COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 23909 cases, 495 deaths, 9487 active, 13927 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » June 1st, 2021, 11:04 am

This circulating around. Not sure these are valid reasons for manipulating covd numbers.
195904446_4076043359150993_5675477283509250991_n%20(1).jpeg
194575207_4075992665822729_7003454140370047529_n.jpeg

Wraith King

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 23909 cases, 495 deaths, 9487 active, 13927 recovered in T&T

Postby Wraith King » June 1st, 2021, 11:24 am

aaron17 wrote:This circulating around. Not sure these are valid reasons for manipulating covd numbers.194575207_4075992665822729_7003454140370047529_n.jpeg195904446_4076043359150993_5675477283509250991_n%20(1).jpeg

The government controls the statistics so whatever figures suits their agenda they will release those. There's no way you can get factual data.

Postby adnj » June 1st, 2021, 11:54 am

Wraith King wrote:
aaron17 wrote:This circulating around. Not sure these are valid reasons for manipulating covd numbers.194575207_4075992665822729_7003454140370047529_n.jpeg195904446_4076043359150993_5675477283509250991_n%20(1).jpeg

The government controls the statistics so whatever figures suits their agenda they will release those. There's no way you can get factual data.
Anti-vaxxer sheriff's deputy dies from COVID-19 complications shortly after mocking the vaccine on Facebook

https://news.yahoo.com/anti-vaxxer-sher ... 03899.html

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 1st, 2021, 12:46 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
nismotrinidappa wrote:Paid kinfluencer what is your bunker like

I have a large amount of canned goods stored in pricesmart rubberized containers. several bales of TP, lots of medical supplies, and an emergency 'sick room' with toilet and sink well away from any contacts. I forgot that I still need to re-prepare my grab-bag of supplies to carry down if I start coughing, so thanks for reminding me.

I have several cans of expired beans (purchased in bulk in a biigggg way last year) that I'm currently eating through. Always buy Cuisine brand canned beans; they last much longer than the others.

also I have a playstation with several 'open world' games that serves as a replacement for interacting with the real world. Currently playing 'Stranded Deep,' which I got for free on PS Plus.

Man builds himself a man cave and is able to justifies it as a medical necessity to his wife/gf. That is Boss Level. Have a Man's Beer.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 1st, 2021, 12:53 pm

adnj wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

Anti-vaxxer sheriff's deputy dies from COVID-19 complications shortly after mocking the vaccine on Facebook

The vaccine is not going to make you immune to the virus.

Postby K74T » June 1st, 2021, 12:58 pm

FB_IMG_1622566366487.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » June 1st, 2021, 1:15 pm

I hope the authorities understand the concept of temporal spacing and not just physical spacing.

case and point:
https://www.facebook.com/CCNTV6/posts/5552595844782562

Postby adnj » June 1st, 2021, 1:18 pm

Wraith King wrote:
adnj wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

The vaccine is not going to make you immune to the virus.

It depends on what you may think that you believe "immunity" means.

Can I still get COVID-19 after I’m vaccinated?

COVID-19 vaccination will protect most people from getting sick with COVID-19.

A very small percentage of fully vaccinated people will still get COVID-19 if they are exposed to the COVID-19 virus. These are called vaccine breakthrough cases. Some people might not experience any symptoms and some people could become sick due to COVID-19.

However, vaccination might make illness less severe. If you are fully vaccinated, the overall risk of hospitalization and death due to COVID-19 is much lower than among unvaccinated people with similar risk factors.

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-con ... e-benefits

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 1st, 2021, 1:22 pm

Consider the following below.

Since being impacted by the COVID-19 Pandemic from March 2020 over the last 13 months to following office holders have collected salaries from the taxpayers totalling -

Paula-Mae Weekes - $973,960
Keith Rowley - $978,900
Kamla Persad-Bissessar - $1,417,130 (Opposition Leader Salary $49,330 & Prime Minister's Pension $59,680 per month = $109,010 per month)
Faris Al-Rawi - $ 793,920
Cabinet Ministers - $806,650 × 20 = $16,133,000
Non-Cabinet Ministers - $714,480 × 10 = $7,144,800
Members of Parliament - $286,780 × 20 = $5,735,600
Senators - $229,060 × 31 = $7,100,860

We have spent roughly $40,278,170 behind these people who do not serve us, while we struggle to get salary relief grants and food hampers.

