Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby wing » March 24th, 2024, 10:21 am

Heavy T vehicles is 65 km/h.

Postby Dave » March 24th, 2024, 10:31 am

Exactly. How many of those types of vehicles you see doing over 80km daily on our roads

wing

Postby wing » March 24th, 2024, 10:36 am

Also those vehicles with the lidar can absolutely detect speeders as well.

Postby MaxPower » March 24th, 2024, 11:37 am

What about issuing tickets for driving too slow on the fast lane especially?

Mashing brakes excessively and unnecessarily? Which is more from cell phone users, women and old timers.

wing

Postby wing » March 24th, 2024, 11:44 am

MaxPower wrote:What about issuing tickets for driving too slow on the fast lane especially?

Mashing brakes excessively and unnecessarily? Which is more from cell phone users, women and old timers.
You forget that the police can't remember anything more than speeding and tint. You can try brake checking to get your point across.

Postby MaxPower » March 24th, 2024, 12:02 pm

Talking about tint, what’s the latest with that?

I want to 360 G5 for the sun so i need to know whether i can or cannot take sheit from anyone.

Postby gastly369 » March 24th, 2024, 12:04 pm

Dave wrote:Exactly. How many of those types of vehicles you see doing over 80km daily on our roads
Sammy truck dem have ah pass or some?

Asking cause seeing dem flying faster than car

Or we cya talk about that cause "ezz ah big Boi"
I had to drive off the road a time cause one them flying and start to slide into me

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2024, 12:16 pm

yeah them responsible for betterment of the country

Postby Dizzy28 » March 24th, 2024, 1:28 pm

Wrt to the UBH speeding ticket, isn't the approach to Chaguanas a reduced speed bc of the roadworks?

Also the approach to grand Bazaar also has a reduced speed to 60.

Postby redmanjp » March 24th, 2024, 2:26 pm

So the speed was measured from behind?

Postby maj. tom » March 24th, 2024, 2:37 pm

I not seeing the problem here.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » March 24th, 2024, 7:05 pm

As the old saying goes, cyah play mas if yuh fraid powder, go as fast as you want and pay yuh ticket if yuh get catch, otherwise observe the limit

Postby maj. tom » March 25th, 2024, 11:24 am

The majority of fb comments on the incident completely baffling me.
One woman even claiming how she get a ticket for 75 km/hr on the "slow lane." wut?

All these people really driving on our roads? Radar guns and the speed of light can't compute?

https://www.facebook.com/paktrin.traders/posts/pfbid02CwHP8tbKxYLXNb7NLwmX6VDbk3To7eiXifY571C9dsQCauRCjUwKDEnVCS4yvYRyl

death365

Postby death365 » March 25th, 2024, 12:10 pm

lets see... home break ins - that lead to assault and sometimes death on the rise, petty snatch and grab too, stolen cars too, importation of guns - gun running, all up .

but traffic violations are the #1 priority of the TTPS. kool what NeXT j-walking.

Postby maj. tom » March 25th, 2024, 12:19 pm

I need to tell you that that is the typical argument of shitty drivers.
"dem police too wicked!"

death365

Postby death365 » March 25th, 2024, 12:22 pm

when u know 3 to 5 families who had home invasions, one resulting in a death as well as at least 8 person who lost their cars either by thief or car jacking... then talk to me ... IDIOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

maj. tom wrote:I need to tell you that that is the typical argument of shitty drivers.

Postby maj. tom » March 25th, 2024, 12:25 pm

nah nah u alone affected by crime in this country.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 25th, 2024, 12:43 pm

death365 wrote:lets see... home break ins - that lead to assault and sometimes death on the rise, petty snatch and grab too, stolen cars too, importation of guns - gun running, all up .

but traffic violations are the #1 priority of the TTPS. kool what NeXT j-walking.

