Official BlackBerry Thread

Re: D Official 2010 BlackBerry THREAD

Postby tr1ad » January 1st, 2012, 8:54 am

copper... digi playing up with you... once the sim setting is inactive, it is 100% unlocked

you'd probably need to go in and have them lodge the imei on their network

the 8520, is running low on system memory, hence the slow period, you should really upgrade because as it stands very soon randomly you'll see "err: not enough application memory" msg and well it will freeze

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 1st, 2012, 10:40 am

Well 2012 is here.

This year it will be decided if Blackberry/RIM stays in business or goes bankrupt.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 1st, 2012, 10:53 am

tr1ad wrote:copper... digi playing up with you... once the sim setting is inactive, it is 100% unlocked

you'd probably need to go in and have them lodge the imei on their network

thats what i thought

when i called them i thought they would have taken the IMEI and registered the phone on their network, i tried registering manually thru the routing table option but it wasnt going through

once registered i'm sure it would work, tech support just told me that it "partially locked"

Postby tr1ad » January 1st, 2012, 10:58 am

them on games, they did that recently to a co worker... and he was literally walking them through the steps of what to do... and they simply wouldn't do it

Postby S_2NR » January 1st, 2012, 11:42 am

switch to bmobile
digicel fail there

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 1st, 2012, 4:55 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
copper_shot wrote:need some help here...

my digi sim says "network activation required", when i click on activate it dials "*228*" and disconnects

i called digicel helpdesk and they're saying that the phone is not fully unlocked, but the phone is working fine with a bmobile bb sim card

dial ##000000 from home screen

when the new screen comes up, on the first line change the phone number to 868XXXXXXX( being your local Digicel number)

then press menu and save, the phone will restart and that will remove the activation required screen and should solve your problems

THIS worked ! removed the wireless activation needed

also i had to change the Network type from "global" to GSM as the network was showing up as roaming

i'm loving this screen size on the 9930, buttons are much easier to type with too

Postby tr1ad » January 1st, 2012, 5:22 pm

doh trade it for no iphone eh

glad you got tru... super aba to the rescue

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 1st, 2012, 8:27 pm

nah working sweet, by far the best blackberry ever.... if i didnt get it working was gonna trade for an iphone4 and keep my old bold 9780

fs 9780 bold
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=414160&p=5895965#p5895965

Postby tr1ad » January 1st, 2012, 9:55 pm

head over to crackberry and download the latest OS, will work even smoother
or msg me for dl instructions

Postby Trini Hookah » January 1st, 2012, 10:40 pm

Copper is $800 or $1800 man? :lol:

Postby S_2NR » January 1st, 2012, 11:21 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Copper is $800 or $1800 man? :lol:

wondering the same
ill take it if is 800

snowman

Postby snowman » January 13th, 2012, 11:52 am

Selling my Bold 9000

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=416384

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » January 16th, 2012, 10:30 am

was going to buy android but getting this phone so no complains then.....
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005S0 ... XNES7RO67X
is free ting so i as well take it.....:(

Postby tr1ad » January 16th, 2012, 10:37 am

nothing wrong with that.. but the 9900 blows all the other models out of the water

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » January 16th, 2012, 11:14 am

yeah i guess so..well since i eh know one shiet bout bb and the plans umm digi or bmobile?

Postby tr1ad » January 16th, 2012, 11:17 am

depends on you as an individual

for me my postpaid plan and unlimted BIS on bmobile works fine for me

my bill is roughly 450 a month

even with slow speeds browsing is ok for me as the browser on OS7 is faster

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 19th, 2012, 9:28 am

BlackBerry market share slides again amid takeover talk

BlackBerry is continuing to lose market share in the United States, new figures reveal, showing the scale of the mountain that RIM, the firm behind the smartphone brand, must climb in 2012 to avoid a takeover.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/b ... -talk.html

In the three month period to the end of November BlackBerry slid more than three per cent, from 19.7 per cent to 16.6 per cent, according to ComScore.

