***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 14th, 2017, 10:32 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the most you would spend is on fertilizers...and that is probably every 6 months or so

That and gas, oil, poison to spray the grass to main the land etc. And the fact that how that is my future so I won't have to work for anyone or have money problems in 5 years from now.

I see somebody thief the 2 goat he had, hopefully they pass back and go with the cow too.

Postby adnj » September 14th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Just ask him to keep an eye on his critters eating your plants and you will keep an eye on people stealing his animals.

You are better off than not with a neighbor that's looking out for you. Next time, someone may be digging up your trees for use on their estate.

Postby Chimera » September 14th, 2017, 2:47 pm

If he doh restrain his cows I think you can call praedial larceny squad and they will talk to him.
Otherwise tell him you have a butcher padna who looking for cheap beef for Xmas. I use to have a cow problem when I had a pawpaw field

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 14th, 2017, 3:35 pm

Yeah I did bring the larceny squad for he last year, this was a case of his cow did get away and he just doesn't be home most of the time.

Hopefully he keeps it tied and secures it better I will make another attempt to talk to him nice and reason with him. I will see later on aswell if I could try to fence the land but an acre and 3 lot is quite costly to fence with chain link.

Postby adnj » September 14th, 2017, 5:12 pm

Go old school: 4 strands of barbed wire instead of chain link.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 14th, 2017, 5:45 pm

adnj wrote:Go old school: 4 strands of barbed wire instead of chain link.

Ooh yeah as you said that

I already have 4 rolls of the barbed wire home here under the shed aswell never opened still sealed my old man did bring it from the US in 1998 they still look just as new. I may need to buy a few more rolls I feel.

https://www.amazon.com/Bekaert-118230-1 ... arbed+wire

It just like this and its same 1320 foot per roll aswell.

Postby adnj » September 15th, 2017, 9:41 pm

You said that you had about a 1.33 acre lot. Pace off the your boundaries and see how big it is. I would guess that it's about 250 to 300 feet on a side. What you have is called an "80 rod roll" because a rod is 16.5 ft. That should be enough to go all the way around your lot with some left over.

If you have four 80 rod rolls, that's all you need to put up a 4-strand barbed wire fence. For posts, you can either use rot resistant wood or metal. If you use metal you can try to find T-posts and just drive them in like you would a grounding rod; no need to dig, except at the corners, transitions, and the gate posts.

Your father must have known what he was doing.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 15th, 2017, 10:05 pm

adnj wrote:You said that you had about a 1.33 acre lot. Pace off the your boundaries and see how big it is. I would guess that it's about 250 to 300 feet on a side. What you have is called an "80 rod roll" because a rod is 16.5 ft. That should be enough to go all the way around your lot with some left over.

If you have four 80 rod rolls, that's all you need to put up a 4-strand barbed wire fence. For posts, you can either use rot resistant wood or metal. If you use metal you can try to find T-posts and just drive them in like you would a grounding rod; no need to dig, except at the corners, transitions, and the gate posts.

Your father must have known what he was doing.

Yeah it's a 1.33 Acre plot, I went back and checked the rolls again today in the shed it is actually 6 of those 80 rod rolls I check yes.
I feel is best I use all 6 rolls, and put up a 6 strand barb wire fence ent? it will prevent smaller animals like goat from entering aswell.
Bhagwansingh sells the galvanized metal pipes I can get three 6 feet pipes for only $150. But with these pipes I gonna have to buy gravel and cement and dig a hole and put down the pipe in that as it would hold much better.
What do you think? because the boundary of the land is in a drain right around and water does settle for a while in the drain aswell. So I think the best solution would be to dump a half load of gravel in the land and when I get time I just go and do 2 or 3 posts a day.

1050 feet is the total perimeter of 1.3 Acres according to google. And each roll of barbed wire is 1350.
SO look at that I could get 7 strand fence comfortable WOW. So I just need to decide on how I doing the posts due to the boundary falling in the middle of the drains.
Also how far apart could I put the posts?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 16th, 2017, 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » September 16th, 2017, 5:15 am

2 or 3 posts a day ?
you working in slow motion

HSA

Postby HSA » September 16th, 2017, 7:38 pm

remember you have to crab the bottom of the post eh....

posts could be 10 or 12 ft apart...once u have a solid base

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 16th, 2017, 7:53 pm

HSA wrote:remember you have to crab the bottom of the post eh....

posts could be 10 or 12 ft apart...once u have a solid base

Ooh yes you are correct I completely forget about that yes, yikes...

