COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 24314 cases, 507 deaths, 9558 active, 14249 recovered in T&T

Postby gastly369 » June 2nd, 2021, 8:20 pm

Heard word about this last week but I say was normal he say she say Trinidad rumors....seems may may have something to it after all
aaron17 wrote:Not sure if posted
Businessman who claimed Pfizer entered T&T to give info to CMO
http://www.looptt.com/content/businessm ... e-info-cmo

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 24314 cases, 507 deaths, 9558 active, 14249 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » June 2nd, 2021, 8:24 pm

I don't know about you guys but I fed the
ph uck up of this government.
I wish the Indian variant infects each and every one of them.

Postby paid_influencer » June 2nd, 2021, 8:27 pm

yea it very plausible that some big shots could have smuggled in some Pfizer here. If you are lucky enough to be in the US, you can walk into a pharmacy or supermarket in the US and ask for the vaccine and they give you a shot of Pfizer right then and there. It's not hard to see how some of that could have found its way back on a private jet into Trinidad.

Postby j.o.e » June 2nd, 2021, 8:33 pm

Sounds like rumshop talk …..but I could be wrong.

Postby paid_influencer » June 2nd, 2021, 8:34 pm

j.o.e wrote:Sounds like rumshop talk …..but I could be wrong.

really? this country smuggling in cocaine and guns but a tiny bottle of vaccine is unbelievable?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 2nd, 2021, 8:46 pm

paid_influencer wrote:yea it very plausible that some big shots could have smuggled in some Pfizer here. If you are lucky enough to be in the US, you can walk into a pharmacy or supermarket in the US and ask for the vaccine and they give you a shot of Pfizer right then and there. It's not hard to see how some of that could have found its way back on a private jet into Trinidad.

You would need to keep it close to zero degrees for the entire trip though.

drchaos

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 23001 cases, 470 deaths, 9250 active, 13281 recovered in T&T

Postby drchaos » June 2nd, 2021, 9:06 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
wtf wrote:They could lockdown 24 hrs a day it won't drop the numbers.
The A$$hole who decided to send persons home to quarantine need to send them in field hospitals. More people you send home, more mixing takes place and more people get COVID-19.

The numbers have stopped increasing which is what we want. Cases are high because so many already have Covid but the rate it's spreading is down.
Screenshot_20210531_130726.jpg

Good luck keeping a variant which is twice as contagious as the original strain below 1 once we come out of lockdown.

We need a magical wind to blow some 2 million Pfizer and Moderna vaccine here in the next 4 months

Doh stress the US is not gonna approve Astra so we should be getting their rejects.
One mans garbage is another mans ...

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 24314 cases, 507 deaths, 9558 active, 14249 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » June 2nd, 2021, 9:09 pm

wtf wrote:I don't know about you guys but I fed the
ph uck up of this government.
I wish the Indian variant infects each and every one of them.

Maybe if Trinis followed simple instructions the Govt would not be forced to put us in this position.

Its been over a year now…

Wear your masks
Sanitize
DO NOT CONGRGATE

The majority of the population refused to listen…you agree? Or have they been picture perfect?

Borders are porous, we know this…then those entering illegally should be the only ones with the virus. You agree? Because everyone else was supposed to be following the guidelines from over a year now….not so?

The Govt has allowed “stranded” citizens to come in…repatriation flights they call it. They have implemented quarantine measures, both state and at home. Trinis have breeched these orders over and over and over….what is the Govt suppose to do?

We do not have the resources to babysit EACH and EVERY Trini in quarantine. A positive human action is required and these are BIG grown ass people who are supposed to be responsible.

But YOU fed up and ALL blame is on the Govt.

So wish a variant on the Govt? Ok sure fine i agree. But make sure and swallow that variant yourself because you are BOTH equally responsible for the state the country is in.

Responsibility and maturity is the greatest weapon that we need now. It makes no sense blaming eachother. The fighting must stop and it is imperative that we ALL do the correct thing.

Keep good whiddyphuck

Postby sMASH » June 2nd, 2021, 9:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:yea it very plausible that some big shots could have smuggled in some Pfizer here. If you are lucky enough to be in the US, you can walk into a pharmacy or supermarket in the US and ask for the vaccine and they give you a shot of Pfizer right then and there. It's not hard to see how some of that could have found its way back on a private jet into Trinidad.

You would need to keep it close to zero degrees for the entire trip though.
absolute, fahrenheit or just celcius?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 23001 cases, 470 deaths, 9250 active, 13281 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » June 2nd, 2021, 9:17 pm

drchaos wrote:
[spoiler]
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
The A$$hole who decided to send persons home to quarantine need to send them in field hospitals. More people you send home, more mixing takes place and more people get COVID-19.

