@mitch or any other SGSII users

Have you tried this kernel?

I have now started using it, and it seems to be working quite well

Ninphetamine-2.1.3 - Now with 100% less Samsungyness

samureye

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby samureye » August 29th, 2011, 3:22 am

Considering going Android from BB - any general tips/advice? The only thing I have BB for is BBM, so I know I have no compensation for that, is the next best thing to make people get Whatsapp? I can't find any video of how it runs on Android.

What about plans? I'm on digi now, but actually considering going prepaid bmobile since they have prepaid data. Anyone have experience with it? If I leave it running all day so I can get emails/facebook updates pushed to me, is it really going to drain that much?

Considering upgrading to a Bold 9900/9930, but I also kind of want a Galaxy S2...

achillies

Postby achillies » August 29th, 2011, 9:14 am

Just got my GalaxyS2 an I am loving it

There is WhatsApp, Live Profile and a few others, the biggest problem is getting your friends on the other platforms to start using it. It runs quite smooth (if that's what you are asking)

Currently I am using a prepaid plan, I just called bmobile and I told them I had a blackberry and I asked them to activate the prepaid blackberry plan (BB Social) on my SIM and i jus input the APN setting on my SGSII and I have full data, (slow) and it costs $29 per week. I have no experience with the prepaid data plan which costs $2 per Mb but I have a strong feeling its going to be a lot more expensive that the $29.

samureye wrote:Considering going Android from BB - any general tips/advice? The only thing I have BB for is BBM, so I know I have no compensation for that, is the next best thing to make people get Whatsapp? I can't find any video of how it runs on Android.

What about plans? I'm on digi now, but actually considering going prepaid bmobile since they have prepaid data. Anyone have experience with it? If I leave it running all day so I can get emails/facebook updates pushed to me, is it really going to drain that much?

Considering upgrading to a Bold 9900/9930, but I also kind of want a Galaxy S2...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 29th, 2011, 9:52 am

achillies wrote:@mitch or any other SGSII users

Have you tried this kernel?

I have now started using it, and it seems to be working quite well

Ninphetamine-2.1.3 - Now with 100% less Samsungyness

nah boi, still running stock everything and cant complain...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 29th, 2011, 10:02 am

as far as WhatsApp goes, it is one of the the best cross platform alternatives to bbm, but may not be as reliable as bbm.

but now it looks like Samsung is about to enter the cross platform messaging fray. looks cool...

Samsung's ChatON messaging service brings free texting to Android, iOS and BlackBerry

It looks like Samsung is about to dip its toes in the mobile messaging market, with a new service called ChatON. Slated to debut at this week's IFA, the app brings texting, group chat and image / video sharing to not only Samsung's Bada OS, but to iOS, Android and BlackBerry platforms, as well. According to the Korean manufacturer, the new client will be available in two versions: a basic one for feature phones and another, more complex variation that allows smartphone users to comment on other profiles, send animated messages and visualize their most frequently contacted friends, as displayed above. The company is also planning to release a web-based version that would bring similar functionality to PCs. ChatON is slated to go live next month (in more than 120 countries and 62 languages), but you can find more information in the demo video and translated PR, after the break.

Engadget

samureye

Postby samureye » August 29th, 2011, 10:57 am

Thanks for the info. I have LiveProfile, I think it's really cool if you're into messages coming days late. Whatsapp seems to be somewhat more reliable. I guess yeah it's up to getting friends on other chat apps.

Is getting BB data on your Android an easy thing or a workaround they can lock down on or what? I'm on Digicel now, though. How hard would it be to unlock and use their data? Though I have a feeling the prepaid data could work out great, just wondering how much of a drain it is.

achillies wrote:Just got my GalaxyS2 an I am loving it

There is WhatsApp, Live Profile and a few others, the biggest problem is getting your friends on the other platforms to start using it. It runs quite smooth (if that's what you are asking)

Currently I am using a prepaid plan, I just called bmobile and I told them I had a blackberry and I asked them to activate the prepaid blackberry plan (BB Social) on my SIM and i jus input the APN setting on my SGSII and I have full data, (slow) and it costs $29 per week. I have no experience with the prepaid data plan which costs $2 per Mb but I have a strong feeling its going to be a lot more expensive that the $29.

