COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 23001 cases, 470 deaths, 9250 active, 13281 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2021, 5:55 pm

pugboy wrote:well it looks like covid could be very close to a typical annual murder rate
the way we going

We had 394 murders in total in 2020
We've had 368 covid deaths in 2021 so far (Jan 1st to May 31st)

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/12/31/murder ... 20-so-far/

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 23001 cases, 470 deaths, 9250 active, 13281 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2021, 5:57 pm

it has fast come into perspective
would like to know how it compares to typical other death rates
eg heart attack, cancers

pugboy wrote:well it looks like covid could be very close to a typical annual murder rate
the way we going

Postby Redman » May 31st, 2021, 6:58 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
ST Auto wrote:16 deaths an usual low Monday/holiday numbers FB_IMG_1622491714723.jpeg

Yup things still bad.

I suspect deaths in June might be equal or surpass May's 326......it could be as high as 400

Didn't they say it would peak mid June?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 31st, 2021, 7:10 pm

Redman wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
ST Auto wrote:16 deaths an usual low Monday/holiday numbers FB_IMG_1622491714723.jpeg

Yup things still bad.

I suspect deaths in June might be equal or surpass May's 326......it could be as high as 400

Didn't they say it would peak mid June?

Yea predictions have indicated that.

Postby redmanjp » May 31st, 2021, 7:46 pm

pugboy wrote:it has fast come into perspective
would like to know how it compares to typical other death rates
eg heart attack, cancers

the way we going

i think some weeks ago someone posted cause of death for all those things - covid probably #1 now.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 23909 cases, 495 deaths, 9487 active, 13927 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » May 31st, 2021, 7:50 pm

its 4 hrs 10 mins to a new month. the way things went this month we hadda celebrate it oui -we still alive :D

all d best for June!

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 23909 cases, 495 deaths, 9487 active, 13927 recovered in T&T

Postby Country_Bookie » May 31st, 2021, 7:55 pm

I think it's a valid point about home quarantine causing spread of the virus. I know someone in her late thirties, who tested positive and went into home quarantine. Now her 2 elderly parents have tested positive, one of whom is diabetic. If anything happens to either one, she'll have to live with the knowledge that she infected them.

I think at a minimum, people who test positive and have high risk people in their household should not be allowed to home quarantine.

Postby paid_influencer » May 31st, 2021, 8:22 pm

may, june, july, august, all pretty much going to be the same for me. the bunker has no months, just the same day replaying over and over

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » May 31st, 2021, 8:28 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:I think it's a valid point about home quarantine causing spread of the virus. I know someone in her late thirties, who tested positive and went into home quarantine. Now her 2 elderly parents have tested positive, one of whom is diabetic. If anything happens to either one, she'll have to live with the knowledge that she infected them.

I think at a minimum, people who test positive and have high risk people in their household should not be allowed to home quarantine.

It's easy to say that in retrospect. The fact is that unless you pre-emptively tested at the ideal time due to being a suspected contact of another positive case, its likely that by the time you do test due to experiencing symptoms, you would have likely already passed it on to someone else.

Sending 9000 people into field hospitals isn't an option even if we had such physical structures in place, simply because we do not have the personnel to support that

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 31st, 2021, 9:30 pm

Paid kinfluencer what is your bunker like

Postby paid_influencer » May 31st, 2021, 9:44 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:Paid kinfluencer what is your bunker like

I have a large amount of canned goods stored in pricesmart rubberized containers. several bales of TP, lots of medical supplies, and an emergency 'sick room' with toilet and sink well away from any contacts. I forgot that I still need to re-prepare my grab-bag of supplies to carry down if I start coughing, so thanks for reminding me.

I have several cans of expired beans (purchased in bulk in a biigggg way last year) that I'm currently eating through. Always buy Cuisine brand canned beans; they last much longer than the others.

also I have a playstation with several 'open world' games that serves as a replacement for interacting with the real world. Currently playing 'Stranded Deep,' which I got for free on PS Plus.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 31st, 2021, 10:29 pm

Ok sounds like it's literally underground !

Postby redmanjp » May 31st, 2021, 10:34 pm

paid_influencer wrote:may, june, july, august, all pretty much going to be the same for me. the bunker has no months, just the same day replaying over and over

Yuh get yuh jab yet ?

Postby MaxPower » May 31st, 2021, 10:34 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I have a large amount of canned goods stored in pricesmart rubberized containers. several bales of TP, lots of medical supplies, and an emergency 'sick room' with toilet and sink well away from any contacts. I forgot that I still need to re-prepare my grab-bag of supplies to carry down if I start coughing, so thanks for reminding me.

I have several cans of expired beans (purchased in bulk in a biigggg way last year) that I'm currently eating through. Always buy Cuisine brand canned beans; they last much longer than the others.

also I have a playstation with several 'open world' games that serves as a replacement for interacting with the real world. Currently playing 'Stranded Deep,' which I got for free on PS Plus.