The numbers have stopped increasing which is what we want. Cases are high because so many already have Covid but the rate it's spreading is down.

Good luck keeping a variant which is twice as contagious as the original strain below 1 once we come out of lockdown.

We need a magical wind to blow some 2 million Pfizer and Moderna vaccine here in the next 4 months
[/spoiler]

Doh stress the US is not gonna approve Astra so we should be getting their rejects.

what is the process by which our CMO is approving vaccines? tests, reading the label, WHO recommendations?

Postby teems1 » June 2nd, 2021, 10:16 pm

Obviously the WHO guidelines.

Trinidad doesn't have the resources or expertise to run clinical trials.
sMASH wrote:
drchaos wrote:
[spoiler]
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

[/spoiler]

what is the process by which our CMO is approving vaccines? tests, reading the label, WHO recommendations?

Postby sMASH » June 2nd, 2021, 10:33 pm

teems1 wrote:Obviously the WHO guidelines.

sMASH wrote:
drchaos wrote:
[spoiler]
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

[/spoiler]

@6:40 WHO begging muricah to release excess vaccines. if they at 50% vacnianted, they still need, so the excess would be the az that they hemming to approve to release.

Postby adnj » June 2nd, 2021, 11:12 pm

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:Obviously the WHO guidelines.

sMASH wrote:
drchaos wrote:
[spoiler]
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

[/spoiler]

@6:40 WHO begging muricah to release excess vaccines. if they at 50% vacnianted, they still need, so the excess would be the az that they hemming to approve to release.

Lots of opinion regarding AZ FDA approvals - much of it wrong.

Without FDA approvals, the AZ vaccine cannot be used in the US. The approvals can only be granted if AZ agrees to apply for them.

If the AZ vaccine was manufactured for use in the US, it will be labeled as such and cannot be exported. Current US law prevents the vaccine vial from simply being changed. New, temporary temporary legislation must be written and signed into law.

January - EMA grants EUA to AstraZeneca for COVID 19 vaccine.
March - Thirteen EU countries suspend use of AZ because of blood clots.
April - FDA requests additional data from AZ for EUA
April - Johnson & Johnson is granted EUA by the FDA
April - EMA reviews AZ safe and recommends use
May - AZ discusses filling for full approvals with FDA

"Last week, AstraZeneca said it was working as fast as possible to compile data on its COVID-19 vaccine to apply for U.S. approval. The company said it planned to apply for U.S. approval in the coming weeks.

The White House said late in April that the United States would start to share up to 60 million doses of AstraZeneca’s coronavirus vaccine with other countries over the next few weeks.

AstraZeneca’s COVID-19 shot, developed by Oxford University, has resulted in reports of rare blood clots with low platelet levels that occur more commonly in younger adults. Some countries have advised the shot be given only to older people."

https://www.reuters.com/world/us/astraz ... 021-05-07/

Postby sMASH » June 2nd, 2021, 11:32 pm

saw sumting where the american az was manufactured by a new facility in muricah. and they had issues with their batches. hence the hold up for approval.

Postby adnj » June 3rd, 2021, 5:50 am

sMASH wrote:saw sumting where the american az was manufactured by a new facility in muricah. and they had issues with their batches. hence the hold up for approval.
FDA finds multiple failures at Johnson & Johnson vaccine plant in Baltimore

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on Wednesday issued a report on multiple failures at a troubled Baltimore vaccine manufacturing plant making Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccine doses.

The report found the plant from Emergent BioSolutions, which previously was revealed to have ruined up to 15 million doses of vaccine, was "not maintained in a clean and sanitary condition" and some "procedures to prevent cross-contamination are not followed."

The FDA has ordered a pause on manufacturing at the plant while the problems are addressed.

"For the vaccines already manufactured, the products will undergo additional testing and will be thoroughly evaluated to ensure their quality before any potential distribution," two top FDA officials, Peter Marks and Janet Woodcock, said in a statement. "We will not allow the release of any product until we feel confident that it meets our expectations for quality."

https://thehill.com/policy/healthcare/5 ... -baltimore

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 3rd, 2021, 6:35 am

I would believe the rumshop talk over anything the govt says! Hope yall saw the US embassy staying quiet on their vaccination program for their people. Really think that embassy gonna use any other vaccine that was not made in the USA? If they could bring it and private entities could bring it.....what nonsense is being spewed by our authorities???

https://guardian.co.tt/news/businessman ... f94b2a581f

Postby aaron17 » June 3rd, 2021, 1:59 pm

How alyuh lockdown coming along?

