extracted and refined in south, yet we are not connected with a hi-way. Traffic in Penal/Debe is now not a "peak hours" occurrence but a Sunday to Sunday normalcy.

7000 000 000 is 5.3m per citizen. So all of us have a vested interest in this being done PROPERLY

Everything you said is correct....so any decision has to be the right one.

This govt brought us fakin LIFESPORT!!!!
Yet the nonchalance shown here towards the same govt refusing to justify its rationale to spend that amount of money is amazing...
How do you cede your intelligence to three letters?

Wha kinda Maths is this? 5.3m/citizen?

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2014, 6:18 am

It's 5300 per person.

Which in Roman numerals could be 5.3m :mrgreen:

lol You correct. My typing on the calc was off.

Thanks

Postby 3stagevtec » October 8th, 2014, 6:40 am

In today's Express..

Postby shogun » October 8th, 2014, 6:53 am

For a leader of a religious organization to be weighing in on the side of encouraging another individual to go ahead and harm himself is disgusting. I don't care if you agree with Kubs' ideology or not. Just goes to show the type of "people" we are dealing with. How hard could it be for him to keep his personal opinion to himself?.

Postby RBphoto » October 8th, 2014, 7:31 am

This is one of those occasions where you grimace when you totally agree with Sat Maharaj.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 8th, 2014, 7:31 am

shogun wrote:For a leader of a religious organization to be weighing in on the side of encouraging another individual to go ahead and harm himself is disgusting. I don't care if you agree with Kubs' ideology or not. Just goes to show the type of "people" we are dealing with. How hard could it be for him to keep his personal opinion to himself?.

Since when the things religious leaders say in these modern times carry any kind of weight? I just see it as another opinion on the topic and in this case, it's an opinion I support.

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2014, 7:46 am

The_Honourable wrote:As i said, if he want people to take the hunger strike seriously, he should be in front the Prime Minister's office for the full 24hrs and 7 Days. This kinda 8-4 weekdays and taking weekends off to watch flowers in his garden and to swim in salt water not cutting it.

I don't wish for him to die but that going home ting and taking weekends off really suspect :|

Depends on whether the goal is time of to starve.

If its time-time that the press keeps this on the front page and time to gather the support in numbers.

Which ever side you are on there is a way to leverage what you have.

Thats what he is doing-the govt has no choice to respond in a way that can be perceived as inhumane.

There only choice is to take his points/issues and refute them with facts, in a public transparent way ....and then say WK is free to continue...we have done what we can.

But they havent-

So the dog and pony show will continue

Postby shogun » October 8th, 2014, 7:48 am

RBphoto wrote:This is one of those occasions where you grimace when you totally agree with Sat Maharaj.

3stagevtec wrote:Since when the things religious leaders say in these modern times carry any kind of weight?

And cynicism will get us everywhere?

People in positions like that should be mindful of giving personal opinions on issues as sensitive as this... precisely because he's representing a whole segment of the population that might not necessarily entirely agree with him.

3stagevtec wrote:I just see it as another opinion on the topic and in this case, it's an opinion I support.

I don't... because we all know what motivates Sat and his ilk.

Postby RBphoto » October 8th, 2014, 7:52 am

SDMS followers don't have opinions. Sat is their opinion.

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2014, 7:53 am

3stagevtec wrote:
shogun wrote:For a leader of a religious organization to be weighing in on the side of encouraging another individual to go ahead and harm himself is disgusting. I don't care if you agree with Kubs' ideology or not. Just goes to show the type of "people" we are dealing with. How hard could it be for him to keep his personal opinion to himself?.

Since when the things religious leaders say in these modern times carry any kind of weight? I just see it as another opinion on the topic and in this case, it's an opinion I support.