samureye wrote:Considering going Android from BB - any general tips/advice? The only thing I have BB for is BBM, so I know I have no compensation for that, is the next best thing to make people get Whatsapp? I can't find any video of how it runs on Android.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 29th, 2011, 11:37 am

well dont expect to get the same kind of battery life from say an iPhone4 or the GSII as a BB.

but that's not really because of fetching/pushing data. the real drain on battery is going to be dependent on how long u keep the screen on since those high res screens use lots of power.

with my GSII, i average around 2 days of battery use with moderate usage and my wifi/edge data is always on...

achillies

Postby achillies » August 29th, 2011, 12:44 pm

samureye wrote:Thanks for the info. I have LiveProfile, I think it's really cool if you're into messages coming days late. Whatsapp seems to be somewhat more reliable. I guess yeah it's up to getting friends on other chat apps.

Is getting BB data on your Android an easy thing or a workaround they can lock down on or what? I'm on Digicel now, though. How hard would it be to unlock and use their data? Though I have a feeling the prepaid data could work out great, just wondering how much of a drain it is.

The workaround is that they (bmobile) don't know that you are not using a BB, I can't comment on Digicel, but I have a BB with then and they have much more control over the traffic on their network, so you MIGHT have to go for the unlimited data plan to have everything working

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2011, 1:42 pm

so wait..
u getting full internet on the social plan?
cause right now i on the $100 plan after switching from BB. and if i could save 30$ ill switch to the social plan.
is email and browsing working?

i have post paid btw.
social is 70 and full is 100.
Last edited by S_2NR on August 29th, 2011, 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2011, 1:45 pm

samureye.
you wont regret switching.
i did and love it.
the only thing ull miss is BBM cause everyone in trini on bbm.

Loving my nexus S. Never going back to boring BB :)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 29th, 2011, 2:36 pm

^Nexus S? u upgrade from the Captivate already?

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2011, 2:48 pm

mitch wrote:^Nexus S? u upgrade from the Captivate already?

speaker blew in the captivate.
was costing 400 to fix it cause i had to import the speaker and all that drama.
and its a common prob with that phone
so i sold it.

prefer the nexus s. 8-)
sexier phone imo and installing custom firmware and all that is incredibly easy.
and i get unaltered google updates first. (minus carrier bloat)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 29th, 2011, 4:05 pm

nice. doh coast too much later this year when yuh running ICS and everybody else hoping for a speedy update eh :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » August 29th, 2011, 5:11 pm

S_2NR wrote:so wait..
cause right now i on the $100 plan after switching from BB. and if i could save 30$ ill switch to the social plan.

i have post paid btw.

Yes, full internet, $30 a week, I have facebook, google+ my 2 email accounts and also a twitter account getting updates as they come in, I am able to browse, but you know how that is.

samureye

Postby samureye » August 29th, 2011, 5:41 pm

Galaxy S2 looking sweet. Any word on when Digicel getting Android phones, or anything from the year 2011?

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2011, 5:51 pm

thanks. i downgraded my internet to the social plan and still getting full internet :D
save $30/ month there!

and yea mitch, ill try not to coast. :lol:
right now i using cyanogenmod 7..but will definitely go back to stock when ice cream sandwich comes out so i can upgrade it OTA.

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2011, 5:52 pm

achillies wrote:

i have post paid btw.

Yes, full internet, $30 a week, I have facebook, google+ my 2 email accounts and also a twitter account getting updates as they come in, I am able to browse, but you know how that is.

thanks.
u should get post paid tho
69$ /month 8-)

30 a week is madness!

achillies

Postby achillies » August 29th, 2011, 6:25 pm

S_2NR wrote:
achillies wrote:

i have post paid btw.

thanks.
u should get post paid tho
69$ /month 8-)

30 a week is madness!

I'm being honest here, I am afraid of bmobile's postpaid service, I had some bad experiences in the past with overcharges on a phone that was not even being used. Calls showing up on my bill that I obviously didn't make, so I switched back to prepaid.