Wow

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 12:27 am

ProtonPowder wrote:24/7/365 lockdown

No vaccinations, that would only give people a chance to leave the house and jackass the scene

I eh know. Vaccination is the way out of this pandemic. But let's say u have an appointment perhaps you can provide proof of it. Like print out something from the online appointment system and TTPS should let u go ahead.

Postby redmanjp » June 1st, 2021, 12:37 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:Ok sounds like it's literally underground !

Well it have pandemic, volcano, mouse plaque, and maybe we in for some storm too with hurricane season starting so he do d right ting

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 1st, 2021, 5:13 am

No vaccinations, that would only give people a chance to leave the house and jackass the scene

this week have 2 holidays, the govt should have start the kerfew from 10 am monday 31 to 5am on sunday 6 th june.

Postby Kenjo » June 1st, 2021, 7:24 am

i_code_and_stuff wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:I think it's a valid point about home quarantine causing spread of the virus. I know someone in her late thirties, who tested positive and went into home quarantine. Now her 2 elderly parents have tested positive, one of whom is diabetic. If anything happens to either one, she'll have to live with the knowledge that she infected them.

It's easy to say that in retrospect. The fact is that unless you pre-emptively tested at the ideal time due to being a suspected contact of another positive case, its likely that by the time you do test due to experiencing symptoms, you would have likely already passed it on to someone else.

Sending 9000 people into field hospitals isn't an option even if we had such physical structures in place, simply because we do not have the personnel to support that

Thanks for talking sense here , it’s like people never experienced or heard of things like chicken pox before . One thing to say move to separate houses from before but home quarantine should not be an issue

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2021, 7:37 am

i want a curry beef roti s/p.

Postby K74T » June 1st, 2021, 7:43 am

20210601_074331.jpeg

Postby goalpost » June 1st, 2021, 8:24 am

K74T wrote:20210601_074331.jpeg

I ain't go lie. This ting taste good.

Postby adnj » June 1st, 2021, 8:41 am

Peru more than doubles its official Covid-19 death toll, leaving it with world's worst death rate

(CNN) Peru has more than doubled its official death toll from the Covid-19 pandemic following a government review of the figures, leaving the country with the highest coronavirus-related death rate per capita in the world.

Peru's prime minister announced Monday that the death toll from March 1, 2020 to May 22, 2021 had been revised up to 180,764. The previous figure was 67,807, which is 2.6 times lower.

Speaking at a press conference on CNN affiliate TV Peru, Violeta Bermudez said the updated figures were based on advice taken from a panel of Peruvian and international experts.

"It [is] our duty to make the updated information public, not only as part of our commitment to transparency, but also to comply with our obligations as a State," Bermudez said.

Peru already had one of the world's worst death rates before the government review. The new numbers bring the mortality rate from just over 200 to more than 500 deaths per 100,000 people -- topping Hungary, which had 305 deaths per 100,000 people as of May 22, according to John Hopkins University data.

[img]https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/210601110131-01-peru-coronavirus-0320-exlarge-169.jpg
[/img]
A worker digs a grave at a cemetery in Iquitos, Peru on March 20, 2021.

Peru is one of the worst hit countries in Latin America, with a crippling fresh wave of cases at the beginning of the year pushing doctors to breaking point and causing a critical shortage of intensive care unit beds. In late May, Peru extended a state of emergency and nationwide lockdown until the end of June, Reuters reported.
Last week, Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) Director Carissa Etienne said Covid-19 cases and deaths were plateauing at alarming levels in the Americas.

The region reported over 1.2 million new Covid-19 cases and 31,000 deaths for the week prior -- figures that remain unchanged over the last few weeks, Etienne said, before adding that the data showed "Latin American countries also represented the top five highest mortality rates worldwide."

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/06/01/amer ... index.html
Last edited by adnj on June 1st, 2021, 8:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 1st, 2021, 8:51 am

Wonder how long we would have to wait for Trinidad's death figures. CSO has up to 2018 but 2015 - 2018 data all listed as Provisional.
Pretty consistent around 11,500 /year though

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2021, 8:55 am

K74T wrote:20210601_074331.jpeg

:cry:
*shed one tears*

Postby zoom rader » June 1st, 2021, 8:59 am

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2021, 9:04 am

daring dragoon wrote:

this week have 2 holidays, the govt should have start the kerfew from 10 am monday 31 to 5am on sunday 6 th june.

kim jong il, is dat u?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 1st, 2021, 10:20 am

Postby teems1 » June 1st, 2021, 10:32 am

sMASH wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

kim jong il, is dat u?

Currently KJU puts a bullet in your brain if you're COVID +ve.

Rowley might tighten the hours similar to what Jamaica did.

9PM - 5AM weekdays
4PM - 5AM Saturdays
2PM - 5AM Sundays

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » June 1st, 2021, 10:48 am

Wonder what today's figure will be , any guesses? 300-400? 500-600?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 1st, 2021, 10:56 am

KM_2NR wrote:Wonder what today's figure will be , any guesses? 300-400? 500-600?

500-600 is my guess, but then again it's the day after a public holiday so it could be another 'low' day.