Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby De Dragon » April 29th, 2020, 6:22 pm

eliteauto wrote:Juiced some apples and carrots yesterday, took the pulp from the juicer and made a spiced apple carrot loaf with a honey glaze. Wifey also made some brioche and whole wheat loaves. 20200423_211031.jpegIMG_20200322_100424_092.jpeg

Regular, or earthen oven?

Postby supercharged turbo » May 1st, 2020, 2:55 pm

Fireside cascadoo..first time trying meh hand and sorry about the pic.This is after I out the firewood.Didn't get any while it was cooking
20200501_145522.jpeg

Postby meccalli » May 1st, 2020, 3:33 pm

Looking good. Made some boil chicken today lol.

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2020, 3:43 pm

Can never go wrong with ginger and chives
You ever see how the singaporeans make it with stock flavored rice?
Singapore chicken rice.

Where you get the star anise ?
I need to get some.

Postby meccalli » May 1st, 2020, 3:54 pm

pugboy wrote:Can never go wrong with ginger and chives
You ever see how the singaporeans make it with stock flavored rice?
Singapore chicken rice.

Where you get the star anise ?
I need to get some.

Yeah, I've seen it. The spices here are bit too strong to use in making rice i feel however. Those spices are more suited to master stocks for meat only. Usually they'd just use ginger slices and chive in the poaching liquid.

I don't know the name of the place but it's on charlotte street, they have a big storefront and you just have to ask them to let you in if you want to look around. It's on the left hand side walking north, I always have to find them again myself lol- i visit them like once a year and stock up on my supplies.

Postby eliteauto » May 1st, 2020, 4:11 pm

That's Wing Sing, but you can get the star anise in the supermarket too, the Karibbean Flavours brand sells it in sachets. Anyone here uses coriander seeds in any recipes? I have a bottle here for some time now never got around to using it and was wondering what do you guys use it in? Planted a few to see if they'll germinate and give me cilantro plants

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2020, 4:20 pm

Yeah wing sing,I go there but was planning to go Charlotte St
So was hoping somewhere else

Postby Rovin » May 1st, 2020, 5:19 pm

last night i made for tonights dinner : some baked chicken with some shake n bake seasoning drizzled on it , some baked ready cut sweet pototo chips & a baked boneless ham i got from hilo iirc was $130 , gave my sis & bro in law half of it & they gave a me bake n buljol to eat tonight as well ...

Postby eliteauto » May 1st, 2020, 5:25 pm

yesterday I was in a mood, so made some vanilla pancakes for the fam and some banana and moringa pancakes for me for breakfast. Lunch was redbeans, fried rice and grilled pork belly, dinner was coconut bake and cheese. Today was coconut bake and saltfish for breakfast, had too many tomatoes so I made a pasta/pizza sauce with basil and garlic, will freeze some for later use. Going to knead some dough to make a couple pizzas later tonight with the rest

Postby gastly369 » May 1st, 2020, 5:28 pm

Next grill up

Some cherry smoked bbq lamb chicken, rustic fries, garlic bread and some potato salad

Did grill fish as well for the pops
IMG_20200501_142900-02.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » May 1st, 2020, 6:52 pm

Friday evening snack with sweet mango and tamarind sauces
IMG_20200501_185158.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » May 1st, 2020, 7:24 pm

gastly369 wrote:Next grill up

Some cherry smoked bbq lamb chicken, rustic fries, garlic bread and some potato salad

Did grill fish as well for the popsIMG_20200501_142900-02.jpeg

Looks good.... like professional. A+ for the container and thing too... presentation

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » May 1st, 2020, 7:27 pm

gastly369 wrote:Next grill up

Did grill fish as well for the pops
IMG_20200501_142900-02.jpeg

Insert homer drooling face

Postby *KRONIK* » May 1st, 2020, 7:38 pm

All them chinee grocery have in them small packs with about 6 in a pack
pugboy wrote:Yeah wing sing,I go there but was planning to go Charlotte St
So was hoping somewhere else

carluva

Postby carluva » May 2nd, 2020, 7:15 pm

Kids were feeling to have food from their favourite restaurant, Apsara. They are begging to go to a restaurant.