But is Sat a religious leader or an administrator?? serious Q

The Pope is a Religious leader-he was a priest and moved up,like the archbishop,Imam,Caliph etc
They lead the religion.
Sat is the Secretary General of a lobby group.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sanatan_Dharma_Maha_Sabha

The Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha is the major Hindu organisation in Trinidad and Tobago. It operates 150 mandirs,over 50 schools And has it very own radio station, radio jagriti 102.7 fm Trinidad. It was formed in 1952 when Bhadase Sagan Maraj engineered the merger of the Satanan Dharma Association and the Sanatan Dharma Board of Control. An affiliated group, the Pundits' Parishad, has 200 affiliated pundits. The organisation's headquarters are located in St. Augustine.

The President General of the Maha Sabha is Pt utham Maharaj and the Secretary General is Satnarayan Maharaj, son-in-law of the founder, Bhadase Sagan Maraj.

In 1881, a Sanatan Dharma Association was founded in Trinidad in an attempt to consolidate Hindus and lobby on their behalf.

Postby RBphoto » October 8th, 2014, 10:14 am

Redman wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

But is Sat a religious leader or an administrator?? serious Q

The Pope is a Religious leader-he was a priest and moved up,like the archbishop,Imam,Caliph etc
They lead the religion.
Sat is the Secretary General of a lobby group.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sanatan_Dharma_Maha_Sabha

The Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha is the major Hindu organisation in Trinidad and Tobago. It operates 150 mandirs,over 50 schools And has it very own radio station, radio jagriti 102.7 fm Trinidad. It was formed in 1952 when Bhadase Sagan Maraj engineered the merger of the Satanan Dharma Association and the Sanatan Dharma Board of Control. An affiliated group, the Pundits' Parishad, has 200 affiliated pundits. The organisation's headquarters are located in St. Augustine.

The President General of the Maha Sabha is Pt utham Maharaj and the Secretary General is Satnarayan Maharaj, son-in-law of the founder, Bhadase Sagan Maraj.

In 1881, a Sanatan Dharma Association was founded in Trinidad in an attempt to consolidate Hindus and lobby on their behalf.

Pandit and Bramacharia/ Dharmacharia does touch his foot [/Discussion]

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 8th, 2014, 10:36 am

At the end of the day, if Wayne lives or dies, his hunger strike, his alleged ulterior motives, it doesn't matter. What truly matters is the hopeful outcome of this situation, the outcome he so desperately desires not for himself but for the people of this country.

Trinidad has no many brilliant minds and is overflowing with talent. We are wasting that resource, we are wasting the country's resources and the people, you and I, are not benefiting. Wayne and anyone else who has contributed to our society to make it a better place and strive for fairness, equality, transparency and so on will be regarded as a very great person IMHO.

You are watching the man who we know as Wayne but you do not fully comprehend his core motive, no matter if he has something to gain from this as some people think. He is striving for a better nation. This is OUR country. We have so many national heroes who have contributed and still continue to. Look at Mr. Geoffrey Holder. I didn't even know about him before I saw his death in the papers but I felt so happy reading all that he did for his craft and by extension our country. He was proud to say he was a Trinidadian no matter what. He gave back in his own way. Everyone has their purpose or calling and they choose their own way to give back something to the people and to bring happiness and joy to others.

Why are we here? Not to help our fellow man? Once your words, thoughts and deeds are in alignment you will start to see a change within yourself and soon enough, all around you.

Postby UML » October 8th, 2014, 12:52 pm

hearing a talk that no appeal to the Privy Council was filed. If so, is this hunger strike just a political gimmick? Because he lost before the courts and as a stubborn child started to the hunger strike because he didnt get his way!

Postby janfar » October 8th, 2014, 12:56 pm

Kublalsingh hit 21 days without water. In the silmarillion the Noldor went without water for 25 days after the kinslaying in Aqualonde. Kublalsingh is an elf.

Never trust an elf.

Postby bushwakka » October 8th, 2014, 1:24 pm

janfar wrote:Kublalsingh hit 21 days without water. In the silmarillion the Noldor went without water for 25 days after the kinslaying in Aqualonde. Kublalsingh is an elf.

Never trust an elf.

ok gimli