Postby bluefete » June 3rd, 2021, 2:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

I would believe the rumshop talk over anything the govt says! Hope yall saw the US embassy staying quiet on their vaccination program for their people. Really think that embassy gonna use any other vaccine that was not made in the USA? If they could bring it and private entities could bring it.....what nonsense is being spewed by our authorities???

https://guardian.co.tt/news/businessman ... f94b2a581f

Authority talk is for the sheep not for thinking people.

Sabga and Rowley fell out over 2 months ago over the exact same thing.

So who is lying through their noses now?

Postby Country_Bookie » June 3rd, 2021, 2:46 pm

FACT SHEET: Biden-Harris Administration Unveils Strategy for Global Vaccine Sharing, Announcing Allocation Plan for the First 25 Million Doses to be Shared Globally

JUNE 03, 2021STATEMENTS AND RELEASES

As we continue to fight the COVID-19 pandemic at home and work to end the pandemic worldwide, President Biden has promised that the United States will be an arsenal of vaccines for the world. To do that, the Administration will pursue several additional measures beyond our robust funding for COVAX: Donating from the U.S. vaccine supply to the world and encouraging other nations to do the same, working with U.S. manufacturers to increase vaccine production for the rest of the world, and helping more countries expand their own capacity to produce vaccines including through support for global supply chains. This vaccine strategy is a vital component of our overall global strategy to lead the world in the fight to defeat COVID-19, including emergency public health assistance and aid to stop the spread and building global public health capacity and readiness to beat not just this pandemic, but the next one.

Today, the Administration announced its framework for sharing at least 80 million U.S. vaccine doses globally by the end of June and the plan for the first 25 million doses.  

Specifically, the Administration announced that:  

The United States will share vaccines in service of ending the pandemic globally. Today, the Administration announced its framework for sharing these 80 million U.S. vaccine doses worldwide. Specifically, the United States will:

Share 75% of these vaccines through COVAX. The United States will share at least three-quarters of its donated doses through COVAX, supplying U.S. doses to countries in need. This will maximize the number of vaccines available equitably for the greatest number of countries and for those most at-risk within countries.  For doses shared through COVAX, the United States will prioritize Latin America and the Caribbean, South and Southeast Asia, and Africa, in coordination with the African Union.   

Share 25% for immediate needs and to help with surges around the world. The United States has received requests for vaccines from countries all over the world.  The U.S. will share up to one-quarter of its donated doses directly with countries in need, those experiencing surges, immediate neighbors, and other countries that have requested immediate U.S. assistance. Specifically, we will:

Set the stage for increased global coverage.  The allocation of this first tranche of donated doses reflects the desire of the United States to respond to all regions and lay the ground for increased supply and access throughout the world.

Prepare for surges and prioritize healthcare workers and other vulnerable populations based on public health data and acknowledged best practice. We will share with countries in urgent need, with a priority on vaccinating frontline workers. The United States will not use its vaccines to secure favors from other countries.  The U.S. will work with partners who are both ready and in need.  And, our donations will prioritize countries with vaccine readiness plans that prioritize individuals at highest risk of severe disease and those working to help care for them, like health care workers.

Help countries in need and our neighbors. The United States will share vaccines in our region and across our borders. We first made doses available to our closest neighbors – Canada and Mexico.  Our dose sharing approach prioritizes Latin American and the Caribbean on a per capita basis.

The U.S. announced the proposed allocation plan for the first 25 Million doses. Based on the framework above and pending legal and regulatory approvals, the United States plans to send our first tranche of 25 million doses:

Nearly 19 million will be shared through COVAX, with the following allocations:

Approximately 6 million for South and Central America to the following countries: Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Ecuador, Paraguay, Bolivia, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Panama, Haiti, and other Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries, as well as the Dominican Republic.

Approximately 7 million for Asia to the following countries and entities:  India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Maldives, Malaysia, Philippines, Vietnam, Indonesia, Thailand, Laos, Papua New Guinea, Taiwan, and the Pacific Islands. 

Approximately 5 million for Africa to be shared with countries that will be selected in coordination with the African Union. 

Approximately 6 million will be targeted toward regional priorities and partner recipients, including Mexico, Canada, and the Republic of Korea, West Bank and Gaza, Ukraine, Kosovo, Haiti, Georgia, Egypt, Jordan, India, Iraq, and Yemen, as well as for United Nations frontline workers.

Postby st7 » June 3rd, 2021, 2:51 pm

Approximately 6 million for South and Central America to the following countries: Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Peru, Ecuador, Paraguay, Bolivia, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Panama, Haiti, and other Caribbean Community (CARICOM) countries, as well as the Dominican Republic.

so we're gonna get a small amount... wonder who will receive those...