So we bringing the restaurant to them, all home made from scratch.

Peshawari naan, mushroom mutter, also gobi, chicken korma, lamb Rogan Josh and basmati rice.

For dessert, home made rasgoolah and rasmalai.

Pics will post soon when we sit down to eat.

The down side of all this food is that my house is smelling like an Indian Expo, and I am smelling like one of the vendors. ROFL.

Standby for pics....

Postby Dizzy28 » May 2nd, 2020, 7:22 pm

How did you make the naan? You have a tandoor?

carluva wrote:Kids were feeling to have food from their favourite restaurant, Apsara. They are begging to go to a restaurant.

Peshawari naan, mushroom mutter, also gobi, chicken korma, lamb Rogan Josh and basmati rice.

The down side of all this food is that my house is smelling like an Indian Expo, and I am smelling like one of the vendors. ROFL.

Standby for pics....

carluva

Postby carluva » May 2nd, 2020, 7:26 pm

Tawa
Dizzy28 wrote:How did you make the naan? You have a tandoor?

carluva wrote:Kids were feeling to have food from their favourite restaurant, Apsara. They are begging to go to a restaurant.

Standby for pics....

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2020, 7:47 pm

peswari naan is the flick with the prunes

carluva

Postby carluva » May 2nd, 2020, 8:54 pm

Standby for pics....
It was delish!!!
IMG_20200502_202802056.jpeg
IMG_20200502_192115963.jpeg
IMG_20200502_192103858.jpeg
IMG_20200502_192053884.jpeg
IMG_20200502_192043213.jpeg
IMG_20200502_192027945.jpeg
IMG_20200502_192015620.jpeg
IMG_20200502_192005865.jpeg

Postby SR » May 2nd, 2020, 9:01 pm

Dinner
20200502_193407.jpeg
20200502_192509.jpeg
20200502_192025.jpeg
20200502_183152.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2020, 9:25 pm

if u get some red clay tiles untreated
you can use a pizza peel and slide direct on to get proper high temp scorch on the bottom
need to heat up 20mins first

a perfect pizza is composed of high even heat top and bottom which is actually very challenging

Postby Dizzy28 » May 2nd, 2020, 9:27 pm

Niceee !!
carluva wrote:

Standby for pics....
It was delish!!!

Postby eliteauto » May 2nd, 2020, 10:37 pm

Baking night, buns, hotdog rolls, dinner rolls and stuffed loaves with cheese, basil and sundried tomato pesto
20200502_222023.jpeg
20200502_220138.jpeg
20200502_220134.jpeg
20200502_220121.jpeg

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » May 2nd, 2020, 11:45 pm

3rd meal attempt
1st time making soup (used the recipe from the Maggie packet)

Corn_Soup_me.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 3rd, 2020, 12:06 am

eliteauto wrote:Baking night, buns, hotdog rolls, dinner rolls and stuffed loaves with cheese, basil and sundried tomato pesto 20200502_220121.jpeg20200502_220134.jpeg20200502_220138.jpeg20200502_222023.jpeg

Looking reallly good!
I'm now learning to play with yeast based doughs, dunno why I was so afraid of it before

Postby eliteauto » May 3rd, 2020, 12:17 am

Thanks. Funnily both my wife and myself make all sorts of regular and artisanal breads but Thursday night was the first time I ever made a coconut bake and I probably looked at 12 recipes before deciding to make it, it came out bess though one finished the same night with cheese and the other Friday morning with saltfish

Postby gastly369 » May 3rd, 2020, 12:56 am

Gt bredda
carluva wrote:

Standby for pics....
It was delish!!!

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2020, 4:38 am

Love the finish!
eliteauto wrote:Baking night, buns, hotdog rolls, dinner rolls and stuffed loaves with cheese, basil and sundried tomato pesto
20200502_220121.jpeg
20200502_220134.jpeg
20200502_220138.jpeg
20200502_222023.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2020, 7:48 am

that’s a lot of bread there
nice egg wash finish

Postby SMc » May 3rd, 2020, 7:56 am

Made accra for breakfastses- didn't use a recipe this time and came out better than normal
20200503_125238.jpeg