Was more looking at 25 feet apart since I am using concrete and metal posts. You think 25 feet can work?

Postby adnj » September 16th, 2017, 8:45 pm

In my opinion:

Plan how high your fence should be.
Run the first strand at 1/2 foot. Then run at 1 ft, 2 ft, 3 ft, 4ft. Four foot, five strand is standard.
Decide if you need to bury the posts and add concrete or if you can drive the post. It depends on your soil. The rule of thumb is driving 1/2 the height of the fence into the ground.
Space the posts no more than 10 feet apart. I prefer 8 feet apart.
Use a post driver. You can have one fabricated. (It's weighted on one end)
Learn how to tension the wire. It should ring when struck with a screwdriver.
Use concrete only if you have to.
images.jpg
images.jpg (11.29 KiB) Viewed 5284 times

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 17th, 2017, 5:44 am

Advisory:
World Food Day coming up on 16TH October, 2017.
I am planning a seedling giveaway at work.
You can do the same at your work place ...........

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » September 19th, 2017, 5:05 pm

Anyone can inform me on the proper equipment to wear when spraying swiper herbicide? Thinking I might need a respirator. Not sure of the type though.

Postby adnj » September 19th, 2017, 7:51 pm

Organic vapor respirator is what is recommended but the label has (or is supposed to have) the information of what you need when applying.

You can use cartridge or disposable. You may need something that is also oil resistant if you're adding an oil to the mix.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 15th, 2017, 9:45 pm

Fellow tuners - need some advice on agricultural land lease - when the lease is up or expired- what is the process for getting it renewed
Is their any risk of it now being renewed

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 15th, 2017, 10:01 pm

Funny thing last week I went to check my land to see how the grass dry etc. Saw the coconut trees coming along nicely, I decided to pass and check the man who owns the cow I always pass every month hoping either it dead, somebody thief it or he sell it. I didn't see the cow, I met the land lord of the property he said he told the renters to get rid of the cow so they sold the cow. The wicked son of a beyotch like him all the time I tell he make them get rid of it and he couldn't give a fck but now that he come back Trinidad to live in the property and fix it up is now he make them get rid of it.

So all my worries done just like that yes.

Now that the grass dead I could throw urea around these trees. What is the recommended amount? the trees are like 2 years old.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 15th, 2017, 10:59 pm

yvan300 wrote:Anyone can inform me on the proper equipment to wear when spraying swiper herbicide? Thinking I might need a respirator. Not sure of the type though.

yvan . you can get all sort of stuff from respirators, gloves, rubber boots , rubber apron
or you can spray early in the morning before the wind starts blowing, spray staying with your wand downwind. try to limit your body exposure- dont walk where you spray already

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » October 15th, 2017, 11:16 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
yvan300 wrote:Anyone can inform me on the proper equipment to wear when spraying swiper herbicide? Thinking I might need a respirator. Not sure of the type though.

yvan . you can get all sort of stuff from respirators, gloves, rubber boots , rubber apron
or you can spray early in the morning before the wind starts blowing, spray staying with your wand downwind. try to limit your body exposure- dont walk where you spray already

Yeah. Saw online that people don't wear any ppe. But I think it's better safe than sorry. Never know what could happen I guess. I'd invest in the cartridge filters for sure.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 16th, 2017, 7:03 am

Wear yuh safety equipment yvan so yuh don't get sick off ah bioaccumulation.. when ah spraying ah does always wear meh ppe.. doh study wah other people doing..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 16th, 2017, 7:14 am

francis1979 wrote:Fellow tuners - need some advice on agricultural land lease - when the lease is up or expired- what is the process for getting it renewed
Is their any risk of it now being renewed

visit the LSA, speak to commissioner of state lands....make sure your land is actually in use eh

Postby adnj » October 16th, 2017, 7:49 am

Zetski wrote:Wear yuh safety equipment yvan so yuh don't get sick off ah bioaccumulation..