You propose disbanding the Highway Patrol Unit? Reallocating them to home invasions?
Imgaine if in stopping a speeder they actually caught a bandit or home invader b/c yunno they actually try to get away from the scenes of thier crime in as quick a time as possible

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2024, 1:00 pm

allyuh not unnastaning how pr bs does wuk

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2024, 1:13 pm

i find the speed limit passing sea lots between beetham highway and wrightson rd should be at least 65 -not 50 - who really driving below 50 when u just come from a 100 kph road and u heading to a 65 kph road? might as well have it 65 from the market.

death365

Postby death365 » March 25th, 2024, 1:19 pm

its all good ... u keep being ah fool !!1

i hope that those things dont personally happen to you/people you are close to or family.

play smart with stupidness

death365 wrote:lets see... home break ins - that lead to assault and sometimes death on the rise, petty snatch and grab too, stolen cars too, importation of guns - gun running, all up .

You propose disbanding the Highway Patrol Unit? Reallocating them to home invasions?
Imgaine if in stopping a speeder they actually caught a bandit or home invader b/c yunno they actually try to get away from the scenes of thier crime in as quick a time as possible

Postby Habit7 » March 25th, 2024, 1:47 pm

There are police assigned to the CID, Homicide Division and Traffic Unit. You cannot be vex that the ones assigned to the law you violate the most doing their job. It might be a surprise but police can investigate home break ins, stolen cars, illegal guns and traffic at the same time.

And rest assured that jaywalking is not a crime in sweet T&T.

wing

Postby wing » March 25th, 2024, 1:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:

There are police assigned to the CID, Homicide Division and Traffic Unit. You cannot be vex that the ones assigned to the law you violate the most doing their job. It might be a surprise but police can investigate home break ins, stolen cars, illegal guns and traffic at the same time.

And rest assured that jaywalking is not a crime in sweet T&T.
He's obviously still emotional due to his tragic circumstances. But a crime is a crime no matter how trivial. Lawlessness on the roads is arguably more rampant than others and pose just as significant threat to innocents. The same speeder or drunk driver can inflict death on anyone or their family just like the home invader.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2024, 2:07 pm

^^^very good points
except there aren’t any speed traps at home invasion hours…..

wing

Postby wing » March 25th, 2024, 2:14 pm

pugboy wrote:^^^very good points
Well I hope some drunk speeding with smooth tyres doesn't affect you or your friends and family especially during the long weekend or holidays. Because just like 365, I have personal experience with home invasion, fatal accident and robbery ending with murder.

Postby Chimera » March 25th, 2024, 2:27 pm

death365 wrote:when u know 3 to 5 families who had home invasions, one resulting in a death as well as at least 8 person who lost their cars either by thief or car jacking... then talk to me ... IDIOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

maj. tom wrote:I need to tell you that that is the typical argument of shitty drivers.

u sounding like a dangerous or risky man to be around doggy

i feel yuh name bringing too much negative vibes

change it na

Postby matr1x » March 25th, 2024, 2:31 pm

Speed trap is easy wuk for police

Postby redmanjp » March 25th, 2024, 3:06 pm

speed gun exercises u mean? that's why we also need some automated speed cams installed at various intersections which operate 24/7. yes they may still need a human operator to review footage to charge but that can be done during daylight hrs so no night shift needed.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2024, 4:02 pm

i am all for proper enforcement but i am yet to know of speeding exercises outside of “regular daytime” hours

wing wrote:
Well I hope some drunk speeding with smooth tyres doesn't affect you or your friends and family especially during the long weekend or holidays. Because just like 365, I have personal experience with home invasion, fatal accident and robbery ending with murder.

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2024, 4:06 pm

so these cams will catch escaping home invasion criminals at 3am with special lens which don’t get plates blurred out with the glare of headlights ?

i have top of line 8mp hik cameras pointing up and down my street
at night it is pretty useless to get the plate of a car because the headlights will glare out the plates
worse yet if car moving fast

and well bandits use cars with fake plates so many persons will be getting tickets in the
mail which they don’t know about since somebody with a fake using their number get caught on camera

redmanjp wrote:

speed gun exercises u mean? that's why we also need some automated speed cams installed at various intersections which operate 24/7. yes they may still need a human operator to review footage to charge but that can be done during daylight hrs so no night shift needed.