How has your experience been?

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2011, 6:29 pm

Never had a problem.
I make alottt of calls and my bill never exceeds 300 including data.
I use my lime for the regular ppl and it works out well.

Im on corporate btw. Dont know if that makes any difference.
Its slightly cheaper than post paid.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 30th, 2011, 4:07 pm

S_2NR wrote:Never had a problem.
I make alottt of calls and my bill never exceeds 300 including data.
I use my lime for the regular ppl and it works out well.

Im on corporate btw. Dont know if that makes any difference.
Its slightly cheaper than post paid.

Hmmm, I think it's $150 for data when you are post-paid, can anyone correct me if I am wrong

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 30th, 2011, 4:29 pm

^yeah that's unlimited data.

i believe he's talking about the BB plans. $99 is for the BB 5MB plan but apparently bmobile has no way to monitor usage...

and $69 is for the BB social plan in which normal browsing shouldn't work. but again, is bmobile we dealing with :lol:

Postby S_2NR » August 30th, 2011, 5:15 pm

EVERYTHING works on the $69 plan
bmobile ftw! :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » August 30th, 2011, 6:48 pm

mitch wrote:^yeah that's unlimited data.

i believe he's talking about the BB plans. $99 is for the BB 5MB plan but apparently bmobile has no way to monitor usage...

and $69 is for the BB social plan in which normal browsing shouldn't work. but again, is bmobile we dealing with :lol:

So in theory, I could do post paid with a package for minutes and just add a $69 bb plan and all should be golden

I will think about it

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 30th, 2011, 7:41 pm

Samsung releases a 2000 mAh extended battery for the Galaxy S II, gives you all the juice you need

http://blog.gsmarena.com/samsung-releases-a-2000-mah-extended-battery-for-the-galaxy-s-ii-gives-you-all-the-juice-you-need/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 30th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Parvin wrote:Samsung releases a 2000 mAh extended battery for the Galaxy S II, gives you all the juice you need

http://blog.gsmarena.com/samsung-releases-a-2000-mah-extended-battery-for-the-galaxy-s-ii-gives-you-all-the-juice-you-need/

nice! i like it the way it is now though. thin and light as fcuk! :lol:

Postby S_2NR » August 30th, 2011, 8:53 pm

with a custom firmware and the right kernel u could get very good battery life.
i get 24 hours with heavy use.
and two days with light - medium use.

Didn charge my nexus s since yesterday morning and now on 48% after making alot of calls, txts, playing games, browsing, downloading stuff.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 31st, 2011, 12:36 am

WP7 Metro theme for Android?! the blasphemy!

(lookin sweet though lol)

lifehacker

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » August 31st, 2011, 12:49 am

mitch wrote:Image

WP7 Metro theme for Android?! the blasphemy!

(lookin sweet though lol)

lifehacker

Steups, blehh its digustinggg

*goes looking for a download link*

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 31st, 2011, 7:02 am

^ :lol:

another quarter gone, another growth keeps Android on top...

ComScore calls Android top dog, Apple pulls further ahead of RIM

According to ComScore, out of the 82.2 million people in the US with a smartphone (up ten percent from last quarter), Android came in first as the biggest platform yet again, capturing a whopping 41.8 percent of the market like a boss. In a not-so-close second, Apple was able to snag 27 percent, followed by RIM in the third place spot with 21.7 percent -- down 4 percentage points from last quarter. Pulling up the rear is Microsoft with 5.7 percent, and lastly Symbian with a grim 1.9 percent -- both down when compared to the previous three months. As far as US hardware manufacturers goes, Samsung is still on top with 25.5 percent of the market, while LG got 20.9 percent and finally Motorola with 14.1 percent, down 1.5 percentage points from before. Apple was able to snag some standing in the OEM space with a 9.5 percent share, while BlackBerry-maker RIM only captured 7.6 percent. As the battle wages on, looks like Androids, iPhones, and BlackBerrys (oh my) are still on top -- at least for this quarter. Check out the PR after the break for the full scorecard.

Engadget