Postby Country_Bookie » June 3rd, 2021, 2:55 pm

Sabrina Singh
@SabrinaSingh46

@VP this morning, in separate calls, spoke to PM Narendra Modi, President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador, President Alejandro Giammattei, and PM Keith Rowley, notifying each leader that the admin will begin sharing the first 25M doses of vaccines to their countries.

11:49 AM · Jun 3, 2021·

This is from Kamla Harris deputy press secretary.
Kudos to Rowley and Browne for their work in getting these vaccines. Hoping it's at least 100k to 200k.

Postby MaxPower » June 3rd, 2021, 3:00 pm

aaron17 wrote:How alyuh lockdown coming along?

The majority of Trinis seem to love it.

Another smooth daylight curfew just to assure the Govt that they can drop another at any time.

Postby K74T » June 3rd, 2021, 3:12 pm

June 3rd, 2021
MEDIA RELEASE

Report of Pfizer drug brought in privately and illegally and being distributed - Fake News

Within the last 24 hours, a business representative made a very serious claim, stating that he knew for a fact that the Pfizer drug entered this country and was being distributed to citizens.

If this allegation was accurate, then it meant that a very serious crime had taken place.

Commissioner of Police, Gary Griffith, wishes to remind all citizens that it is the responsibility and obligation of the TTPS to investigate any matter that may be deemed serious, especially if it involves a major criminal act and one that can affect lives during the course of this act, and an official report may not be required for the Police to ignite such an investigation.

This incident was one such circumstance, and the CoP immediately directed that this report be investigated, because if the accusation was accurate, it meant that certain persons would have been arrested for importation of a drug without requisite approval from the Food and Drug Division.

The investigation commenced with the TTPS contacting the said individual, who made the public statement on Wednesday that the drug entered the country and was being administered to citizens via a private medical facility. Deputy Commissioner of Police (Investigations and Intelligence), Mc Donald Jacob, contacted the businessman personally, who was unable to provide any shred of evidence, data, documentation, or witness, to verify that his statement had any merit.

He also claimed that he passed on information to the Director of Foods and Drug Division. When the Director was contacted again, he confirmed that it was solely hearsay statements, with the initial businessman, stating "that he heard so".

A senior administrator in the said medical facility where the businessman claimed that the drug was received and being distributed, also had absolutely no knowledge of the matter.

In summary, the statement made by the individual that made headline news, lacks merit, and is deemed to be false as there is absolutely nothing to substantiate his claim, which has been deemed baseless.

The Commissioner of Police welcomes any citizen to conduct their civic duty and bring forward information of any possible action to the relevant authorities for investigation so the relevant action can be taken.

However, the CoP also wishes to remind all, that citizens should be mindful and have a degree of responsibility when public comments are made, and not done based on rumor, third party comments, he say she say gossip, hearsay all amounting to rum shop talk, as it can cause a waste of Police time, but more importantly, can cause undue fear throughout the nation based on what was said.

So a degree of reasonability and not being reckless is strongly advised.

Corporate Communications Unit
June 3rd, 2021

END

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2021, 3:51 pm

aaron17 wrote:How alyuh lockdown coming along?

The majority of Trinis seem to love it.

Another smooth daylight curfew just to assure the Govt that they can drop another at any time.

They not harassing homeless people

Just claim to be homeless and if they on to you claim you suffer from episodic of dissociative fugue.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » June 3rd, 2021, 4:07 pm

546+, 14 deaths
IMG-20210603-WA0294.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » June 3rd, 2021, 4:23 pm

We could have a whole day and night curfew for the entire week and the numbers gonna be produced like nothing ever happened.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 3rd, 2021, 4:28 pm

42 dead for the month of June and today is only the 3rd..

Postby hover11 » June 3rd, 2021, 4:44 pm

I confused didn't we just get 11k new tests from private labs added yesterday where are those results this data makes no sense

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » June 3rd, 2021, 4:57 pm

Today is a holiday. No testing done today. Next week we will see how the numbers look

Postby De Dragon » June 3rd, 2021, 6:17 pm

https://time.com/6053576/us-donate-covi ... nes-covax/
6 million to LATAM/Caribbean
Key takeaway from the article
"Vice President Kamala Harris informed some U.S. partners they will begin receiving doses, in separate calls with Mexican President Andres Manuel López Obrador, President Alejandro Giammattei of Guatemala, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and Prime Minister Keith Rowley of Trinidad and Tobago. Harris is to visit Guatemala and Mexico in the coming week".

See what happens when you beg? :roll: :roll: