The Religion Discussion

AdamB

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby AdamB » November 5th, 2014, 2:13 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Lol. The greatness of the bible lies in how vague it's passages are if you can honestly believe the "rib" was symbolic of a genetic module (or whatever it is called). That means that for the past 1900 years the wrong symbolism was wrong or to put it another way, followers of the bible were wrong for 95% of the time that they have been following the bible.

If you start talking about the "symbolic" meaning of the bible you lose ground pretty fast. The best defense for the bible is a complete disregard for reality and the assumption that everything in it is literal and true. At lease then you can argue insanity (i.e. you say everyone else is insane because they do not believe in your reality).

Good post there pal...for someone who was raised in idol worship (like hindu murtis, RCs use the cross and statue of Mary) and deification of the "mother of GOD". Last but not least, ancestral worship...say it ain't so! Hope you escaped the blessing of the priest from the wrong end.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 5th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:Say who allyuh addressing allyuh question to.

The person who made the statement referenced in the question...dah!

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2014, 2:32 pm

still could never understand how big men with sense in their head could believe in "God"

when there is suffering all over the world, entire villages wiped out by disease and acts of war, thousands of children just dying because of no access to clean water or food

you have to be a real muffler bearing to believe all that is part of gods plan and the children/people deserve their suffering

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 5th, 2014, 2:41 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:still could never understand

you had me at (above).

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2014, 3:21 pm

wont even take you on terrorist adam.

religion of peace but allyuh blowing up and killing everybody whos not a muslim

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 5th, 2014, 3:25 pm

Habit7 wrote:Sorry i dont read bluesclues post normally. I value his opinion on the Bible a little lower than yours.

that good. show me where on earth it have an angel standing with a double-edged flaming sword guarding the entrance. and then find me 1 talking snake.

to quote Dr. Morgan Job - "welcome to Paradise"

Postby meccalli » November 5th, 2014, 3:43 pm

smh :|

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2014, 4:13 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:still could never understand how big men with sense in their head could believe in "God"

when there is suffering all over the world, entire villages wiped out by disease and acts of war, thousands of children just dying because of no access to clean water or food

you have to be a real muffler bearing to believe all that is part of gods plan and the children/people deserve their suffering
So if a God exist, everybody would be living in bliss?

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2014, 4:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:still could never understand how big men with sense in their head could believe in "God"

if a god as you describe it exists, then people would not be suffering as they do just because of the area they are born

simple as that.

if your god exists, he is worse than the devil you fear.

DJ

Postby DJ » November 5th, 2014, 4:37 pm

AdamB wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Lol. The greatness of the bible lies in how vague it's passages are if you can honestly believe the "rib" was symbolic of a genetic module (or whatever it is called). That means that for the past 1900 years the wrong symbolism was wrong or to put it another way, followers of the bible were wrong for 95% of the time that they have been following the bible.

If you start talking about the "symbolic" meaning of the bible you lose ground pretty fast. The best defense for the bible is a complete disregard for reality and the assumption that everything in it is literal and true. At lease then you can argue insanity (i.e. you say everyone else is insane because they do not believe in your reality).

Good post there pal...for someone who was raised in idol worship (like hindu murtis, RCs use the cross and statue of Mary) and deification of the "mother of GOD". Last but not least, ancestral worship...say it ain't so! Hope you escaped the blessing of the priest from the wrong end.

but ent allyuh does worship the kabba black stone

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2014, 4:41 pm

they does insist they not bowing down to the kabba but "are bowing in the direction of god's house/holy temple"

yet they does spend 50-60,000 plus to go mecca and stay in tents and vagrant style accommodations to bow down "in the direction" of a stone.

if you tell them take that same 50,000 and feed some poor children, help build a school, donate to the needy , they would never do it tho, more important to bow to the stone.

idiots.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 5th, 2014, 4:48 pm

inb4 defenders of the stone state why they not really worshipping the stone like pagans who bow before statues. all them kafir them.

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2014, 5:27 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

if a god as you describe it exists, then people would not be suffering as they do just because of the area they are born

simple as that.

if your god exists, he is worse than the devil you fear.
The God I worship, the God of the Bible, created a perfect world. The world was corrupted when man, a free moral agent, chose to disobey and bring death into the world. God foreknew that man would fail and devised a plan to redeem sinful man while being just in judging sinful man. God entered into His own creation and suffered, in fact He suffered much more than any man did under the wrath of the Father while on the cross. The Book of Isaiah chapter 53, 700 years prior prophesied Him as the "Suffering Servant." Thus those who put their trust in Him and repent of their sin will receive the bliss lost when Adam sinned.

In Christianity the problem of suffering is explained and dealt with. If however, you claim that because there is suffering God doesn't exist, then by what standard do we judge suffering? Suffering is then just the circle of life with no substantial cause or any significant end. Therefore if anyone encounters any kind of suffering they should just take their life because their endurance of suffering is of no consequence.

As a Christian, a suffering world points to a consequence of sin, much like the sin in my life. It is ultimately dealt with by God destroying it as corruption or me receiving God's perfection while He takes my sin and my punishment.

As an atheist, suffering should make you a nihilist.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 5th, 2014, 7:42 pm

Well technically speaking atheists by definition are theistic nihilists so your sort of right. But it's OK if you are unable to come to terms with reality and must therefore make up stories to stop you from killing yourself every time something bad happens to you.

Thankfully I have found a lot right here on earth that is worth suffering for.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 5th, 2014, 7:49 pm

Habit,
You said GOD "foreknew" and therefore "devised a plan", do all christians disbelieve in the Pre-Decree of GOD or do only JWs do so? And why, if this can be answered?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 5th, 2014, 7:51 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Well technically speaking atheists by definition are theistic nihilists so your sort of right. But it's OK if you are unable to come to terms with reality and must therefore make up stories to stop you from killing yourself every time something bad happens to you.

Are you the Kubs?

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2014, 7:54 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Well technically speaking atheists by definition are theistic nihilists so your sort of right. But it's OK if you are unable to come to terms with reality and must therefore make up stories to stop you from killing yourself every time something bad happens to you.

I don't make up stories, I trust the most verified book of antiquity.

You, as you just admitted, have to find worth for a world you believe is inherently insignificant.

If you are truly a nihilist, the only reason you are still alive is by lying to yourself.

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2014, 8:23 pm

AdamB wrote:Habit,
You said GOD "foreknew" and therefore "devised a plan", do all christians disbelieve in the Pre-Decree of GOD or do only JWs do so? And why, if this can be answered?

Postby Slartibartfast » November 5th, 2014, 8:59 pm

Lol at that kubs comment.

I never said I was a true nihilist. I just said the only way your comment could be right is if you called me a theistic nihilist (I dont even know if that is a thing to be honest).

And ask most good parents (of which there are many) about the suffering they will go through to see their child happy. This is just one example where suffering can be worth it. Other people might not see the point of having kids but that doesn't make one person more right than the other.

As I see it, the longer you live the greater your chance of experiencing a certain emotion. If I live a long happy life then chances are there will be moments of suffering in between. But right now I enjoy my life and I can take the suffering knowing that there are future moments for me to enjoy.

Now if I knew there were no such future happy moments and the remainder of my life life was guaranteed to be only suffering (like being in a vegetative state due to illness or accident) then yes I will consider euthanasia as there is no longer any reason to keep myself alive.

Thankfully I am currently far from that. I enjoy sh1t talking, drinking and writing poems about doubles too much and if I must endure a little heartbreak and suffering to continue doing so then so be it.

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2014, 9:38 pm

Whatever story you make up, and whatever definition you give to yourself....then withdraw when you realize you contradict yourself....

once it keeps you from tasting the business end of a revolver and giving you more time to repent and believe in the God who's existence you try to deny.

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2014, 9:42 pm

Still amazingly funny that your god of the bible only exists in a man made book, of which there are dozens of versions and thousands of interpretations yet zero evidence.

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Btw how does it even make sense that your fictional god create a perfect world yet man bring destruction into it? I thought the world was perfect? Apparently your fictional god doesnt know what perfect is except only perfect idiots believe this fictional tale that rivals the stories of santa clause and peter pan

Postby Chimera » November 5th, 2014, 9:53 pm

Imagine big men with sense and education, when something bad happen to them, will blame it on a magical fictional entity and say "god has a plan". And they also live in complete fear of this magical non existant entity. Setta idiots yes

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2014, 10:26 pm

Yes I am an idiot and whatever other name calling you want to use when ppl usually have a weak argument. But...

Could you say that you are not a nihilist? Or does does suffering have meaningfulness within our insignificant life?

Postby Slartibartfast » November 5th, 2014, 11:21 pm

I'm not sure if your last comment was a reply to me cuz it wasn't really that relevant. Anyway I can't talk about nihilism because I know very little about it. I think it just means you believe in nothing so I guess a theistic nihilist believes in no God.

Read over my comment you will see that's all I said.

To answer you meaningfulness of suffering question I think it is all circumstantial. Some have meaning like the pain after a hard work out and some don't like having to wait 5 hours in licensing office to be told you have to come back a next day.

Postby Habit7 » November 5th, 2014, 11:35 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I never said I was a true nihilist. I just said the only way your comment could be right is if you called me a theistic nihilist (I dont even know if that is a thing to be honest).
Slartibartfast wrote: Anyway I can't talk about nihilism because I know very little about it. I think it just means you believe in nothing so I guess a theistic nihilist believes in no God.

Dude plz, go and read a book, any book. It could even be an Enid Blyton or something, just get an informed view outside of yourself.

You sound like an atheist bluesclues.

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2014, 6:15 am

Habit dont tell people to go read books when the book your life is dependant on is purely fictional and full of fairy tales and there is no evidence whatsoever that anything in it is true

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2014, 6:17 am

Habit7 wrote:Yes I am an idiot and whatever other name calling you want to use when ppl usually have a weak argument. But...

Could you say that you are not a nihilist? Or does does suffering have meaningfulness within our insignificant life?

Im glad you agree you have a weak argument.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 6th, 2014, 6:25 am

Lol. You even quoted the part where I said I dont even know if that is a thing... yuh know.... cuz from the start I was saying I don't know much about it. And the only reason I said that is because I thought nihilism means you believe in nothing and and theist referemces belief in God

Therefore by definition a theistic nihilist is just another way of saying atheist. But like I said... from the very start... I don't know much about nihilism or if that is a thing.

So was that the big contradiction you were talking about?

Postby Habit7 » November 6th, 2014, 7:23 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Habit dont tell people to go read books when the book your life is dependant on is purely fictional and full of fairy tales and there is no evidence whatsoever that anything in it is true

For you to say that "there is no evidence whatsoever that anything in it is true" is to advertise your ignorance on the topic. Busy yourself an try to find any history scholar who can agree with that statement.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Yes I am an idiot and whatever other name calling you want to use when ppl usually have a weak argument. But...

Im glad you agree you have a weak argument.

*unable to engage in anything other than logical fallacies like argumentum ad hominem, he continues to avoid pointed questions that shows the vacuousness of his worldview*