Android was the main beneficiary of the continuing malaise, gaining more than three per cent to account for 46.9 per cent of the American smartphone market. Most of Google’s new mobile users defected from BlackBerry, as between them Microsoft and Symbian lost a total of less than one per cent of the market.

Apple also gained as RIM suffered. The iPhone now has a 28.7 per cent share in the US, up from 27.3 per cent three months earlier.

Reversing its decline in its biggest market will be a top priority for RIM this year as executives aim to avoid a takeover by a rival.

Most of the major players in the booming smartphone market have been linked with a bid for the Canadian firm recently. Microsoft, Nokia and RIM have all reportedly considered a takeover, as well as Amazon, which is expected to enter the fray this year with its first smartphone.

RIM executives have rejected suggestions of a sale, however, despite a 75 per cent collapse in the firm’s share price in 2011. But unless they can reverse BlackBerry's fortunes in its traditional stronghold, analysts say, takeover talk is sure to intensify.

One possibility is that RIM could licence the BlackBerry software to other smartphone manufacturers such as Samsung, who make more cutting-edge devices.

Shortcut Ltd

Postby Shortcut Ltd » January 21st, 2012, 6:02 am

need help>left my phone(9850) charging overnight and woke up to a red led blinking on and off every 10sec or so and the phone is not coming on. After doing some research i think it is stuck on a boot loop. Tried updating but it only reaches half of the installation then a message (connecting to JVM) pops up and that's it. Also tried with the app loader,same result. Even tried wiping the phone but it keeps connecting and disconnecting as the phone loops. Any ideas? Help please!

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » January 21st, 2012, 6:56 am

this helped me sometime aback

1. Connect your BB to the computer.
2. Run JL_Cmder
3. Choose option 5, wipe the device. This will delete all files - OS and data - from your BB. The BB screen will show JVM Error 507. This means the BB has no files installed.
4. Using Desktop Manager, reinstall your software. When you run the Application Loader, check all the available boxes.
5. When this process completes, restore your most recent backup file.
You should be back to normal, with the exception of having to reregister OTA or other 3rd party apps. Save their reg numbers in your Memo app so that you have them handy.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » January 21st, 2012, 6:59 am

a next thing u could try is plugging in the phone without the battery, desktop manager wud pop up and tell u its not able to connect to the device if u wanna retry, update or cancel, click update and it would start to update the phone when it reaches the point n says waitin for device initialisation u could re-insert the battery. see if that works

Postby Ted_v2 » January 21st, 2012, 7:22 am

Where can i get a otterbox reasonably priced?

i didnt see aba have ne up for sale in the forums(gonna call him ina bit)

but where in south i can get one?

Postby tr1ad » January 21st, 2012, 7:57 am

shortcut

many users of newer models report that blinking led after overnight charge as a sign of a a bricked phone

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » January 21st, 2012, 8:06 am

i have 3 phones here that users say they left to charge and when they woke up they saw the red light on and the phone wont boot, they took out d battery n re-inserted it and the phone just dead, no red light nothing the models are

2 white torch 2 9810 (2 months old)
1 9900 (1 month old)

Postby tr1ad » January 21st, 2012, 8:14 am

yup... bricked

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » January 21st, 2012, 8:24 am

whats the fix for that? new board?

Postby tr1ad » January 21st, 2012, 8:35 am

users in the usa send them back to be replaced under warranty... some have even said that trying to upgrade the OS reboots the phone...
http://crackberry.com/blackberry-101-le ... blackberry

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » January 21st, 2012, 8:46 am

what about if the led lights fail to come on.....whats the next step, trash?

Postby tr1ad » January 21st, 2012, 8:51 am

trash basically... scavenge for parts...

Shortcut Ltd

Postby Shortcut Ltd » January 21st, 2012, 8:43 pm

Thanks for all the help. Tried all that already and still no progress. The phone won't even connect to jl-cmder for me to wipe. Strangely enough when i first got the problem and updated the phone it came on and was working until i had to restart after updating bbm. Then it never restarted. :( just blinking LED :x

Postby tr1ad » January 22nd, 2012, 7:17 am

you tried the lastest OS?
http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry ... nt-679281/

download and install...

remember to remove the vendor xml file