Exactly. Exposure to most insecticides and herbicides adds up over the years. Spraying the front yard of a single lot is okay but when you shift to acres of crops, you may be asking for neurological and respiratory illness.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 16th, 2017, 8:00 am

I use the blue eagle respirator that cost me $50 at the local garden shop but I am not sure if this is safe.

When I spray an acre or more with the mist blower I could still taste the herbicide poison in my throat. Wondering if its maybe an issue with the respirator strap not being tight enough or the actual filter etc.

ALSO how much urea goes into a 2 year old coconut tree? what is the correct measurement? considering buying a 100lb bag and its 160 trees. I am assuming maybe 1/2 pound urea per tree? so the 100lb bag should comfortably do the whole land.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 16th, 2017, 10:34 am

Drink ah glass of milk after spraying effectic and put ah few with 1/2, 1, 1 an ah 1/2 and 2.. so yuh go know which is d best quantity to use.. soil type have a big part to play on yuh quantity.

Postby adnj » October 16th, 2017, 2:49 pm

A balanced slow-release fetilizer is what you should be using, not urea. Urea is best used for vegetables crops and grass.

Trees and shrubs will usually not benefit from urea because of the way that it reacts with the soil to become free nitrogen. You'll want a sulfated nitrogen that can get to the roots. Stick with a 2:1:1 ratio for most coconuts or use a 1:1:1 ratio with some urea buried near the drip line of the tree if you want to save money by using urea.

Coconuts use about 1.5 lbs of nitrogen per 100 sq ft of canopy. You will get some from the soil but you can't know unless you soil test first or pay close attention to the color of the leaves before and after fertilizing.

As I said before, for herbicides you need an organic vapor cartridge. A cartridge has a life expectancy measured in hours of use. If you smell odors or have an after-taste then that's an indicator that the carbon cartridge has been used up and needs to be replaced.

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2017, 4:17 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I use the blue eagle respirator that cost me $50 at the local garden shop but I am not sure if this is safe.

When I spray an acre or more with the mist blower I could still taste the herbicide poison in my throat. Wondering if its maybe an issue with the respirator strap not being tight enough or the actual filter etc.

ALSO how much urea goes into a 2 year old coconut tree? what is the correct measurement? considering buying a 100lb bag and its 160 trees. I am assuming maybe 1/2 pound urea per tree? so the 100lb bag should comfortably do the whole land.

hope you spraying early in the am or late in the evening when it doh have too much breeze or people around.......
yuh know yuh smart like a ten cent

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 16th, 2017, 11:36 pm

adnj wrote:A balanced slow-release fetilizer is what you should be using, not urea. Urea is best used for vegetables crops and grass.

Trees and shrubs will usually not benefit from urea because of the way that it reacts with the soil to become free nitrogen. You'll want a sulfated nitrogen that can get to the roots. Stick with a 2:1:1 ratio for most coconuts or use a 1:1:1 ratio with some urea buried near the drip line of the tree if you want to save money by using urea.

Coconuts use about 1.5 lbs of nitrogen per 100 sq ft of canopy. You will get some from the soil but you can't know unless you soil test first or pay close attention to the color of the leaves before and after fertilizing.

As I said before, for herbicides you need an organic vapor cartridge. A cartridge has a life expectancy measured in hours of use. If you smell odors or have an after-taste then that's an indicator that the carbon cartridge has been used up and needs to be replaced.

Thanks I been using this cartridge for a couple years now so that looks like the issue.

I will look into the sulfated nitrogen as you said.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 16th, 2017, 11:43 pm

ah just asking so doh bash me
what about the old method of putting cooking salt or cane salt in the heart of the tree

Postby adnj » October 17th, 2017, 2:46 am

Adding salt only helps if the tree is chlorine deficient. If you are within one mile of the coast, it is not likely.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 17th, 2017, 7:05 am

going to hit the citrus another salt...looking to mix blaukorn, urea and limestone....anything else you all could recommend??...

this weekend is a nice spraying doh...a lot of black leaves showing up on the lemon