I did not take into account the Speaker, Deputy Speaker, President of the Senate, Vice President of the Senate, Mayors, Chairmen, Councillors, Aldermen and the THA.

If I did, salaries alone would run into over $100,000,00.

If these persons took a 50% paycut we, the citizens, wouldn't be suffering today.

Under the 98th Salaries Review Commission’s report:

A President's salary is $65,270 monthly plus a Duty Allowance $9,650. This totals $74,920 per month.

A Prime Minister’s salary is $59,680 monthly plus allowances of Duty Allowance $8,960, Transportation Allowance $6,660. This totals $75,300 per month.

An Opposition Leader’s salary is $29,590 plus allowances of Transportation Allowance $5,880, Subsistence Allowance $1,500, Housing Allowance $12,360. This totals $49,330 per month.

A Cabinet Minister’s salary is given as $41,030 and a non-Cabinet Minister’s salary is $33,940 with allowances of Travelling $6,660, Subsistence $2,000, Housing $12,360. This totals $62,050 for a Cabinet Minister and $54,960 for a non-Cabinet Minister.

The Attorney General receives an additional professional allowance of $4,110 to that of a Cabinet Minister taking their salary to $66,160.

An MP’s salary is given as $17,140 with allowances of $4,920 taking their salaries to $22,060.

A Senator's salary is given as $13,060 with a Transportation Allowance of $4,560 taking their salaries to $17,620.

Tax exemptions are also afforded to all of the above.

According to the Prime Minister's Pension Act:
3. (1) Every person who having been appointed Prime Minister on or after the 31st day of August, 1962, ceases at any
time after such appointment to be Prime Minister shall be paid a pension under this Act with effect from the date on which he ceases to be Prime Minister and subject to subsection (2) the pension shall continue to be paid during the lifetime of that person.
(2) The Prime Minister’s pension shall, if the person to whom it is payable becomes a legislator or is again appointed Prime Minister, cease to be payable during the period in respect of which that person is a legislator or holds the office of Prime
Minister, as the case may be, but where the rate of the Prime Minister’s pension exceeds the rate of salary as a legislator, nothing in this subsection shall prevent the payment of the Prime Minister’s pension to the extent of such excess.

4. (1) The Prime Minister’s pension payable under this Act to any person shall be the full amount of the highest annual rate of salary paid to such person at any time as Prime Minister.

Postby Habit7 » June 1st, 2021, 1:24 pm

So you think $50M will save us?

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 1:26 pm

ferris collecting that in a month rent

Postby j.o.e » June 1st, 2021, 1:30 pm

Habit7 wrote:So you think $50M will save us?

Just now the man going to ask me to give up my pay too. People eye really long yes.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 1st, 2021, 1:36 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Just now the man going to ask me to give up my pay too. People eye really long yes.

The government has already caused a lot of citizens to lose their source of income.

Postby hover11 » June 1st, 2021, 1:58 pm

Here we go again
FB_IMG_1622570256732.jpeg

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » June 1st, 2021, 2:04 pm

hover11 wrote:Here we go againFB_IMG_1622570256732.jpeg

Once humans and animals interact these viruses , diseases , plagues ect aren't going anywhere.

Postby aaron17 » June 1st, 2021, 2:24 pm

hover11 wrote:Here we go again
FB_IMG_1622570256732.jpeg
Wayz sah!
And yesterday next door i was hearing a chicken making wierd noises as if its sick.

Postby zoom rader » June 1st, 2021, 2:32 pm

Wraith King wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

The government has already caused a lot of citizens to lose their source of income.
You think Rowlee and the Red government care?

Their famous words are "ban yuh belly" and " we in this together" . All this and their family/kids live abroad

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 1st, 2021, 3:43 pm

Even after covid abates, the door that covid opened will never close

Postby K74T » June 1st, 2021, 4:23 pm

405 new cases, 12 deaths

FB_IMG_1622578969719.jpeg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » June 1st, 2021, 4:24 pm

What should we expect to see happen this month with cases and deaths?

