Flow Internet Thread

sonygoup

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby sonygoup » July 20th, 2014, 9:37 pm

ModMania wrote:I have a question...how many here with slow speeds from arima?

Checking in

ModMania

Postby ModMania » July 20th, 2014, 9:50 pm

I think it has something to do with the recent power outages...I noticed when electricity went and came back after a few hrs, modems werent able to get online right away. I assume it was because too many modems were trying to lock at the same time causing a bottle neck...but when I got connected eventually it started being really slow..

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » July 20th, 2014, 10:00 pm

Didn't loss an power on my side jus the usual light flashing really quick during the rain
It may be the distributor nearly need to reset or be reconfigured... Never really had a problem when rain fall

ModMania

Postby ModMania » July 21st, 2014, 12:50 am

Ok so we deduced that the whole of arima effed up...

Postby S_2NR » July 21st, 2014, 1:08 am

lol. normal here

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 21st, 2014, 1:18 am

seems ok now

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » July 21st, 2014, 8:30 am

Working fine in central...

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 21st, 2014, 6:17 pm

Working fine south.... Just high latency

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » July 21st, 2014, 9:54 pm

Speedtest shows the full 10MB but files downloading like 30-50 kbps and pages loading slower than normal. Tunapuna area, happening since rain fall last week yes

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 21st, 2014, 10:26 pm

Stop testing on flow servers...

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » July 21st, 2014, 10:52 pm

^^^ on blink speed test i always have shitty speeds lol

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 21st, 2014, 10:53 pm

It have times pages crawling to load, but if I open a page for the speed test it loads faster than anything, speed test runs awesome, but all the while everything moves like a snail. Flow throttles the traffic, but never throttles for a speed test

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 21st, 2014, 10:57 pm

Test using a US server. Side note however I've never experienced flow throttling my net.

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » July 21st, 2014, 11:05 pm

frigging downloads keeps randomly stopping before completely downloading. Stueps

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 22nd, 2014, 4:41 am

My speeds are 1mb - 5mb. Called them AGAIN tonight. Last time my router seemed to be the problem as a direct connection to the modem gave me the full 20mb on the speedtest.

Now I hooked up my new router today, and its 1mb - 5mb - even with the direct connection. Tested it in safe mode with networking too cuz the flow tech said she was resetting some kinda thing but it kept coming back and interfering, like some sort of malware but the speedtests on safe mode has the same results.

So now they gona send someone to replace the modem as it has no other explanation. Have to wait till 30th July now for a tech to come. I aint even bother about asking for a rebate na. In any case, my new router just so freaking cool to look at lol 8-) :lol:

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 22nd, 2014, 6:52 am

You are one of the people to think that you will get the same speeds wirelessly as wired ent.

Flow just like to fck up people internet

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 22nd, 2014, 7:21 am

vtec-ghost wrote:Speedtest shows the full 10MB but files downloading like 30-50 kbps and pages loading slower than normal. Tunapuna area, happening since rain fall last week yes

Could be the website or server.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 22nd, 2014, 7:23 am

Soul Collector wrote:My speeds are 1mb - 5mb. Called them AGAIN tonight. Last time my router seemed to be the problem as a direct connection to the modem gave me the full 20mb on the speedtest.

Now I hooked up my new router today, and its 1mb - 5mb - even with the direct connection. Tested it in safe mode with networking too cuz the flow tech said she was resetting some kinda thing but it kept coming back and interfering, like some sort of malware but the speedtests on safe mode has the same results.

So now they gona send someone to replace the modem as it has no other explanation. Have to wait till 30th July now for a tech to come. I aint even bother about asking for a rebate na. In any case, my new router just so freaking cool to look at lol 8-) :lol:

Did you try hooking it up directly ?

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » July 22nd, 2014, 7:40 am

I have been experiencing slow speeds for months now and keep calling about it. I was told yesterday that there is noise on the line and to please bear with FLOW and that the issue would be escalated for the issue to be resolved in the area (Santa Cruz).

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 22nd, 2014, 8:48 am

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3640582117
US Server Rain was falling by me when i did this test.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » July 22nd, 2014, 8:52 am

Getting good speeds on torrents as of lately

Torrents starting up faster than before, don't know what changed over the weekend

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 22nd, 2014, 9:01 am

GeneralHonda wrote:I have been experiencing slow speeds for months now and keep calling about it. I was told yesterday that there is noise on the line and to please bear with FLOW and that the issue would be escalated for the issue to be resolved in the area (Santa Cruz).

They said there is nothing wrong with my line or that anything was affecting my area negatively (Curepe). So I dont know why I have this stupid problem. I just hoping its really a faulty modem.

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » July 22nd, 2014, 9:15 am

flipswitch5point wrote:Just for the record. Couldn't upload this last night :/ lol (look at the times in the taskbar)

Check out previous posts for problem description. Afterward though, been getting pretty decent speeds, even to Florida and with torrents. Upwards of 8 for d/l (wired connection), and I've noticed 10 fairly often as well (10mb package). I use netspeedmonitor to constantly monitor speeds during use.

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » July 22nd, 2014, 9:22 am

(Netspeedmonitor you can see next to the chrome icon in the tray.)

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 22nd, 2014, 10:05 am

anybody getting problems sending mail using flow?

i have both a flow address user@flowtrinidad.com and an external domain address and sending mail from outlook results in mail being returned undeliverable, marked as spam.

if i send mail from webmail mail sends fine...

FLOW's tech support is a little bit less than useless of course

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » July 22nd, 2014, 12:46 pm

Soul Collector wrote:
GeneralHonda wrote:I have been experiencing slow speeds for months now and keep calling about it. I was told yesterday that there is noise on the line and to please bear with FLOW and that the issue would be escalated for the issue to be resolved in the area (Santa Cruz).

They said there is nothing wrong with my line or that anything was affecting my area negatively (Curepe). So I dont know why I have this stupid problem. I just hoping its really a faulty modem.

Since my modem was changed my speed issues began. Each time I call I tell them this and they insist it is not the modem. I have the 20mb package and my relative 2 houses away has a lesser package and can watch you tube vids at 360p versus me at 144p...240p if I am lucky. I am considering swapping modems and see what will take place.

Postby Morpheus » July 22nd, 2014, 1:26 pm

WTF.....I am pissed if I can't get at least 720p on streams. I usually stream youtube at 1080p straight away. On PC, on phone, etc. Even when I had the 5MB package.

Netflix no problems as well. When I see buffering(once or twice every couple months) I'm shocked. FLOW better buck up.

Those speeds and problems to stream allyuh talking about there can be VERY frustrating..... upsets me just reading about it. LoL :roll:

ModMania

Postby ModMania » July 22nd, 2014, 1:38 pm

I wonder if they capping streams like torrents

brickman

Postby brickman » July 22nd, 2014, 1:46 pm

Had a friend with the same fluctuating speed & disconnecting problem using wifi,i checked it this morning & it turned out to be just a loose wire on his wifi card.He even spent $$ on a fancy router thinking it was the issue,i would suggest those of you having problems check your wifi cards.

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2014, 3:44 pm

Did a man just say he ear worrying about rebates? Free money giving weh deh?