Postby bluefete » June 1st, 2021, 4:26 pm

I wonder if we have a 3rd wave to come.

Postby hover11 » June 1st, 2021, 4:36 pm

Australia on lockdown due to the Indian variant , so when that Indian variant reaches expect another lockdown I guess
bluefete wrote:I wonder if we have a 3rd wave to come.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 1st, 2021, 4:36 pm

wtf wrote:What should we expect to see happen this month with cases and deaths?

Cases will start reducing slightly, deaths will continue to be high but also start reducing slowly (lagging the drop in cases).

By June 30th I predict (optimistically):
Daily Average Cases - 100 to 200
Daily Average Deaths - 6 to 12 daily

June deaths might total - 300 to 400 dead

I suspect they'll push back the lockdowns and curfew another month to the end of July or early August.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 1st, 2021, 5:14 pm

How many people so far have gotten covid in Trinidad and Tobago? Anyone know?

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 5:19 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:How many people so far have gotten covid in Trinidad and Tobago? Anyone know?

just look at the total cases in the report

of course those are confirmed cases. doesn't include asymptomatic and those with mild symptoms who eh bother to test.

some serology tests abroad showed actual infections could be 5 times higher.

upside to that is all those infections would contribute to herd immunity

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 5:30 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1622566366487.jpeg

still may be subject to quarantine in some states. if u fully vaxxed (both shots) u may not have to.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 1st, 2021, 5:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:How many people so far have gotten covid in Trinidad and Tobago? Anyone know?

just look at the total cases in the report

of course those are confirmed cases. doesn't include asymptomatic and those with mild symptoms who eh bother to test.

some serology tests abroad showed actual infections could be 5 times higher.

upside to that is all those infections would contribute to herd immunity

Yea but only partially. Getting the virus naturally isn't something we should encourage as it only increases it's spread (as you don't know who you might infect.

Coronavirus FAQ: I Had COVID. Should I Get The Vaccine?

https://www.npr.org/sections/goatsandso ... he-vaccine

Yes! While natural infection does seem to provide some immunity, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention says that experts do not yet know how long it lasts. However, one recent study published in Science suggests immunity from natural infection can last about eight months.

We also don't know enough yet about how well natural immunity protects you from variants of the virus, says Dr. Jill Weatherhead, assistant professor of adult and pediatric infectious diseases at Baylor College of Medicine.

On the other hand, she says, the currently available vaccines in the United States from Pfizer, Moderna and Johnson & Johnson "have shown clinical efficacy against all variants of concern."

There's another compelling reason, says Charlotte Baker, assistant professor of epidemiology at Virginia Tech. "You can get COVID more than once," she says, although the phenomenon is rare. "And some people who early on got COVID and then got it again had much worse outcomes."
The bottom line: "You getting COVID-19 may help protect a little for a little while, but the vaccine helps protect a lot for a longer time," Baker says.

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2021, 5:35 pm

how many allyuh feel gonna dead for the year ?
we at 500 now, and likely at least 600-800 by july

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 5:41 pm

not saying they shouldn't get it- but for instance all infections from April-may can count toward hard immunity calculations towards October-December plus vaccinated ppl. but then u encourage them when 6 months are up to get vaccinated.

so if we get a boatload of vaccines in the next couple months going into arms, add those ppl to those who had an infection and u can relax some restrictions, while the infected ppl wait till they are eligible both via age and after the waiting period after infection.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 1st, 2021, 5:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:not saying they shouldn't get it- but for instance all infections from April-may can count toward hard immunity calculations towards October-December plus vaccinated ppl. but then u encourage them when 6 months are up to get vaccinated.

so if we get a boatload of vaccines in the next couple months going into arms, add those ppl to those who had an infection and u can relax some restrictions, while the infected ppl wait till they are eligible both via age and after the waiting period after infection.

Yea it'll help definitely I agree.

We went from 8000 in March to 22000 now, and probably 30K by end of June. That gives us about 22k people confirmed to have covid.

Our detection rate is quite low, so we can safely say 100k persons might be mostly immune already, so yea goodnews for now.